What To Do About Joel Obi? Great Article.

Re: What To Do About Joel Obi? Great Artic

john12 wrote:Honest question. If Joel was fit and called up to Nigeria present squad would he make our starting 11 in his natural midfield position or be a bench player?

Undisputed starter.
Joel doesn't even have a recent video of his skills on Youtube. The one up there is 4 years old!
So we must pick our team via YouTube clips? Take time, Mr. Damunkey!

That’s where people get their opinions from. CE is yamtube university :laugh:
Re: What To Do About Joel Obi? Great Article.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:If he stays fit and is back to his best, I am going to made a radical suggestion and suggest that he plays leftback. He is a left footed player and can make a world of difference to the team.
Not that radical a suggestion - it's been put forward many times here. Given our options at left back and Obi's qualities - we're better off deploying him in midfield.
We do not have a leftback of Joel's quality. Besides, in midfield we have enough depth with Mikel, Ndidi and Onazi.

do we have a GK of his quality?

Ayo Akinfe wrote:If he stays fit and is back to his best, I am going to made a radical suggestion and suggest that he plays leftback. He is a left footed player and can make a world of difference to the team.
Not that radical a suggestion - it's been put forward many times here. Given our options at left back and Obi's qualities - we're better off deploying him in midfield.
We do not have a leftback of Joel's quality. Besides, in midfield we have enough depth with Mikel, Ndidi and Onazi.
Bros his natural position is not LB, he will help the team as a midfielder who can fill in a few other spots as the needs arise. I though you said Aina and Idowu were the next best thing since sliced bread.

Joel Obi will be a better leftback than both Aina and Idowu.
For starters, both of them are right footed while he is left footed.

In midfield, we are sorted with Ndidi and Mikel. We just need a playmaker and we are in serious business. Ighalo just needs to bring that form we saw at Watford to the table
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You are very good for entertainment.

Joel isn't a left-back. Period.

You've named the three starters in the midfield. That isn't depth! You must want us to play three games then return home!

We have to realize that in addition to Mikel, Onazi and ndidi there are Etebo and ogu available

Joel isn't a left-back. Period.

You've named the three starters in the midfield. That isn't depth! You must want us to play three games then return home!
(1) Some of you are so exasperating it is unbelievable
(2) I would play Mikel and Ndidi in central midfield, with Onazi and Etebo on my bench
(3) I would have Ogu and Agu on standby
(4) Joel Obi is not needed there as we have sufficient depth in midfield
(5) Victor Moses is not a wingback but he plays there for Chelsea
(6) It is not uncommon for players to play in different positions for club and country
(7) Leroy Sane plays upfront for Man City but is a wingback for Germany
(8) As we speak, only Joel and Iheanacho are left footed in the squad
(9) Joel Obi has played at leftback for Inter Milan before and I can tell you he is a far better option there than Idowu and Aina who are bith right footed
(10) My only concern with Joel is fitness. If he is healthy, he and Ebuehi will give us the much desired width!

john12 wrote:Honest question. If Joel was fit and called up to Nigeria present squad would he make our starting 11 in his natural midfield position or be a bench player?

Undisputed starter.
Joel doesn't even have a recent video of his skills on Youtube. The one up there is 4 years old!
So we must pick our team via YouTube clips? Take time, Mr. Damunkey!
Ugh! That came out so wrong....
I'm actually complaining about it, not using it as a reason not to invite him.
I'm a fan! I just want to see recent clips of him.

Bros his natural position is not LB, he will help the team as a midfielder who can fill in a few other spots as the needs arise. I though you said Aina and Idowu were the next best thing since sliced bread.
Joel Obi will be a better leftback than both Aina and Idowu. For starters, both of them are right footed while he is left footed.

In midfield, we are sorted with Ndidi and Mikel. We just need a playmaker and we are in serious business. Ighalo just needs to bring that form we saw at Watford to the table

Ok I get it. He is your latest flavor and thus better. Idowu and Aina are becoming old news because they have played for Rorh. Gat it! :mrgreen:

john12 wrote:Iheanacho should definitely start ahead of ighalo as a top 9. His finishing, awareness and most expecially set-piece abilities gives him the edge ahead of ighalo and Martins
Iheanacho's presence allows the CDs to breath and get bold while Ighalo makes them sweat a few more ounces. I don't know about you but as for me, I will have Ighalo harrassing the defence all day long for my team over Kelechi.

Ighalo misses too many chances. We need efficient players in super eagles Iheanacho game to goal ratio speaks volumes also his set piece abilities gives him the edge. Ighalo and Martins are good replacement sha

I think we all have short memories here. Folks should go watch the friendly vs Argentina from a few years back to reacquaint themselves with what level he is capable of.

The question is not whether he starts but rather if he is capable of recapturing the performance from back then, especially given the injury history.

He is a much higher quality player than Onazi. Besides Ndidi in central midfield, he offers much greater balance in LCM.

His on field relationship with Mikel back then was mighty impressive.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Txt with all due respect, the friendly against weakened Argentina team cannot be measured To judge a player quality. It was an extremely water-downed Argentina team. Also, The sequel to that game at bandagash ended as a loss for super eagles. Onazi for me starts ahead of Joel Obi in the middle his very energetic, strong tackler, stronger, powerful and faster and has that elusive World Cup experience. I personally believe Joel would be best suited as a substitute

john12 wrote:Txt with all due respect, the friendly against weakened Argentina team cannot be measured To judge a player quality. It was an extremely water-downed Argentina team. Also, The sequel to that game at bandagash ended as a loss for super eagles. Onazi for me starts ahead of Joel Obi in the middle his very energetic, strong tackler, stronger, powerful and faster and has that elusive World Cup experience. I personally believe Joel would be best suited as a substitute
Might’ve been a weakened Argentina team but it still had quality in midfield. Besides that wasn’t the only game he played for Nigeria back then.

By far a superior player to Onazi

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I disagree on him being far superior to Onazi. The choice is very arguable because Onazi has also put in great performances over the years. I believe Obi along with etebo and ogu should be our starters replacement

Undisputed starter.
:lol: We have seen enough to know what he has offered in the past when he featured in the national team set up, we can see a hint of what he could currently offer via his performances at his club this season. If he is fit, bobo go collect starting spot.

txj wrote:I think we all have short memories here. Folks should go watch the friendly vs Argentina from a few years back to reacquaint themselves with what level he is capable of.

The question is not whether he starts but rather if he is capable of recapturing the performance from back then, especially given the injury history.

He is a much higher quality player than Onazi. Besides Ndidi in central midfield, he offers much greater balance in LCM.

Like i said, starter!

icee

Post by icee »

txj wrote:I think we all have short memories here. Folks should go watch the friendly vs Argentina from a few years back to reacquaint themselves with what level he is capable of.

He is a much higher quality player than Onazi. Besides Ndidi in central midfield, he offers much greater balance in LCM

KPOM. Joel Obi in only second to Mikel on a scale focused on skill, IQ and technique. They guy is skill o po!. Please go watch that Argentina game from Siaisa times. Ndidi add first rate break up ability and Joel isn't as good at that. I'm seeing names like Ogu, ??? Ogu ke??? I have watched Ogu play many times and washed my eyes hoping he'll get better. If we're going with Ogu, I don't know. Obi in my view is better than Onazi. I'm happy some people see what some of us see

icee wrote:

He is a much higher quality player than Onazi. Besides Ndidi in central midfield, he offers much greater balance in LCM

KPOM. Joel Obi in only second to Mikel on a scale focused on skill, IQ and technique. They guy is skill o po!. Please go watch that Argentina game from Siaisa times. Ndidi add first rate break up ability and Joel isn't as good at that. I'm seeing names like Ogu, ??? Ogu ke??? I have watched Ogu play many times and washed my eyes hoping he'll get better. If we're going with Ogu, I don't know. Obi in my view is better than Onazi. I'm happy some people see what some of us see
Rohr require ndidi’s partner to also break up plays and defend.no?

Joel Obi will be a better leftback than both Aina and Idowu.
For starters, both of them are right footed while he is left footed.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You are very good for entertainment.
Maybe Idowu refused to shake Ayo's hand. He (Ayo) was ready to fight everyone on here over Idowu a few weeks ago.

chief nfachairman wrote:
deanotito wrote:
chief nfachairman wrote:This writer totally gets it. MIkel - Onazi - Ndidi is not creative and unpredictable enough. Onazi is not a great ball player, Ndidi is first a "Srapper" but a slightly better ball handler. We need creativity from deep, we need to be able to hold possession in the midfield, while keeping our tightness.

Mikel should not be our only creative point in our midfield. We need more. If MIkel gets marked out, a second midfielder continues.

For me, I want a Obi, Obi, Ndidi midfield
Problem is if Mikel gets shackled - we're in trouble
Not only shackled sef. Injured too (as in 2010 WC). Joel is not a replacement for Mikel's leadership, but at least his mates can feed off his energy in difficult periods. Similar to the effect Amokachi used to have. If he stays fit, and Mikel/Balogun/Moses/Ighalo/goalie play at their best then wow we will surely have reasons to smile after the WC.

(1) Anyone who understands football will appreciate the fact Joel Obi is our best bet at left back
(2) Joel is left footed which makes him invaluable
(3) What you want from a fullback is a player who can gallop up and down the flanks, whip crosses on and also track back to defend
(4) Brian Idowu and Ola Aina are both right footed, so any sensible coach will pick Joel ahead of them
(5) I would pick Joel and have Idowu as my number two on the bench
(6) I would have Ola Aina as my back up
(7) I would thank Uwua Echiejile for his services to the nation and wish him well in his career
(8) My only problem with Joel is his fitness. I just hope his health holds out
(9) Joel has played leftback for Inter Milan before so whole not have a problem with the role
(10) With Mikel and Ndidi in central midfield, we do not need Joel there

I like the way the team is finally coming together. Joel and Ebuehi add an extra dimension to the Super Eagles.

Ayo wants us to return home immediately after our third game! Kai! What a frustrating fellow! :D

No one else in Nigeria can whip left footed crosses in like this: