Nigeria 5 - 2 Croatia

2011 FIFA U-20 WC
Re: Nigeria 5 - 2 Croatia

The lesson I am getting here which can be applied in Russia is that our defending of set pieces has to improve. It will be hard for Croatia to score against in open play. Defending of set pieces is the key

This game is useless ! If u want to know about Croatia go watch the Euro games v Spain and the wcq.I doubt Rohr wil conceed the mf to them but they’re very good going forward. However, they will give u space to run into on the counter. Imho, efficiency will win on the day. Whoever is able to take their chances and avoid mistakes will win the game.

highbury wrote:The lesson I am getting here which can be applied in Russia is that our defending of set pieces has to improve. It will be hard for Croatia to score against in open play. Defending of set pieces is the key
that is that team. we have good headers in the current team. in any case this game will count for nothing. Totally two different teams

the Croatians play pattern will similar to the u20s difference will be they will be more clinical and take their chances - they will always out do us on setplays - However they will find it difficult to handle our fast pace power play- i expect us to be full of energy in that opening game.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:This game is useless ! If u want to know about Croatia go watch the Euro games v Spain and the wcq.I doubt Rohr wil conceed the mf to them but they’re very good going forward. However, they will give u space to run into on the counter. Imho, efficiency will win on the day. Whoever is able to take their chances and avoid mistakes will win the game.
... we WILL BEAT Croatia and TOP the group. Please document this "prediction" somewhere you can see everyday.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:This game is useless ! If u want to know about Croatia go watch the Euro games v Spain and the wcq.I doubt Rohr wil conceed the mf to them but they’re very good going forward. However, they will give u space to run into on the counter. Imho, efficiency will win on the day. Whoever is able to take their chances and avoid mistakes will win the game.
... we WILL BEAT Croatia and TOP the group. Please document this "prediction" somewhere you can see everyday.
and E no happen we fit offer U to BH and secure the release of any girls in captivity? :evil:

you get strong liver to predict the win o- i for support you but with the current rate at which our boys are dropping form - i worry o

where is that our big #12?

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:where is that our big #12?
If you mean Nwofor, he is currently clubless, which is sad because he had some talent, unlike Flavour Flav Uchebo.

Ibadan people may have cursed him for dumping Shooting for Rangers before travelling abroad.

From Venlo in Holland, he moved to Lierse in Belgium, & then Boavista in Protugal, and that club that is very popular with Nigerians AS Trecin.

https://www.transfermarkt.com/uche-nwof ... ler/184948

Obuh's U-20 side was not too bad. They lost to France and Lacazette in the Quarters after extra time.

They had a few weaknesses though.

For starters, Dami Paul was way too short and too unstable as a goalkeeper.

truetalk wrote:Obuh's U-20 side was not too bad. They lost to France and Lacazette in the Quarters after extra time.

was that the side loaded with overage players? I recollect one of Obuh's teams had them in abundance. One CE called me to apologize for insulting me when I called them out, after he got inside info on more players than I even suspected. I believe I pointed out one player back then....

Was Obuh not the coach again at the helm during the Chukwudi controversy? I was quite upset when he was busy citing God instead of confronting the situation.

truetalk wrote:Obuh's U-20 side was not too bad. They lost to France and Lacazette in the Quarters after extra time.

was that the side loaded with overage players? I recollect one of Obuh's teams had them in abundance. One CE called me to apologize for insulting me when I called them out, after he got inside info on more players than I even suspected. I believe I pointed out one player back then....

Was Obuh not the coach again at the helm during the Chukwudi controversy? I was quite upset when he was busy citing God instead of confronting the situation.
There were serious questions about Fortune Chukwudi, captain of Obuh's 2009 U-17 squad. Chief Justice Adokiye came out with evidence that pretty much confirmed that the dude was at least 22 at the time. We fought that fight very well on the forum, as some had the nerve to attack Adokiye with comments like 'the timing of the expose is wrong, bla, bla, bla'.

There were also questions about Stanley 'lil Messi'Okoro, but nothing clear cut, as with Uncle Fortune.

The likes of Dami Paul, Omeruo, Kayode, Sani Emmanuel, Edafe Egbedi, Terry Envoh & Edafe Egbedi graduated from the 2009 U-17 team to the 2011 U-20 team. To Obuh's credit, he did not graduate the 2 most controversial players (Fortune and Lil Messi) to the U-20 squad. Interestingly, the likes of Onazi & Ajagun also dropped out.

New faces in the 2011 team included Ahmed Musa, Ramon Azeez, Uche Nwofor and Terna Suswam.

It was a good U-20 side. They just ran into a loaded French side (with the likes of Lacazette, Griezmann, Coquelin, Kakuta, and the Nigeria eligible Jonathan Ligali, and lost in extra time.

Even though we've cleaned up our act at the U-17 level, the U-20 is the tournament that really matters. Cheating has little effect at that level, and it is almost always an accurate precursor of a National team that is about to become a global powerhouse (so, as much as I hate to admit it, don't sleep on England in the next 5 years)
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

No mind all diS run arounb. Naija go b NaiJa N handle Dem.
Last edited by Man Ataye on Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

truetalk wrote:

There were serious questions about Fortune Chukwudi, captain of Obuh's 2009 U-17 squad. Chief Justice Adokiye came out with evidence that pretty much confirmed that the dude was at least 22 at the time. We fought that fight very well on the forum, as some had the nerve to attack Adokiye with comments like 'the timing of the expose is wrong, bla, bla, bla'.

There were also questions about Stanley 'lil Messi'Okoro, but nothing clear cut, as with Uncle Fortune.

The likes of Dami Paul, Omeruo, Kayode, Sani Emmanuel, Edafe Egbedi, Terry Envoh & Edafe Egbedi graduated from the 2009 U-17 team to the 2011 U-20 team. To Obuh's credit, he did not graduate the 2 most controversial players (Fortune and Lil Messi) to the U-20 squad. Interestingly, the likes of Onazi & Ajagun also dropped out.

New faces in the 2011 team included Ahmed Musa, Ramon Azeez, Uche Nwofor and Terna Suswam.

It was a good U-20 side. They just ran into a loaded French side (with the likes of Lacazette, Griezmann, Coquelin, Kakuta, and the Nigeria eligible Jonathan Ligali, and lost in extra time.

Even though we've cleaned up our act at the U-17 level, the U-20 is the tournament that really matters. Cheating has little effect at that level, and it is almost always an accurate precursor of a National team that is about to become a global powerhouse (so, as much as I hate to admit it, don't sleep on England in the next 5 years)

Ajagun indeed graduated from the 2009 U17 side to the 2011 Flying Eagles and was a key player on the team that was knocked out of the tournament by France in the quarterfinals.

Fortune Chukwudi graduated from the the 2009 squad as well and was initially part of the qualifiers before Obuh was forced to drop him after Nigerians shouted. In addition, Obuh was forced to drop some players on the eve of the 2011 African U20 Tournament after certain things were brought to light that raised questions about their ages. Among the implicated players were Chidi Osuchukwu (who was dropped) and Philemon Daniel (who was retained after Obuh personally vouched for him). Interestingly, the same Osuchukwu emerged again on Obuh's 2013 Flying Eagles!

Glad to have left those days behind.

truetalk wrote:There were serious questions about Fortune Chukwudi, captain of Obuh's 2009 U-17 squad. Chief Justice Adokiye came out with evidence that pretty much confirmed that the dude was at least 22 at the time. We fought that fight very well on the forum, as some had the nerve to attack Adokiye with comments like 'the timing of the expose is wrong, bla, bla, bla'.

Little wrong with 'Little Messi" Okoro - other than his LOOKS...
Meanwhile, a decade later, his OLDER brother Osas Okoro remains at heart of the home-based SE!

mystic wrote:
truetalk wrote:

Ajagun indeed graduated from the 2009 U17 side to the 2011 Flying Eagles and was a key player on the team that was knocked out of the tournament by France in the quarterfinals.

Fortune Chukwudi graduated from the the 2009 squad as well and was initially part of the qualifiers before Obuh was forced to drop him after Nigerians shouted. In addition, Obuh was forced to drop some players on the eve of the 2011 African U20 Tournament after certain things were brought to light that raised questions about their ages. Among the implicated players were Chidi Osuchukwu (who was dropped) and Philemon Daniel (who was retained after Obuh personally vouched for him). Interestingly, the same Osuchukwu emerged again on Obuh's 2013 Flying Eagles!

Glad to have left those days behind.

truetalk wrote:There were serious questions about Fortune Chukwudi, captain of Obuh's 2009 U-17 squad. Chief Justice Adokiye came out with evidence that pretty much confirmed that the dude was at least 22 at the time. We fought that fight very well on the forum, as some had the nerve to attack Adokiye with comments like 'the timing of the expose is wrong, bla, bla, bla'.

Little wrong with 'Little Messi" Okoro - other than his LOOKS...
Meanwhile, a decade later, his OLDER brother Osas Okoro remains at heart of the home-based SE!

True!