why no football at the Commonwealth Games?

I bet you all don't even know the games are ongoing ... or is it over? :winking:

Anyhow, Commonwealth Games should include football
This would have given Naija opportunity to win a "major" tournament in 2018
Re: why no football at the Commonwealth Games?

Rawlings wrote:I bet you all don't even know the games are ongoing ... or is it over? :winking:

Uganda is in the Commonwealth. :D
Last edited by Kabalega on Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rawlings wrote:I bet you all don't even know the games are ongoing ... or is it over? :winking:

Like the Olympics perhaps? :lol:

Kabalega wrote:

The Cranes are in the Commonwealth.
Seeing how DNQ has driven Craw-cRawlings loko...
One can only imagine what WNQ (Will Never Qualify) does to folks. :lol:

Don't worry about Nigeria win or not we'll be at the biggest international tournament this year 2018 but the likes of ghana will be no where in sight,so cross your fingers ghana might win a medal in the short jump sorry long jump in the British Commonwealth games!
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

Is Ghana at the games?
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf

Ipe Grams wrote:

Is Ghana at the games?
Don't knock us. We got bronze in boxing. :thumb:

It is called WAFU. Automatically awarded to Ghana

scholl

Post by scholl »

Don’t know why some countries parktake in that charade called commonwealth games. What a joke
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

scholl wrote:Don’t know why some countries parktake in that charade called commonwealth games. What a joke
The whole commonwealth is a joke especially with how Britain is treating the Windrush generation of immigrants who have lived most of their life in the UK..
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf
folem

Post by folem »

scholl wrote:Don’t know why some countries parktake in that charade called commonwealth games. What a joke
A joke to you ..... maybe not to the athletes and officials. N1.8 Million is given to Gold medal winners. It is a stop to the Olympics, the next stop is African Games in 2019.

https://leadership.ng/2018/04/12/cwg-pm ... h-dollars/

folem wrote:
A joke to you ..... maybe not to the athletes and officials. N1.8 Million is given to Gold medal winners. It is a stop to the Olympics, the next stop is African Games in 2019.

We can elevate the African games instead. I agree, the commonwealth is seriously tainted.

seriously have you thought about being a professional comedian

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
folem

Post by folem »

airwolex wrote:
folem wrote:

We can elevate the African games instead. I agree, the commonwealth is seriously tainted.
You don't get to compete with Jamaica, Canada, England, Australia @ African Games. The Universiade (2 times) is another competition to test athletes before the Olympics but its not all encompassing. In a 4 year cycle, Universiade, Commonwealth Games, African Games, Olympics.

I don't have a problem with the Games itself.

When we look at the history of many modern entities they are as controversial.

I think the games should remain, but it should be re-branded.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
folem

Post by folem »

Beach soccer was played at the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games in Bahamas. Futsal may get included at the main games.

http://www.bahamas2017cyg.org/sports/beach-soccer/

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... debut.html
Five-a-side indoor football, known as futsal, could feature in the Commonwealth Games after the federation's president Prince Tunku Imran backed its inclusion.

The Malaysian, a former squash national champion, said futsal could be a cheaper option for hosts of the multi-sport event held every four years.

'The African countries want football to played in the Games but the logistics and costs involved will be an obstacle,' Tunku said.

'Futsal would be a better option as the number of players and officials per team is fewer and playing indoors also has its benefits. Futsal is also a very popular sport as well.'

Football has never featured at the Commonwealth Games, which will be hosted by the Scottish city of Glasgow next year.

Swimming, athletics, badminton, boxing, hockey, lawn bowls, netball, rugby sevens, squash and weightlifting are the 10 current core sports while each host is entitled to add up to a further seven sports.