ROHR names MUSA among 7 players sure to make WC team......

Surprised that Wilfred Ndidi is not listed.

Gernot Rohr says seven players are sure of making it through to the World Cup -

The German coach released a 28-man list that will face Serbia and Poland in March - Nigeria will be facing Argentina, Croatia, and Iceland in Group D Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr, has reportedly listed seven players who will automatically make his team for the 2018 FIFA World Cup tournament in Russia. They include captain John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses, Leon Balogun, Alex Iwobi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ahmed Musa and William Troost-Ekong.

“We have a few very experienced players, such as our captain John Obi Mikel (Tianjin Teda, China). Our two central defenders William Troost-Ekong (Bursaspor, Turkey) and Leon Balogun (Mainz, Germany) are also very important to us,” the Eagles coach said in an interview with Soccer Laduma. “We have players such as Victor Moses (Chelsea, England) and Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England) – they are also very important for us. “We have many young players, and everyone has a role to play in our team. “But the most important leaders are our captain Mikel, the vice-captain Ogenyi Onazi, and Ahmed Musa also.”

Rohr will release the final 23-man list that will play at the Mundial, after then, play Democratic Republic on May 25, before facing England and the Czech Republic in June 2 and 5. Here are the seven players that will automatically make it to the World Cup

1. John Mikel Obi
2. Victor Moses
3. Leon Balogun
4. William Troost-Ekong
5. Ahmed Musa
6. Ogenyi Onazi
7. Alex Iwobi

Read more: https://www.naija.ng/1157755-gernot-roh ... ml#1157755
Last edited by Enugu II on Sun Mar 18, 2018 11:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: ROHR names MUSA among 7 players sure to make WC team....

Ok.

Only a silly SE coach will not take Musa :thumbs: to the big dance.......................................Musa is a certified BIG-DANCER :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Where did ROHR say they were sure of going to the wc?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Where did ROHR say they were sure of going to the wc?
Abeg helep me ask dem.

Besides we already know who's sure to make it. Rohr isn't telling us anything that we don't already know, even if he neglected to mention Ndidi (who starts every game and never comes off the pitch).

This is junk journalism at its highest form. Some LAZY journalist simply took an excerpt of a question about which players Rohr deems are his most important on his team and wrote a made up article. Pathetic.

...seems every time this Roar-man sneeze anything SE and wc it makes the headline :lol: :lol:

It was a lifted from the interview I summarised recently, the journalist just decided to add a bit of top spin to spice things up a bit.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=286891

There are people on this forum who can take up journalism as a vocation and do a much better job than those so-called Nigerian Journalists. Some of those So-called journalists are so lazy, they use single topic stories and dress them up with absolutely no journalistic input or research.
How lazy can one get? You have to give them credit for being "creative" in a very negative sense with all the sarcasm to an get added in.

I wouldn't even call that being creative..Research just means googling the internet for stories and simply doing a copy and paste job. They then garnish it up with a sensational headline to attract readers..

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Where did ROHR say they were sure of going to the wc?
This is why Ogas - John12 and 1Naija - has spoken or are concerned about agents. Maybe, the agents are at work. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by Odas on Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mystic wrote:
Abeg helep me ask dem.

Besides we already know who's sure to make it. Rohr isn't telling us anything that we don't already know, even if he neglected to mention Ndidi (who starts every game and never comes off the pitch).
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I can't wait for the World cup to come and go, so all these - call it whatever you want - can die down.
Last edited by Odas on Sun Mar 18, 2018 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Enugu II wrote:Surprised that Wilfred Ndidi is not listed.

The German coach released a 28-man list that will face Serbia and Poland in March - Nigeria will be facing Argentina, Croatia, and Iceland in Group D Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr, has reportedly listed seven players who will automatically make his team for the 2018 FIFA World Cup tournament in Russia. They include captain John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses, Leon Balogun, Alex Iwobi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ahmed Musa and William Troost-Ekong.

“We have a few very experienced players, such as our captain John Obi Mikel (Tianjin Teda, China). Our two central defenders William Troost-Ekong (Bursaspor, Turkey) and Leon Balogun (Mainz, Germany) are also very important to us,” the Eagles coach said in an interview with Soccer Laduma. “We have players such as Victor Moses (Chelsea, England) and Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England) – they are also very important for us. “We have many young players, and everyone has a role to play in our team. “But the most important leaders are our captain Mikel, the vice-captain Ogenyi Onazi, and Ahmed Musa also.”

Rohr will release the final 23-man list that will play at the Mundial, after then, play Democratic Republic on May 25, before facing England and the Czech Republic in June 2 and 5. Here are the seven players that will automatically make it to the World Cup

1. John Mikel Obi
2. Victor Moses
3. Leon Balogun
4. William Troost-Ekong
5. Ahmed Musa
6. Ogenyi Onazi
7. Alex Iwobi

if the veracity of the news is authentic surely Rohr is the most confused coach that ever handled any national team. He wants to take Akpeyi , Echejilie and Musa to World Cup. Obviously three wasted spots right there. Well he is setting people up for massive disappointment. Though already he has started conjuring up excuses claiming SE is the lowest ranked team in his group as if that had ever deterred SE from excelling in their groups in past tournaments . If SE fails which is looking very likely the man should absolutely blame his stupid and destructive allegiance to inept players.

bully12 wrote:if the veracity of the news is authentic surely Rohr is the most confused coach that ever handled any national team. He wants to take Akpeyi , Echejilie and Musa to World Cup. Obviously three wasted spots right there. Well he is setting people up for massive disappointment. Though already he has started conjuring up excuses claiming SE is the lowest ranked team in his group as if that had ever deterred SE from excelling in their groups in past tournaments. If SE fails which is looking very likely the man should absolutely blame his stupid and destructive allegiance to inept players.
Are you serious? Our failure is looking likely? Please Sir, what makes you think so?
Last edited by Odas on Sun Mar 18, 2018 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Why do people keep attacking experienced musa? You want an experienced player like musa dropped for some backwater league players?

bully12 wrote:

1. John Mikel Obi
2. Victor Moses
3. Leon Balogun
4. William Troost-Ekong
5. Ahmed Musa
6. Ogenyi Onazi
7. Alex Iwobi

if the veracity of the news is authentic surely Rohr is the most confused coach that ever handled any national team. He wants to take Akpeyi , Echejilie and Musa to World Cup. Obviously three wasted spots right there. Well he is setting people up for massive disappointment. Though already he has started conjuring up excuses claiming SE is the lowest ranked team in his group as if that had ever deterred SE from excelling in their groups in past tournaments . If SE fails which is looking very likely the man should absolutely blame his stupid and destructive allegiance to inept players.
And this is coming from someone who probably has never coached even a pub team. :lol:

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

That's not what Rohr said. Here is what he said.

"We have a few very experienced players, such as our captain John Obi Mikel. Our two central defenders William Troost-Ekong and Leon Balogun are also very important to us, " Rohr said in an interview with South African football magazine Soccer Laduma.

"We have players such as Victor Moses and Alex Iwobi- they are also very important for us.

"We have many young players, and everyone has a role to play in our team. But the most important leaders are our captain Mikel, the vice-captain Ogenyi Onazi, and Ahmed Musa also."

https://allafrica.com/stories/201803150211.html
There was no mention of automatic shirt!

john12 wrote:Why do people keep attacking experienced musa? You want an experienced player like musa dropped for some backwater league players?
It's more about what Musa has done recently... rather than his exploits 4 years ago. That's why some people have problems with him.

Bros , from his comments u can see that the players mentioned are important to him.

john12 wrote:Why do people keep attacking experienced musa? You want an experienced player like musa dropped for some backwater league players?
You must be dancing all weekend long. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Musa is a 2 trick pony but a coach's dream. Especially for control freaks like Jose Mourinho.

Guys like Pep would never pick him though, unless they are strapped for players.
miky

Post by miky »

Only a Malu would not include Musa in the WC sheet, no surprise there! he was even paid a visit my OgaRohr
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

Only an extremely naive person would believe Rohr would ever say that certain players are granted places in the squad. Even if he is thinking of it, he would never say it publicly.

I suspect Musa will be in Russia as a member of the technical backroom team. He is not among our best 30 players at the moment but can still play a positive role.
papilo

Post by papilo »

1. John Mikel Obi
2. Victor Moses
3. Leon Balogun
4. William Troost-Ekong
5. Ahmed Musa
6. Ogenyi Onazi
7. Alex Iwobi

I read the interview on soccer laduma by David Kappel and that was not what he said. He was asked which players he would describe as the backbone of the team and he mentioned the above. He talked about how Mikel, Onazi and Musa were the captains of the team, how important the 2 central defenders are i.e. Ekong and Balogun, and mentioned Iwobi and Moses too. I personally believe about 16 to 17 players are guaranteed a world cup place.
yes o