Liverpool to move for Leicester City midfielder Ndidi

Re: Liverpool to move for Leicester City midfielder Ndidi

bully12 wrote:In all honesty Ndidi is the only Nigerian player that has progressed in upward trajectory perhaps Victor Moses included for so many many years. Others either regressed as soon as they are noticed or become stagnant in their growth sometimes through injury or bereft of technical know- how or talent to participate in a higher level. I was hoping Onyekuru will follow sooth unfortunately he has sustained an almost a career ending injury. Something is definitely amiss with Nigeria God of soccer. Apparently he or she needs to be placated
It’s Karma! Keshi and Amodu need to forgive us in heaven.

heavyd wrote:JJ
Express UK and several other legit sites reported likewise, a little search will show it.
The ones I've seen are quoting a Nigerian source.
This. Likely conjured up in a Naija press room or beer-parlor (little difference)...

marutimon wrote:
platinum wrote:Naby Keita is joining them next season, this is unlikely.
Entirely different position. Keita is a CM, not a DM. Keita can play as a DM, but that would be detrimental to his overall gameplay, as it would stifle his forward runs. Keita is probably the only player out there equally apt at playing as an AM and as a DM.
Ndidi doesn't play as a DM.

Ndidi is not a defensive midfielder? What?

I concur. They would not buy Ndidi to do exactly the same job as Keita (when they also have Capt Henderson and Gigi W in midfield too).

wiseone wrote:I concur. They would not buy Ndidi to do exactly the same job as Keita (when they also have Capt Henderson and Gigi W in midfield too).
Keita will not sit in front of the D for Liverpool.

marutimon wrote:Ndidi is not a defensive midfielder? What?
He’s a MD :laugh:

bully12 wrote:In all honesty Ndidi is the only Nigerian player that has progressed in upward trajectory perhaps Victor Moses included for so many many years. Others either regressed as soon as they are noticed or become stagnant in their growth sometimes through injury or bereft of technical know- how or talent to participate in a higher level. I was hoping Onyekuru will follow sooth unfortunately he has sustained an almost a career ending injury. Something is definitely amiss with Nigeria God of soccer. Apparently he or she needs to be placated
This calamity in our soccer has nothing with those folk. The regression and apathetic situation started a long ago before the demise of those individuals.. When was the last time Nigeria came close to produce world class player. 99.9 percent of our players have been mediocre even the ones that shone in junior tournaments ,. There is no question about it something is obviously amiss. Basically we are not getting the fundamentals right.

bully12 wrote:
This calamity in our soccer has nothing with those folk. The regression and apathetic situation started a long ago before the demise of those individuals.. When was the last time Nigeria came close to produce world class player. 99.9 percent of our players have been mediocre even the ones that shone in junior tournaments ,. There is no question about it something is obviously amiss. Basically we are not getting the fundamentals right.
I know we are not, but even to that end we are still very very unlucky. At least we should be getting the odd bit of luck. It isn't like in the early 90s or late 80s we had the best academies in the world.

Countries like Togo, Gabon, Armenia etc. are hardly the go to places for nurturing talent, yet some notable players have sprung from those places.

As bad as we are, we should still have had better players in the past 15 or so years.

I think there is also a cultural factor, everytime a player doesn't break through we scream HYPE, haba. The world is filled with individuals who did not achieve their potential. It doesn't mean they were hyped up! Are you going to say Nikola Tesla was hyped? Heck even Albert Einstein might not have fulfilled his potential.

So NOT every player we have had that failed to break through certain thresholds was hyped. I think there may be a cultural factor. Obafemi Martins for example had a good career and many of you know I am one of his biggest fans, but he should arguably have had a better career. Could different fundamentals have helped? Sure. But I think the mentality is also an issue.

Nigeria is more and more a materialistic society, even more than we were in the 80s and 90s. Many of our players IMO have become swayed by fast money and don't have their heads screwed on right. Nigeria IMO is more a materialistic culture than the average society. I was surprised at some of the comments I heard when I visited Nigeria. So I think something is definitely up. am just speculating, but I think it is more than fundamentals.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

marutimon wrote:Ndidi is not a defensive midfielder? What?
I understand the point you'd make. My point is he doesn't only play as a holding midfielder for Leicester AND for the SE. Leicester will usually play 3 or 2 in central midfield and sometimes, Ndidi is the deepest lying midfielder and at other times he isnt, sometimes they have a midfield triangle and he's the most advanced in it, sometimes he is roaming while someone else sits in DM and the third guy is ahead of him, it has depended on the scenario of the game. Sometimes Iborra sits behind him, Albrighton has on occasion been behind him, even Fuchs has sat behind him. It's not as simple as saying Ndidi is a DM and that's it, it'd be like calling Vieira a DM. It pigeon holes what he brings to the midfield dynamic of his teams.

Not sure he fits.

Should be interesting what happens in the summer.

Keita comes in, and out would've been Cou and Can.

Klopp favors a rotating MF, rather than one with a specialized DM. The #6, who is typically the deepest of the trio, plays behind two #8s (or 8 and 10), but also gets forward.

In the end he may not buy a defensive MF at all, and rely on what he has.

In terms of that, Grujic at Cardiff is one to watch...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Does not have the all round skills to play the #6 role for Liverpool, unless the current thinking in the club changes.

Strong rumor about Jorginho (Napoli)

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Liverpool have just signed Fabinho from Monaco.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:JJ! Dey wan put Ndidi on the bench with a shiny red jersey :laugh:

Ko ni da fun klop! :curse: God forbid bad thing. :thumbs:
The first thing that crossed my mind

The YeyeMan wrote:Liverpool have just signed Fabinho from Monaco.
Enjoy!

Enjoy!

Fabinho
Keita
Ox
Wijnaldum
Milner
Henderson
Lallana

Possibly Fekir too....

Interesting times.

I'm disappointed they didn't go for Ndidi but he arguably doesn't have the complete skill set that Klopp would look for in a 6.

Baller
kbt

Post by kbt »

Welcome to Liverpool Football Club :thumbs:

wow, this is a scary good move for Liverpool. This guy was the engine of that Monaco team not Bakayoko

My favorite defensive midfielder :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Enjoy!

Fabinho
Keita
Ox
Wijnaldum
Milner
Henderson
Lallana

Possibly Fekir too....

Interesting times.

I'm disappointed they didn't go for Ndidi but he arguably doesn't have the complete skill set that Klopp would look for in a 6.

Look at this moronic lying idiottttt ! :rotf: :rotf:

So no Jorginho for Liverpool?