The only Nigerian Players to attend AND PLAY at 3 World Cups

MYMIND
The only Nigerian Players to attend AND PLAY at 3 World Cups

Post by MYMIND »

Respect to you all!

JJ OKOCHA - 1994, 1998 & 2002

NWANKWO KANU - 1998, 2002 & 2010

JOSEPH YOBO - 2002, 2010 & 2014

VINCENT ENYEAMA - 2002, 2010 & 2014

Interestingly, all would have been to and played at four World Cups if not for the 2006 miss. All were also captains of the National Team. The first three have quit playing football while the fourth continues to hang on. Vincent was trying to break the record of 4 World Cups and playing hence, his reluctance to sit on the bench. Was not meant to be. Kudos to them all. It is never easy to qualify, get selected and play in 3 World Cups under different coaches.

One worthy mention: Mutiu Adepoju attended 3 World Cups but, only played in 1994 & 1998. Attended 2002.
eyan
Re: The only Nigerian Players to attend AND PLAY at 3 World

Post by eyan »

MYMIND wrote:Respect to you all!

Interestingly, all would have been to and played at four World Cups if not for the 2006 miss. All were also captains of the National Team. The first three have quit playing football while the fourth continues to hang on. Vincent was trying to break the record of 4 World Cups and playing hence, his reluctance to sit on the bench. Was not meant to be. Kudos to them all. It is never easy to qualify, get selected and play in 3 World Cups under different coaches.

One worthy mention: Mutiu Adepoju attended 3 World Cups but, only played in 1994 & 1998. Attended 2002.
Your logic is faulty. If Enyeama was trying to break the record, wld sitting on the bench not sufficient for that purpose? And him sitting on the bench doesn’t mean he will never play or perform better that keepers in training to warrant a start. Some pple just like to write for writing sake.

You dis man. Leave Enyeama alone to retire in peace
MYMIND

Post by MYMIND »

eyan wrote:

Your logic is faulty. If Enyeama was trying to break the record, wld sitting on the bench not sufficient for that purpose? And him sitting on the bench doesn’t mean he will never play or perform better that keepers in training to warrant a start. Some pple just like to write for writing sake.
The record of reference is to attend AND PLAY!

pajimoh wrote:You dis man. Leave Enyeama alone to retire in peace
The guy sef, *shakes head*

Between Kanu, JJ and Yobo, we got a sum total of 1 assist and zero goals from 3 WC appearances. The sole assist came from a Yobo cross to Aghahowa for the goal vs Sweden. To be somewhat fair to The King, he got injured in the first game in 2002 vs Argentina....

nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Who is Vincent Enyeama? Who is Joe Hart?
eyan

Post by eyan »

Between Kanu, JJ and Yobo, we got a sum total of 1 assist and zero goals from 3 WC appearances. The sole assist came from a Yobo cross to Aghahowa for the goal vs Sweden. To be somewhat fair to The King, he got injured in the first game in 2002 vs Argentina....
To be fair to Okocha, he presented Kanu with one on one against denmark, but ur King messed up.
eyan

Post by eyan »

MYMIND wrote:
eyan wrote:

My point is sitting on the bench gives him 50% assurance of playing. So if he was truly trying to break the record, he wld have taken the offer.
MYMIND

Post by MYMIND »

eyan wrote:
MYMIND wrote:
eyan wrote:

My point is sitting on the bench gives him 50% assurance of playing. So if he was truly trying to break the record, he wld have taken the offer.
A keeper has 50% chance of playing once he makes the squad? Wow! No further comment as none is needed.
eyan

Post by eyan »

MYMIND wrote:
eyan wrote:
MYMIND wrote:
eyan wrote:

A keeper has 50% chance of playing once he makes the squad? Wow! No further comment as none is needed.
Good to know that u have nothing else to say. Probability of playing is 50% once u make a squad. Except the coach says he's taking to have a feel that you won't play. As opposed 0% chance of playing if you don't make the squad. Tell me which will a player trying to break a record choose.

Whichever way u dice it, probability of playing is higher when u make the squad and 0% when u don't. Will like u to lecture us on your kind of logic.
MYMIND

Post by MYMIND »

eyan wrote:
MYMIND wrote:
eyan wrote:
MYMIND wrote:
eyan wrote:

Good to know that u have nothing else to say. Probability of playing is 50% once u make a squad. Except the coach says he's taking to have a feel that you won't play. As opposed 0% chance of playing if you don't make the squad. Tell me which will a player trying to break a record choose.

Whichever way u dice it, probability of playing is higher when u make the squad and 0% when u don't. Will like u to lecture us on your kind of logic.
Outfield player Yes! Keeper No!

pajimoh wrote:You dis man. Leave Enyeama alone to retire in peace
Bros, na wa for som pipul-oo, hmmmm!
Last edited by Odas on Wed May 16, 2018 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
eyan

Post by eyan »

MYMIND wrote:
eyan wrote:
MYMIND wrote:
eyan wrote:
MYMIND wrote:
eyan wrote:

Outfield player Yes! Keeper No!

Why no? I want to be lectured. From your lessons so far, both backup keeper and a keeper not in the squad have 0% chance of playing.