1973 Green Eagles

Re: 1973 Green Eagles

Oguleftie wrote:False, false & false.
Chukwu had always been the best defender we played with through primary school and through secondary school.
Regarding Rangers, nobody could have played CB while Achebe was still playing. Isaac Nnado did retire; so did some others.
Just saw the discussion...
IMHO, Ezeani was probably the better pure defender but Chukwu was the better footballer.

It is difficult to determine what would have happened if both had played out their careers at Rangers, but the reason that Chukwu was sometimes moved around (when Ezeani and Achebe were still available, and even Ekeji figured among the clogged CD position at the Academicals level) was his versatility. He was such a great pure footballer that he could play anywhere along the defensive line, in midfield and often joined the attack during his secondary school days at Nike.

Enugu II wrote:FATHER TIKO,

Abeg, take your time ooo! See how you reduce great Vasco to three players.That is not fair. See the line-up below, did they not strike fear in the eyes of Rangers' supporters in those days? Did they not?

---------------Umelo Ahamaefule ------------------

Charles Adimora-----Pat Ekeji ---- Ignatius Ilechukwu/"Old Ghana" Okorie ---- OJ Chukwu

---------- Paul Agu/Mathew Nwokedi ----------------Stanley Okoronkwo-------------

Tony Uzoka-------------Obed Ariri-----John Nwadioha -----Innocent Nwankwo
This seems an all-time team...
But the greatest single Vasco team/squad was the one that finished 3d in the league.

Umelo

David Adiele - Pat Ekeji - Illechukwu/Felix Emordi - Pat Okonjo

Nnamdi Egbukichi - Over Ariri

Adimora* - Christian Nkwocha/Nwadioha - James Udemba - Innocent Nwankwo

*Charles Adimora was moved up to RM/RW to accommodate Adiele.

Abeg, take your time ooo! See how you reduce great Vasco to three players.That is not fair. See the line-up below, did they not strike fear in the eyes of Rangers' supporters in those days? Did they not?

Charles Adimora-----Pat Ekeji ---- Ignatius Ilechukwu/"Old Ghana" Okorie ---- OJ Chukwu

---------- Paul Agu/Mathew Nwokedi ----------------Stanley Okoronkwo-------------

But the greatest single Vasco team/squad was the one that finished 3d in the league.

Umelo

Gotti,

You may be referring to the 1975 team that played a 4-team quickly-organized league in Lagos. That league involved Rangers, Insurance, and Lagos ACB.

The team that finished third was back in 1973 (before Adiele). That involved a full league and Insurance was selected as champion even before the league was over. Vasco had two goals mysteriously disallowed against Stores on the last day that denied it the league trophy and Vasco ended up finishing behind Insurance and Rangers. That year, Vaso had beaten Rangers in Enugu 2-1 with a cheeky back heel by Nwadioha and had gone into Ibadan and beaten Shooting Stars 3-0. That team was usually set up as follows:

Umelo -- Adimora, Ekeji -- Agu, Nwokeji, Emordi -- Uzoka, Ariri, Nwadioha, Udemba, and Nwankwo. Dike was used as a sub along with OJ Chukwu.

The 1975 team was set up as follows:
Sylvester Onwukwe -- Adiele, OJ Chukwu -- Egbukichi, Ilechukwu, Emordi -- Adimora, Ariri, Nwadioha, Udemba, Leo Nkwocha.
This lineup was varied during that four team tourney and was really a poor attacking team. Not only was Adimora used up front but when he played in defense (v Insurance), Adiele was set up in the forward position. I just would not rate that team. It should in the following results -- 0-2 v Insurance, 0-0 v Rangers, 0-0 v ACB, 0-0 v Insurance, 0-1 v Rangers, and finally 2-0 v ACB. Though they finished third, it was not a team that could be favorably compared to the 1973 team.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

EII:
I’m referring to the 1973 team that beat Shooting 3-0 in Ibadan...
That team was 1st/2d almost all season, and only slipped to 3d (overtaken by Rangers) the final game.

I forgot about Nwokeji and got Egbukichi in too early, but that was the team...
Also think that Ilechukwu and Nwokocha were still at NCFC Dragons in 1973 (along with Sam Onyeka).

Gotti wrote:EII:
I’m referring to the 1973 team that beat Shooting 3-0 in Ibadan...
That team was 1st/2d almost all season, and only slipped to 3d (overtaken by Rangers) the final game.

I forgot about Nwokeji and got Egbukichi in too early, but that was the team...
Also think that Ilechukwu and Nwokocha were still at NCFC Dragons in 1973 (along with Sam Onyeka).
KPOM

That team was very good. It is difficult for me to forget how they were robbed in that last game in Lagos against Stores.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Umelo

See all the players our academy produced... We need to bring back our feeder team, the great P and T Vasco Da Gama. We need them back to continue where they stopped

Umelo

See all the players our academy produced... We need to bring back our feeder team, the great P and T Vasco Da Gama. We need them back to continue where they stopped
Oloye,

Make I correct you one time. You for say all the super players wey Rangers conspired with the Sports Council to STEAL from Vasco da Gama. Climbing on the back of another to win cups and claim greatness....hmmmmm.

Karma is a B***** Rangers learned the hard way about Karma when they went decades without a trophy after they had stolen Vasco blind. Go figure.

Umelo

Oloye,

Make I correct you one time. You for say all the super players wey Rangers conspired with the Sports Council to STEAL from Vasco da Gama. Climbing on the back of another to win cups and claim greatness....hmmmmm.

Karma is a B***** Rangers learned the hard way about Karma when they went decades without a trophy after they had stolen Vasco blind. Go figure.
This is blasphemy. How can fans of Vasco da Gama who haven’t won anything be talking about karma? We just recently won the league and the freaking FA cup for crying out loud. That’s karma for you baby :mrgreen: :!:

Enugu II wrote:Oloye,

And when was the last (or first) time Vasco won a trophy? Oh wait... :lol:

Gotti,

Seriously? How Vasco go win if una don rig am already. Many trophies won by Rangers duly should belong to Vasco considering all ringing. Una suppose dey thank us ooo.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:

Umelo

Oloye,

This is blasphemy. How can fans of Vasco da Gama who haven’t won anything be talking about karma? We just recently won the league and the freaking FA cup for crying out loud. That’s karma for you baby :mrgreen: :!:

Bia TTTK,

For me, Rangers suppose set up place wey dem go dey worship Vasco's spirit for all the trophy Vasco's hard work give Rangers. Look Vasco line ups and how Rangers take milk those lineups.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

FATHER TIKO wrote:
Oga Heavyd, re-visit past threads on this forum about John Nwadioha...
He was top striker for Vasco Da Gama for 4yrs during Vasco's peak...Nwadioha was a tripod with Obed Ariri & Pat Ekeji, that made Vasco tick...

Nwadioha was called by Tiko to the GEagles for the final 1978 WCQualifier v Tunisia, but never really filled Usiyen's boots in that position...

On Chukwu & Ezeani, I've always maintained Ezeani was a better defender (maybe Chukwu was a better leader)...there was a popular myth in those days that Ezeani "taught" Chukwu the libero role...probably because of the seamless manner Chukwu stepped into the libero role after Ezeani departed for the US...
There is a reason whenever Chukwu & Ezeani were in the same XI, Ezeani always duly pocketed the CB position...
Enugu II,
Fear Vasco, ke..? For where..?

There was a popular street-slang in those days in Enugu where anything (or anyone) that wasn't a "winner" was dismissed as "Vasco"...
"See this Vasco...abeg, commot for road..." was a popular insult...

Enugu II, despite all una mouth, Vasco only beat Rangers once (in a competitive game) in almost a decade...

Fear, ke...Take time o...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Chukwu had always been the best defender we played with through primary school and through secondary school.
Regarding Rangers, nobody could have played CB while Achebe was still playing. Isaac Nnado did retire; so did some others.
IMHO, Ezeani was probably the better pure defender but Chukwu was the better footballer.

It is difficult to determine what would have happened if both had played out their careers at Rangers, but the reason that Chukwu was sometimes moved around (when Ezeani and Achebe were still available, and even Ekeji figured among the clogged CD position at the Academicals level) was his versatility. He was such a great pure footballer that he could play anywhere along the defensive line, in midfield and often joined the attack during his secondary school days at Nike.
:agree: This is the most probable verdict on the Ezeani v Chukwu debate...
2 excellent CB's...People forget Ezeani left Nigeria well before his prime...His prime would have been 1978-82...
Imagine a Chukwu/Ezeani combo in the central defence of Rangers & GEagles in those yrs...Wahala... :drool: :drool:
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

maceo4 wrote:Did they use actual soccer boots back then? What about shin guards?
I vividly remember Michel Platini and Jean Tigana playing at Mexico 86 without shin guards.

maceo4 wrote:Did they use actual soccer boots back then? What about shin guards?
I vividly remember Michel Platini and Jean Tigana playing at Mexico 86 without shin guards.
Did they have boots though? :taunt: :mrgreen:

FATHER TIKO wrote:

:agree: This is the most probable verdict on the Ezeani v Chukwu debate...
2 excellent CB's...People forget Ezeani left Nigeria well before his prime...His prime would have been 1978-82...
Imagine a Chukwu/Ezeani combo in the central defence of Rangers & GEagles in those yrs...Wahala... :drool: :drool:
That indeed was the case more often than not after Achebe retired, with Ezeani wearing the 6 shirt and Chukwu, the 5 :!:

Umelo

Oloye,

Bia TTTK,

For me, Rangers suppose set up place wey dem go dey worship Vasco's spirit for all the trophy Vasco's hard work give Rangers. Look Vasco line ups and how Rangers take milk those lineups.
Enugu II, we did give them a special place. Vasco was our feeder team, lol. How much more special did you want it to get? Isn’t it enough for you that some Vasco da Gama players can claim to have been part of the greatness that is the Enugu Rangers International? What do we have to do to impress you. Do another hat trick? Haba, black people are so hard to please :lol: :lol: :lol: :!:

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Umelo

Oloye,

Bia TTTK,

Enugu II, we did give them a special place. Vasco was our feeder team, lol. How much more special did you want it to get? Isn’t it enough for you that some Vasco da Gama players can claim to have been part of the greatness that is the Enugu Rangers International. Haba, black people are so hard to please :lol: :lol: :lol: :!:

TTTK,

Look if una continue de yab Vasco na so anoda curse go come upon una sotay no trophy go arrive for anoda two decades. Make una continue to give mouth. Oya!!

Damn :cry: :scared: that is so cold :lol: :lol: Even P and T Games sef dem nor fit win

Oloye,

Make una continue dey laff jejely :curse: Wen dem put curse on una now, na so una go begin de complain.

Oloye,

Make una continue dey laff jejely :curse: Wen dem put curse on una now, na so una go begin de complain.
Oga mi Abeg make I enjoy this moment biko e too sweet make I nor laugh :lol: :lol:

Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Hmmm//I recognize coach Ohsee!!!! Hmmm, eeem young small..
Goldleaf wrote:Image

Can anyone attempt to name any member of the 1973 All Africa Games gold winning Green Eagles apart from then Military Head of State Yakubu Gowon?