Spastic, how far with your boy John "Beckenbauer" Stones?

:D :D :D :D :taunt: :taunt:
Against Burnley, watch your "Beckenbauer" show how much of a one-foot donkey he is from .53 of the video below. :lol:

The English media were eager to make excuses for him: rust, first game back, blah, blah, but imagine if Mangala had made the same mistake? To be fair to the English media, they are now full of faint praises for Mangala, going on about how he has come in and done his job well. :thumbs:

But the twitterverse was not so kind to Donkey-Kong John. :taunt: :D

https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/football ... s-burnley/

All hail "World Class" John Stones. :lol:
spastic
Re: Spastic, how far with your boy John "Beckenbauer" Stones

Post by spastic »

Chapeau! That's what the Don called him. Not worried about Stones. He made a mistake otherwise was stellar.

spastic wrote:Chapeau! That's what the Don called him. Not worried about Stones. He made a mistake otherwise was stellar.
Chief, he may be the weak link in the drive for an "invincible" season. He has but one foot, and a smart manager with the right team may try to exploit that. That was the problem with the younger Mangala, though he has worked hard to correct that. Stones is very far from the finished article, and he may be found out soon.

Stones again!

Spaz, how far? :D

ohsee wrote:
spastic wrote:Chapeau! That's what the Don called him. Not worried about Stones. He made a mistake otherwise was stellar.
Chief, he may be the weak link in the drive for an "invincible" season. He has but one foot, and a smart manager with the right team may try to exploit that. That was the problem with the younger Mangala, though he has worked hard to correct that. Stones is very far from the finished article, and he may be found out soon.
Uncle abeg we don't want City go all season unbeaten in EPL.It will not be a good story hope Liverpool surprise everyone this weekend and end this invincible

ohsee wrote:
Uncle abeg we don't want City go all season unbeaten in EPL.It will not be a good story hope Liverpool surprise everyone this weekend and end this invincible
They using all their big guns for this game..only problem is Coutinho no go dey

paj wrote:
ohsee wrote:
They using all their big guns for this game..only problem is Coutinho no go dey

I wondered why Liverpool could not hold him for another week. He could have helped them in this coming game.

Coutinho is actually injured.

The YeyeMan wrote:Coutinho is actually injured.
true...so how Pool go do am?

paj wrote:
Press and isolate Mangala (sorry ohsee).

Deploy Lallana to mark Fernandinho

Transition quickly and especially get the ball to Mane and Salah on the flanks.

Don't get players sent off. :D

Watching Bravo and Stone as they almost got City knocked out in the FA , it suddenly occured to me why they are flying this season and struggled last season.

The difference between this year and last boils down to the attrocities of those two..especially Bravo.

oloye wrote:Watching Bravo and Stone as they almost got City knocked out in the FA , it suddenly occured to me why they are flying this season and struggled last season.

The difference between this year and last boils down to the attrocities of those two..especially Bravo.

I believe Otamendi had more faults than Stone last season. I stand corrected though. But Bravo took the cake.

English press blaming mangala for the stones penalty

paj wrote:

If you think pep is going to play Mangala in a game verses Liverpool then you really don't know anything about football. I don't understand ohsee's fascination with Mangala but the truth is that as good as he may be he just doesn't fit the system.

Are we really knocking John Stones?? The boy can play! Mangala has improved this season taking his chances well. That's about it.

oloye wrote:Watching Bravo and Stone as they almost got City knocked out in the FA , it suddenly occured to me why they are flying this season and struggled last season.

I believe Otamendi had more faults than Stone last season. I stand corrected though. But Bravo took the cake.
But Otamendi has come good this season, yea i agree he was one of the culprits.

Man City have a central defenders problem. Their only centreback who is quality is always injured. They are vulnerable at the heart of their defence.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
paj wrote:

If you think pep is going to play Mangala in a game verses Liverpool then you really don't know anything about football. I don't understand ohsee's fascination with Mangala but the truth is that as good as he may be he just doesn't fit the system.
Oloye's scouting report says that Mangala is world class. Oga Oloye no be so????

Wetin be the name of that 'world class' Portuguese player that Ferguson signed for Man U without even watching him play? Bebe????

Mr. Piffington wrote:
paj wrote:

Oloye's scouting report says that Mangala is world class. Oga Oloye no be so????

Wetin be the name of that 'world class' Portuguese player that Ferguson signed for Man U without even watching him play? Bebe????
I thought he was Angolan? What about the WC Cameroon player, named twice, that Ferguson signed? Don't even remind me of the world class defender from Estonia abi na Lithuania that Wenger signed, who was so poor that the Man U strikers began to pity him?

Mr. Piffington wrote:
paj wrote:

Chief, you are right about one thing: on Sunday, Pep will go with Stones and Otamendi, or Stones and Kompany if he is available. No number of mistakes Stones makes will change that. Stones is Pep's boy, but he made so many terrible mistakes last season that he should have been shipped out ages ago. I remember how, many years ago at AC Milan, the Dutch international Winston Bogarde made one bad backpass that led to a goal, and Fabio Capello shipped him out almost the next day. Old School coaches like Capello would never have tolerated the sort of mistakes Stones made last season.

We embrace players for mainly irrational reasons, and Pep shows that such behavior is not restricted to fans like me. :D But let me make one prediction for Sunday: if for some reason--injury or whatever--Mangala plays, he will be solid, as he has been in virtually all games he has played this season, whether he "fits the system" or not. :thumbs:

Mr. Piffington wrote:
paj wrote:

I thought he was Angolan? What about the WC Cameroon player, named twice, that Ferguson signed? Don't even remind me of the world class defender from Estonia abi na Lithuania that Wenger signed, who was so poor that the Man U strikers began to pity him?
'Ojemba-Ojemba' (or suntin like dat).
I thought he was South African.

paj wrote:

:D :taunt:
Chief, don't sorry me. :D If Mangala plays, the mistakes won't come from him. As spastic rightly pointed out (thinking it a slur on my boy), Mangala makes safe and conservative passes. Pep encourages the others to make more adventurous passes, and you will note that Otamendi and Stones pass the ball to opponents (far too) often, something that the media has said Pep does not mind. A team that wants to beat City will have to take advantage of such bad passes out of the back, and punish City for them.

Not sure why you want Lallana to mark Fernandinho, the designated DM on City. De genius DeBruyne is the main midfield man on City. Stop him and you stop City.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
paj wrote:

'Ojemba-Ojemba' (or suntin like dat).
I thought he was South African.
Make Doc Sabi catch you. :D Eric Djemba-Djemba, from Plantania.