Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup Pre-tourney THREAD!!!

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Re: Official 2018 FIFA World Cup Draw|Kremlin|Dec 1st

Guys, who do we play first, second?
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Talk all we want - it starts with preparation - players getting valuable mins @theirclubs - i am worried about Musa & Kelechi - 2 killas you want sharp & ready. If they aren't part of LCFC plans going forward - get loan moves come Jan to proper clubs - no messing. Can't go out to Russia with passengers.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
Thunder

Post by Thunder »

Hm! While the Croats are crafty & skilful, the Icelanders are rugged & disciplined. We must thread carefully.
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato

pajimoh wrote:Guys, who do we play first, second?
CRotia ,Iceland and ARgentina

Benedict Iroha wrote:Boring and obvious groups
What does "obvious" mean? Group B is not boring with Portugal, Spain and Morocco. that's the group of death right there, with Iran as the whipping boy. Don't know how FIFA do this, but how can you have group B, with two major powers and group H with none?

pajimoh wrote:Guys, who do we play first, second?
CRotia ,Iceland and ARgentina
:thumb: Start with 3 points and the pressure will be greatly reduced. The aim would be to qualify before the last game. That will put pressure on the rest.

Things happen for a reason and I see similarities with our qualifying group
ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

Tunisia getting pulled into a tough group is Karmic justice.
ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

ohsee wrote:
What does "obvious" mean? Group B is not boring with Portugal, Spain and Morocco. that's the group of death right there, with Iran as the whipping boy. Don't know how FIFA do this, but how can you have group B, with two major powers and group H with none?
If you think Morocco's going to run over Iran then I've got news for you. Iran easily qualified out of Asia.

So any consensus on the group of death? BBC thinks it's our group

Germany, Spain and our groups are the group of deaths for me

Chris Waddle not confident that Argentina can qualify from the group with Nigeria and Croatia.

chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

ohsee wrote:
"Major powers" to FIFA is as per their ranking.
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

Group H is extremely interesting.

I can't rate Poland, Senegal, Colombia or Japan one over the other. That's a very tight group.

ohsee wrote:
From past outings, I wouldn't call Iran whipping boys.

To be honest, this could be the most exciting World Cup yet. No country should be underestimated.

doctorollie

Post by doctorollie »

Every commentator I have listened to so far has rated Nigeria highly and believes we will qualify even ahead of Argentina.
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

pajimoh wrote:So any consensus on the group of death? BBC thinks it's our group
SkySports News thinks so too.

It's time we did the real damage to these Argies in these our proper, perennial WC derby fixtures.

Come on, boys. You know you CAN do it. Bring out the Naija dogged spirit!
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!

If anyone believes we will walk over Argentina again, they had better think again.
Argentina will be very well prepared for us this time around.
doctorollie wrote:Every commentator I have listened to so far has rated Nigeria highly and believes we will qualify even ahead of Argentina.

Group of death again. Hope we do what we normally do in these groups of death.
F360

Post by F360 »

cchinukw wrote:Chris Waddle not confident that Argentina can qualify from the group with Nigeria and Croatia.
Smart man. Not a lazy analyst like all the others.

--------------------------------------------
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

Otitokoro wrote:If anyone believes we will walk over Argentina again, they had better think again.
doctorollie wrote:Every commentator I have listened to so far has rated Nigeria highly and believes we will qualify even ahead of Argentina.
And we will go there to drink Akamu and chop Akara?
On head-to-head WC records, this is a GRUDGE match for us. We should settle this with our FIRST real victory against them. The warning shot in the recent friendly is not it, considering how they've been bullying us!
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!
Workman

Post by Workman »

Imagine if Greece beat Croatia in the playoffs. Imagine Argentina and Greece in our group just like 1994 and 2010.
"Let us hear the conclusion of the matter, Fear God and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man. "
Ecclesiastes 12:13

popular quote- "Every Good deed will not go unpunished"

Hopefully, this is drummed into the players well well.
Morale victories in friendlies don't mean a darn thing - victories in competitions are what count.
We cannot afford to drop ANY points in the group, as all 3 teams are very tough teams!
Sampo wrote:
Otitokoro wrote:If anyone believes we will walk over Argentina again, they had better think again.
And we will go there to drink Akamu and chop Akara?
On head-to-head WC records, this is a GRUDGE match for us. inst tWe should settle this with our FIRST real victory agahem. The warning shot in the recent friendly is not it, considering how they've been bullying us!

I think the German discipline and mentality combined with our natural athleticism and flair will make us a potent force at this world cup.

My major concern though is the lack of senior level tournament experience outside of Africa. This is where the likes of Enyeama could have made a difference.

Our most experienced players will be Mikel, VicMo and Onazi. Hopefully, that should be enough.