Morocco Bid 2026 Faces Challenges: Anti-LGBT & facilities

Re: Morocco Bid 2026 Faces Challenges: Anti-LGBT & facilitie

felarey wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:South Africa don backtrack from their earlier support. The SAFA boss obviously supports Morocco. The sports Ministry doesn't support Morocco. Citing a diplomatic spat in 2004 and the 2010 world cup bid fraud allegation. Now they are saying their exco will make the final decision. Let me just say that if CAF doesn't give 100 percent support to Morocco. We will never host another world cup on African soil again. I don't want to hear countries like South Africa complain in the future about failing to win tournament hosting bids. Some African leaders are extremely daft.
Has there ever been a time when Africa was united on something? Aparthied? World Cup bidding? Communicable diseases? Our continent is too fractured.

But this is stupidity at the highest level.

ohenhen1 wrote:Morocco can also earn money for FIFA. We don't need the US to make money.

It is only about money. It is also about fan experiences. Are they going to deny Iranian fans entry to watch the tournament?
:lol: Morocco are planning to burst their GDP on infrastructure for 48 teams.

The link below shows that 92% of FIFA's revenue comes from Event-related revenue. If this 92%, more than half is from tv broadcasting rights. TV Broadcasting rights are divided into 3 as US, Europe and Rest of the World. Just over 10% is from the US alone. It's no wonder the DOJ were able to take down FIFA for the corruption scandal. FIFA is also top heavy with US companies as official sponsors/partners.

Iranians are still entering the US in their thousands, the immigration restrictions are temporary. Besides we're talking 2026, who knows what the govt of the day will bring.

https://resources.fifa.com/mm/document/ ... n_1766.pdf

felarey wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:Morocco can also earn money for FIFA. We don't need the US to make money.

It is only about money. It is also about fan experiences. Are they going to deny Iranian fans entry to watch the tournament?

The link below shows that 92% of FIFA's revenue comes from Event-related revenue. If this 92%, more than half is from tv broadcasting rights. TV Broadcasting rights are divided into 3 as US, Europe and Rest of the World. Just over 10% is from the US alone. It's no wonder the DOJ were able to take down FIFA for the corruption scandal. FIFA is also top heavy with US companies as official sponsors/partners.

Iranians are still entering the US in their thousands, the immigration restrictions are temporary. Besides we're talking 2026, who knows what the govt of the day will bring.

The reality is we don't need to have the world cup in the USA to make money. The world cup will make a profit even it was held in Somalia. FIFA will still sell broadcast rights in the 3 markets you mentioned. Money is not the only issue considered.

felarey wrote:

The reality is we don't need to have the world cup in the USA to make money. The world cup will make a profit even it was held in Somalia. FIFA will still sell broadcast rights in the 3 markets you mentioned. Money is not the only issue considered.
True sponsors will go where FIFA goes but there's a reason USA '94 is the most attended till date. Revenue will not be the same. CONCACAF are already pissed that when it came to their turn to host based on the former arrangement, the rules were changed, member nations now vote and Morocco was allowed to contest. Morocco has the upside of being a football mad country but so do Mexico. Per infrastructure, it's no contest, the US alone can host it tomorrow with it paying for itself. Talkless Canada and Mexico joining in.

felarey wrote:

Ohenhen1,

In fact, MONEY is front and center on this issue. It is THE ISSUE. Right now, FIFA is expected to have less funds than it has had in the past because of the recent poor reputation and court cases that has tainted the organization deeply. If you are not aware, be it known that several previous sponsors pulled away following the sordid situation in spite of the fact that no other event can promise the same large audience as the World Cup delivers. To make matters worse, Infantino promised several developing nations a huge raise in development funds. The problem now is where would that fund come from. That, my brother, is the issue. It is about MONEY. This is why Infantino has been desperate to accept investor funds for a new Global Nations League as well as a re-structured World Clubs Cup with 24 teams. The proposed funds are astronomical and far surpasses what is now available in the current World Clubs Cup and the Confederations Cup. However, UEFA clubs are up in arms about the effect on their league calendars. Read that as arm-twisting for money.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

felarey wrote:

Ohenhen1,

In fact, MONEY is front and center on this issue. It is THE ISSUE. Right now, FIFA is expected to have less funds than it has had in the past because of the recent poor reputation and court cases that has tainted the organization deeply. If you are not aware, be it known that several previous sponsors pulled away following the sordid situation in spite of the fact that no other event can promise the same large audience as the World Cup delivers. To make matters worse, Infantino promised several developing nations a huge raise in development funds. The problem now is where would that fund come from. That, my brother, is the issue. It is about MONEY. This is why Infantino has been desperate to accept investor funds for a new Global Nations League as well as a re-structured World Clubs Cup with 24 teams. The proposed funds are astronomical and far surpasses what is now available in the current World Clubs Cup and the Confederations Cup. However, UEFA clubs are up in arms about the effect on their league calendars. Read that as arm-twisting for money.
FIFA made a lot of money from Brazil. And it is expected to make more in Russia.

It is not about money. Politics is going to influence the vote. Politics is already influencing the vote in South Africa.

People don't like Trump. Also they didn't like the FIFA probe.

There will be some payback votes.

felarey wrote:

Ohenhen1,

FIFA made a lot of money from Brazil. And it is expected to make more in Russia.

It is not about money. Politics is going to influence the vote. Politics is already influencing the vote in South Africa.

People don't like Trump. Also they didn't like the FIFA probe.

There will be some payback votes.
Sure politics will influence South African vote but what do you think is influencing the current dogfight within FIFA? The Samoura investigation and the fact that Infantino is pushing for the USA? BTW, read the piece below:
FIFA looks to the East as it struggles to find sponsors for Russia World Cup
Shafi Musaddique Published 11:32 AM ET Tue, 17 April 2018 Updated 11:46 AM ET Tue, 17 April 2018
CNBC.com
https://www.cnbc.com/2018/04/17/world-c ... nsors.html

With two months to go until the first ball is kicked, international soccer body FIFA is struggling to find sponsors for the 2018 World Cup.

Fewer companies have signed sponsorship deals for this year's tournament in Russia than had done so two months prior to the 2014 competition, held in Brazil.[/color]

FIFA divides sponsors into three groups — partners, World Cup sponsors and regional supporters.

Seven "partners," all global brands with financial muscle, have signed up to FIFA's highest level of sponsorship. Brands such as Coca-Cola, Hyundai-Kia Motors, Visa and Adidas have remained FIFA's loyal, long-term partners. Newcomers to FIFA's top roster of sponsors have been limited to the Middle East's Qatar Airways, Russian state oil giant Gazprom and Wanda Group, which calls itself the world's biggest private property developer.

A pressing concern for FIFA is the declining number of businesses sponsoring its prime tournament.

Five companies have agreed to funnel money to FIFA in return for logos plastered across Russian stadiums and other media exposure during the month-long World Cup, compared to a total of eight in Brazil.

A trio of Western brands — Continental, Johnson & Johnson and Castrol — opted not to renew their sponsorship deals in 2015, the same year as reports of corruption at the top of FIFA came to light. Instead, Chinese firms have stepped up to fill the void left by U.S. and European brands.

Mengniu, China's second-largest dairy company, signed a sponsorship deal in December, granting it the right to air commercials across a total of 64 World Cup games in June and July. The company is among the five firms listed in FIFA's second group of tournament-only sponsors.

Sports marketer and former FIFA employee Patrick Nally said FIFA's toxic brand is the main driving force behind Western firms disassociating themselves from sponsoring the World Cup.

"The stock market is there to serve you and not to instruct you"
Hear what else Buffett has to say

"Clearly, FIFA has become a toxic brand," Nally said. "It has been a corrupt organization. Companies are concerned with their own image nowadays so you can understand why it (FIFA) isn't an attractive proposition."

U.S. prosecutors arrested seven FIFA officials in a raid at FIFA's Swiss headquarters in May 2015, culminating in a ban from football activities for the body's former president Sepp Blatter.

Nally, who worked on bringing Coca-Cola in as a sponsor for FIFA and helped establish the organization's marketing packages for the 1978 and 1982 World Cups, believes the alignment of Chinese, Russian and Middle Eastern companies shows "political decisions" have replaced decisions made on a purely commercial basis at the top of FIFA.

He added that nothing can change the perception of FIFA has a "toxic brand," but did propose one solution. "FIFA will continue to be in decline and should consider a complete name change or brand image change."
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

FIFA will still make a lot of money. Let's see how much Russia will make. There is also money in non western countries.

ohenhen1 wrote:FIFA will still make a lot of money. Let's see how much Russia will make. There is also money in non western countries.
However, it is not about making a lot of money but making enough to satisfy promises made to increase disbursement funds.

Money is not the only issue. Africa has hosted the world cup once. People don't like Trump. Also the FBI probe ruffled some feathers. You also have countries or regions like Cuba, Russia, Iran, and etc that just dislike the US. It is going to be an interesting vote. Morocco should prepare a good presentation.

ohenhen1 wrote:Money is not the only issue. Africa has hosted the world cup once. People don't like Trump. Also the FBI probe ruffled some feathers. You also have countries or regions like Cuba, Russia, Iran, and etc that just dislike the US. It is going to be an interesting vote. Morocco should prepare a good presentation.
Ohenhen1,

I wish Morocco wins the vote but I somehow feel that some political back scene events may prevent the voting getting to the floor or someway where Morocco is tainted (already ongoing) to change minds of voters. These are all driven by that search for the huge payday.

Ohenhen wia you dey? Benin, Botswana, Guinea turned their backs on Morocco..wow..

ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

Heliopolis wrote:I wouldn't be surprised if Morocco wins as a WC there would essentially be a European WC due to proximity and timezone. The Europeans run FIFA and I expect them to do what they can to have it there under the guise of giving a new country the chance to host it.

I'm not happy with the North American bid although it would be convenient for me and I live in Canada. You can't have a WC in 3 countries which happen to be 3 of the biggest countries in the world. It will not have the same ambience of a WC in 1 host country and following your country around will be a b*tch.

FIFA shouldn't allow more than 1 country to host a WC. I won't be upset if Morocco wins it as it would be fairly convenient to attend.
As someone who has been to both Spain and Morocco that’s horseshit. North Africa is nothing like Southern Europe despite the history, so stop pushing that bs narrative.
ElHadary
Suspended Member

Post by ElHadary »

bret- hart wrote:I could care less. Infantino the CIA agent is doing his best to destroy football as we know it. Its obvious he favors USA. That said, Morocco can kick rocks. These NorthAfricanz only claim Africa when its convenient for them plus they are just as racist as Europeans. Unless the reduce the number of teamz to 32, only a few elite countries will be able to host the WC without ending up bankrupt like Greece after the olympics.
Yes because the racism isn’t reciprocated and only one way. Yeah okay you prick.