Wenger wants Vieira to succeed him. Expect four poor years

Arsene Wenger to step down as Arsenal manager tipping Patrick Vieira to succeed him - See more at: https://goo.gl/U6fV6W

So Arsene Wenger will leave and if the club listens to him Patrick Vieira will take over. However, I hope Arsenal fans realise that like Man U, they will struggle for the next four years.

After Alex Ferguson left, Man U did not know whether they were going or coming for about three seasons. This is exactly what will happen in north London.

I think the Arsenal fans have been spoilt. Traditionally, the club was not anything big until George Graham arrived on the scene. Arsenal have only really had two successful managers in their history - Graham and Wenger!

Anyway, good luck Mr Wenger. I think his next stop should be international football. Personally, I would love him to manage the Super Eagles!
Re: Wenger wants Vieira to succeed him. Expect four poor yea

How many poor years under Wenger?

At least from now, rebuilding can now make sense again, it is now a word with meaning again.

Under Wenger, I am not sure exactly what the club was doing? Idling?

Yes Idling! I will take rebuilding over idling any day, any time!

Pigs will fly and hell will freeze over, while Unicorns ride Unicycles before I regret the departure of Wenger.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

They should go for allegri , ancelotti , sari or Benitez

Oliseh would be a good candidate for the job.

smartbrother wrote:They should go for allegri , ancelotti , sari or Benitez
My preference would be Leonardo Jardim, then Allegri, or as a long shot the bigoted Napoli coach. Ancelotti is at best a short term placeholder. Not sure about Rafa. Could be very good, and could be very bad.

Cellular wrote:Oliseh would be a good candidate for the job.
:?

Big Sam to steady the ship, flirt with relegation and bring in a few Senegalese.

I agree.

And he should have Odemwingie as his assistant. The lad played all over the EPL, he knows the league well, he is popular, and most of all he walks with Gucci slippers...Arsenal needs a thorough flogging many times.

Viera is not ready for the role.

:P

I agree but he will need to watch his man management.

ohenhen1 wrote:Viera is not ready for the role.
Yes, Guardiola wasn't ready when he took over Barca either. Neither was Rijkaard when he started.

Back up your statement with logical reasoning WHY it should be believed.

ohenhen1 wrote:Viera is not ready for the role.
I don't know how good he is but what makes anyone ready?
How ready was Pep when. He took over Barca?

These types of arrangements are really hit or miss. You can argue that Zidane did not deserve the Real job, but you can't say he hasn't been successful...but then again, is it really that difficult to be successful with all that talent? Vieira won't have that level of talent at his disposal
Last edited by deanotito on Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Guidorla coached the same system at junior and senior level. He had Messi at Barca and oil money at Man city. Viera is coaching a bad team in the MLS. He should first come and be an assistant coach at Arsenal. My preference is still Klopp.

ohenhen1 wrote:Guidorla coached the same system at junior and senior level. He had Messi at Barca and oil money at Man city. Viera is coaching a bad team in the MLS. He should first come and be an assistant coach at Arsenal. My preference is still Klopp.
Liverpool to Arsenal is at best, a lateral move. Why would he do that? Liverpool arguably has a better team than Arsenal does

deanotito wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:Guidorla coached the same system at junior and senior level. He had Messi at Barca and oil money at Man city. Viera is coaching a bad team in the MLS. He should first come and be an assistant coach at Arsenal. My preference is still Klopp.
Liverpool to Arsenal is at best, a lateral move. Why would he do that? Liverpool arguably has a better team than Arsenal does
I disagree that Liverpool has a better team than beloved.Please Klopp make them better than beloved not the players.
Look how OX look better than any of our MF .
OHENHENwhy will Klopp leave Liverpool to beloved?
SylverEagles

Post by SylverEagles »

Well my vote is firmly in the corner of Joachim Low. Any other appointment would be a disappointment to me!

Low, then maybe Jardim, then maybe Allegri. Anyone outside those three should not even apply!

Whoever takes over from Wenger needs to merely plug in a few tough guys in the three segments
of the game, and they can be very competitive. No need inventing the wheel here, Wenger already
have the structure set up, and the new coach merely needs to understand and make it better.
I believe a defensive minded coach will push the team into relegation zone, and a very British coach
will do same.

Arsenal will do well to snatch Rafa Benitez away from Newcastle, although I am sure a few toon fans will threaten to hang owner Ashley by his bollocks!

Let Viera come o jare.

He has had enough time to learn the trade at Mancity and in the States.

Viera is actually doing quite well in the MLS. NYFC have consistently been one of the better teams in the league

YUJAM wrote:Viera is actually doing quite well in the MLS. NYFC have consistently been one of the better teams in the league
Not true they are not top 3 in the league.
This doesn't mean he is not a good coach.
Wenger should not pick a coach foe us.