Green Eagles vs Kenya 1985.. Shofoluwe playing at right back

Ezesportsworld
Green Eagles vs Kenya 1985.. Shofoluwe playing at right back

Post by Ezesportsworld »

www.ezesportsworld.net

Chesapeake sports Academy
Polly
Re: Green Eagles vs Kenya 1985.. Shofoluwe playing at right

Post by Polly »

Ezesportsworld wrote:
Kai...the Dean of Defence!

Anobi isaw( pronounced E SAW) AKA " Minister of Defence" as fondly called by the fans,press and team mates in his Abiola Babes and Green Eagles days.
I was privileged to have seen him live at Onikan, Asero and Mainbowl of the National Stadium. He faded into obscurity after traveling to Belgium. I troway salute :clap:

:???: :???:

1naija wrote::???: :???:
I was hoping you won't see this thread :lol:

ogiso

Post by ogiso »

Was that not also Yisa Alabi's nickname? Anobi Issa?
Ekorian wrote:Anobi isaw( pronounced E SAW) AKA " Minister of Defence" as fondly called by the fans,press and team mates in his Abiola Babes and Green Eagles days.
I was privileged to have seen him live at Onikan, Asero and Mainbowl of the National Stadium. He faded into obscurity after traveling to Belgium. I troway salute :clap:

Not sure about that but you could be right.
ogiso wrote:Was that not also Yisa Alabi's nickname? Anobi Issa?
Ekorian wrote:Anobi isaw( pronounced E SAW) AKA " Minister of Defence" as fondly called by the fans,press and team mates in his Abiola Babes and Green Eagles days.

Yisa Alabi of Stores was the popular anobi esau in Naija football. Maybe Sofoluwe too... But the more popular would be Alabi

Looks almost as if they are playing in slow motion

nanijoe wrote:Looks almost as if they are playing in slow motion
:rotf: No let Gotti and co catch you o, they will talk your head off about how all these 70's and 80's players who couldn't make a WC and only won one ANC with home advantage are better than the ones that followed.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

:rotf: No let Gotti and co catch you o, they will talk your head off about how all these 70's and 80's players who couldn't make a WC and only won one ANC with home advantage are better than the ones that followed.
Don't worry...20yrs from today, some wide-eyed kids shall refer to grainy video clips and tell you JJ Okocha & Kanu were rubbish...

BTW, have you watched Pele's films..or Maradona's videos...compared to, say, the high-octane clips of Kylian Mbappe...?
Pele & Maradona were crap, compared to Mbappe, abi..?
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:
Don't worry...20yrs from today, some wide-eyed kids shall refer to grainy video clips and tell you JJ Okocha & Kanu were rubbish...

BTW, have you watched Pele's films..or Maradona's videos...compared to, say, the high-octane clips of Kylian Mbappe...?
In other words, the primitive tactics and skills displayed in this video is similar to Pele and Maradonna skills eh? Mscheeeeeeeeew.

If I have my way videos like this will be automatically deleted the moment they are posted. Let old people go somewhere else to mesmerize themselves with stories of amateur players brutalizing each other.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

FATHER TIKO wrote:

In other words, the primitive tactics and skills displayed in this video is similar to Pele and Maradonna skills eh? Mscheeeeeeeeew.

If I have my way videos like this will be automatically deleted the moment they are posted. Let old people go somewhere else to mesmerize themselves with stories of amateur players brutalizing each other.
Na you dey describe them as primitive tactics...
I repeat: Don't worry...20yrs from today, some wide-eyed kids shall refer to grainy video clips and tell you JJ Okocha & Kanu were displaying primitive tactics... :lol: :lol: :lol:
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:

I repeat: Don't worry...20yrs from today, some wide-eyed kids shall refer to grainy video clips and tell you JJ Okocha & Kanu were displaying primitive tactics... :lol: :lol: :lol:
Jay-jay, yes. But not Kanu.

FATHER TIKO wrote:

Jay-jay, yes. But not Kanu.

Very very very wicked....but you no lie.

These days wey Togo - even Ghana :lol: - can qualify for the diluted WC...smh
Last edited by Gotti on Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

BTW, those 70s and 80s were playing against the likes of George Weah and Roger Milla in Africa...
Nowadays, play against donkeys like Deeney or Sean Long in the EPL, Maceo brands you "world-class"! :lol:

FATHER TIKO wrote:

But Kanu was rubbish for the Super Eagles. He had a great junior career that culminated with the Olympic gold though.

JayJay was really good, especially in the latter stages of his career for the SE. He exploded onto the scene vs Algeria (I was in the Stadium live) and despite sometimes having more fun than purpose in the early days, he almost always showed his class and was the 'main man' in the team between 2000 and 2005.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

truetalk wrote:
FATHER TIKO wrote:

But Kanu was rubbish for the Super Eagles. He had a great junior career that culminated with the Olympic gold though.

JayJay was really good, especially in the latter stages of his career for the SE. He exploded onto the scene vs Algeria (I was in the Stadium live) and despite sometimes having more fun than purpose in the early days, he almost always showed his class and was the 'main man' in the team between 2000 and 2005.
Nothing wey person no go hear for here...

So...according to you...Kanu (by any conceivable measure) na rubbish player..?
Na wa for you o...
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:
truetalk wrote:
FATHER TIKO wrote:

Na wa for you o...
No. He was excellent for Ajax, Good for Inter, and sometimes exceptional for Arsenal.

He had a great Junior career (especially U-17 & U-23) for Nigeria.

He was rubbish for the Super Eagles.

He may have played over 20 tournament games as a forward (Nations Cup & World Cups) without scoring a goal as a forward, and he wasn't having the impact of say an Amokachi that was bossing games and not scoring.

These wey Togo - even Ghana :lol: - can qualify for the diluted WC...smh
That is the evil the dilution of the World Cup has brought with it. :lol:

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

truetalk wrote:
FATHER TIKO wrote:
truetalk wrote:
FATHER TIKO wrote:

Na wa for you o...
No. He was excellent for Ajax, Good for Inter, and sometimes exceptional for Arsenal.

He had a great Junior career (especially U-17 & U-23) for Nigeria.

He was rubbish for the Super Eagles.

He may have played over 20 tournament games as a forward (Nations Cup & World Cups) without scoring a goal as a forward, and he wasn't having the impact of say an Amokachi that was bossing games and not scoring.
My bro, where did this myth about Kanu being rubbish for SEagles originate from..?

Off the top of my head, without needing to jog my memory, I can give you several crucial games where Kanu was exceptional for the SEagles:
AFCON 2000 Opening Game v Tunisia: Deadlocked at 1-1...Tunisia growing steadily into the game...Kanu 'assisted' 2 second half goals for Ikpeba...those assists were vintage Kanu (laid on a plate for the scorer, virtually unmissable) FT score: 4-2

2002 WCQ penultimate game v Sudan at Omdurman: Kanu was a stand-out performer as support striker to the Yak & Aghahowa...assisted 2 goals in a 0-4 away win, that gave Nigeria the WCup ticket...

2004 AFCON QFinals v Cameroun: who can forget the stupendous 30m pass from deep that eliminated 5 Cameroun defenders and carved open the path to the winning goal for Utaka..?

These are just the few I can instantly recall...there are certainly more...

I no understand the myth about Kanu non-performance for SEagles...He may not have 'bossed' every game & scored tons of goals as he did for the junior teams, but he was still a star performer for SEagles, abeg...
- Bill Shankly

Ezesportsworld wrote:

Kenya won this
Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga