AFCON 2019: CAF strips Cameroon

Thelastoneleft
AFCON 2019: CAF strips Cameroon

Post by Thelastoneleft »

CAF has just stripped Cameroon of the AFCON 2019 hosting rights, citing lack of infrastructure and security risks. One month window for countries wishing to host the tournament to submit their bids to CAF.

https://www.nation.co.ke/sports/footbal ... index.html
REPORTS: Cameroon stripped of Afcon hosting rights
Reports indicate that Cameroon have been stripped of the rights to host the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon).

The hosting of the Afcon was part of the agenda in the Confederation of African Football (Caf) Extraordinary Executive Committee meeting held in Accra, Ghana on Friday.

Two reports that were central to the final decision regarding Cameroon were to be tabled namely; report of inspection visits of the security committee from October 27 to November 1 as well as a report of the inspection visit from November 11-15.

In October, Caf President Ahmad Ahmad visited Yaounde for a meeting with Cameroon President Paul Biya just days after Caf deferred the final decision on the hosting of next year's Afcon.

At that time, a report by the last inspection team to Cameroon revealed “a significant delay as far as the delivery of infrastructure is concerned.”

Cameroon's hosting of African football's showpiece event has been in jeopardy for months since the decision to increase the tournament from 16 to 24 teams.
Re: AFCON 2019: CAF strips Cameroon

Bloody plantainians. Can't even grow grass talk less of infrastructure. Who next?

pajimoh wrote:Bloody plantainians. Can't even grow grass talk less of infrastructure. Who next?
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Nigeria should help them....
So will CAF suspend them?

The Plantainians automatic kwalification should be rescinded! :lol:

Aboa Funu!!

Yisa Hayatou, the Northerner from Mubi took all the money away :woot: :woot:
Last edited by Senator WIRES on Fri Nov 30, 2018 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Morocco has always been CAF's Plan B.

Dammy wrote:Morocco has always been CAF's Plan B.
More like plan A from the beginning since Hayatou lost....

Nigeria and Ghana should launch a joint bid. Opportunity to fix the stadiums in Abuja and Lagos.

The teslim Balogun stadium is getting natural grass.

Abuja stadium is getting fixed for the National games.

Akwa Ibom, Asaba stadium, Port Harcourt stadiums are ready to go.

ohenhen1 wrote:Nigeria and Ghana should launch a joint bid. Opportunity to fix the stadiums in Abuja and Lagos.

msshhhheeewwwww :arrow:

...2019 is around the corner and Africa does not have caf host country, and some are suggesting we bid for world cup :sad:

Wow. SMH :shock:

pajimoh wrote:Bloody plantainians. Can't even grow grass talk less of infrastructure. Who next?
With our Asaba field? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

ohenhen1 wrote:Nigeria and Ghana should launch a joint bid. Opportunity to fix the stadiums in Abuja and Lagos.

The guy is not serious :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

metalalloy wrote:Wow. SMH :shock:
I don't know why these countries sign up to do things that are above their level...places like SA should come to the rescue abeg...

PaJimoh, Ohenhen has a point in this case.

Uyo & PH are better than some of the Stadia that we saw in Gabon & Equitorial Guinea.

We could have added Abuja if we needed a 3rd stadium & co-hosted with the Plantanians.

The problem with Nigeria though is that they will also want 2 Stadia in the north, a region where most Nigeria (from other parts) avoid, not to talk of foreigners.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

The odds were always stacked against Cameroun:

1. Increase in No. participating teams from 16 to 24 after Cameroun's hosting rights were based on 16 teams
2. Angst against Hayatou
3. Secession & Boko Haram wahala
4. Infrastructure problems

Its not all doom & gloom, anyway...With the progress made on this failed hosting, there shouldn't be as much work required to mount a more successful hosting campaign for the next AFCON...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

Thelastoneleft wrote:CAF has just stripped Cameroon of the AFCON 2019 hosting rights, citing lack of infrastructure and security risks. One month window for countries wishing to host the tournament to submit their bids to CAF.

https://www.nation.co.ke/sports/footbal ... index.html
REPORTS: Cameroon stripped of Afcon hosting rights
Reports indicate that Cameroon have been stripped of the rights to host the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon).

The hosting of the Afcon was part of the agenda in the Confederation of African Football (Caf) Extraordinary Executive Committee meeting held in Accra, Ghana on Friday.

Two reports that were central to the final decision regarding Cameroon were to be tabled namely; report of inspection visits of the security committee from October 27 to November 1 as well as a report of the inspection visit from November 11-15.

In October, Caf President Ahmad Ahmad visited Yaounde for a meeting with Cameroon President Paul Biya just days after Caf deferred the final decision on the hosting of next year's Afcon.

At that time, a report by the last inspection team to Cameroon revealed “a significant delay as far as the delivery of infrastructure is concerned.”

Cameroon's hosting of African football's showpiece event has been in jeopardy for months since the decision to increase the tournament from 16 to 24 teams.
Wow! Shame on President Paul Biya and his cohorts. They must be all thieves there (in Cameroon)

... very surprising to me. I thought they will make it - no matter what. Well, this is an opportunity for the nations which has no chance of qualifying to bid for the AFCON tournament

Nope! We shouldn't help CAF. CAF played with our feelings when President Obasanjo was in power and we needed the AFCON to showcase our ... (I forgot what it was).

Bad news. :boo:

So will this go now to Morocco?

Looks like the trophy will be going to North Africa this time around.

UGANDA nko? east africa should get it if anyone of them get stadium

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

truetalk wrote:

Uyo & PH are better than some of the Stadia that we saw in Gabon & Equitorial Guinea.

We could have added Abuja if we needed a 3rd stadium & co-hosted with the Plantanians.

The problem with Nigeria though is that they will also want 2 Stadia in the north, a region where most Nigeria (from other parts) avoid, not to talk of foreigners.
Nigeria don't need a tournament in election year even if we are capable of hosting it which I doubt at tho very short notice

truetalk wrote:

It takes more than stadiums to host tournaments bros, plus this is one involves 24 teams too.

Orion wrote:Bad news. :boo:

So will this go now to Morocco?

Looks like the trophy will be going to North Africa this time around.

I for one welcome a tournament that will be played on proper pitches and not grazing fields.

I am sick of watching these guys try in vain to do their thing on bumpy and patchy fields. It is an absolute disgrace, and actually it is a danger to the players. I remember many injuries last edition from the poor pitches. And E Guinea is still better than 90% of African countries.

Like I said earlier when I started a thread on this topic. With the expansion to 24 teams ANC hosting should honestly be limited to a very select few countries that can handle such an event, and countries that have the necessary infrastructure and quality pitches. Or co hosting should also be another option.

We will still be far better off than the Goldcup which is hosted every year in the US.

The poor pitches thing really infuriates me and honestly the games cannot even be enjoyed with such rubbish. I have had enough. If that means that only South AFrica and North African countries can host the tournament, then so be it.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Fri Nov 30, 2018 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.