Southgate studied the NBA to help England with set pieces

Specifically the excellent picks, feints and screens that the NBA is known for.

It is so obvious now. Many American sports like football and basketball are basically games composed almost entirely of set-piece plays

Re: Southgate studied the NBA to help England with set piece

I think we should hire Muggsy Bogues, AC Green or Scottie Pippen as our set piece coach. :tic:

What did Rohr study?

fabio wrote:What did Rohr study?
How to chop your dollar and wave goodbye.

asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Incompetent coward... :rotf:
fabio wrote:What did Rohr study?
How to chop your dollar and wave goodbye.

Scipio Africanus wrote:Specifically the excellent picks, feints and screens that the NBA is known for.

It is so obvious now. Many American sports like football and basketball are basically games composed almost entirely of set-piece plays
You aren't intelligent at all. What a lazy and daft thought procesd

Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Scipio Africanus wrote:Specifically the excellent picks, feints and screens that the NBA is known for.

You aren't intelligent at all. What a lazy and daft thought procesd

He could b on to something. Let's listen.

My knowledge of American football has helped with soccer strategy.

I think every top soccer coach should study the NFL, which is probably the most coach impacted major sport.

Of course, you still need to know your players/team & know what formation and strategy will suit them best; and then to a lesser extent, know the opposition.

That is why within 10 minutes of the Croatia game, I had said this dummy Rohr was going to waste our World Cup and I had hoped he'd be fired right after that game.

Silly dumb Saboteur

Specifically relating NFL strategy to Soccer, I could go on and on, but i'll just mention a couple of concepts.

1) Breaking the game into offensive & defensive possessions; or playing with and without the ball. Some teams love to play without the ball. I think the Baltimore team with Ed Reed and Ray Lewis was noted for the amount of defensive touchdowns they got. All Trent Dilfer, Kyle Boller or whatever QB was on the field had to do was not cost them games.

2) Field Position: Somewhat related to my point 3, below. We lost the Argentina & Croatia games to field position. Rohr is not only limited, but obviously not a smart person. Probably working with a template from the German federation, without a clue of what to do if something differs slightly from the template they have. The moron allowed a team soak up pressure in the last 20 minutes vs Argentina when it was obvious fatigue was setting in & sat on 2 substitutions till Argentina scored with little time to spare.

3) Pace vs Grind: Some NFL teams grind it out. Tough running, tough defence. Get to the opposing quarterback early & put a hit on him, take your 15 yard penalty, but have that QB second guessing himself, knowing he is looking down the barrel of a gun the rest of the game when he stands in the pocket.
Think Baltimore and Pittsburgh over the years.
Other teams thrive on QBs hitting up tight ends and wide receivers and playing with pace. Think San Diego with Philip Rivers/Drew Brees, Antonio Gates, Malcolm Floyd & Vincent Jackson. Even LT, a great RB enhanced this pace & throwing game rather than a grinding out style.

Nigeria is not Italy, Germany or even Cameroon. It is not in our nature & will never be in our football.

I genuinely thought this dummy was masking something during the friendlies, not knowing he was determined to sabotage us. It took 10 minutes of the Croatia game for me to realize the clown was going to waste this World Cup.

4) Special teams: This is probably where the NFL can impact soccer the most, especially with dead ball situations. I think England has scored over 70% of their goals in the World Cup from dead balls.
This is a mix of strategy, personnel (or physical attributes) and desire, just like rebounds in basketball. In the last 20 years, the good headers of the ball we've had are Mutiu, Uche Okechukwu & Ambrose. We need to have about 3 or 4 of those guys in the team at the same time for us to make an impact with this. Balogun shows some potential, but with a strategic emphasis from coaching and in training, we could have 4-5 guys who could be aerial threats. Agali had unfulfilled potential with the Eagles on this, & Simy could as well. Awaziem is a better footballer than Ekong (personally responsible for 2 of the 4 goals we conceded in Russia) & is a good dead ball specialists. We need to give give guys like that more opportunities.

@truetalk, these are already happening.

1. Already done but overrated. Park the bus (final minutes of 9ja - Argies vs tiki taka (Spain)).
It is the transition from offense to defense and vice versa which is more important. For example, Spain had good defensive possession but poor transition to offense.

2. Field position. Look at England, Brazil, Japan, e.t.c

3. Pace & Grind. One word, Belgium.

4. Special teams.
Again, already done. Fellaini as Plan B.
Also, see how Belgium adjusted to Brazil's corners as the game progressed.
England’s FKs have the likes of Maguire wide to the left and right sides with the delivery falling behind the defense on either side.

More coaches should look at other fields (like military formations) for ideas. I always wondered why African coaches don't come up with their own formations instead of straight jacketing their players into Euro formations that conflict with their instincts?

Kabalega wrote:More coaches should look at other fields (like military formations) for ideas. I always wondered why African coaches don't come up with their own formations instead of straight jacketing their players into Euro formations that conflict with their instincts?
:clap: the hard talk. Our coaches, fans etc see formations in numbers, 1 to 11, others see formations in terms of space and area. Look through the archives, see how many times its been argued who should play number 10...wtf is a number ten these days? Who still believes this means anything today beyond the nostalgic.

truetalk wrote:Specifically relating NFL strategy to Soccer, I could go on and on, but i'll just mention a couple of concepts.

1) Breaking the game into offensive & defensive possessions; or playing with and without the ball. Some teams love to play without the ball. I think the Baltimore team with Ed Reed and Ray Lewis was noted for the amount of defensive touchdowns they got. All Trent Dilfer, Kyle Boller or whatever QB was on the field had to do was not cost them games.

2) Field Position: Somewhat related to my point 3, below. We lost the Argentina & Croatia games to field position. Rohr is not only limited, but obviously not a smart person. Probably working with a template from the German federation, without a clue of what to do if something differs slightly from the template they have. The moron allowed a team soak up pressure in the last 20 minutes vs Argentina when it was obvious fatigue was setting in & sat on 2 substitutions till Argentina scored with little time to spare.

3) Pace vs Grind: Some NFL teams grind it out. Tough running, tough defence. Get to the opposing quarterback early & put a hit on him, take your 15 yard penalty, but have that QB second guessing himself, knowing he is looking down the barrel of a gun the rest of the game when he stands in the pocket.
Other teams thrive on QBs hitting up tight ends and wide receivers and playing with pace. Think San Diego with Philip Rivers/Drew Brees, Antonio Gates, Malcolm Floyd & Vincent Jackson. Even LT, a great RB enhanced this pace & throwing game rather than a grinding out style.

Nigeria is not Italy, Germany or even Cameroon. It is not in our nature & will never be in our football.

I genuinely thought this dummy was masking something during the friendlies, not knowing he was determined to sabotage us. It took 10 minutes of the Croatia game for me to realize the clown was going to waste this World Cup.

4) Special teams: This is probably where the NFL can impact soccer the most, especially with dead ball situations. I think England has scored over 70% of their goals in the World Cup from dead balls.
This is a mix of strategy, personnel (or physical attributes) and desire, just like rebounds in basketball. In the last 20 years, the good headers of the ball we've had are Mutiu, Uche Okechukwu & Ambrose. We need to have about 3 or 4 of those guys in the team at the same time for us to make an impact with this. Balogun shows some potential, but with a strategic emphasis from coaching and in training, we could have 4-5 guys who could be aerial threats. Agali had unfulfilled potential with the Eagles on this, & Simy could as well. Awaziem is a better footballer than Ekong (personally responsible for 2 of the 4 goals we conceded in Russia) & is a good dead ball specialists. We need to give give guys like that more opportunities.
Now you are talking! :thumbs: :thumbs:

This has to be in the top 10 best posts on CE this year! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Uncle, honestly I was thinking the same. But the guy was out of his depth. Plain simple, he was clueless. Incompetent. :(
truetalk wrote:Specifically relating NFL strategy to Soccer, I could go on and on, but i'll just mention a couple of concepts.

Una like to write sha and convince ya sefs say Una don hit goldmine. NBA ko, BBC Ni msshhheeew. Football (soccer) has it's own offensive, defensive and whatever strategies you want to think of. It's so fluid and dynamic that I don't see what the NBA can teach soccer? Maybe specific teams can go and learn something due to their deficiencies.

Set pieces has always been the English's forte. They never abandoned it but got stronger at it and turned it into their brand and advantage. Unlike Nigeria where we are called "naive", drop our brand of football rather than refine it, strengthen it and let the world deal with our brand and we devise strategies to cope with theirs.

France and other teams score a lot of goals from "set piece" at this wc, they must have all been watching the NBA.

It is a true fact that soccer is being Americanized! I have been singing this song for six years now.

mastermind

Post by mastermind »

You cannot do much without talent. French team is like united nation, talented players from all over Africa. Belgium and England are doing the same. Teams not going the France way would have to wait for golden generations,they can’t be competitive every tournament. Argentina now is struggling because of lack of talent, no amount of football strategy could have help them against France, the ream was old,while French team is young and talented.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

NBA is learning from soccer not the other way around. Today NBA players train like soccer players, they’re cutting weight and defending like soccer teams. Malcolm Gladwell wrote about it in “David and Goliath.”
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.

kolinzo wrote:It is a true fact that soccer is being Americanized! I have been singing this song for six years now.
Oh keep quiet. All you need here is "America" and you go blowing your TRUMPet. Mssshhheeeww
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

But that goes for life in general there is an argument that innovation tends to happen in an industry from the outside looking in, probably why its youngsters that come up with bright ideas.

mastermind wrote:NBA is learning from soccer not the other way around. Today NBA players train like soccer players, they’re cutting weight and defending like soccer teams. Malcolm Gladwell wrote about it in “David and Goliath.”
Since you're stating that you're incapable of independent thinking and analysis, you may want to consider a moniker change to Followmind.

SOUTHGATE PROBABLY DIDN'T LEARN MUCH FROM WATCHING NBA SCREENS

Keep in mind that a screen usually involves one player (two on a few occasions) who is required to be stationary. Soccer set pieces usually involve a lot more personnel, and they are not required to be stationary.

Bell wrote:

SOUTHGATE PROBABLY DIDN'T LEARN MUCH FROM WATCHING NBA SCREENS

Keep in mind that a screen usually involves one player (two on a few occasions) who is required to be stationary. Soccer set pieces usually involve a lot more personnel, and they are not required to be stationary.
Come on now! No one says that Southgate has to implement screens exactly the way they are implemented in the NBA. Go with the general concept.

There are about 5 people I respect as great soccer minds on this site. People on the Gab Marcotti level and even better.

I think they all had Rohr figured out before the World Cup.

He is in Nigeria to collect pension.