Leicester sign new midfielder What does it mean for our boys

Midfielder Adrien Silva has finally joined Leicester City, after the Premier League club missed the deadline to sign him in August by 14 seconds.

Fifa rejected the 28-year-old's move from Sporting Lisbon in the summer as the paperwork arrived too late.

The Portugal international has been training with Leicester throughout the winter to maintain his fitness.

His £22m deal was completed on Monday, but he is not eligible for the Foxes' home match against Huddersfield.

Speaking about the four-month wait for the move to be approved, Silva said: "When you have a period like this, it's very up and down.

"You have to keep a positive mentality and that's what I've tried to do. I've kept my mind focused on my job and what I love to do."

Silva, who was born in France, has won 20 international caps and was part of the Portugal squad that won Euro 2016.

"It's been very frustrating, but now the difficult times are past me and I'm very happy to be close to my goal," he told LCFC TV.

"I've been working hard every day to arrive at this moment and I'm in good shape.

"It's been very important to keep training because it's a long time not playing. There is nothing better than the game."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/amp/football/42533449
Re: Leicester sign new midfielder What does it mean for our

He's an attacking mf, it mean nothing to our players. Might actually be good for Nacho
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Unless he is a great passer of the ball, scoring two goals in three years wont cut it at LCFC unless you can play defense.

Nothing. No one is benching Ndidi in his current form, and he is not in competiton with Nacho and/or Musa.

Let us assume this guy is a great passer/playmaker who can orchestrate things in the last third, Leicester could go into the second half of the season looking like this:

**********************************Vardie*****************************************

***************Albrighton/Gray********************Mahrez*******************

****************************************Silva**************************************

*************************Ndidi********************Iborra**************************

***Fuchs*************** Maguire**************Morgan**************Simpson***

***************************************Schimechel********************************

Looks pretty formidable to me. Musa clearly has to move on and as per Kelechi, his only hope is to start playing better than Gray and Albrighton!

Ndidi is untouchable.
He will likely compete with Okazaki. The only thing it means is that

BTW Slimani starts, no Vardy in sight, while Iheanacho is on the bench (but so is Ulloa).

One thing is obvious - at least one striker needs to go, because Leicester can't even give one second-choice striker proper playing time, but they have three.

So just because 1 Nigerian is a starter and two are bench warmers in a useless bottom of the table English league, man no go hear word?

Undertaker wrote:So just because 1 Nigerian is a starter and two are bench warmers in a useless bottom of the table English league, man no go hear word?

Are you reading yourself? Leicester are former champions and currently in eighth position.

Undertaker wrote:So just because 1 Nigerian is a starter and two are bench warmers in a useless bottom of the table English league, man no go hear word?
Leicester at 8th... Far from bottom of the league.

Lmao @ “let us assume!” :lol: that’s the level of discuss in CE nowadays! Wow! :lol:

Anyway, Adrien Silva is a CM. He is like Joao Moutinho, a CM with playmakng abilities and hustle. With Puel, he can either play in front of Iborra and Ndidi or bench Iborra. He doesn’t have the capacity to replace or bench Ndidi

Ndidi is unbenchable. The DM is now also the last position where Leicester needs any backup or upgrade.\

The only reason Leicester would replace him is because some big club jumps in to buy him out for big cash.

Slimani did OK, but no goal.
Pretty obvious that Adrien Silva will get a run out, but a big chance we'll see Iheanacho as well.

Ndidi meanwhile in beast mode for Leicester.
At one point I even saw the Huddersfield midfielders running away from him :)

What would you say if "Lester" loses Mahrez this January?

Ndidi with two posts in two game. Hope he finally gets his goal :)

marutimon wrote:Ndidi meanwhile in beast mode for Leicester.
At one point I even saw the Huddersfield midfielders running away from him :)
Ndidi is still not of the caliber of Jake Livermore. :D

I watch Leicester a lot. NBC seems to have a thing for their games. I reckon Ndidi and Schmeichel are the most secure members of that team...even more than Vardy sef

Untouchables in the Leicester team

Kasper Schmiechel
Wes Morgan
Harry McGuire
Wilfred Ndidi
Javed Maheez
Jamie Vardie

Everyone else is fighting for five slots

Mahrez is leaving, this window or come summer transfer window. He and Vardy rumored transfer is the reason Leicester keep stocking up on strikers
TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

Ndidi is one of the players in our NT that is safe at his club. Silva would either play as the furthest forward midfielder in a midfield 3 or as a CM ahead of Iborra. Iborra lacks pace and better suited as a CM than a DM. Leicester don't have a quality back up for Ndidi.

He is the player I'm least worried about. I actually think Ndidi will get picked up by a bigger club in England or Europe. Iheanacho and Musa need to move as they won't get playing time at Leicester.

TheHitman47 wrote:Ndidi is one of the players in our NT that is safe at his club. Silva would either play as the furthest forward midfielder in a midfield 3 or as a CM ahead of Iborra. Iborra lacks pace and better suited as a CM than a DM. Leicester don't have a quality back up for Ndidi.

He is the player I'm least worried about. I actually think Ndidi will get picked up by a bigger club in England or Europe. Iheanacho and Musa need to move as they won't get playing time at Leicester.
Moving does not guarantee they will get playing time either.
TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

He may not get as much playing time but where he's at he will have a lot of playing time.