My predictions and the lessons Caf should learn from Russia

Re: My predictions and the lessons Caf should learn from Rus

Uruguay out
Brazil out

Brazil were not convincing at all, i mentioned this after the switzerland game, the first real team they met and they are going home, Brazil problem is Neymar, take him out of the equation and they will be just fine, i think he is too much of an individual player, should never have left Barcelona!

So Ayo, please can you make a new predcition in light of what happened today
Last edited by marko on Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

marko wrote:So Ayo, please can you make an new predcition in light of what happened today

I cannot predict anything, from what i have seen so far, the french and the Belgiums have the best squad at the world cup, also Sweden is the dark horse of the tournament

And when that dark horse is reduced to Tesco beef, then what?

Ayo Akinfe wrote:My predictions:

Quarter finals
Uruguay 2-1 France
Brazil 3-0 Belgium
Russia 3-1 Croatia
Sweden 1-0 England

Semi finals
Brazil 3-1 Uruguay
Sweden 1-0 Russia

Final
Brazil 2-0 Sweden
So this means that Croatia will beat Russia and England will beat Sweden. France will beat Belgium and Croatia will beat England in the semis. Finally Croatia will beat France in the final. Say it ain't so. :woot:

Otitokoro wrote:Ayo, I fully agree with you here. This has been the problem with African teams for the past couple of decades. We do not play enough qualifiers. The main issue is money - most African football federations simply cannot afford to prosecute that many games - especially when its clear they have no chance of qualifying after a few qualifiers. Flying players around the continent from their mostly European clubs that many times could be a financial struggle for them. The key challenge, as I see it though, is getting to about 14 teams who we all know are very serious about football on the continent and can surpass that financial challenge. I think now (unlike years past), this is possible.

Proposal.
Since we have 52 countries, the qualifiers can start with two rounds of direct elimination for all the 52 countries.
1st round will whittle down the number to 28 (home and away series) and the next round will reduce the number to 14 countries. The final 14 would therefore have played 4 qualifiers each at that time.
Then split the final 14 into 2 groups of 7, meaning each team plays a minimum of 12 games each. Top 2 in each group qualify for the WC proper and the 3rd place teams from both groups enter into a home and away playoff (like UEFA). Winner qualifies.

This guarantees each of the 5 teams a minimum of 16 (max 18) qualifying games to be played. This would help put African teams at par with Europe and South American in terms of preparedness and would ensure that each of the African representatives has been battle tested.
In the words of Yesin Bey, its mathematics...how does 52 become 28?

52, 26, 13 uneven number. Problem.

If not mistaken, there are 56 members in CAF.
56, 28, 14...two groups pf seven = 12 + 4 games. 16.

After the knockout rounds, the remaining teams should be pooled such that, the top two seeds cannot be in the same group. Beyond there, its every man for himself. Theres no need for multiple groups, make it into a mini league such that it has that league like feeling, where teams play for points at all points.

Essentially, what you've said minus the maths. Ask for 6 entrees, which one imagines will be met and exceeded by the planned expansion. 9 teams are speculated in the 48 team format, which renders the mini league qualification system obsolete, if one can finish third from bottom and qualify.

We are still waiting for the original thread new prediction for the rest of the teams

This is probably my favourite world cup, the gap has closed, any team can beat any time on its day except Nigeria vs Argentina, we will always be their bride!

marko wrote:We are still waiting for the original thread new prediction for the rest of the teams

This is probably my favourite world cup, the gap has closed, any team can beat any time on its day except Nigeria vs Argentina, we will always be their bride!

I am still standing by Russia and Sweden despite Uruguay and Brazil shocking my by losing. I now predict a France vs Sweden final.
fatty

Post by fatty »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:My predictions:

Quarter finals
Uruguay 2-1 France
Brazil 3-0 Belgium
Russia 3-1 Croatia
Sweden 1-0 England

Semi finals
Brazil 3-1 Uruguay
Sweden 1-0 Russia

Final
Brazil 2-0 Sweden.

Ayo, you owed me 150dollars already and I am collecting my money anytime I set my eyes on you. I placed 50dollars bet on each of your predictions. 3 games 3 losses already. :mad: :mad: :mad: :tic: :tic: :veryangry: :veryangry:
Last edited by fatty on Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:09 pm, edited 3 times in total.
From green to super, eagles are soaring to Golden.

0/3 for Ayo.
Croatia is definitely winning this afternoon

Ayo's predictions:0 for 3 :mrgreen:

I tire oooo. Kai!

marko wrote:We are still waiting for the original thread new prediction for the rest of the teams

I am still standing by Russia and Sweden despite Uruguay and Brazil shocking my by losing. I now predict a France vs Sweden final.
I think you are jinxing these teams by your predictions

Seems your first predictions coming true

All your predictions were wrong! Open world cup

Zero out of four for a self proclaimed football genius. Na wa!

Ayo is now officially a top jinxter in addition to purveyor of fake news and CE editor at large.

More grease to your elbow as your portfolio keeps growing and growing. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Kako wrote:Ayo's predictions:0 for 3 :mrgreen:
0 for 4

(1) Uruguay were without Cavanni

(2) Neymar was more interested in synchronised diving than playing football

(3) Only England deserved to beat Sweden, which they did convincingly

(4) Croatia were just lucky. Penalty shoot outs are a lottery

Ayo Akinfe wrote:(1) Uruguay were without Cavanni

(2) Neymar was more interested in synchronised diving than playing football

(3) Only England deserved to beat Sweden, which they did convincingly

(4) Croatia were just lucky. Penalty shoot outs are a lottery

Still excuses, they got beaten by the better team on the day, the gap in world football has virtually closed

heavyd

Post by heavyd »

Belgium 3 vs 2 France

Croatia 2 vs 2 England (Croatia win on Pens)

Belgium 4 vs 1 Croatia
YNWA