The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018

Re: The Arsenal - Related News and Development for 2017/2018

Arteta now. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Waffiman wrote:Granit Xhaka was fantastic on Sunday. Just saying.

he was OK...just saying.
Chief sef

Henry was se at the training ground,is he looking for wenger job or just go to show respect to Wenger.

Waffiman wrote:https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football ... ssion=true

David Dein delivers glowing tribute to Arsene Wenger -

"He will go down in history as the greatest Arsenal manager ever"

Former Gunners vice-chairman Dein, the man who brought Wenger to the club in 1996, says his legacy will last forever

David Dein has described Arsene Wenger as Arsenal’s greatest ever manager.

Former Arsenal vice-chairman Dein, the man who brought Wenger to the club in 1996, says his legacy will last forever and he has made his mark on English football.

Dein, in an interview with Sky Sports, said: “His legacy will be for global football. His style of play. The way he has conducted himself. His integrity. His honesty. The way he has handled players. What he has done for the club is immeasurable.

“He will go down in history as the greatest Arsenal manager ever. We've built a fantastic training ground, sensational stadium. It was back on the Invincible team on 2003/04 that we managed to get financing for the stadium.”

Dein believes it will be difficult for Wenger to stand down - but insists that he will be flooded with offers.

“It's going to be tough initially,” said Dein. “As I found myself, it's a way of life. He will feel that [unfinished business]. He's the first one at the club, the last one to leave. It will be difficult.

“It is rather like a bereavement and the various stages, the first one is denial and finally you get to acceptance and you move on. He has to have a good holiday and decide what he wants to do next.

“He's going to be 69 in October, but he keeps himself extraordinarily fit. He is the same weight as when I met him, 75 kilos. He keeps himself fit.

“He's got a very active mind, such a knowledge of the game. Over the last few years, he has been approached by some of the biggest clubs in the world, Real Madrid, Paris St-Germain, the national team wanted him at one stage.

“He will have no shortage of offers. I personally had calls from various people yesterday, saying, can I speak to him? He won't be short of offers from clubs. The question is will he want to do it anymore. It's getting more and more difficult. It's a bit of a pressure cooker.”

Dein admits that he thinks Wenger’s decision to go “has been coming” and admitted that the Frenchman thought long and hard about going last summer.

Dein added: “It's been coming. At the end of last season I was discussing with him, 'Arsene, what do you want to do?' Are you going to stay? Are you going to leave? He was a bit undecided.

“In the end, I said, 'Arsene, do you know what your problem is? He said, 'What's that?' I said, 'You love the club too much.' He's so attached to it. So loyal, so dedicated. He felt responsible for the players coming through.

"That was an option for him, undoubtedly. I was weighing up, 'If you leave now, this is the situation. If you go on, you roll the dice another year or two, what's going to happen?

“He made his own mind up and decided to stay. I felt the last couple of weeks, it has been getting more difficult for him, particularly with the team results. I though that, on a personal level, it was unlikely that he was going to stay after the end of the season.’"

Very interesting. Aniks, your man has spoken.

And?????? :taunt: :taunt:

Say what you want DD was the real catalyst for the success for Arsenal football club. This outfit was never the same once he left: FACT NOT FEELINGS :taunt:

Cellular wrote:Reading the posts about Wenger being asked to leave/fired just shows me and many people are not cut out for management.

You see a trend and you hold out hope that the trend will change... Arsene Wenger jumped the shark many moons ago... and if not for the boat load of cash the board should have done something about it a long time ago.

Do Arsenal and its fans consider themselves an Elite club?

Why then do some fans insist on holding on to a coach whose best days are past him?

Had they made the change earlier they would have been in the running to land top innovative coaches like Klopp or Guardiola...

This is a chance to reset a club that was on the decline. This change brings hope back to the fans and will also breath fresh air and blood to the players.

Thank him for what he was handsomely compensated for and move on.

Coaching is not a tenured position.
Would they give this coach the money Pep has at City? As for Klopp, he too has had £175m of their American Owners money. If only our Owners gave us such luxuries.

The idea that Wenger and Wenger alone has been the problem at Arsenal is ridiculous and unrealistic. This has been my issue here for ages now.

Once again this season like it has been for almost every season since Roman Abramovich brought big money into the game. The richest clubs in all the major European league's are winning the league or getting to the latter stages of the CL. This is fact. You spend big, you have a better chance of winning.

Wenger is going now, I want to see the miracles this next coach will deliver with Wenger's budget.

I do not know what you mean by an elite club but you lot just bandy words that mean nothing to your average fan.

If elite club means money to spend like City, Madrid, PSG, ManU etc etc. Then Arsenal are not an elite club.

If elite club means support base and success, Arsenal are definitely in the Elite of the English game.

But All this elite this or that means jack to me and to many like me. We don't care whether we are seen as elite or not, we just want to win matches, get back in the CL and win silverware.

Today, I went to watch my team play very well in glorious London sunshine, but it is more than that. It is also a social occasion, a meeting of old friends, drinks food etc etc. It is football, it is living and it is a part of one's life. So long as the next coach gives me anything close to what Wenger gave me, I am happy. Wenger was unique, I do not expect anyone to be as good again in my life time. I have moved on because nothing must compromise my football life.
Warned you then but you refused to listen. You said trophies are not for sale. You said players will only play for Wenger so money is not an issue. You promised that FFP will ensure that the rich clubs go under etc. You misled Wenger!

Are saying someone is a slow learner :woot: :taunt: :taunt:

Merci Arsene
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

New Arsenal manager restricted to £50m summer transfer budget:
"Unlike new managers over recent seasons at the two Manchester clubs, Arsenal’s new appointment will not be able to transform the squad with a large spending spree without first making big-money sales himself....., although the new manager should be able to make one major signing this summer, other significant additions are likely to come down to a choice between sales or working to improve the existing group.....There will be other off-field changes, with fitness coach Tony Colbert, first-team coach Boro Primorac and goalkeeping coach Gerry Peyton also expected to leave.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/20 ... er-budget/

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If the above article is true then we would have to seek a tactician/defensive specialist as the next gaffer. The transfer window in recent yrs come talk of a post WC which's usually Bullish. Simeone & Rafa might want a bigger budget - we don't have much in assets to sell.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
bouncino

Post by bouncino »

tolahs wrote:New Arsenal manager restricted to £50m summer transfer budget:
"Unlike new managers over recent seasons at the two Manchester clubs, Arsenal’s new appointment will not be able to transform the squad with a large spending spree without first making big-money sales himself....., although the new manager should be able to make one major signing this summer, other significant additions are likely to come down to a choice between sales or working to improve the existing group.....There will be other off-field changes, with fitness coach Tony Colbert, first-team coach Boro Primorac and goalkeeping coach Gerry Peyton also expected to leave.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If the above article is true then we would have to seek a tactician/defensive specialist as the next gaffer. The transfer window in recent yrs come talk of a post WC which's usually Bullish. Simeone & Rafa might want a bigger budget - we don't have much in assets to sell.
This clearly portends doom.
Who on earth put this message? Why would any right thinking manager take up this job offer with this piece of news.

Waffiman wrote:Image

Merci Arsene
That's why they have thirteen titles between them within that period and their share values have risen astronomically.

Let's also consider the fact that Arsenal's ticket prices are the most expensive in England which surely played a (albeit minor) part in the profit margin.

Talk about being penny wise, pound foolish.

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Waffiman wrote:Image

Merci Arsene
That's why they have thirteen titles between them within that period and their share values have risen astronomically.

Let's also consider the fact that Arsenal's ticket prices are the most expensive in England which surely played a (albeit minor) part in the profit margin.

Talk about being penny wise, pound foolish.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
...keep talking sense
some people here no clue or ulterior motives.....
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

the board are building their own gallows......perfect :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Kroneke and his cronies are next.......I can take a couple more seasons of disappointment to get those blood suckers out
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

theYemster wrote: I don't know why you keep saying all these disingenuous and flatly untrue things just because you love Wenger. You were the one that came here last summer after Wenger signed a new two year contract (despite finishing 5th) gloating that the Board caved in to his demands and that he finally has the freedom he wanted. Since then he was given money to buy Lacazette, Mikhi and Aubameyang, re-sign Özil, whilst getting rid of dead weights, so despite what individual members of the Board may think of him you can't claim they (and the fans) didn't back him. You can say he lost their support but saying they didn't back him is grossly unfair. Wenger was one of the most beloved and supported managers in the history of sports...until he wasn't.

Now he's underachieved and instead of holding him accountable you're here trying to reinvent history. The truth is Wenger can go on to actually win the champions league somewhere else...in fact I hope he does but honestly his time at Arsenal was up. When you've been at a job for so long sometimes both parties just need to take a step back and exhale. Even Moses didn't get to see the promised land despite doing all the heavy lifting leading the Israelites out of bondage in Egypt. Wenger's not the first coach to be relieved of his job and he definitely won't be the last. As they say there's only two kinds of coaches, those that have been fired and those that will be fired.

If Wenger is as good as you make him out to be he'll be just fine at his next gig. And if he's set up Arsenal's structure as solidly as you've been claiming then the next coach will do well...unless he's a complete nonce.
I have given up on my man Waffi when it comes to all things Arsene Wenger. Dude is one loyal son of a gun...

When they offered Wenger a contract extension and on top of that spent serious moolah on players it was only a matter of time. That was the day he signed his contract termination papers. This thing remains a bottomline business. You buy more expensive players and yet you get worse? You don't reward failure in this business. You just don't. The owners already rewarded him by giving him an extension. And spent serious money on players like the ones you mention. What more does he want?

Those bills need to get paid and the rate fans were not showing up and buying merchandise, those owners are not about to risk having to be on the red.

Again, great coaches get fired! Such is the nature of the profession...

Tunisian Gooner wrote:
Gooner1 wrote:
Waffiman wrote:All sorts of stories out there about Wenger being pushed or not being pushed. But Wenger himself alluded to the fans and divisions within as one reason.

Personally, I do not think the split is amiable or planned for now, and this is a view shared by almost every Gooner I spoke to today. Many feel he has been double crossed by the Board.

My WhatsApp groups are quite reliable on these things, one especially has been categoric certain Board members wanted Wenger gone last summer and this season. I posted it here a fews months back. The Owner stepped this season when they tried to remove Wenger, two of them offered their resignations then changed their minds.

Same person says recently, the Board, which now included the Owner's son, then put a proposition to the Owner with complaints about fans not turning up and fears for ST renewals. The Board got the Owners word that change will come if we are not in the CL. Wenger was informed by Galzidis and agreed to it, then slept over it, changed his mind and decided to resign thus throwing Galzidis and his plans in a complete mess. He then hastily called a press conference after Wenger's brief statement about his decision to resign.

Whatever it is, it is pointless now. Arsenal must move on and those left in charge must get it right. Arsenal do not have money for mistakes.

Wenger won silverware, the next man must match Wenger or else. From what I saw today, the fans are definitely not united, a man has to come in and start winning to unite the fans or else the civil war will get even more nasty.

One thing I now know is the Wenger haters will hate again. Just wait. It is in their DNA. I can see it already. I can now seat back and watch Galzidis, they are after him and he cannot afford any mistakes. The Emirates today, was nowhere near sweetness and niceness. Wenger was easily the most popular man there and the fans made this known. There were pockets of insults for Galzidis.

The Americans at Arsenal must now deliver and if they think they can do it without spending like the Americans at Liverpool have, expect things to get really foul at the Emirates. Mark my words.
Waffi you crack me up....
All up until a few months ago you were telling anyone that cared that the MAJORITY OF ARSENAL
fans were behind wenger. You claimed that it was minority that were causing confusion and that they
were not to be tolerated @theemirates.
You underestimated the power of social media by insisting that, again it was only a few individuals
that were attention seekers with no power of influence at all on AFC matters
You brushed off the notion that fans were staying away from the emirates was not based on they
teams performance or inability to challenge for the epl

Now you are talking as if these conversations never took place, as if what you are saying is "current" or
"just breaking"
We don't have to have WhatsApp connectivity to know how this is all going to be played out.
It's not rocket science.......remember our conversation we had where I said that Usmanov will take over afc
and you scoffed? All this is playing into his hands.....just watch and learn because whatever you say here is at least a year old
if social media mattered AW would have been sacked 4 seasons ago.

It has been clear the moment Stan kroenke decided AW was costing him momey would be the day the AW era ended at the Arsenal.

Stan gave AW one failure to qualify for CL mulligan, this season again saw no top 4 and now plenty of empty seats. Stan only cares about $$, if he cared about social media he would never have moved Rams from St.Louis to LA, or ligated families off their own land to gain more acres in order to complete his dream ranch in Texas.

Like Tony Soprano AW was Stan's best earner for over a decade, but now the envelopes are too light for Stan and AW has got to go.
Simples bro! Simples!

It is like taking hard money from the mob... they don't want to hear stories.

Lemme ask Waffi, aside from ManCity, don't you think Arsenal had the squad to challenge United, Liverpool, and Spurs? Forget about Chelski...

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Tunisian Gooner wrote:
Gooner1 wrote:
Waffiman wrote:All sorts of stories out there about Wenger being pushed or not being pushed. But Wenger himself alluded to the fans and divisions within as one reason.

Personally, I do not think the split is amiable or planned for now, and this is a view shared by almost every Gooner I spoke to today. Many feel he has been double crossed by the Board.

My WhatsApp groups are quite reliable on these things, one especially has been categoric certain Board members wanted Wenger gone last summer and this season. I posted it here a fews months back. The Owner stepped this season when they tried to remove Wenger, two of them offered their resignations then changed their minds.

Same person says recently, the Board, which now included the Owner's son, then put a proposition to the Owner with complaints about fans not turning up and fears for ST renewals. The Board got the Owners word that change will come if we are not in the CL. Wenger was informed by Galzidis and agreed to it, then slept over it, changed his mind and decided to resign thus throwing Galzidis and his plans in a complete mess. He then hastily called a press conference after Wenger's brief statement about his decision to resign.

Whatever it is, it is pointless now. Arsenal must move on and those left in charge must get it right. Arsenal do not have money for mistakes.

Wenger won silverware, the next man must match Wenger or else. From what I saw today, the fans are definitely not united, a man has to come in and start winning to unite the fans or else the civil war will get even more nasty.

One thing I now know is the Wenger haters will hate again. Just wait. It is in their DNA. I can see it already. I can now seat back and watch Galzidis, they are after him and he cannot afford any mistakes. The Emirates today, was nowhere near sweetness and niceness. Wenger was easily the most popular man there and the fans made this known. There were pockets of insults for Galzidis.

The Americans at Arsenal must now deliver and if they think they can do it without spending like the Americans at Liverpool have, expect things to get really foul at the Emirates. Mark my words.
Waffi you crack me up....
All up until a few months ago you were telling anyone that cared that the MAJORITY OF ARSENAL
fans were behind wenger. You claimed that it was minority that were causing confusion and that they
were not to be tolerated @theemirates.
You underestimated the power of social media by insisting that, again it was only a few individuals
that were attention seekers with no power of influence at all on AFC matters
You brushed off the notion that fans were staying away from the emirates was not based on they
teams performance or inability to challenge for the epl

Now you are talking as if these conversations never took place, as if what you are saying is "current" or
"just breaking"
We don't have to have WhatsApp connectivity to know how this is all going to be played out.
It's not rocket science.......remember our conversation we had where I said that Usmanov will take over afc
and you scoffed? All this is playing into his hands.....just watch and learn because whatever you say here is at least a year old
if social media mattered AW would have been sacked 4 seasons ago.

It has been clear the moment Stan kroenke decided AW was costing him momey would be the day the AW era ended at the Arsenal.

Stan gave AW one failure to qualify for CL mulligan, this season again saw no top 4 and now plenty of empty seats. Stan only cares about $$, if he cared about social media he would never have moved Rams from St.Louis to LA, or ligated families off their own land to gain more acres in order to complete his dream ranch in Texas.

Like Tony Soprano AW was Stan's best earner for over a decade, but now the envelopes are too light for Stan and AW has got to go.
...why are you focusing on just the social media aspect?
this is just the straw that broke the camels' back......
As you rightly pointed out, there are other factors that are more important, the dollar being the bottom line
you have to consider ALL aspects of a fall to truly understand why the fall has taken place
the person who keeps checking his WhatsApp notifications derides the actual technology when others have a different opinion to him...
is this ironic or hypocritical.... :D

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

if reports are true about a £50 million budget, then this rules out the likes of Enrique.......he comes from a culture where their coaches are not used to doing things on a shoestring finance package
Vieira knows the culture of the club, has seen the financial restrictions Wenger worked under.....he's not stupid, he knows he's not that good to tinker and tweek.....that comes with experience......if he's smart and patient, he will wait until the environment is right for him...it's not now
Arteta......forget it.....some players do not like his arrogant attitude, and he is not proven....because you are no2 doesn't make you a good potential coach
, he's just a water carry boy to pep, like Bould is to Wenger

the only logical choice is Tuchel.....can work on a shoestring like he did at DVB, nurtures young players and is a strong tactical coach
if not Tuchel, then the only other logical choice choice for the board is Benitez......

Gooner1 wrote:

the board are building their own gallows......perfect :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Kroneke and his cronies are next.......I can take a couple more seasons of disappointment to get those blood suckers out
The transfer market is a racket. There's quality all over that you don't have to pay astronomical prices for. Arsenal has its fair share of superstar players... they need to find them an Ndidi type of player... and they are there to be had. You just have to have an eye for talent. The good thing is that the overreliance on French grown players will come to an end. Try Belgium, Turkey or any of the East European countries where players go to because of the ease of getting a work permit.

The player movement racket where agents and coaches connive to fleece the owners/clubs ought to be investigated.

BTW, Kroneke is hardly a bloodsucker... he just won't throw money around just for the sake of it. When he knows it is a con job by agents.

Gooner1 wrote:if reports are true about a £50 million budget, then this rules out the likes of Enrique.......he comes from a culture where their coaches are not used to doing things on a shoestring finance package
Vieira knows the culture of the club, has seen the financial restrictions Wenger worked under.....he's not stupid, he knows he's not that good to tinker and tweek.....that comes with experience......if he's smart and patient, he will wait until the environment is right for him...it's not now
Arteta......forget it.....some players do not like his arrogant attitude, and he is not proven....because you are no2 doesn't make you a good potential coach

the only logical choice is Tuchel.....can work on a shoestring like he did at DVB, nurtures young players and is a strong tactical coach
if not Tuchel, then the only other logical choice choice for the board is Benitez......
Kroneke will spend money if it is justified. He was ready to pony up for both Sanchez and Ozil but the team brass didn't want Sanchez.

He is not the type that throws money around. You have to make a compelling case...

Having money to spend doesn't mean you will be judicious with it.

tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Gooner1 wrote:

The transfer market is a racket. There's quality all over that you don't have to pay astronomical prices for. Arsenal has its fair share of superstar players... they need to find them an Ndidi type of player... and they are there to be had. You just have to have an eye for talent. The good thing is that the overreliance on French grown players will come to an end. Try Belgium, Turkey or any of the East European countries where players go to because of the ease of getting a work permit.

The player movement racket where agents and coaches connive to fleece the owners/clubs ought to be investigated.

BTW, Kroneke is hardly a bloodsucker... he just won't throw money around just for the sake of it. When he knows it is a con job by agents.
Ndidi_type vs Ndidi himself - Ndidi in the pre-WC market is easily a 50m player & chances are it goes up after - just based on the standard to which he has performed in this league, his age & club. But we need that type - him preferably.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.

It is the number 1 Arsenal hater here that is dancing atilogwu with the news on Wenger. Yes, Gooner1, I am talking about you.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

bouncino wrote:

This clearly portends doom.
Who on earth put this message? Why would any right thinking manager take up this job offer with this piece of news.
You've to get a guy who can take them from top of goals conceded column to one of the stingiest - there're candidates who'll like the stage & the exposure. Jadim went from what was an ultra-defensive set up to a killer offensive team - can he have both qualities in the same team. The young players have to grow quicker than we're used to.
The incentive will be if they make the top 4 - purse strings will be loosened.....

Gooner1 wrote:

This is the koko of the matter.

Someone scouted the likes of Vardy, Mahrez and Ngolo Kante. Ditto Suarez, Dembele, Mane, Wanyama, Ndidi, etc.

You can't be managing Coq, Wilshere, Walcott, Gibbs, etc and blame poverty if you're ambitious...unless your sole ambition is to remain somewhat relevant, con the fans and make money for the owners.

Gooner1 wrote:if reports are true about a £50 million budget, then this rules out the likes of Enrique.......he comes from a culture where their coaches are not used to doing things on a shoestring finance package

Kroneke will spend money if it is justified. He was ready to pony up for both Sanchez and Ozil but the team brass didn't want Sanchez.

He is not the type that throws money around. You have to make a compelling case...

Having money to spend doesn't mean you will be judicious with it.
Have you read Arsenal's accounts since he took over. I suggest you do. Cos you clearly are not being realistic.

My analysis of Arsenal's accounts, the wages to revenue constraints, club recent spending trends, suggest they have £70m max to spend this summer. Nowhere near enough to build a squad capable of challenging. So we will have to rely on our new scouts to find bargains.

I am now convinced the likes of Welbeck and Ramsey will probably leave with Wenger going. Already hearing Bellerin's Agent has put the club on notice. I cannot wait to see how Arsenal can be competitive without serious money.

You talk of Liverpool. The Owners have given the club a soft loan of £175m since Klop arrived. They now pay more in wages and of course in transfers than Arsenal. Do not forget Liverpool outbid us for Sanchez. We got him mainly cos of the Manager. What if the new Manager does not have Wenger's type of influence?

Only Tottenham spend less but it has taken over 50 yrs for them to be in their position and it will not last unless they start paying up.

I am glad we can all relax and enjoy now that he is gone. All of you here who saw Wenger and Wenger only as Arsenal's problem can expect Arsenal to be Champions on the same budget as Wenger.

At least, I know different and there is no one I know who does not appreciate his great work even if for whatever reason they felt change was needed.

I am a realist. If Arsenal do anything close to the last 2 seasons in the next 2 seasons, I will take it now.

Gooner1 wrote:

This is the koko of the matter.

Someone scouted the likes of Vardy, Mahrez and Ngolo Kante. Ditto Suarez, Dembele, Mane, Wanyama, Ndidi, etc.

You can't be managing Coq, Wilshere, Walcott, Gibbs, etc and blame poverty if you're ambitious...unless your sole ambition is to remain somewhat relevant, con the fans and make money for the owners.
I cannot wait for these magicians to do the same at Arsenal and win 3 major trophies in 4 seasons.