Personal Insults & Acceptable Forum Behaviour - Your View

CE Rules on Personal Insults...

Should not be allowed at all
42%
Should be allowed, with modifications to current rules
3%
Should remain as they are - anything goes
26%
Let's first define what a personal insult actually is
19%
It doesn't matter to me
11%

Total votes: 74

Re: Personal Insults & Acceptable Forum Behaviour - Your Vie

Bigpokey24 wrote:odas, I didn't read all that torey wey you write, abeg summarize am.. that was one long boring paragraph ..or better yet record am for youtube make we hear how you sound
Mumu, you attended Community Colleges, this and that, yet you learned nothing - kai :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

for those in favour of banning personal insults altogether
at which point would you say Bigpokey or odas crossed the line on this thread?

this :
Bigpokey24 wrote: when i say some people lack basic thinking skills, nah true i talk.olodorapata oju egba lo mo jeh
OR
this:
Odas wrote:Mumu, if you have your so called "critical thinking skills", you would have known what the six (6) months I asked for, means. I have told you several times to go back to school and to date you have refused to do so. Continue to believe your Community College education is all you NEED, dummy!
seara

Post by seara »

smartbrother wrote:for those in favour of banning personal insults altogether

this :
Bigpokey24 wrote: when i say some people lack basic thinking skills, nah true i talk.olodorapata oju egba lo mo jeh
OR
this:
Odas wrote:Mumu, if you have your so called "critical thinking skills", you would have known what the six (6) months I asked for, means. I have told you several times to go back to school and to date you have refused to do so. Continue to believe your Community College education is all you NEED, dummy!
I don't people as commun-icatiing when people talk that way to each other. Do you? :smile:
Don't take us too serious, we're here to Rant and Rave. - otite
accidental on purpose - Cellular

this :
OR
this:
These are 'legit' yabis :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: ....it's like calling smartbrother(daftbrother) a personal insult. :D
What is one suppose to call a dumb airhead that goes by the moniker smartbrother, maybe Albert Einstein :mrgreen: ................all in the silly PC of hiding behind 'personal insults'.
We have seen this idiotic attempt at 'thought-control' by little baby Oba the clown :D and we saw how serious discussions and intellectual yabis that comes with it, was nearly killed on CE.

Serious folks don't visit CE to read drab and dumb gasbagging from the likes of smartbrother(daftbrother), realtrouble & other colourless forumers...........................folks prefer reading/learning from the likes of prof Ohsee, Dr. Sabi, Cicob, Utabi chair aka Cellular, 1naija, Yemibrazil including the yabis they bring with their wisdom.
Keep your colourless and braindead :mrgreen: 'non-personal-insults' forumers to yourselves..................don't kill CE with 'boredom' delivered by intellectual pygmies :bump: .
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
seara

Post by seara »

this :
OR
this:
These are 'legit' yabis :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: ....it's like calling smartbrother(daftbrother) a personal insult. :D
What is one suppose to call a dumb airhead that goes by the moniker smartbrother, maybe Albert Einstein :mrgreen: ................all in the silly PC of hiding behind 'personal insults'.
We have seen this idiotic attempt at 'thought-control' by little baby Oba the clown :D and we saw how serious discussions and intellectual yabis that comes with it, was nearly killed on CE.

Serious folks don't visit CE to read drab and dumb gasbagging from the likes of smartbrother(daftbrother), realtrouble & other colourless forumers...........................folks prefer reading/learning from the likes of prof Ohsee, Dr. Sabi, Cicob, Utabi chair aka Cellular, 1naija, Yemibrazil including the yabis they bring with their wisdom.
Keep your colourless and braindead :mrgreen: 'non-personal-insults' forumers to yourselves..................don't kill CE with 'boredom' delivered by intellectual pygmies :bump: .
Not all yabis is playfully friendly. Some frustrated people childishly post yabbing for venting it. Some people find that kind of posting entertaining. A mature creative person doesn't need to vent that way nor be entertained by that kind of venting. It's rude to label people stupid, a moron, retarded, and i-diot, and other such names. When people do that they're not commun-cating.

seara wrote:

this :
OR
this:

Not all yabis is playfully friendly. Some frustrated people childishly post yabbing for venting it. Some people find that kind of posting entertaining. A mature creative person doesn't need to vent that way nor be entertained by that kind of venting. It's rude to label people stupid, a moron, retarded, and i-diot, and other such names. When people do that they're not commun-cating.
Stop defending/protecting .............yourself :mrgreen: :bump: :bump:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

zee wrote: Stop defending/protecting .............yourself :mrgreen: :bump: :bump:
She was defending/protecting you. :mrgreen: :bump: :bump:

theDunamis wrote:
zee wrote: Stop defending/protecting .............yourself :mrgreen: :bump: :bump:
Choi!!!! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

What’s going on here between pokey and odas? How dare you guys disrespect each other personally even on his thread? It’s quite insubordinate. Also, There’s a difference between using defamatory words in response to an unintelligent post by a forumer than outright consistent personal insult. Most people have problems with the latter.

john12 wrote:What’s going on here between pokey and odas? How dare you guys disrespect each other personally even on his thread? It’s quite insubordinate. Also, There’s a difference between using defamatory words in response to an unintelligent post by a forumer than outright consistent personal insult. Most people have problems with the latter.
Did I use any other word, except letting Odas know he lacks critical thinking skills?

Odas must improve his analytical skills.....I find it sad he lacks the basic ingredients to analyze simple issues...it concerning

Oga bigpokey it’s not your comment that’s fascinating it’s the mere fact that the both of you gave a full description of your life on a faceless social network just because you disagree with one another. To me, that’s exhaustive and peculiar. I believe that’s where people really have a problem. Most people here are okay with disagreements using defamatory words occasionally but when it becomes an habitual and consistent habit there’s a problem. We should all remember that this is a faceless forum therefore, we’re all bound to agree/disagree with one another. The keyword should be “Respect” and “Personal” everyone should learn to tolerate each other here. There can be occasional jibe at a forumer thread/response but it shouldn’t negate the topic nor becomes too personal.
Key words
1, Respect
2. Too Personal.
seara

Post by seara »

theDunamis wrote:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :thumbs:

Regarding the insults, personal or otherwise, I am ambivalent about these things. I get PMs filled with insults and folks daring me to ban them as if this is my personal site or something.

My take is rather simple, focus on whomever it is you have your issues with. There's absolutely no need to drag a third party, family into it.

You are free to hurl any invective you want my way. Personally, I think it is a sign of immaturity and a betrayal of whatever purported education someone claims to have received to engage someone in a crude and uncivilized manner. I don't want to ever be ashamed of reading what I wrote or when someone gets to know who I am in real life be embarrassed at my comportment.

I see the Internet and different forums as a window into the true being of a person.

I have made many friends on CE. I don't want to ever meet someone or be reluctant to meet someone because I have said unkind words to the person.

I also recognize that people are different. Some love responding to people the way they are addressed. Some are above it. For me, that is reaching a level of spiritual fulfillment that makes one truly happy. Seek to be a better person than you were yesterday.

My advice is to always be kind and show empathy to one another. It might help change how we address each other.
It is the love of the same thing that brought us together.

Be kind!

this :
OR
this:
Interesting question you raised. I think the 'ribbing' is good-natured. It is the typical Naija yabbis... the folks who cross the line know exactly when they cross the line.

It is like pornography, I might not be able to define it, but I can tell you it is pornography when I see it.

I like what Sine said, if you don't like how someone interacts with you, put him on your ignore list.

PS., I want to be able to still yab Princess, HemiOshodi, 1Naira, Comrade CICOB, Pa Ohsee, PaJ, Tifco and the list goes on... even BigTurkey sef. People come here to blow off steam. Sometimes they do cross the line... it is then we caution them. But the key for us is to recognize when someone is having a bad day and is just letting off steam and not try to respond in kind... folks should be able to stop when someone says he doesn't find the 'joke' funny.

this :
OR
this:
Interesting question you raised. I think the 'ribbing' is good-natured. It is the typical Naija yabbis... the folks who cross the line know exactly when they cross the line.

It is like pornography, I might not be able to define it, but I can tell you it is pornography when I see it.

I like what Sine said, if you don't like how someone interacts with you, put him on your ignore list.

PS., I want to be able to still yab Princess, HemiOshodi, 1Naira, Comrade CICOB, Pa Ohsee, PaJ, Tifco and the list goes on... even BigTurkey sef. People come here to blow off steam. Sometimes they do cross the line... it is then we caution them. But the key for us is to recognize when someone is having a bad day and is just letting off steam and not try to respond in kind... folks should be able to stop when someone says he doesn't find the 'joke' funny.
Thank you. If the recipient objects it is wrong for the perpetrator to continue. It should also stop when it is derailing the thread.
seara

Post by seara »

seara

Post by seara »

Cellular wrote:Regarding the insults, personal or otherwise, I am ambivalent about these things. I get PMs filled with insults and folks daring me to ban them as if this is my personal site or something.

My take is rather simple, focus on whomever it is you have your issues with. There's absolutely no need to drag a third party, family into it.

You are free to hurl any invective you want my way. Personally, I think it is a sign of immaturity and a betrayal of whatever purported education someone claims to have received to engage someone in a crude and uncivilized manner. I don't want to ever be ashamed of reading what I wrote or when someone gets to know who I am in real life be embarrassed at my comportment.

I see the Internet and different forums as a window into the true being of a person.

I have made many friends on CE. I don't want to ever meet someone or be reluctant to meet someone because I have said unkind words to the person.

I also recognize that people are different. Some love responding to people the way they are addressed. Some are above it. For me, that is reaching a level of spiritual fulfillment that makes one truly happy. Seek to be a better person than you were yesterday.

My advice is to always be kind and show empathy to one another. It might help change how we address each other.
It is the love of the same thing that brought us together.

Be kind!
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

I think Odas should be banned , so he can go back to school.the guy won't improve at all

john12 wrote:What’s going on here between pokey and odas? How dare you guys disrespect each other personally even on his thread? It’s quite insubordinate. Also, There’s a difference between using defamatory words in response to an unintelligent post by a forumer than outright consistent personal insult. Most people have problems with the latter.
Did I use any other word, except letting Odas know he lacks critical thinking skills?

Odas must improve his analytical skills.....I find it sad he lacks the basic ingredients to analyze simple issues...it concerning
Actually many CE folks do know each other and we've all met...so me stating or answering Odas means nothing..what if those info I gave home were false just to expose him? :D that Odas says he needs 6 months to attack bigpokey :rotf:

NaijaGeisha

Post by NaijaGeisha »

Wait so I can't insult Thiefco again?
"The greatest weapon anyone can use against us is our mind by preying on the doubts and uncertainties that already lurk there" -Emily Thorne (Rvenge)

I don't want to meet Princess or yemibrassiere because they will not be happy with the fingerprints that will be left on their faces for all the years of insult I have endured from them. Nonsense.

But bia Damunkey, this thread is very insulting. please delete it.

NaijaGeisha wrote:Wait so I can't insult Thiefco again?
Nobody will stop you from doing that. Insulting him is actively encouraged.

... and you who has logical sense and "critical thinking skills", why do you NOT understand what "move-on" means which I told you TWO years AGO? With your critical thinking skills, why don't you know the difference between ACTION and ACTIONS?

On the other hand, why do you have almost 74,000 posts in this Site? Do you NOT have a JOB? Is being in, or on this Site the only thing you do? Do you have family at all? If you do, when do you have time for your wife and children?

Oh, sorry you are good in PUTTING OIL in your ARSE for another man to PUMP which is a terrible thing to do, so you have no wife and children. Too bad for someone of your age!