AFCON 2019 Draw 04/12/19 SE Seeded

oyek
Nigeria in Pot 1 for 2019 AFCON

Post by oyek »

Official: CAF Reveal 2019 AFCON Drawing Pots
Apr.11, 2019 - 09:00 pm

By David Kappel

CAF have finally revealed the official drawing pots for the draw of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, with Bafana Bafana being placed in pot three, which means they could receive a potential Group of Death.

Read: 12 Mzansi Stars Who've Featured In UCL

The draw for the tournament in Egypt will take place in Cairo on Friday night and CAF confirmed the drawing pots one day ahead of the spectacle.

“The CAF Executive Committee at its meeting on Thursday, 11 April 2019, in Cairo, Egypt approved the draw procedure for the final tournament of the Total Africa Cup of Nations Egypt 2019,” reads an official statement on CAF’s website.

Watch: Giggs on Solskjaer & His Surprise UCL favourites

“The procedure was proposed by the Organising Committee for the Africa Cup of Nations at its meeting 24-hours earlier.

“The pots and seedings of the 24 qualified teams were decided based on the latest FIFA World rankings (released 4 April 2019), which is globally accepted and portrays a true reflection of the state of the qualified teams.”

South Africa, who sit in 73rd position overall in the latest FIFA ranking and in 13th on the continent, were placed in drawing pot three alongside Uganda, Benin, Mauritania, Madagascar and Kenya, which means Stuart Baxter’s men cannot face these five sides.
Here are the four drawing pots, as confirmed by CAF:

Pot 1: Egypt (hosts) – Cameroon – Nigeria – Senegal – Tunisia – Morocco

Pot 2: DR Congo – Ghana – Mali – Ivory Coast – Guinea – Algeria

Pot 3: South Africa – Uganda – Benin – Mauritania – Madagascar – Kenya

Pot 4: Zimbabwe – Namibia – Guinea Bissau – Angola – Tanzania – Burundi

The draw will take place in Cairo on Friday night at 20:00 SA time and Soccer Laduma will keep you up to date about Bafana’s group.

Read: Tau & Ex-Chiefs Striker Among Top Goalscorers In AFCON Qualification

Six groups with four teams, one from each drawing pot, will be drawn, which means South Africa could face a potential Group of Death alongside Egypt, Ivory Coast and Zimbabwe

https://www.soccerladuma.co.za/news/art ... ots/652847
If not for Jesus, where will i be?
AFCON 2019 Draw 04/12/19 SE Seeded

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/47877796

mods abeg make it sticky, hopefully we get ghana
fcon draw pots
Pot 1 Pot 2 Pot 3 Pot 4
Egypt DR Congo South Africa Zimbabwe
Cameroon Ghana Uganda Namibia
Senegal Mali Benin Guinea-Bissau
Tunisia Ivory Coast Mauritania Angola
Nigeria Guinea Madagascar Tanzania
Morocco Algeria Kenya Burundi

Re: Nigeria in Pot 1 for 2019 AFCON

I thought it was already decided we would be in Pot 2?

This is good news and reflects our current standing on the continent.
Anyway, whether na Pot 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, we go still helele :thumbs: !!!
oyek

Post by oyek »

That's what i thought initially, it's obvious CAF is going by current form...
If not for Jesus, where will i be?

Missed two ANCs in a row but still rock up in Pot 1.

Haters gon hate! :lol:

...what does being in pot 1 mean? Guaranteed win, all the way, championship trophy?

Nigeria
Ghana
Y-ganda
Tanzania

would be a dream group. CE go sweet o. :woot:
Re: AFCON 2019 Draw 04/12/19 SE Seeded

Last time we met our noisy( albeit for good reasons) neighbors from the West in a major competition was way back in 2010(i will never forget that lone goal from Asamoah Gyan :twisted:), now it's looking likely we will be meeting Ghana again since teams seeded into pot 2 will surely meet the ones in Pot 1...a Ghana vs Nigeria group final group stage qualification will be a major nail biter, this time the new generation from both teams will meet... Ndidi vs Partey, Iwobi vs Astu, Ekuban/Jordan/Warris vs Omeruo, Ekong, Ajayi, Balogun. Onyekuru/Osimhen, Samuel Kalu/Onuachu vs their defense...summer can't come fast enough.

Tobi17 wrote:Last time we met our noisy( albeit for good reasons) neighbors from the West in a major competition was way back in 2010(i will never forget that lone goal from Asamoah Gyan :twisted:), now it's looking likely we will be meeting Ghana again since teams seeded into pot 2 will surely meet the ones in Pot 1...a Ghana vs Nigeria group final group stage qualification will be a major nail biter, this time the new generation from both teams will meet... Ndidi vs Partey, Iwobi vs Astu, Ekuban/Jordan/Warris vs Omeruo, Ekong, Ajayi, Balogun. Onyekuru/Osimhen, Samuel Kalu/Onuachu vs their defense...summer can't come fast enough.
AG3 ooooh AG3

nice header from that corner... enyeama in no man's land

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Nigeria
Ghana
Y-ganda
Tanzania

No thanks! :woot:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Nigeria
Ghana
Y-ganda
Tanzania

No thanks! :woot:
No so bad, you have 3 minnows with you. Who doesn't want that? Toughest team for Nigeria may be Tanzania. They got too much energy :sneaky:

charlie wrote:I thought it was already decided we would be in Pot 2?

They initially released the pots based on a combination of FIFA rankings and previous ANC results and we were in pot 2 based on that

Now they are going strictly by FIFA rankings.

Has FIFA forced their hand on CAF, because UEFA does not use FIFA rankings for their pots for UEFA competitions.

They initially released the pots based on a combination of FIFA rankings and previous ANC results and we were in pot 2 based on that

Has FIFA forced their hand on CAF, because UEFA does not use FIFA rankings for their pots for UEFA competitions.

It's the Amaju Pinnick effect!

Nigeria has more say so now and pulls more weight in the corridors of African football.
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

mystic wrote:

Nigeria has more say so now and pulls more weight in the corridors of African football.
how do you feel saying this? is it good for Nigerian or African football that ranking is based on which football country is connected to which CAF executive? I don't believe Nigeria did not get seeded without merit but you should be ashamed of yourself for waving this as if it were a victory flag

What on earth are you going on about? Isn't the FIFA rankings a globally accepted football metric?
Pinnick was able to successfully argue for the FIFA rankings to be used and won.
What's wrong in celebrating that?
aykwes8 wrote:
mystic wrote:

how do you feel saying this? is it good for Nigerian or African football that ranking is based on which football country is connected to which CAF executive? I don't believe Nigeria did not get seeded without merit but you should be ashamed of yourself for waving this as if it were a victory flag

The YeyeMan wrote:Missed two ANCs in a row but still rock up in Pot 1.

Haters gon hate! :lol:
And ghana qualify tire still no reachbpot 1 :D

bepanda

Post by bepanda »

How is Cameroon in Pot 1?

bepanda wrote:How is Cameroon in Pot 1?
Defending champion

I hope we get the midgets. Its been a while since we beat that a$$.

bret- hart wrote:I hope we get the midgets. Its been a while since we beat that a$$.
Remind me of the Brenford massacre

mcal wrote:...what does being in pot 1 mean? Guaranteed win, all the way, championship trophy?
The Nigerianese belives the title is always son by countries in pot 1

aykwes8 wrote:
mystic wrote:

You should endeavor to understand what is being said and why it's being said before going off half cocked. I personally prefer to have the weight of performances in previous African Cups factored in to underscore the importance of our own competitions, and therefore was quite fine with Nigeria being in pot 2. So this has nothing to do with your imaginary victory flag.

Rather, I'm simply doffing my hat to the hard work that our Federation president has done to finally giving Nigeria a voice at the table where these decisions are taken after so many years when we did not have a say in these matters.
Last edited by mystic on Fri Apr 12, 2019 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Time for the draw?