Book:Ranked Nigeria’s best 55 players ever

Ezesportsworld
Re: Book:Ranked Nigeria’s best 55 players ever

Post by Ezesportsworld »

The 5 best from the left #11
1.Emmanuel Amunike
2. Adokiye Amasiemaka
3. Kunle Awesu.
4. Humphrey Edobor.
5. Titus Okere.
Honourably mentioned Mohamed lawal, Jossy Dombraye, James Etokobe, Ekpe Jr
www.ezesportsworld.net

Chesapeake sports Academy
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Ezesportsworld wrote:The 5 best from the left #11
1.Emmanuel Amunike
2. Adokiye Amasiemaka
3. Kunle Awesu.
4. Humphrey Edobor.
5. Titus Okere.
I'd put Ogidi Ibeabuchi, Friday Elaho, Uwem Ikono, before James Etokebe...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

1.Emmanuel Amunike
2. Adokiye Amasiemaka
3. Kunle Awesu.
4. Humphrey Edobor.
5. Titus Okere.
My top 5:

1. Emmanuel Amunike
2. Adokiye Amasiemaka
3. Sunday Izevbighie.
4. Garba Lawal.
5. Ogidi Ibeabuchi

Honorable mentions: Jossy Donbraye, Damian Ogunsuyi, Kunle Awesu, Felix Owolabi.

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
1.Emmanuel Amunike
2. Adokiye Amasiemaka
3. Kunle Awesu.
4. Humphrey Edobor.
5. Titus Okere.
My top 5:

1. Emmanuel Amunike
2. Adokiye Amasiemaka
3. Sunday Izevbighie.
4. Mohammed Lawal.
5. Ogidi Ibeabuchi

Honorable mentions: Jossy Donbraye, Damian Ogunsuyi, Kunle Awesu, Felix Owolabi.

TTTK,

Ogidi before Awesu? Fear God ooo!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

How many games did Ogidi play for the National team? Maybe two
www.ezesportsworld.net

Ezesportsworld wrote:How many games did Ogidi play for the National team? Maybe two
I am not basing my rankings on the number of appearances for the Eagles. In the 90s, there was a dearth of left wingers so, Garba Lawal stood out but imho he wasn’t as good as Sunday Izevbighie who didn’t have as many appearances for the Eagles. Most people who were privileged to have watched Izevbighie would agree with me that he was indeed top quality. Now,Ogidi was a key factor in the success of the Rangers International, as was Awesu for IICC although in my viewpoint, Rangers were more successful. Having said that, I will admit that after the first 3, there is very little to pick and choose between the next 2 and the honorable mentions but Ogidi is my preferred choice over Awesu :!:

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Ezesportsworld wrote:How many games did Ogidi play for the National team? Maybe two
I am not basing my rankings on the number of appearances for the Eagles. In the 90s, there was a dearth of left wingers so, Mohammed Lawal stood out but imho he wasn’t as good as Sunday Izevbighie who didn’t have as many appearances for the Eagles. Most people who were privileged to have watched Izevbighie would agree with me that he was indeed top quality. Now,Ogidi was a key factor in the success of the Rangers International, as was Awesu for IICC although in my viewpoint, Rangers were more successful. Having said that, I will admit that after the first 3, there is very little to pick and choose between the next 2 and the honorable mentions but Ogidi is my preferred choice over Awesu :!:

TTTK
But Ogidi was hardly among the top 5 players in those Rangers teams compared to Awesu who was arguably IICC's third most important player and was selected in Africa's top xi after the AFCON of 1976.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I am not basing my rankings on the number of appearances for the Eagles. In the 90s, there was a dearth of left wingers so, Mohammed Lawal stood out but imho he wasn’t as good as Sunday Izevbighie who didn’t have as many appearances for the Eagles. Most people who were privileged to have watched Izevbighie would agree with me that he was indeed top quality. Now,Ogidi was a key factor in the success of the Rangers International, as was Awesu for IICC although in my viewpoint, Rangers were more successful. Having said that, I will admit that after the first 3, there is very little to pick and choose between the next 2 and the honorable mentions but Ogidi is my preferred choice over Awesu :!:

TTTK
But Ogidi was hardly among the top 5 players in those Rangers teams compared to Awesu who was arguably IICC's third most important player and was selected in Africa's top xi after the AFCON of 1976.
Make una see dis Vasco fan trying to rank the great Rangers. Abeg, stop am ooo :lol: :lol: :lol:

Seriously though, Ogidi had that position locked down almost right from the very beginning until he retired and it wasn’t until Adokie showed up that they had another left winger of comparable pedigree. You had Onyedika on the right and Ogidi on the left. The combination of both wingers made the pair of Nwobodo and Obianika that much more dangerous :!:

Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Are we ranking Rangers or Nigerian National team players. Tony, Mohamed lawal played in the 60s...
www.ezesportsworld.net

Ezesportsworld wrote:Are we ranking Rangers or Nigerian National team players. Tony, Mohamed lawal played in the 60s...
Beg your pardon. I meant Garba Lawal but I’m sure you already knew that :!:

Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

The exclusive strikers club for me. From this list rank your best 5 players for Nigeria at the number #9 position.

1 Rashidi Yekini
2. Thompson Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Elkanem Oyeali.
5. Obafemi Martins.
6. Tesilimi Balogun.
7. Yakubu Mambo.
8. Sunny Oyarekhua.
9. Yakubu Ayegbeni.
10. Godwin Ogbueze.
11. Ahmed Musa.
12. Emma Osuigwe.
13. Emmanuel Emenike.
14. Richard Owobokiri.
13.Odion Ighalo...
Best 5 for me ...

1. Yekini.
2. Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Sunny Oyarekhua.
5. Yakubu Ayegbeni.

This concludes the list for the book . Thanks for your views and participation.
www.ezesportsworld.net

Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

Ezesportsworld wrote:The exclusive strikers club for me. From this list rank your best 5 players for Nigeria at the number #9 position.

1 Rashidi Yekini
2. Thompson Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Elkanem Oyeali.
5. Obafemi Martins.
6. Tesilimi Balogun.
7. Yakubu Mambo.
8. Sunny Oyarekhua.
9. Yakubu Ayegbeni.
10. Godwin Ogbueze.
11. Ahmed Musa.
12. Emma Osuigwe.
13. Emmanuel Emenike.
14. Richard Owobokiri.
13.Odion Ighalo...
Best 5 for me ...

1. Yekini.
2. Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Sunny Oyarekhua.
5. Yakubu Ayegbeni.

Yakubu Aiyegbeni :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bros... common
NIGERIAN BADBOY!
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Bros pick your list now...
www.ezesportsworld.net

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Man, this list has just opened my eyes to the fact that our history is virtually empty of #9's with longetivity...
Only Yekini, Usiyen, Ayegbeni, probably Teslim Balogun, tied down the #9 role over a decent period...
We just dey change top 9 strikers like wrapper...

Na real wa...

My top 5 list:
Yekini
Usiyen

Any other 3 from the rest :taunt: :taunt:
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:Man, this list has just opened my eyes to the fact that our history is virtually empty of #9's with longetivity...
Only Yekini, Usiyen, Ayegbeni, probably Teslim Balogun, tied down the #9 role over a decent period...

Na real wa...

My top 5 list:
Yekini
Usiyen

Bros, Usiyen did not...

If he did, he would probably have ended up as Nigeria's greatest-ever (on the basis of pure talent alone, he arguably remains so). Instead, as was the rage in those days, he emigrated after a short (albeit impressive) spell for the professional abyss of the US collegiate system.

Ezesportsworld wrote:The exclusive strikers club for me. From this list rank your best 5 players for Nigeria at the number #9 position.

1 Rashidi Yekini
2. Thompson Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Elkanem Oyeali.
5. Obafemi Martins.
6. Tesilimi Balogun.
7. Yakubu Mambo.
8. Sunny Oyarekhua.
9. Yakubu Ayegbeni.
10. Godwin Ogbueze.
11. Ahmed Musa.
12. Emma Osuigwe.
13. Emmanuel Emenike.
14. Richard Owobokiri.
13.Odion Ighalo...
Best 5 for me ...

1. Yekini.
2. Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Sunny Oyarekhua.
5. Yakubu Ayegbeni.

With all due respect, Godwin Ogbueze should NOT be on that list...

An absolute gem of pure talent, he did precious little at club level where he was constantly injured (during an era in which fracturing an opponent's legs was substantively a 'legitimate' defensive tactic) before joining the emigration train to the US collegiate system - and he did ABSOLUTE JACK at the national team level. Frankly, he should NOT even be considered for an Enugu Rangers Top 5 list.

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

FATHER TIKO wrote:Man, this list has just opened my eyes to the fact that our history is virtually empty of #9's with longetivity...

Na real wa...

My top 5 list:
Yekini
Usiyen

Bros, Usiyen did not...

If he did, he would probably have ended up as Nigeria's greatest-ever (on the basis of pure talent alone, he arguably remains so). Instead, as was the rage in those days, he emigrated after a short (albeit impressive) spell for the professional abyss of the US collegiate system.
You're right...'Longetivity' is the wrong term
Maybe I should have implied 'stand-out' quality (rather than longetivity)

Usiyen was #9 for 2yrs(?)...in that period, he was undisputed #9...same as Yekini...

The rest on that list (no matter the no. of yrs in the SEagles) never had that sort of monopoly of the #9...
They were regularly swapping the shirt with competing players...
- Bill Shankly

My top 5 super eagles strikers from your list and my opinion based on SE performance
1) Ahmed Musa - this is a controversial selection but I believe that based on his performance, dedication and achievements for super eagles, he will end up being our best striker of all time. He has NPL, ANC, u20 ANC and only player to have scored 4 goals at the World Cup and was literally our best player at those 2 World Cups for us. If you want to denigrate his World Cup goals/performance then remember how many great strikers for SE played at the World Cup like Kanu, Yakubu, siasia, martins, uche, amokachi, etc he is definitely the best SE striker of my generation 1992 to present

2) Rashidi yekini - no question, legend, powerful, strong, big he was a complete striker and if not for Ahmed Musa performance at the biggest stage then yekini would had been number 1

3) Obagoal - I remember watching obagoal against Ireland in 2004 and thinking omg we have found yekini replacement. He had pace, power, shooting ability and was a world class talent at a young age. Performance wise he was decent for us but his nonchalant and lackadasical attitude towards SE ruined his reputation.

4) Kanu nwankwo - the most intelligent striker to play for SE he won it all at club level and could had been further up the list if he had performed at ANC or even WC for us

5) Emenike Emmanuel- I remember him carrying SE during The late Keshi era and he also did it by qualifying us for ANC, WC and winning ANC.

Disclaimer: I have heard about legends like balogun, usiyen, okwaraji but I didn’t watch them play so they were omitted.
Honorable mentions to the likes of Aghawonder, Agali, Yakubu, ikpeba, Ike uche, Osage odemwingie, amokachi, siasia etc they couldn’t make it due to various reasons for me

1 Rashidi Yekini
2. Thompson Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Elkanem Oyeali.
5. Obafemi Martins.
6. Tesilimi Balogun.
7. Yakubu Mambo.
8. Sunny Oyarekhua.
9. Yakubu Ayegbeni.
10. Godwin Ogbueze.
11. Ahmed Musa.
12. Emma Osuigwe.
13. Emmanuel Emenike.
14. Richard Owobokiri.
13.Odion Ighalo...
Best 5 for me ...

1. Yekini.
2. Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Sunny Oyarekhua.
5. Yakubu Ayegbeni.

You can’t make list of the best Nigerian strikers without including Johnny Nwadioha and Ifeanyi Onyedika :!: :!: :!:

Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Tony are you for real? Nwadioha after one game? Onyedika after three games.
www.ezesportsworld.net

Eze, didn’t you include Ogbueze? How many games did he play? Dribble for dribble, Onyedika is probably the most skillful player who ever played 9 for Nigeria... and no Nigerian striker was more feared by Emmanuel Okala than Nwadioha :!:

Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

1 Rashidi Yekini
2. Thompson Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Elkanem Oyeali.
5. Obafemi Martins.
6. Tesilimi Balogun.
7. Yakubu Mambo.
8. Sunny Oyarekhua.
9. Yakubu Ayegbeni.
10. Godwin Ogbueze.
11. Ahmed Musa.
12. Emma Osuigwe.
13. Emmanuel Emenike.
14. Richard Owobokiri.
13.Odion Ighalo...
Best 5 for me ...

1. Yekini.
2. Usiyen.
3. Ikechukwu Uche.
4. Sunny Oyarekhua.
5. Yakubu Ayegbeni.

In no particular order..

1. Rashidi Yekini
2. Thompson Usiyen
3. Ikechuwku Uche
4. Obafemi Martins
5. Ahmed Musa
NIGERIAN BADBOY!
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »