Chris Houghton to bring Musa back to England with Brighton

Re: Chris Houghton to bring Musa back to England with Bright

Stephen Gerrard has got his first job. It is only a matter of time before the likes of Frank Lampard, David Beckham, Paul Scoles, John Terry, Jamie Carragher, etc all become managers. Now ask yourselves if this same opportunity will be granted to the likes of Sol Campbell, David James, Ashley Cole, Emile Heskey, Ledley King, etc.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Stephen Gerrard has got his first job. It is only a matter of time before the likes of Frank Lampard, David Beckham, Paul Scoles, John Terry, Jamie Carragher, etc all become managers. Now ask yourselves if this same opportunity will be granted to the likes of Sol Campbell, David James, Ashley Cole, Emile Heskey, Ledley King, etc.
Ledley King, yes. It's unfortunate, the click in football. Gerard is exploiting his name and King is also a one club man with a good name. I suspect Rangers took a gamble on Gerrard because he can also facilitate loan moves of players from Anfield. That said, white coaches are given the benefit of doubt and stepping ladder compared to blacks. The Rooney Rule would do wonders in the EPL

Meanwhile Oga Titus MacLaren appointed Oga On Top at Loftus Road. Resume irrelevant presumably. A well established failure, how does he continue to find work.

Britain needs legislation to address this matter. There is no reason why football appointments should not also be subject to the same equal opportunity provisions that prevail in every other industry.

pajimoh wrote:Let's be honest in our assessment of coaching situations so we ourselves are not putting out racist views.
Chris has managed other clubs before and he got the chance with Brighton. So blacks and Caucasians can get second chances.

You also have to consider the population ratio of Caucasians and blacks in football. There are more Caucasians out of football because of population ratio.

What I absolutely agree with is we need more black managers. Before we accuse the whites, even Africans are going for white managers, including you Ayo. Perspective. Charity begins at home
Yeah, but the ratio of black players is not matched by the ratio of black coaches. Black players are about 30%. Black coaches are less than 1%. Racism is stopping black coaches getting a chance. Just b/c one coach bucks the trend, doesn't mean that there is no trend. Racism stopped many black players getting through back in the day. It is stopping black coaches now.
That's why I said we need more black coaches. But we also don't know the ratio of ex black players opting to go into coaching. Perceived lack of opportunities could be the limiting factor
PaJimoh,

The antiquated hiring process is also a problem in football. Football continues, in many places including England, to depend on the old-boys network, which leads to a large recycling of known faces. This limits access to a lot of newer faces. Note also that most of those hiring will hire those they are comfortable with, not just on the ability of the candidate but only similarities. This is an issue.
to be fair to the old boys network, pardew is the only member that didnt deliver this season
Allardyce saved Everton
Moyes saved WestHam
Hughes saved Southampton (probably)
Given the high stakes, you cannot blame epl chairmen for turning to the tried and tested when survival is in jeopardy
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

smartbrother wrote:
pajimoh wrote:Let's be honest in our assessment of coaching situations so we ourselves are not putting out racist views.
Chris has managed other clubs before and he got the chance with Brighton. So blacks and Caucasians can get second chances.

You also have to consider the population ratio of Caucasians and blacks in football. There are more Caucasians out of football because of population ratio.

What I absolutely agree with is we need more black managers. Before we accuse the whites, even Africans are going for white managers, including you Ayo. Perspective. Charity begins at home
Yeah, but the ratio of black players is not matched by the ratio of black coaches. Black players are about 30%. Black coaches are less than 1%. Racism is stopping black coaches getting a chance. Just b/c one coach bucks the trend, doesn't mean that there is no trend. Racism stopped many black players getting through back in the day. It is stopping black coaches now.
That's why I said we need more black coaches. But we also don't know the ratio of ex black players opting to go into coaching. Perceived lack of opportunities could be the limiting factor
PaJimoh,

The antiquated hiring process is also a problem in football. Football continues, in many places including England, to depend on the old-boys network, which leads to a large recycling of known faces. This limits access to a lot of newer faces. Note also that most of those hiring will hire those they are comfortable with, not just on the ability of the candidate but only similarities. This is an issue.
to be fair to the old boys network, pardew is the only member that didnt deliver this season
Allardyce saved Everton
Moyes saved WestHam
Given the high stakes, you cannot blame epl chairmen for turning to the tried and tested when survival is in jeopardy
Thanks you.

The point is all the above mentioned guys are very experienced managers who have at some point done well at EPL clubs so its normal that they will be looked at by panicky club chairmen and boards. This issue affects all young coaches black or white.

The problem with the current crop of recently retired footballers, black or white is that the they do not have the drive to do what it takes to become top managers which in the past came out of necessity. These guys are all fabulously wealthy who do not need to work for the rest of their lives. Big Clubs will be crazy to appoint any of these famous footballers because they simply havent got the experience and they dont want to start from the bottom and work their way up as Chris Hughton did. Thats why the likes of Phil Neville is coaching the England ladies team or why Ryan Giggs was not considered for the Man U job. The likes of Lampard, Gerard, Ferdinand and Giggs have all been offered jobs in the lower leagues but do not have the balls to grind it out.

In the time of Chris Hughton it was either you became a manager or open a pub. Plus the explosion of lucrative punditry has also given these guys another easy alternative to the grind of being a manager.
Chris Hughton has paid his dues starting as a youth coach at Spurs and assistant manager at spurs and ROI. His quality is undeniable. If he ever thinks of international coaching in the future i think Nigeria should consider him even though his father is Ghanaian :biggrin:
YNWA
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

Bigpokey24 wrote:NFL has the Rooney Rule, the EPL needs to get with modern times
The Rooney rule is being introduced in the FA setup as well as the English football league. Its only a matter of time before the Premier League follows suit.
YNWA

Steve Gerrard got the coaching gig recently with Scottish Rangers. Erm....and his qualification?

Abegi stop being a bend down apologist for the utterly unacceptable. :taunt: :evil: :twisted: :taunt: :D :taunt: :taunt: :mad:

Chris Hughton has signed a new contract at Brighton up to 2021. He took over the club in 2014 when they were 21st in the Championship. Promotion to EPL 3 years later. Solid achievement! :clap: :clap: :clap:

heavyd wrote:
smartbrother wrote:

PaJimoh,

Allardyce saved Everton
Moyes saved WestHam
Thanks you.

The point is all the above mentioned guys are very experienced managers who have at some point done well at EPL clubs so its normal that they will be looked at by panicky club chairmen and boards. This issue affects all young coaches black or white.

The problem with the current crop of recently retired footballers, black or white is that the they do not have the drive to do what it takes to become top managers which in the past came out of necessity. These guys are all fabulously wealthy who do not need to work for the rest of their lives. Big Clubs will be crazy to appoint any of these famous footballers because they simply havent got the experience and they dont want to start from the bottom and work their way up as Chris Hughton did. Thats why the likes of Phil Neville is coaching the England ladies team or why Ryan Giggs was not considered for the Man U job. The likes of Lampard, Gerard, Ferdinand and Giggs have all been offered jobs in the lower leagues but do not have the balls to grind it out.

In the time of Chris Hughton it was either you became a manager or open a pub. Plus the explosion of lucrative punditry has also given these guys another easy alternative to the grind of being a manager.
Chris Hughton has paid his dues starting as a youth coach at Spurs and assistant manager at spurs and ROI. His quality is undeniable. If he ever thinks of international coaching in the future i think Nigeria should consider him even though his father is Ghanaian :biggrin:

Not so fast heavy D. Has Steven Gerard not got a job just recently? Look at the meteoric rise of Gareth Southgate. What exactly did he do?

I can go on and on. The likes of David Platt, Terry Butcher, Tony Adams, Tim Sherwood, Stuart Pearce, etc were all at least given opportunities. Ask yourself if such openings have ever been offered to retired black players.