PINNICK SIGNS ANOTHER BAD DEAL WITH NIKE

Re: PINNICK SIGNS ANOTHER BAD DEAL WITH NIKE

How much is the deal?
"This four plus four deal is the best any African country has ever had with Nike," said Pinnick,

How much is the deal?
"This four plus four deal is the best any African country has ever had with Nike," said Pinnick,
How much is the 4+4 deal?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Pinnick has this annoying habit of trying to impose his own opinion on people before they get to make up their own minds.
The same thing he did after signing the first deal. He talked it down about our position. He was regurgitating all Nike's bargaining points rather than convincing Nike about our potential.
I'm still not sure if anyone knows the full details of the first contract.

He's already trying to get into peoples head about how good the contract is before revealing the details.

Just reveal the details and let people make up their own minds

pajimoh wrote:Pinnick has this annoying habit of trying to impose his own opinion on people before they get to make up their own minds.
The same thing he did after signing the first deal. He talked it down about our position. He was regurgitating all Nike's bargaining points rather than convincing Nike about our potential.

He's already trying to get into peoples head about how good the contract is before revealing the details.

Guy, abeg, you are one of the few people on here that has exhibited a capacity to think for yourself. Do not follow the empty barells echo chambers in making noise without any substance to back their positions up. I wrote up a response yesterday, but i did not want to do basic homework for the peacock above.

The first article stated that the NFF will reveal the exact details of the deal by the end of the year. The fact is that details of deals of this nature are generally not revealed and usually come out via leaks. Look at the following examples:
"Our ongoing contract with DFB runs until the end of 2018. Therefore it's actually too early to speculate about a renewal", commented Adidas spokesman Oliver Brüggen. "Adidas and Germany simply belong together. At Adidas, we generally don't comment on contract details."
https://www.footyheadlines.com/2015/09/ ... -deal.html
It is understood the deal is worth in the region of £400m – a baseline figure that could be added to significantly should performance-related bonuses be achieved.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... tball-team
The new deal will ensure that the contract between Nike and the French federation will remain valid at least until the end of the 2026 World Cup. No details on the value of the new Nike France 2026 contract have emerged, but it can be expected to be close to initial deal which was worth €45m per year. FFF president Le Graët said that the federation was looking for an offer in the region of €50m in September.
https://www.footyheadlines.com/2016/12/ ... -deal.html
No financial details on the extended Nike Portugal kit deal were disclosed, but both parties voiced their content with the arrangement.
https://www.footyheadlines.com/2017/10/ ... -deal.html

There are a ton more, i just do not have the time (nor the desire quite frankly) to list them all out. Just because the details are not broadcast on the pages does not mean it is a bad deal. With regards to the first deal, a significant amount of the details were reported. See below:
The Nigeria Football Football Federation has revealed that it would earn $3.75m (743m Naira) during its three-and-half-year partnership with Nike and a $500,000 (99m Naira) bonus if the Super Eagles qualify for the 2018 World Cup in Russia among other perks.

The contract is worth $750, 000 (148m Naira) in its first year and would rise to $1million (198m Naira) each year from 2016 till 2018.

After ending its previous 700,000 Euros-a-year contract (150m Naira) with German giants Adidas in December, the NFF has opted to go with Nike in a three-and-half-year deal which will see the American sportswear company supply kits from April 1, 2015, until at least 2018.
The NFF said the contract reached at The Soho Hotel, Richmond Mews, London last Thursday will improve in value to $1 million in the second year that is from 2016/17.

Aside, the year-by-year improved financial earnings, the NFF disclosed that various national teams will earn bonuses should they make it to any major international championships. While the Super Eagles could rake up to $500,000 if they qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup finals in Russia.
https://www.goal.com/en-za/news/4622/af ... 743m-naira

But of course the usual suspects will come out and just spout uninformed hot air as usual. You know better than that. The pure unadulterated fact is that the nike contract was an improvement from the adidas one from 700K to 750k at a minimum and came at a time where no one wanted to touch Nigeria with a 10 ft pole. We are now coming out of a nadir and with the interest shown in our jerseys from the last world cup, we should have had a bit more of a negotiating position. No one on these boards knows what level of interest from other parties not nike drew. None one on this board knows, so, until you have evidence to the contrary that Nike was the only person they talked to and that they didn't listen to other third party offers, Jackal and co, please do us all a favor and quit talking out of your rear ends.
Last edited by metalalloy on Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JACKAL wrote:This basically means Nigeria gets a small amount upfront, the rest of the money we get depends on how we do in each competition, if we qualify or win tournaments, if we qualify for the world cup and how much merchandise we can sell.

Which means we could end with the less than what we were getting before or we could end up with a big upside

NO IT DOES NOT!!!!! You do not know the details of the deal. The article you posted states that the details of the deal will be revealed by the end of the year, so why not wait till you see the details before you bray like a goat in heat.

At a bare minimum, even without knowing the specific details of this new renewed contract, the article YOU posted shows how this is an improved deal, there is an improved qualification bonus, all the women teams are now covered and there is a 10% royalty on all jerseys sold worldwide. Nigeria just set a record for jersey sales in the last world cup, Nigeria doesn't have to do jack to sell jerseys, they sit back and collect a 10% royalty while Nike does a majority of the heavy lifting producing and marketing the jerseys while Nigeria pockets 10%. It is in NIKE's interest to market and sell our jerseys especially in light of how successful they were in the last world cup!!!! How is this flying over your thick skull? The 10 % standard rate is not unusual in deals of this nature. The performance bonuses are BONUSES, i.e. add ons that you received in addition to the the set annual fee that is paid by Nike that is not tied to performance. It boggles the mind that you would reach a conclusion that we could "end up with a big upside." So in your mind we would owe Nike money? :lol: jeez!

Under the terms of sponsorship deals, the brand pays the clubs for the license to sell replica jerseys and other merchandise. The clubs usually receive a fixed fee, kit for the team, plus royalties of some 10-15 percent of the merchandise sold and performance bonuses if the team wins major trophies.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-socc ... SKCN0YQ0AH

The above is eerily similar to how our deal is structured, WTF are you braying for? Financial details of these deals for other countries are rarely provided. Since you are braying about all these deals, why don't you list the exact specifics of deals from other countries and compare them side by side with Nigeria? You cant because, just like everything else, you are have no idea of what they are, have no idea of what you are complaining about, and just post rubbish like an uneducated attention fiend. You keep naming the likes of Brazil and France without any justification for why Nigeria should be receiving kit deals similar to those countries. Have you asked what the likes of Russia, Portugal and Mexico are earning in annually their kit deals?
Last edited by metalalloy on Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

How much is the deal?
You tell me since it is the best deal.

One thing I know is that Pinnick is not a contract specialist. He doesn't even know the right "Ask".

If the deal was that great why is he not publicizing the deal so that the actual "Experts" can gauge if it was a good deal or the "best deal" according to him.

When they hide these things it is because it stinks.

How much is the deal?

One thing I know is that Pinnick is not a contract specialist. He doesn't even know the right "Ask".

If the deal was that great why is he not publicizing the deal so that the actual "Experts" can gauge if it was a good deal or the "best deal" according to him.

I don't know what the deal is. And NEITHER DO YOU!

So how is it you can reach these conclusions without the slightest idea of the details of the contract?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Cellular wrote:Jackal, you are the type of brother I will like with me when negotiating a contract.

Pinnick is a horrible negotiator. He has this inferiority complex when dealing with oyibos that mere talking to them is seen as an accomplishment.

The deal is said to be the "best in Africa" by the same set of clowns who are happy going to the World Cup to learn.

I would have shopped the deal around and gone for the best deal that will put us in the league of top footballing nations with a vast fan base. I will even use Nike's own numbers, the media buzz it generated at the World Cup, the stock "bounce" it got from our Jersey... yes, I will link that to the popularity of our Jersey. The fact they couldn't stock enough Jerseys.

I wouldn't be basing it on what others are currently earning. In Sports contracts especially in the US, you see NEW contracts eclipsing the contracts of previous stars... contracts are largely based on potential.

Dude is probably just happy to be kitted by Nike.

Naijarians are used to signing slave contracts that they don't even know what their value is. The same goes for players... just happy that someone wants them.

If the deal was that good he would have been announcing the true value of the deal and set a new benchmark. But it is shrouded in secrecy because he has yet again been screwed... Nike probably told him not to announce the real value. Either that or he doesn't want to announce the real value so that he can keep getting government money.

Hire a gaddam Contract Agent and let him go in there and ask for things you don't even know are on the table.
My broda Cellular... I tire for Nigerians O !!

We are plagued with the lack of education on this subject and even worse our self esteem going into the negotiation table is worse.

There were people here arguing for our players to go to play in Belgium when they are wanted in the 5 bigger leagues in the world. The lack of self esteem here drives me crazy !!

I respect EII but I cant believe his is arguing for the other side and telling me how bad we are as a people, when the very people he is arguing for a much worse than we are... !! We should be the ones sanctioning NIKE for all the crap they have done and telling them they are not good enough for us.

You said it men... FAN BASE !! That the number 1 factor that decides how big your contract is and how much of your brand they are willing to buy. We were number 1 in shirt sales in the last WC.. $250MM plus the stock bump Nike got..which means overall they probably cleared over $1 Billion.

With all the crap performances of England over the years they Still got a 12 year $400M (minimum) contract from Nike. $33Million a year is GARRANTTED !!!

pajimoh wrote:Pinnick has this annoying habit of trying to impose his own opinion on people before they get to make up their own minds.

Guy, abeg, you are one of the few people on here that has exhibited a capacity to think for yourself. Do not follow the empty barells echo chambers in making noise without any substance to back their positions up. I wrote up a response yesterday, but i did not want to do basic homework for the peacock above.

The first article stated that the NFF will reveal the exact details of the deal by the end of the year. The fact is that details of deals of this nature are generally not revealed and usually come out via leaks. Look at the following examples:
"Our ongoing contract with DFB runs until the end of 2018. Therefore it's actually too early to speculate about a renewal", commented Adidas spokesman Oliver Brüggen. "Adidas and Germany simply belong together. At Adidas, we generally don't comment on contract details."
https://www.footyheadlines.com/2015/09/ ... -deal.html
It is understood the deal is worth in the region of £400m – a baseline figure that could be added to significantly should performance-related bonuses be achieved.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... tball-team
The new deal will ensure that the contract between Nike and the French federation will remain valid at least until the end of the 2026 World Cup. No details on the value of the new Nike France 2026 contract have emerged, but it can be expected to be close to initial deal which was worth €45m per year. FFF president Le Graët said that the federation was looking for an offer in the region of €50m in September.
https://www.footyheadlines.com/2016/12/ ... -deal.html
No financial details on the extended Nike Portugal kit deal were disclosed, but both parties voiced their content with the arrangement.
https://www.footyheadlines.com/2017/10/ ... -deal.html

There are a ton more, i just do not have the time (nor the desire quite frankly) to list them all out. Just because the details are not broadcast on the pages does not mean it is a bad deal. With regards to the first deal, a significant amount of the details were reported. See below:
The Nigeria Football Football Federation has revealed that it would earn $3.75m (743m Naira) during its three-and-half-year partnership with Nike and a $500,000 (99m Naira) bonus if the Super Eagles qualify for the 2018 World Cup in Russia among other perks.

The contract is worth $750, 000 (148m Naira) in its first year and would rise to $1million (198m Naira) each year from 2016 till 2018.

After ending its previous 700,000 Euros-a-year contract (150m Naira) with German giants Adidas in December, the NFF has opted to go with Nike in a three-and-half-year deal which will see the American sportswear company supply kits from April 1, 2015, until at least 2018.
The NFF said the contract reached at The Soho Hotel, Richmond Mews, London last Thursday will improve in value to $1 million in the second year that is from 2016/17.

Aside, the year-by-year improved financial earnings, the NFF disclosed that various national teams will earn bonuses should they make it to any major international championships. While the Super Eagles could rake up to $500,000 if they qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup finals in Russia.
https://www.goal.com/en-za/news/4622/af ... 743m-naira

But of course the usual suspects will come out and just spout uninformed hot air as usual. You know better than that. The pure unadulterated fact is that the nike contract was an improvement from the adidas one from 700K to 750k at a minimum and came at a time where no one wanted to touch Nigeria with a 10 ft pole. We are now coming out of a nadir and with the interest shown in our jerseys from the last world cup, we should have had a bit more of a negotiating position. No one on these boards knows what level of interest from other parties not nike drew. None one on this board knows, so, until you have evidence to the contrary that Nike was the only person they talked to and that they didn't listen to other third party offers, Jackal and co, please do us all a favor and quit talking out of your rear ends.
Metal, I hate to have to say this but not revealing any deal done with the NFF poses a great danger to NFF revenue. Unlike other Association where money transparency or the judicious use of it is not an issue, one cannot say that about the NFF. In any case, if the carrot of "the best African deal" is dangled before our very eyes, shouldn't one see the details rather than hiding behind non disclosure excuse?
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Cellular wrote:Jackal, you are the type of brother I will like with me when negotiating a contract.

Pinnick is a horrible negotiator. He has this inferiority complex when dealing with oyibos that mere talking to them is seen as an accomplishment.

The deal is said to be the "best in Africa" by the same set of clowns who are happy going to the World Cup to learn.

I would have shopped the deal around and gone for the best deal that will put us in the league of top footballing nations with a vast fan base. I will even use Nike's own numbers, the media buzz it generated at the World Cup, the stock "bounce" it got from our Jersey... yes, I will link that to the popularity of our Jersey. The fact they couldn't stock enough Jerseys.

I wouldn't be basing it on what others are currently earning. In Sports contracts especially in the US, you see NEW contracts eclipsing the contracts of previous stars... contracts are largely based on potential.

Dude is probably just happy to be kitted by Nike.

Naijarians are used to signing slave contracts that they don't even know what their value is. The same goes for players... just happy that someone wants them.

If the deal was that good he would have been announcing the true value of the deal and set a new benchmark. But it is shrouded in secrecy because he has yet again been screwed... Nike probably told him not to announce the real value. Either that or he doesn't want to announce the real value so that he can keep getting government money.

Hire a gaddam Contract Agent and let him go in there and ask for things you don't even know are on the table.
How much is the deal?
Why don't you tell us first what you mean by "Purchasing power" ??

Metal, I hate to have to say this but not revealing any deal done with the NFF poses a great danger to NFF revenue. Unlike other Association where money transparency or the judicious use of it is not an issue, one cannot say that about the NFF. In any case, if the carrot of "the best African deal" is dangled before our very eyes, shouldn't one see the details rather than hiding behind non disclosure excuse?
But this thread is premature. The news article announcing the deal states that the details of the deal will be revealed at the end of the year when the NFF "publishes their accounts." if at that time, the details are not released, or if the deal is truly a horrible one then they would deserve all criticism that follows. What is mind boggling is raising speculation based off imagined narratives and then criticizing it without any basis for the criticism!

JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

But this thread is premature. The news article announcing the deal states that the details of the deal will be revealed at the end of the year when the NFF "publishes their accounts." if at that time, the details are not released, or if the deal is truly a horrible one then they would deserve all criticism that follows. What is mind boggling is raising speculation based off imagined narratives and then criticizing it without any basis for the criticism!
Mental,

The reason I Ignore your post is simply beacuase I know you are a total and complete moron. The fact that you think a person needs a Journalism degree to be a journalist says everything I need to know about you.

I have a job for you, go do it for one year and at the end of that year, i will tell you how much I am going to pay you !!

Thats what the NFA is saying, you shithead moron !!
:atc: :curse: :curse:

How much is the deal?

So how is it you can reach these conclusions without the slightest idea of the details of the contract?
It is such a great deal because he said so?

If it was such a great deal then he should publicize it so that we can determine for ourselves if it is a great deal.

You don't cover a pregnancy with your hands...

If Pinnick is beating his chest about the deal he has secured, assuming it's all signed, sealed and delivered, then why wait until they publish their accounts?

Most deals or sponsorship achieved by the NFF is broadcasted almost immediately.

I'm trying to understand the logic of having to wait for details unless it's not been formalised.

I have a job for you, go do it for one year and at the end of that year, i will tell you how much I am going to pay you !!

Bros sorry, my bad. I forgot that time works differently in Nigeria. How could i forget that a time period of 4 weeks is equal to one year in Nigeria. So by the end of December which is the latest date the NFF has promised to reveal its accounts, Nike would have performed for a 1year. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Yes. That is indeed what the NFA (sic) is saying. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Dude, they intentionally meant to be opaque about the deal and the terms.

Someone like Pinnick who likes tooting his own horn has a reason why he is being vague about the deal.

These people are savvy when it comes to designing new ways to siphon money.

He can't on his own go in negotiate a deal and come out and tell us it is the best deal. Says who? The guy who is not a professional negotiator? The guy who doesn't understand leverage? The guy who is happy and in love with all things foreign?

When they hide details, rest be assured that it stinks. Be it Air Naijaria or any other foolishness that these guys engage in.

BTW, NFF should not be in the business of negotiating such deals. They should hire professionals and pay them professional fees.

How much is the deal?

If it was such a great deal then he should publicize it so that we can determine for ourselves if it is a great deal.

Let me repeat very slowly...I do NOT know if it is a great deal. I do not know if it is a POOR deal either!

And neither do you.

If this is a wrong conclusion on my part then please share the details of the deal, if you have it.

It seems presumptuous at the least to reach conclusions on something you do not know!

Bros sorry, my bad. I forgot that time works differently in Nigeria. How could i forget that a time period of 4 weeks is equal to one year in Nigeria. So by the end of December which is the latest date the NFF has promised to reveal its accounts, Nike would have performed for a 1year. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Yes. That is indeed what the NFA (sic) is saying. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Some of you natives are so used to being exploited that you see it as being ungrateful if you ask for market rate.
Pinnick need not to be talking about being the best deal if he is unwilling to share the details.

Based on his history, I won't trust him to negotiate deals especially when he likes "prestige" over substance.

Someone like Pinnick who likes tooting his own horn has a reason why he is being vague about the deal.

He can't on his own go in negotiate a deal and come out and tell us it is the best deal. Says who? The guy who is not a professional negotiator? The guy who doesn't understand leverage? The guy who is happy and in love with all things foreign?

When they hide details, rest be assured that it stinks. Be it Air Naijaria or any other foolishness that these guys engage in.

BTW, NFF should not be in the business of negotiating such deals. They should hire professionals and pay them professional fees.
You may in the end be proven right. But at this here moment, none of what you offer above is based on actual knowledge of the current deal.

In effect, u are merely pulling this off your derriere!!!

How much is the deal?

Let me repeat very slowly...I do NOT know if it is a great deal. I do not know if it is a POOR deal either!

And neither do you.

If this is a wrong conclusion on my part then please share the details of the deal, if you have it.

It seems presumptuous at the least to reach conclusions on something you do not know!
Now, let me repeat it S L O W L Y ...so you can get it.

If it was negotiated by Pinnick, it is a BAD deal!

And he is not in a position to tell us how great he is when he doesn't even understand what a good deal or a bad deal is.

If Pinnick is beating his chest about the deal he has secured, assuming it's all signed, sealed and delivered, then why wait until they publish their accounts?

Most deals or sponsorship achieved by the NFF is broadcasted almost immediately.

I'm trying to understand the logic of having to wait for details unless it's not been formalised.
Who knows. There are two organizations involved, and just maybe there are certain internal requirements needed to be followed before everything is set in stone and the deal takes effect. Yet a major reason not to jump the gun and criticize the announced deal before the details are even revealed! I highlight the following:
The financial terms of the agreement, which has been expanded to include Nigeria’s women’s team, have not been confirmed, but NFF president Amaju Pinnick described it as an “improved contract”.
http://www.sportspromedia.com/news/nige ... -extension

txj wrote:Let me repeat very slowly...I do NOT know if it is a great deal. I do not know if it is a POOR deal either!

And neither do you.

Now, let me repeat it S L O W L Y ...so you can get it.

If it was negotiated by Pinnick, it is a BAD deal!

And he is not in a position to tell us how great he is when he doesn't even understand what a good deal or a bad deal is.

Like I said, it seems highly presumptuous to reach conclusions without any knowledge of the deal. Heck, u don't even know who negotiated the deal!!!

You may in the end be proven right. But at this here moment, none of what you offer above is based on actual knowledge of the current deal.

In effect, u are merely pulling this off your derriere!!!
No, dude. Not out of my derriere.

I have been here for a minute and I am shocked at how these guys think.

It will shock you when you realize their motivation...