Messi cannot touch Ronaldo in football

Oguleftie
Re: Messi cannot touch Ronaldo in football

Post by Oguleftie »

YemiBrazil wrote:Circa 2008

Barca with their famous False 9

That is starting line up which will be the same tomorrow. Not the line up when the referee blows his whistle to start the game. Don't you see how the game is played.

I see how the game is played and I know that Messi is more of forward than a midfielder unless you mean attacking midfielder, which is still more of a forward.
The fact that can't be changed is that Mess is there to score goals at Barcelona. I don't know where you got the idea that he is primarily out there to help the strikers get goals. That was what Ibrahimovic thought when he arrived at Barca until he had to face reality. You play for Messi at Barcelona.

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Starting line up before players take the field and the actual line up after the referee blows his whistle to start the game are different as Messi plays. That will be the same tomorrow March 13, 2019. Don't you watch how the game is played.

Oguleftie wrote:Starting line up before players take the field and the actual line up after the referee blows his whistle to start the game are different as Messi plays. That will be the same tomorrow March 13, 2019. Don't you watch how the game is played.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Your point has been noted from the onset and clearly addressed. The line-up is clear for all to see. It is your likes that will call Fellaini a striker because you saw him on route 1 assignment for Mourinho while others will swear Fellaini is a central defender :rotf:

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

YemiBrazil wrote:
Oguleftie wrote:Starting line up before players take the field and the actual line up after the referee blows his whistle to start the game are different as Messi plays. That will be the same tomorrow March 13, 2019. Don't you watch how the game is played.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Your point has been noted from the onset and clearly addressed. The line-up is clear for all to see. It is your likes that will call Fellaini a striker because you saw him on route 1 assignment for Mourinho while others will swear Fellaini is a central defender :rotf:
Actual playing line up changes when the whistle blows; and Messi is there to build up the play from the midfield to the final third or directly sets them up to score goals. In essence he is there to set them up to score goals.

Oguleftie wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:
Actual playing line up changes when the whistle blows; and Messi is there to build up the play from the midfield to the final third or directly sets them up to score goals. In essence he is there to set them up to score goals.
I am convinced that you don't watch Barcelona, maybe once in a blue moon :lol: :lol: :lol:

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

YemiBrazil wrote:
Oguleftie wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:
I am convinced that you don't watch Barcelona, maybe once in a blue moon :lol: :lol: :lol:
I watch every game Barcelona plays (League, Del Ray, Cup) including every game Barcelona B team plays.

YemiBrazil wrote:
Oguleftie wrote:
Samora Machel wrote:Messi is more a striker than a midfielder
Messi is and plays as a midfielder; where the strikers and things in the final third are not going well he goes to help out.
He is there to build up the plays to enable a strike.
Some will argue that Lionel Messi is a forward. Messi is there to score goals and Barcelona's pattern is built to facilitate this. Any striker that does not understand this at Barca will have to ship out.
I purposefully stayed away from that angle of argument with our friend because i know that one area where Messi is better than Ronaldo is that he can easily play central midfield better than CR7. But that is not to mean Messi is a central midfielder, and majority of the times he doesn't play as a midfielder, sometimes he is forced by circumstances to drop deep and look for the ball.
But I'm sure we can all agree he spends most of his time as a forward, and modern forwards do all sorts of things, even the likes of Hazard and Willian can be found in central midfield depending on circumstances and tactics.
The real deal

Post by The real deal »

I have a question
Of Messi and Ronaldo, who is better at ASSISTS?
Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos

The real deal wrote:I have a question
Of Messi and Ronaldo, who is better at ASSISTS?
Messi.
And don't forget the circumstances.
Ronaldo changed his game a lot.
To point out the extremes, Ronaldo in the later stages of his career is more the striker.
Messi at times is more the midfielder or playmaker or whatever you want to call it.

But he whole argument is about who is more effective in making teams win or carrying them.
The way both of them have always been level as the best players in Europe for the last decade means we can say they have been on the same level of effectiveness for a long time, whichever team they played for
slyk

Post by slyk »

OK one "hypothetical" question for any takers. Barcelona and Juventus (or Real Madrid when Cristiano was still there) have a competitive game on the same day and at the same time. You are gifted a ticket to each game but obviously you can only watch one. Which game would you choose to see. Me I'll go and watch Messi and Barca.

Ronaldo is exceptional but Lionel is out of this world.
Thelastoneleft

Post by Thelastoneleft »

Oguleftie wrote:
benteke wrote:
Oguleftie wrote:Messi is a midfielder, midfield forward, and strikes from a distance. Not ghosting in the penalty box.
You need to realise that Ronaldo won his first Ballon D'or player of the year back in 2008 and he was not ghosting in the box, at that time he was a proper goal scoring forward. And already he had improved my himself from the skinny winger who was was just about trickery.
The ghosting has come with age and he has transformed himself into one of the great poachers, another important skill.
A very versatile player in his own way.
You just said it.
....................he was a proper goal scoring forward...................
Messi does not play as a forward; but as the build-up person from the midfield to enable the team be in a forward striking position.
Oga, Messi is a forward and plays and is being played as a forward

Scores two, assists two. Inheritance merchant. Needs to do it at Celtic.

One team played vs the likes of Godin, well the other played vs farmer market wholesale grocery store

Of course...and that is why doing it at the one true Celtic, is of utmost importance.

All these people saying Cristiano is just a “finisher” obviously didn’t watch him at sporting Lisbon or early Manchester days. The man Ronaldo had so many tricks and dribbles to the extent of destruction. In fact, fans were complaining about his unseriousness and skills that he had to refine his game to a deadly goal scorer

Coach wrote:Of course...and that is why doing it at the one true Celtic, is of utmost importance.
Mane also scored 2 goals vs a better team :roll:

john12 wrote:All these people saying Cristiano is just a “finisher” obviously didn’t watch him at sporting Lisbon or early Manchester days. The man Ronaldo had so many tricks and dribbles to the extent of destruction. In fact, fans were complaining about his unseriousness and skills that he had to refine his game to a deadly goal scorer
They know themselves, the ones who call him a tap in merchant
They probably only started watching him in his later years at Madrid

Exactly and that is why Leo must move to the truest Celtic of them all and prove beyond all doubt, his unparalleled individual brilliance. Till then, he’s little more than a dab hand, or rather deft foot, plying his trade in a contest so heavily handicapped in his favour, as to render his achievements irrelevant. Ronaldo has done it at Man United and now Juventus. Messi must move to Celtic or bask in the shadow cast.
Last edited by Coach on Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
The real deal

Post by The real deal »

Coach wrote:Exactly and that is why Leo must move to the truest Celtic of them all and prove beyond all doubt, his unparalleled individual brilliance. Till then, he’s little more than a dab hand, or rather deft foot, plying his trade in a contest so heavily handicapped in his favour, as render his achievements irrelevant. Ronaldo has done it at Man United and now Juventus. Messi must move to Celtic or bask in the shadow cast.
7 time Italian champions... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :roll: :roll: :roll: Are you (a) coach? So, you move to a team so DOMINANT to PROVE yourself?
Messi only needs to PROVE himself to HATERS
He's a genius
He does not wait to HEAD the ball in after the rest of the team has done the HARD work. He drags the whole team with him, beats multiple players before he scores.....

Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos

The real deal wrote:
Coach wrote:Exactly and that is why Leo must move to the truest Celtic of them all and prove beyond all doubt, his unparalleled individual brilliance. Till then, he’s little more than a dab hand, or rather deft foot, plying his trade in a contest so heavily handicapped in his favour, as render his achievements irrelevant. Ronaldo has done it at Man United and now Juventus. Messi must move to Celtic or bask in the shadow cast.
7 time Italian champions... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :roll: :roll: :roll: Are you (a) coach? So, you move to a team so DOMINANT to PROVE yourself?
He's a genius
He does not wait to HEAD the ball in after the rest of the team has done the HARD work. He drags the whole team with him, beats multiple players before he scores.....

I think you may have missed his point.

The real deal wrote:
He's a genius

I think you may have missed his point.
Might have a point
He joined united in 03/04 for 6 seasons. They were champions when he joined and won 4 of the previous 6 EPL. They won 3 of the next 6 with him.
Joined Madrid for 9 seasons who had won 4 of the previous 9 La Ligas. Won 2 of the next 9.

Is he more of a tournament player?