rohr got his tactics right against Argentina

Re: rohr got his tactics right against Argentina

marko wrote:Even if Nigeria got the 2nd round, that would have been the end of that journey, at best Nigeria is a 2nd round team and nothing more, they dont have the qualities needed to go far in competitions
I agree that at best, this current team could not have gone beyond the quarter finals. For starters, it had no playmaker, no overlapping fullbacks, the centrebacks were not comfortable on the ball and did not have a clinical finisher.

I just hope Rohr realises that we expect him to fill all these loopholes by 2022. He needs to start searching for players now!

Its beyond a matter of players. Look at Kieran Trippier, has there been a better fullback/wingback in the tournament? Going into the tournament who would've won a vote between Victor Moses and Trippier, for best right wingback? Have that vote now. Landslide. Even when the players are in place, something is happening that prevents those capable from demonstrating their capability. Fill all of the aforementioned loopholes till they're overflowing, 2022, its the same old song, group stage or round of 16. Customary 3-4 games. Its beyond mere men, its far more scientific.
Komani

Post by Komani »

Oh please. We lost that game when Pavon came in and Rohr didn't make a sub to counter it. Idowu was being double teamed and the guy just chilled and didn't do anything. Mikel and Etebo were tired...he should've brought on either Ebuehi to play in front of Idowu or Onazi/Joel Obi to bring energy.
Rohr is an average tactician. He got exposed.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I take the view that Henry Onyekuru and Kelechi Nwakali would have made a huge difference to our team. My biggest criticism of Rohr was his refusal to drop certain players despite it being obvious they were not good enough and him having better alternatives.

Does anyone here really think Shehu Abdullahi is good enough for instance? Does anyone here believe Uwua Echiejile has any business in the Super Eagles? I am still waiting for someone to explain to me why Joel Obi was not tried at leftback.
You're right. Nwakali in place of Shehu, and Onyekuru in place of Uwua, and we would have beaten Argentina and Croatia.

And Belgium and then France.

Right tactics wrong personnel,Ighalo was never going to score and that was clear a few weeks before the tournament at Wembley against England,no matter what he does even in a one on one with the keeper he just fails,Rohr had ample time to realise Ighalo should never had been a regular.

Wrong tactics, wrong personnel, wrong decade.

Eaglezbeak wrote:Right tactics wrong personnel,Ighalo was never going to score and that was clear a few weeks before the tournament at Wembley against England,no matter what he does even in a one on one with the keeper he just fails, Rohr had ample time to realise Ighalo should never had been a regular.
Agreed.
That's kind of stating the obvious.
So, who was better?

Recognizing and solving the obvious is no big deal.
Its solving it that matters. :idea:

The question isn't who was the better option, rather what was the strategic intention?

Komani wrote:Oh please. We lost that game when Pavon came in and Rohr didn't make a sub to counter it. Idowu was being double teamed and the guy just chilled and didn't do anything. Mikel and Etebo were tired...he should've brought on either Ebuehi to play in front of Idowu or Onazi/Joel Obi to bring energy.
Rohr is an average tactician. He got exposed.
The coward is below average.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

marko wrote:Even if Nigeria got the 2nd round, that would have been the end of that journey, at best Nigeria is a 2nd round team and nothing more, they dont have the qualities needed to go far in competitions
I agree that at best, this current team could not have gone beyond the quarter finals. For starters, it had no playmaker, no overlapping fullbacks, the centrebacks were not comfortable on the ball and did not have a clinical finisher.

I just hope Rohr realises that we expect him to fill all these loopholes by 2022. He needs to start searching for players now!
How many of these things does England have? Rich club football is different from national football, you can't go out and purchase whoever you need.
Advocating rational thought since 1987

Has John 12 been banned yet? Please this needs be done ASAP

john12 and rationality cannot be in the same sentence. By his logic, we should outsource the NFF to foreigners in spite of the successes of Pinnick and co. Unless, we go back to our decidedly Nigerian style of play, tweak it with some variations, and play to our strengths while selecting the right core of players, we will win nothing. For emphasis, our most recent major achievement - AFCON 2013 and Olympics bronze 2016- were achieved with Nigerian coaches.

ohenhen1 wrote:It was the right tactical move to solidify the defense when all you needed was a draw. Can still set up the team for counter attack football. Also should have made his substitutions earlier, remove tired players. He made his changes late. He removed Ahmed Musa in the 90th minute.

Only a fool will not make a change to match Argentina bringing in Aguero.

Rohr cost us the game. Stop making excuses for him.
Was Rohr coaching when Argentina beat us in four previous meetings? You cannot recognize man pass man when you see it? :lol:

john12 wrote:I have rewatched that match against Argentina and I can’t seem to phantom how people are blaming rohr. First and foremost, we didn’t play “anti football” or even “football coward” we played a 352 formation (attacking) and 532 (defending) 2 strikers and football coward cannot be mentioned in the same sentence. Again, I have looked at Argentina 11 vs Nigeria 11
Armani (river plate) vs
Macardo (sevilla)
Roho (Manchester)
Biglia (ac Milan)
Tagliafico (ajax)
Mascherano (backwater)
Hinguain (Juventus)
Messi (Barcelona)
De Maria (psg)

Basically, this was Argentina team against us and our team consisted of many BACKWATER players. Infact, between Messi, demaria, hinguain and Aguero, ARGENTINA Forward scored 100 goals for their club sides and were the highest scoring forwards going to the World Cup. So, please tell me what rohr did wrong? You want rohr to ATTACK Argentina and be punished mercilessly like in 2010, 14? Infact, our last game against Argentina was our best ever in the WC and this includes 1994, 2002, 2010, and 2014 and in addition to it, They have higher rated players, they will beat our 1994 Team. We should stop blaming Rohr because he didn’t do anything wrong. I believe that his tactics, team List were all spot on and at the highest level you must take your CHANCES or be PUNISHED.The difference between Argentina game vs us Wasn’t ROhR but was QUALITY and CHANCES. Argentina have a higher rated team/players than us and they capitalize on their CHANCES while we didn’t. Shikena
Chief, you too wicked. Biko chop rice leave stone. :D

ohsee wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:It was the right tactical move to solidify the defense when all you needed was a draw. Can still set up the team for counter attack football. Also should have made his substitutions earlier, remove tired players. He made his changes late. He removed Ahmed Musa in the 90th minute.

Was Rohr coaching when Argentina beat us in four previous meetings? You cannot recognize man pass man when you see it? :lol:
:clap: :clap: Nigeria was never a proven footballing super power so why all of the sudden is Rohr to blame for Ighalo missing 2 sitters?
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Why bother to play? :( Kai, Nigerians.
ohsee wrote:

As a fan responsible for assessing his competence as a coach, he scored a big fat F9.

He should be allowed to retake his tests with another African team as he is not up to SE standard.