How to Win APOY

no need to win AFCON, just score goals in the EPL

Re: How to Win APOY

Not fair. Dude led his country to WC, made final of ANC, tore up Serie A and has molested EPL.

kawawa wrote:Not fair. Dude led his country to WC, made final of ANC, tore up Serie A and has molested EPL.
The highlighted should be irrelevant for an African award.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Bigpokey24 wrote:no need to win AFCON, just score goals in the EPL
Yup. He’s going to win next yr too if he stays at Liverpool.

kawawa wrote:Not fair. Dude led his country to WC, made final of ANC, tore up Serie A and has molested EPL.
Why? Is club form and success not important?

Yea, can think of the example of Weah a WPOY and rightfully AFOY even though he didn't do jack in African footie.

Why? The award is not called African player of the year in African competitions.

It is but has to be the appropriate stats. A player's club performance in Africa matters not in Europe. Club performance in Europe should matter for an European award. Do you see Nt performance for an African country matter when Europe gives an award to a player playing in Europe?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

niyi wrote:
Why? The award is not called African player of the year in African competitions.
You may ask the same question to the award organizers in Europe and South America. Their award rules are even more restrictive than what I advocate.

niyi wrote:
By the way the term refers to an African player i.e a player playing for an African team. For instance, if Messi is playing for Mazembe he would be eligible.

niyi wrote:
By the way the term refers to an African player i.e a player playing for an African team. For instance, if Messi is playing for Mazembe he would be eligible.

niyi wrote:

niyi wrote:
By the way the term refers to an African player i.e a player playing for an African team. For instance, if Messi is playing for Mazembe he would be eligible. Lukaku would not be because he does not play for an African nt or club inspite of his African parentage.

niyi wrote:
By the way the term refers to an African player i.e a player playing for an African team. For instance, if Messi is playing for Mazembe he would be eligible. Lukaku would not be because he does not play for an African nt or club inspite of his African parentage.
Romelu Lukaku is a Belgian. If an African player is doing well in any league he eligible for the award. It is about Africa’s best, irrespective of where they play their club football.

Mario Kempes won South American footballer of the year while playing in Spain. Originally, journalists could vote for South American players at any club around the world but in 1986, there was a change in rules to prohibit players not playing in South American leagues from winning the award.

From 1998, eligibility extended to South Americans playing in Mexico due to the participation of Mexican clubs in the Copa Libertadores. Until Caf change the rules, we have to go with what we have!

niyi wrote:
Romelu Lukaku is a Belgian. If an African player is doing well in any league he eligible for the award. It is about Africa’s best, irrespective of where they play their club football.

Mario Kempes won South American footballer of the year while playing in Spain. Originally, journalists could vote for South American players at any club around the world but in 1986, there was a change in rules to prohibit players not playing in South American leagues from winning the award.

From 1998, eligibility extended to South Americans playing in Mexico due to the participation of Mexican clubs in the Copa Libertadores. Until Caf change the rules, we have to go with what we have!
Ayo,

What I am saying is not even changing the rule but change emphasis to focus on CAF's own competitions. It is less extreme than the rule in both South America and Europe. My full view can be found via this link:

https://www.aclsports.com/8003-2/

niyi wrote:
Thanks for your opinion. Obviously a majority of the journalists, coaches and players who actually vote do not agree with you and think the award is meant to reward the best performing football player who represents an African nation. You can't just assert that your own very arbitrary differentiation between competitions that matter and competitions that don't matter is the relevant criteria.

niyi wrote:

Ayo,

What I am saying is not even changing the rule but change emphasis to focus on CAF's own competitions. It is less extreme than the rule in both South America and Europe. My full view can be found via this link:

https://www.aclsports.com/8003-2/

Such subjective ambiguity is a recipe for confusion. Clear cut guidelines are what are needed. With the ANC and Chan, there is no confusion whatsoever. I am a firm believer in such clarity.
TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

To bigpokey. When is the last time a German player won the Ballon D'or or the World Player of the year? Germany Won the World Cup yet none of their players won the Ballon D'or that year.

The award is based of of the best performing player who represents an African national team and Salah rightfully won it. No Nigerian, Cameroonian or otherwise deserves the award more than him this year so stop complaining.

niyi wrote:
niyi wrote:
Thanks for your opinion. Obviously a majority of the journalists, coaches and players who actually vote do not agree with you and think the award is meant to reward the best performing football player who represents an African nation. You can't just assert that your own very arbitrary differentiation between competitions that matter and competitions that don't matter is the relevant criteria.
niyi,

Obviously they do not going by current guideline. My opinion is one made to generate change. I argue what is relevant and irrelevant to make people rethink. That is the obvious reason and I write about it in several media and will continue to do so with the hope that rethink and change shall happen today or tomorrow. Its a marketplace of ideas and let the best be adopted. The South American award would not have changed without people criticizing it. In essence, change is preceded by strident criticisms of the status quo.

niyi wrote:
niyi wrote:
Niyi, I think you are missing the point "Oga Enugu II" is trying to state, which is: The African player of the year's award should be for players playing in teams in Africa and hence he (Enugu II) used Messi as an example.

Based on your point - Niyi - I think the rule needs to be changed by CAF to avoid the pitfall in your example of coaches and et al. In all, both you and Enugu II are correct in my opinion, except your views are based on different areas of the issue.

The year 2017 was the first time football fans and the general public were allowed to vote for the Africa Player of the Year award. Previously African coaches, journalists and national team captains voted for the winners.

Rubbish Thread

I am with Enugu II