Baba 0tu Mohammed

Re: Baba 0tu Mohammed

aruako1 wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:how can someone named 0tu be from Nigeria. 0tu or Otoo is a Ga name
I have a friend from Cross River with that name.

It is present in Kogi State as well...some kind of titled family name. Pronounced Oh-tu.

I believe it also means lazy person in Yoruba.
If used by itself it is a Yoruba street slang for Mugu or clumsy, etc
There are also some Yoruba names that start with O t u, eg Otuyemi, Otubajo, etc.

Kako wrote:
aruako1 wrote:
aykwes8 wrote:how can someone named 0tu be from Nigeria. 0tu or Otoo is a Ga name

It is present in Kogi State as well...some kind of titled family name. Pronounced Oh-tu.

There are also some Yoruba names that start with O t u, eg Otuyemi, Otubajo, etc.

Thanks...there was one dude in my sec school nicknamed such, because he was considered lazy, mugu etc. He was skinny, languid, and lazy-weak looking...and didnt object to being called oh-tu....apparently he was mild mannered. Until one day someone tried to pick on him in front a crowd...one of those guys who wanted to shine in front of chics...in a nutshell, he dazed the bully with slaps and backhands, and before we knew it, he had "cleared" the guy to the ground. Come see respect....end of that nickname...forever.

Kako wrote:
aruako1 wrote:

Thanks...there was one dude in my sec school nicknamed such, because he was considered lazy, mugu etc. He was skinny, languid, and lazy-weak looking...and didnt object to being called oh-tu....apparently he was mild mannered. Until one day someone tried to pick on him in front a crowd...one of those guys who wanted to shine in front of chics...in a nutshell, he dazed the bully with slaps and backhands, and before we knew it, he had "cleared" the guy to the ground. Come see respect....end of that nickname...forever.

Senator WIRES wrote:
oloye wrote:He was a Ghanaian at best an hausa Ghanaian.....he came to Nigeria from Ghana. Raccah Rovers of Kano at their height had several Ghanains of hausa extractions . .. You need to watch them play back in the day to see the ghanain influence!
Chief, una remembered those guys for Ayufssalam FC in Ilorin... most of them claimed to be either from Ogbomosho or Ilorin :woot: . they are actually Ghanaians from Zongo Town and Kumasi :woot:
Hahahaha.....you are right oh!

Actually, many Ghanaians claim Offa, not Ilorin. I believe there is some kind of link between Offa and Ghana
Dem OFFA people migrated a lot to Ghana in those days before Nkrumah came into power, while Ejigbo people dey plenty for ABIDJAN.. one funny thing is that majority of those people have facial marks that easily identifies them 8-)

Senator WIRES wrote:
oloye wrote:He was a Ghanaian at best an hausa Ghanaian.....he came to Nigeria from Ghana. Raccah Rovers of Kano at their height had several Ghanains of hausa extractions . .. You need to watch them play back in the day to see the ghanain influence!
Chief, una remembered those guys for Ayufssalam FC in Ilorin... most of them claimed to be either from Ogbomosho or Ilorin :woot: . they are actually Ghanaians from Zongo Town and Kumasi :woot:

Actually, many Ghanaians claim Offa, not Ilorin. I believe there is some kind of link between Offa and Ghana
Dem OFFA people migrated a lot to Ghana in those days before Nkrumah came into power, while Ejigbo people dey plenty for ABIDJAN.. one funny thing is that majority of those people have facial marks that easily identifies them 8-)

what is the reason for this migration? Come to think of it, a few Offa folks I know look like Ghanaians :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:

Senator WIRES wrote:

what is the reason for this migration? Come to think of it, a few Offa folks I know look like Ghanaians :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:
Probably went to look for job as cocoa farm-hands or traders. if you compare them to those spare parts dealers in Lagos.. one family bringing another family member to join them.. that will be correct. Hardly can you find a family house in Offa without two to three people haven sojourned in Ghana.

Senator WIRES wrote:

A number of the offa, ogbomosho and oshogbo folks lived in Ghana and inter married there. So some of those coming back to naija have legit claims. Take late Kafaru Alabi who played for Shooting...his parents gave him tribal marks so it was easy for him to fit back in. But his junior brother whom i suspect was born of ghanain lady,had no marks, he came home much later, his yoruba was dodgy and he looked so much like a breda. The only reason why anyone believed he is a niherian was because his brother said so.

Senator WIRES wrote:

Probably went to look for job as cocoa farm-hands or traders. if you compare them to those spare parts dealers in Lagos.. one family bringing another family member to join them.. that will be correct. Hardly can you find a family house in Offa without two to three people haven sojourned in Ghana.
Mostly traders.

Senator WIRES wrote:

Thanks...but bia, this senator sef...you suspiciously sabi too many things....

Raccah Rover was my team back in the day because of style of play.

Haruna wahab
walter Osei
Grandson Abbas
Shefiu Mohammed
Baba 0tu Mohammed
Annas Ahmed
Idris Ahmed

Sir V wrote:

Haruna wahab
walter Osei
Grandson Abbas
Shefiu Mohammed
Baba 0tu Mohammed
Annas Ahmed
Idris Ahmed
Hussaini Alabi
Garba Abubakar
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Gadfly

Post by Gadfly »

Sir V wrote:

Haruna wahab
walter Osei
Grandson Abbas
Shefiu Mohammed
Baba 0tu Mohammed
Annas Ahmed
Idris Ahmed
Hussaini Alabi
Garba Abubakar
Idris Musa
Kalala Mohammed

OK, BACK TO WHAT BABA O T U WAS ACTUALLY TALKING ABOUT

Bring back the academicals - first at the state and then national level - and expand it beyond Nigeria and Ghana. Maybe coopt the Channels Children now sponsored by Channelstv. improve conditions to include better coaching, accommodation, transportation and equipment. Anyone who follows will probably see a few future SE players there. Beyond that, it could also be a lucrative money maker with sponsorship and television. Why the NFF hasn't done this is beyond me.
skillful

Post by skillful »

I watched him play :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle