NIGERIA VS ARGENTINA - The series so far

Kai... we've been chopping Kane for a long long time.:laugh:

Last edited by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA on Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: NIGERIA VS ARGENTINA - The series so far

Emir,

Correct the issue about never taking the lead against them. We opened scoring against them in 1994 in Boston with Siasia scoring within 10 minutes of start.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote:Emir,

Correct the issue about never taking the lead against them. We opened scoring against them in 1994 in Boston with Siasia scoring within 10 minutes of start.
Das right!
Obiagu

Post by Obiagu »

It will be different this time. Messi was at his peak then. Argentina made it to the finals while they almost didn't qualify this time.
supereagles all the way
ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

It's really starting to turn into a great rivalry.

It's uncanny how often you two play one another.

What’s fascinating among these highlights isn’t how Argentina were slicing our defenders like no one is available. They missed so many chances except in 1994 for me the worse was 2010 game against Argentina
goldenera94

Post by goldenera94 »

Eagles played a goal less draw against Argentina at the confederation cup Saudi Arabia in 1994 or 1995.
Goldenera94

It's not a rivalry when one side always wins...
ElHadary wrote:It's really starting to turn into a great rivalry.

nanijoe wrote:It's not a rivalry when one side always wins...

You dey mind Elhadary....... rivalry? They have won all four previous games at the WC. More like a every four years molestation...

It will become a great rilvalry when we start kicking their butts when it truly matters.
Till then,...its just a promising rivalry, with only one team left with something to prove (Nigeria).

My hope is that 2018 is the year turn the table,...permanently.
mapet

Post by mapet »

john12 wrote:What’s fascinating among these highlights isn’t how Argentina were slicing our defenders like no one is available. They missed so many chances except in 1994 for me the worse was 2010 game against Argentina

That 2010 game was a total embarrassment for me. We were so unorganised that defended as if we all came to take turns on Messi's dribbles. Players like Aruna Lukeman and Etuhu were like "escourts". Secondly, we were just too frightened to realise that Argentina was not so good defensively as well. We were too edgy taking our chances, especially Martins and Ikechukwu Uche.
mapet

Post by mapet »

Keshi's team could have come out with a respectable draw, had they been more detailed in defending set pieces. How somebody lost Rojo and got him a cheap goal beats me

90% of all the goals we let in were from dead balls

How anyone (except Ayo and co) could have expected 9ja beat Argentina when our team paraded Ambrose, Uchebo, Babatunde and Oshaniwa very substandard players and the bench of Uchebo, Reuben Azeez, Sola, Nwofor. All Keshi had to do to compete was select his Nations cup winning squad and they would have been competitive. Brown in partnership with Emenike and Mba had an understanding with Moses. Joel Obi was available and Ike Uche could have provided much need quality from the bench but no we had better players who had been tested in the qualifiers that somehow made the team.

Some people are still suggesting Rohlr select of Babatunde and Ambrose!!!

Spotted Pochettino at 2:00 of the second clip ...

2:43 of the third clip. Lack of composure personified. That was 1-1 right there!