Nacho v Ighalo . Who starts?

All our boys are firing goals going into the WC. Musa, ighalo, Nacho, Simon, and even Vic mo have all been playing well and hanging. who should start against Croatia? Nacho seems to be coming along but the strength and power of ighalo is much needed even though Nacho is a better Finisher. This is a tough one.

Re: Nacho v Ighalo . Who starts?

I honestly believe that the 2 should start as 8 and 9. Ighalo will hustle and hold the ball while Iheanacho should do the finishing. Teams like Uruguay, italy were able to use 2 out and out forward upfront

8 is central midfielder

john12 wrote:I honestly believe that the 2 should start as 8 and 9. Ighalo will hustle and hold the ball while Iheanacho should do the finishing. Teams like Uruguay, italy were able to use 2 out and out forward upfront

I think Rohr might opt to bench Onazi and go for Scoring .

Mikel Ndidi

Moses Nacho Iwobi

Ighalo

The somewhat risky but high reward option would be

Mikel ndidi

moses iwobi Musa

nacho

If Moses doesn't hog the ball we could score a lot of goals using nacho as a false 9

... as if anyone's opinion in all of these means anything.

Abeg make una leeve awa coach make him do him job

Odas wrote:... as if anyone's opinion in all of these means anything.

this is a good thread for those of us who aren't sure we can beat Croatia. You need to start a goal celebration thread for the ones who are sure we can beat them by 3 goals. :thumb:

absolutely no way can both Nacho and Ighalo start against Croatia. That is suicide.

Croatia has one of the best midfields in the world. We need to play Mikel, Ndidi, and one of Joel or Etebo, Onazi.

This is not negotiable IMO. We need a strong midfield. After Mikel we need 2 guys who will run their socks off for the entire 90 minutes.

Playing those 2 strikers and Croatia will have too much freedom and will punish us. The key to beating them is to bombard them with the high press, and not let them get a hold in the match. They will likely try and control possession, so counter attacks are key.

I would only play both NAcho and Ighalo, later in the game if we are searching for a goal.

On the other hand I think we can afford to play a 442 with both Ighalo and Nacho against Iceland in our second match.

Having watched the Poland game again, the 442 actually wasn't bad in the first half against Poland. We just needed to be more efficient in creating chances with off ball runs and quick passing. I could see this combo doing well against Iceland, but not against either Croatia or Argentina, especially Croatia to be honest.

at this moment, honestly I will start Ighalo ahead of Nacho. I know it may be unpopular, but there is more upside to his game, but Nacho has really improved the other areas of his game in the last few weeks so really it is a hard call. The England and Czech games may well decide if one starts over the other.

Against R Congo I will use only fringe players. Perhaps Nwankwo Simy and or Sadiq Umar in that match.

Nacho played poorly the last time he was deployed as a midfielder for Nigeria.

Play V Moses, Ighalo and Iheanacho upfront.
Ndidi, Mikel and Onazi in midfield.

Odas wrote:... as if anyone's opinion in all of these means anything.

this is a good thread for those of us who aren't sure we can beat Croatia. You need to start a goal celebration thread for the ones who are sure we can beat them by 3 goals. :thumb:
Bros, I am not sure of the number of goals we will score against Croatia, but I know one thing: WE WILL BEAT them.

vancity eagle wrote:absolutely no way can both Nacho and Ighalo start against Croatia. That is suicide.

Croatia has one of the best midfields in the world. We need to play Mikel, Ndidi, and one of Joel or Etebo, Onazi.

This is not negotiable IMO. We need a strong midfield. After Mikel we need 2 guys who will run their socks off for the entire 90 minutes.

Playing those 2 strikers and Croatia will have too much freedom and will punish us. The key to beating them is to bombard them with the high press, and not let them get a hold in the match. They will likely try and control possession, so counter attacks are key.

I would only play both NAcho and Ighalo, later in the game if we are searching for a goal.

On the other hand I think we can afford to play a 442 with both Ighalo and Nacho against Iceland in our second match.

Having watched the Poland game again, the 442 actually wasn't bad in the first half against Poland. We just needed to be more efficient in creating chances with off ball runs and quick passing. I could see this combo doing well against Iceland, but not against either Croatia or Argentina, especially Croatia to be honest.

at this moment, honestly I will start Ighalo ahead of Nacho. I know it may be unpopular, but there is more upside to his game, but Nacho has really improved the other areas of his game in the last few weeks so really it is a hard call. The England and Czech games may well decide if one starts over the other.

Against R Congo I will use only fringe players. Perhaps Nwankwo Simy and or Sadiq Umar in that match.
Good post. I agree for the most part.

vancity eagle wrote:absolutely no way can both Nacho and Ighalo start against Croatia. That is suicide.

Kpom. VE you can be annoying sometimes but I have to agree with you on this one, you get sense jare :thumb:

Synopsis wrote:

Don't know if Rohr will go for a 3-5-1-1 or our normal 4-2-3-1.

Whatever the formation he will have Mikel as his advanced (central) midfielder.

------Shehu/Awaziem ---Ekong---Balogun-------
Moses--Onazi--Ndidi--Etebo--Idowu/Aina/Musa
------------Mikel-------
-----------Ighalo--------------

Shehu/Ebuehi---Ekong--Balogun---Aina/Idowu
---------Onazi------Ndidi-------------
VMoses----------Mikel-----------Simon
---------------Ighalo/Iheanacho----------------

mapet

Post by mapet »

ohenhen1 wrote:Nacho played poorly the last time he was deployed as a midfielder for Nigeria.

Play V Moses, Ighalo and Iheanacho upfront.
Ndidi, Mikel and Onazi in midfield.

Except Onazi works on his pace and atrocious passing of late, I am tempted to swap him with Obi. but This is my formation too
mapet

Post by mapet »

Synopsis wrote:

Don't know if Rohr will go for a 3-5-1-1 or our normal 4-2-3-1.

Whatever the formation he will have Mikel as his advanced (central) midfielder.

------Shehu/Awaziem ---Ekong---Balogun-------
Moses--Onazi--Ndidi--Etebo--Idowu/Aina/Musa
------------Mikel-------
-----------Ighalo--------------

Shehu/Ebuehi---Ekong--Balogun---Aina/Idowu
---------Onazi------Ndidi-------------
VMoses----------Mikel-----------Simon
---------------Ighalo/Iheanacho----------------
1. Awaziem for SE has not demonstrated he can make a legit claim to a starting line-up under any match formation
2. Shehu starts regardless. Ebuhei's case is not helped by the fact that the Serbs took him to the cleaners and cost us the goals.

Not true. We could play the following formation
.........Mikel ...............Ndidi
...................Iwobi
Nacho........Igalo......Moses

And defeat Croatia IMHO
TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

I agree. the only way I would even consider playing both in the same formation against Argentina or Croatia is if we play a 352 but we haven't played that formation enough to know if our players are suited to it and it's too late to be experimenting with that formation.

Play 4231 or 433 with Ighalo up front.
TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

smartbrother wrote:
Not true. We could play the following formation
.........Mikel ...............Ndidi
...................Iwobi
Nacho........Igalo......Moses

And defeat Croatia IMHO
That would be suicide as Nacho can't play on the wing. I also have doubts about Iwobi playing on the wing but he would do a better job than Nacho. In all honesty I may get crap for this but I think our starting RW should be Moses Simon. He offers more in that position than many of the players we have in the pool.

Chai, so Celluminatus, when not painting nonsensical patterns in sudocrem across you bare chestedness, whilst bojangling with mandatory human head, you have the interest to scribble formations...One had, perhaps mistakenly, assumed interests fell far short of the beautiful game and were solely seeded in the occultic. Nno.

@VE, the notion the three-man midfield is essential before the technically astute midfield, is pure fallacy. Yes, Nigeria can play a front two against Croatia and in doing so, would actually influence their passing patterns. Modric ru al will drop deep to collect the ball off the back line, with two CFs occupying the centre backs, the ball has to go wide if not long. Already, the non-possessive/defensive phase is moved away from the area of opposition’s greatest strength.

It gets better, ordered another round, it’s...about...to go...down. Ighalo and Iheanacho (for want of example) are up top. In the defensive phase they make lateral runs to cover the fullbacks, left and right midfielder, make inverted runs to check the midfield, with one pressing the ball player and the other covering the immediate midfield outlet.

In a 4-4-2, this leave a 4-2 base. The free 3rd midfielder is covered by one of the two anchors ie. Ndidi and the likely scenario is either the individual marker is beaten, the ball goes wide and it’s 1 vs 1 with the fullback or the ball goes long.

Last season such a ploy was used by Crystal Palace to destroy a superior opponent boasting a wonderfully gifted midfield. One wouldn’t go anywhere near a 4-3-3 or 4-2-3-1 vs Croatia. Like for like seldom favours the underdog, force them to change and reign within the ensuing chaos.

Play them together. The full backs and V Moses will provide the wide play. They can switch roles during the game.

nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

The only time Nacho has been effective in a two man strike force for Eagles, Ighalo did not play. Vs Zambia in Ndola and Argentina. At all other times that I have watched and recollect, one of the two (Ighalo/Nacho) has been ineffective.

Secondly, although we will beat Croatia, VE is correct, a three man midfield wont work. First half will require four/five mobile guys and a lot of pressing. Second half strategy may be altered when we are two goals up.

Their central defense is weak, their defensive midfield is slow and their age and desire is suspect. At this age, no Croatian wants to get hurt in the golden years of their club careers.

Our strength is the transition game, pressing, counter attacks and a water tight midfield with minimal creativity. Let's play to our strengths and forget about being cute.

nzeogwu wrote:The only time Nacho has been effective in a two man strike force for Eagles, Ighalo did not play. Vs Zambia in Ndola and Argentina. At all other times that I have watched and recollect, one of the two (Ighalo/Nacho) has been ineffective.

Secondly, although we will beat Croatia, VE is correct, a three man midfield wont work. First half will require four/five mobile guys and a lot of pressing. Second half strategy may be altered when we are two goals up.

Their central defense is weak, their defensive midfield is slow and their age and desire is suspect. At this age, no Croatian wants to get hurt in the golden years of their club careers.

Our strength is the transition game, pressing, counter attacks and a water tight midfield with minimal creativity. Let's play to our strengths and forget about being cute.
He was effective vs Tanzania. We should have scored more than 1 goal that day.

Synopsis wrote:8 is central midfielder

4 nko? Backman? :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:

Synopsis wrote:8 is central midfielder

4 nko? Backman? :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:
Yes

Cb