Nigeria should aim for six world class players for 2022

Re: Nigeria should aim for six world class players for 2022

This is the job of domestic league clubs in Nigeria to invest in players and discover the new talent

Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

pajimoh wrote:You know something, you talk like a child most of the time. No offense intended.
How co you expect Nigeria to sim for 6 wc players when their development is mostly down to the individuals and their fortunes at their various clubs?

One would think Nigeria trains and use them 9 months of the year.

Once again, clubs nurture, national team utilize.

We might talk about setting up a good early base in Nigeria etc, which I have no problem with but we've also seen where players get to clubs and have their natural talent and confidence destroyed by their myopic needs.

They must grow on trees. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

To do anything meaningful in next world cup if we qualify is for aleast 5 core of super eagles to be playing regularily in top european teams. seems most of the top teams dont fear or respect us enough. Preparation should start now - lots of Grade A and top class friendlies-
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

walesvilla wrote:To do anything meaningful in next world cup if we qualify is for aleast 5 core of super eagles to be playing regularily in top european teams. seems most of the top teams dont fear or respect us enough. Preparation should start now - lots of Grade A and top class friendlies-

What are you doing getting them into those teams? :-?
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

Guv007 wrote:
walesvilla wrote:To do anything meaningful in next world cup if we qualify is for aleast 5 core of super eagles to be playing regularily in top european teams. seems most of the top teams dont fear or respect us enough. Preparation should start now - lots of Grade A and top class friendlies-

Fasting and Prayers! :taunt:

Guv007 wrote:

while i do that , they should also raise their game and work harder. anything is possible.

wiseone wrote:FFS - world class players do not grow on trees. If we define a "world class player" as one who could go to any team or national team on earth and walk into their first 11, we have only: Messi, Ronaldo, Neymar, De Gea, De Bruyne, and Lewandowski. In other words, over 99% of countries on earth do not have world class players. Why do we think Nigeria has a right to produce them?

The best players in the whole of Africa are Mahrez, Salah, Mane, Aubameyang, and Keita. Yet none of them is in the class of the players above.
:boo:

Salah is the number two favorite heading into the World Cup to win the Balon d'Or and faltered mostly due to being half-fit. Yet you claim Salah is not in the same class as the above players? And this is the same Salah that won the EPL Player of the Year ahead of De Bruyne.

Naby Keita is on the same level as De Bruyne and co. All he was missing was featuring in a top club. After this season he will be Africa's top dog. Well - him or Salah.

Lewandowski is world class, but certainly doesn't walk into any team.

As for Nigeria, they're as far behind as the fat Yankie in a steeplechase. If Nigeria doesnt undergo a seismic revolution in its sporting sector, it will be more of the same or worse in Qatar. Tbt, Africa as a whole is doing nothing more than serving its purpose as a cash cow will plump udders. Every now and then a precocious talent drops off the conveyor belt. That aside, the continent is just Jackie Charlton's Republic of Ireland. There for the fun of it.
azuka

Post by azuka »

I think that is doable
. Those who have the potential include:

Uzoho
Ebuehi
Awaziem
Ndidi
Nwakali
Onyekuru

Whether they all come through is another matter but it should be a goal. Pinnick should set about finding another golden generation.

France and Croatia have both discovered new golden generations after 98 so we should have too. There is no reason why the search should not begin today!
HOW?

Ok imagine Salah joined Barcelona. He needs to play wide. Would you drop Messi (who plays in the same position) to get him in the first 11? Or say he was French - would you drop Mbappe or Griezmann to put Salah in the first 11?

marutimon wrote:
wiseone wrote:FFS - world class players do not grow on trees. If we define a "world class player" as one who could go to any team or national team on earth and walk into their first 11, we have only: Messi, Ronaldo, Neymar, De Gea, De Bruyne, and Lewandowski. In other words, over 99% of countries on earth do not have world class players. Why do we think Nigeria has a right to produce them?

The best players in the whole of Africa are Mahrez, Salah, Mane, Aubameyang, and Keita. Yet none of them is in the class of the players above.

Salah is the number two favorite heading into the World Cup to win the Balon d'Or and faltered mostly due to being half-fit. Yet you claim Salah is not in the same class as the above players? And this is the same Salah that won the EPL Player of the Year ahead of De Bruyne.

Naby Keita is on the same level as De Bruyne and co. All he was missing was featuring in a top club. After this season he will be Africa's top dog. Well - him or Salah.

wiseone wrote:Ok imagine Salah joined Barcelona. He needs to play wide. Would you drop Messi (who plays in the same position) to get him in the first 11? Or say he was French - would you drop Mbappe or Griezmann to put Salah in the first 11?

marutimon wrote:

If you have Salah and Messi you play both players. Neither would be benching it. But the question would be - what club would buy both Salah and Messi? Obvious overkill. And I would risk saying that if you had to start one of the players - you would start Salah who has been a consistent big game performer this year.

Would you bench Mbappe or Griezmann? On this year's form - obviously Salah starts ahead of Mbappe or Griezmann. But again - if you had all three you would try to accomodate them all.

Salah was the best player in the EPL and arguably the most consistent performer in the world at club level this season. He was without a doubt one of the best three players in the world on club level.

Anyone who buys him, does it with the intent to start him.

Your argument is just stupid. The mere suggestion that Salah is not on the level of Mbappe, Griezmann, Messi, etc. is just very ignorant given the season he had.

Would you honestly drop Messi (who has been performing miracles non-stop for the last 14 years, who has scored almost 600 goals, won multiple Champions Leagues, La Ligas, and Ballon D'ors) for Salah who even though he just had the best season of his career - has done none of those things?

If you play Mbappe, Salah, and Griezmann in the same starting 11 - that means you have no CF and unbalance the entire team.
marutimon wrote:
If you have Salah and Messi you play both players. Neither would be benching it. But the question would be - what club would buy both Salah and Messi? Obvious overkill. And I would risk saying that if you had to start one of the players - you would start Salah who has been a consistent big game performer this year.

Would you bench Mbappe or Griezmann? On this year's form - obviously Salah starts ahead of Mbappe or Griezmann. But again - if you had all three you would try to accomodate them all.

Salah was the best player in the EPL and arguably the most consistent performer in the world at club level this season. He was without a doubt one of the best three players in the world on club level.

Anyone who buys him, does it with the intent to start him.

Your argument is just stupid. The mere suggestion that Salah is not on the level of Mbappe, Griezmann, Messi, etc. is just very ignorant given the season he had.

wiseone wrote:Would you honestly drop Messi (who has been performing miracles non-stop for the last 14 years, who has scored almost 600 goals, won multiple Champions Leagues, La Ligas, and Ballon D'ors) for Salah who even though he just had the best season of his career - has done none of those things?

If you play Mbappe, Salah, and Griezmann in the same starting 11 - that means you have no CF and unbalance the entire team.
If you had to choose on current form, you would choose Messi. Salah was obviously the better player this year.

As for Mbappe, Salah and Griezmann - Mbappe is a CF. If you can't play all three than Salah is obviously the last one you would bench. You bench either Mbappe or Griezmann. That's pure logic.

Salah is unbenchable and second to none this season.

Guv007 wrote:

I would feel a lot more comfortable if the following were Nigerian:

Coulibaley
Keita
Sallah
Mane
Mahrez
Niang
Aubameyang

Their emergence just makes all this talk about the NFF laughable. They all emerged without any input from their FAs, just as did Okocha, Kanu, Finidi, Taribo, Babayaro, etc.

pajimoh wrote:You know something, you talk like a child most of the time. No offense intended.
How co you expect Nigeria to sim for 6 wc players when their development is mostly down to the individuals and their fortunes at their various clubs?

One would think Nigeria trains and use them 9 months of the year.

Once again, clubs nurture, national team utilize.

We might talk about setting up a good early base in Nigeria etc, which I have no problem with but we've also seen where players get to clubs and have their natural talent and confidence destroyed by their myopic needs.
Omo you don talk everything wey I been dey think. Well said hear! hear!!
camex

Post by camex »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I would feel a lot more comfortable if the following were Nigerian:

Coulibaley
Keita
Sallah
Mane
Mahrez
Niang
Aubameyang

Their emergence just makes all this talk about the NFF laughable. They all emerged without any input from their FAs, just as did Okocha, Kanu, Finidi, Taribo, Babayaro, etc.
AyoAkinfe, Success can not sustained by luck over time. How about founding an academy in Nigeria or elsewhere in Africa. This will have more impact than drawing a list of famous players, dont you think?

camex wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:I would feel a lot more comfortable if the following were Nigerian:

Coulibaley
Keita
Sallah
Mane
Mahrez
Niang
Aubameyang

AyoAkinfe, Success can not sustained by luck over time. How about founding an academy in Nigeria or elsewhere in Africa. This will have more impact than drawing a list of famous players, dont you think?

We actually have a lot of academies in Nigeria. However, they are simply not producing world class talent.

The likes of Uzoho, Onazi, Iheanacho, Omeruo, etc all came from academies. These academies need to extend their reach beyond the urban centres.

There are bounds to be dozens of Neymars, Hazards, Pogbas, Morics, etc in the bush. Sadly, our academies just focus on places like Lagos, Abuja, Jos, Benin, Enugu, etc.

^it beggars belief. What exactly is Ayo advocating for, a nationwide search for barefooted Okocha’s doing keepy-uppies with udala, left foot, right foot, as heavy rainfall washes the day’s urine from the walls to marinate their soles and ankles. Granted, once every blue moon, a mothership lands in a cornfield and a Lionel Messi is left in a Moses basket made of meteorite. More often than not however, talents are manufactured, from the Agueros to Zlatans. Is it beyond even Nigeria’s incompetence to establish systems that countries with zip zero oil revenue, are able to erect and maintain?

Coach wrote:^it beggars belief. What exactly is Ayo advocating for, a nationwide search for barefooted Okocha’s doing keepy-uppies with udala, left foot, right foot, as heavy rainfall washes the day’s urine from the walls to marinate their soles and ankles. Granted, once every blue moon, a mothership lands in a cornfield and a Lionel Messi is left in a Moses basket made of meteorite. More often than not however, talents are manufactured, from the Agueros to Zlatans. Is it beyond even Nigeria’s incompetence to establish systems that countries with zip zero oil revenue, are able to erect and maintain?
(1) This is where you fail to appreciate the true nature of the problem
(2) There are 774 local governments in Nigeria. Most of them have never produced one Super Eagle before
(3) I remember Benedict Akwuegbu telling me how he went scouting in his home town Mbaise after retiring. He was shocked at the quality of talent available in the rural villages
(4) Benedict formed a team called Mbaise United. It was made up of raw youngsters from small towns and villages
(5) Do you know Mbaise United got to the final of the Imo State FA Cup before losing to Heartland?
(6) I remember Ben joking saying: “Some of dem no dear baff self but alas theirs boys can play.”
(7) I put it to you that there is talent like this rotting away all across our 774 local give nm be areas
(8) Be it in dusty villages in Zamfara, fishing villages in Degema, cocoa farms near Idanre, motorparks in Akwa, Sahelian hamlets in Yobe or yam farms in Katsina-Ala. There are potential Messi’s unnoticed and rotting away in all these areas
(9) As a nation, we are not wealthy enough to build sports centres in each local government area to train all these boys but we can at least scout them
(10) In an ideal world, each local government would have its own sports budget, facilities, training ground, coaches, etc and be producing talent annually. However, the reality is that most local government councillors are clueless. They are only going there to make money.
camex

Post by camex »

camex wrote:

Coulibaley
Keita
Sallah
Mane
Mahrez
Niang
Aubameyang

We actually have a lot of academies in Nigeria. However, they are simply not producing world class talent.

The likes of Uzoho, Onazi, Iheanacho, Omeruo, etc all came from academies. These academies need to extend their reach beyond the urban centres.

There are bounds to be dozens of Neymars, Hazards, Pogbas, Morics, etc in the bush. Sadly, our academies just focus on places like Lagos, Abuja, Jos, Benin, Enugu, etc.
Are we not saying the same thing? There is an urgent need for more academies.

camex wrote:

Coulibaley
Keita
Sallah
Mane
Mahrez
Niang
Aubameyang

How do we fund them?
camex

Post by camex »

camex wrote:

Coulibaley
Keita
Sallah
Mane
Mahrez
Niang
Aubameyang

How do we fund them?
We need to make sacrifices if we want to produce world class players.