BREAKING: Uzoho Med Card Revoked (Situation Okro Soup).....

KOA revokes Uzoho’s health card
FEBRUARY 10TH, 2019 IACOVOS CONSTANTINOU CYPRUS, CYPRUS FOOTBALL, FOOTBALL, SPORT 1 COMMENT
https://cyprus-mail.com/2019/02/10/koa- ... alth-card/

Nigerian international Francis Uzoho in action during the Anorthosis v Apollon game

The Cyprus Sports Association (KOA) urgently convened on Saturday to discuss the Francis Uzohou case after new information surfaced, and it decided to revoke the health card of Anorthosis’ Nigerian international Francis Uzoho.

The announcement said: ‘The Board of Directors of the Cyprus Sports Organisation, exercising its powers through the law, decided today Saturday 9.02.19, at its extraordinary session, by a majority vote, the annulment of the medical card of the footballer from Anorthosis Famagusta, Francis Odinaka Uzoho, on the recommendation of the medical council (ASYA)of the organisation.’

The Cyprus Football Association (CFA) will adjudicate on the matter on Monday.

If the CFA judge rules in favour of Apollon the Famagusta team will be docked 6 points for using an ineligible player and will also lose the three points for winning the game.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: BREAKING: Uzoho Med Card Revoked (Situation Okro Soup)..

What does it mean..... apart from points deduction?

Anorthosis’ vice president remanded (Updated)
FEBRUARY 9TH, 2019 IACOVOS CONSTANTINOU CYPRUS, FEATURED 18 COMMENTS
https://cyprus-mail.com/2019/02/09/all- ... -arrested/

Vice president of Anorthosis football club Kyriacos Yiangou was remanded for three days on Saturday, following days of allegations over irregularities in the health fitness card issued to the club’s latest signing, Nigerian goalkeeper Francis Uzoho.

Yiangou had been one of several people questioned by police on Friday and was arrested later in the day. He is being investigated for forgery, fake document circulation and registration under false pretences.

He was arrested after the footballer reportedly told police that he was on an airplane to Cyprus when his health fitness card was being issued.

The allegations centre on the procedures surrounding the mandatory medical card issued to Uzoho who was acquired by the Famagusta side on Thursday, January 31, the transfer deadline day. He arrived on the island only on Friday, February 1, yet was on the starting line-up for last Saturday’s game against Apollon, which Anorthosis won, 1-0.

After the game Apollon said the Nigerian goalkeeper could not have had a valid health card. This is the responsibility of the Cyprus Sports Organisation (KOA) and is issued following a review of the player’s medical records.

The club said Uzoho had only arrived in Cyprus on Friday afternoon, shortly before 4pm, and questioned how he could have had his health card issued about an hour after KOA’s offices closed on Friday at 2.30pm.

On Thursday Apollon sent a letter to KOA demanding that Uzoho underwent a fresh medical certified by other Cypriot doctors.

Failure to do so immediately, or before Saturday at the latest, or if the new test shows the initial one was bogus, then those responsible should pay for their actions and his medical card should be revoked, the Limassol side said.

Around lunchtime on Friday, KOA announced a news conference in which its chairman, Andreas Michaelides, was expected to shed light on the matter but an hour later a second announcement by KOA informed the media that it was postponed due to new evidence that has surfaced. A few hours later Yiangou was arrested.

Police on Saturday said that they continue investigations and did not rule out more arrests as several people appear to be involved.

Meanwhile, Anorthosis said that Uzoho would be benched during Saturday’s match against New Salamina. The club had asked the Cyprus Football Association (CFA) whether or not their goalkeeper would be eligible to play in the game against Nea Salamina.

All this seems to have affected the young Nigerian international with reports in the media on Friday suggesting Uzoho has asked to leave and that Anorthosis officials are trying desperately to dissuade him from doing so.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I smell a rat. Looks like somebody wasn't settled. :laugh:

...so dem dey do wayo for oyinbo land too.

Damunk wrote:Some kind of health problem or what?
Yes. Unhealthy bank accounts.

Sorry, didnt read the full thread before asking my question.

It seems that they forged his health documents in order to beat the deadline.

This is not the kind of thing that Uzoho wants to be associated with. He has done the right thing by asking to leave the club.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

this what happens in a non footballing nation. a temporary card could have been an option so he then obtains a full one eventually but the infrastructure apparently isn't set up because Cyprus isn't England

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote:this what happens in a non footballing nation. a temporary card could have been an option so he then obtains a full one eventually but the infrastructure apparently isn't set up because Cyprus isn't England
How can they issue a “temporary” health card without physical exam? Or are you mistaking a health card for a work permit?