Is CAF for Real? This is Sheer Madness in Group A!

Re: Is CAF for Real? This is Sheer Madness in Group A!

You have not answered mine either.

But let me indulge you a bit.

How many coaches did Algeria go through about the time they played Nigeria?
What was Zambia's form when they played Nigeria?
It was not good!

Cameroon had just won AFCON and was fatigued.
Truth be told, Nigeria was fortuitous in their WC grouping.
The WC tournament exposed them in Russia, but I digress.

Talking about, AFCON, how come the gallant Nigerians failed to qualify for not just one, but two consecutive AFCONs?
wiseone wrote:You did not actually answer any of my questions. You strangely mentioned 1978 (41 years ago) for some odd reason when I asked you about the last 30 years.
Kabalega wrote:30 years? Walk me through this....

In 1978, Uganda Cranes sleepwalked to a win against 9ja in AFCON.
Only to lose to hosts, Ghana who sabotaged the team at every chance they got off the field.

Anyway, it was not until the UG Cranes stopped going to AFCON that a certain W. African nation, on the Niger river, won it. Now the Cranes are back to reclaim their rightful position.

Curiously, .... a makeshift UG Cranes team drew 0-0 in Nigeria. The previous game in Nigeria was a 0-1 win for Uganda. Before that a 2-1 win for Uganda at Namboole and before that a Nigerian 1-0 win in the robbery at Abeokuta, that was so bad that even 9ja journalists ran onto the field for answers from the match officials.

But that is history.
Recently, 9ja drew 0-0 with the UG Cranes in Nigeria. Their coach, Rohr later claimed that their main goal was to score goals. They failed to do so against a makeshift Cranes team. Africa's finest, Onyango didn't even play! :shock:

A few days ago, 9ja's finest struggled to a 1-0 win against a 2nd string Egyptian team in Nigeria.
If I were Nigerian, I would be lobbying CAF to have group B avoid group A teams.
After the Pot ranking wahala, I trust that Pinnick is on the case. :thumbs:
Will CAF bite though?
Let us siddon look :!:

[/b]

Chimurenga Rebel wrote:
ANC wrote:
Kabalega wrote:
Samora Machel wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:What is tough in this group? This is AFCON not COSAFA cup. Very easy ride for Egypt but upsets are normal in any championship. Uganda and Zimbabwe? Nigeria's U20 will easily make it out of this group.
OK thanks
Some of these guys don't much about African footie.
It also doesn't help that Nigeria didn't qualify for the last two tournaments.

Nigeria have suffered o. I was going to tell you guys to forgive him, because life is all about perspective...Egypt vantage point (looking from up to down) may be different from others teams(group A) but Kabalega may be onto something here :sneaky:
Nigeria have suffered? :rotf:
Its a Naija expression, basically meaning Nigeria is being subjected to humiliating/embarrassing insults. Here, the 'insult' is the reminder that we didn't qualify for two AFCONS.

Naija group is toughest .
All those young strong fast home based Africans ready to break your legs to make their names.

Plus our players may not take them seriously

You are a comedic revisionist. So because Algeria had several coaches that meant that Mahrez, Slimani, Faghouli, Brahimi, Ghoulam etc became bad players overnight. Any word about Nigeria dominating a group that contained the same Cameroon team that won the last AFCON?

Yes Nigeria was "exposed" at the WC in Russia, because they were eliminated in a group containing Croatia (who reached the final), Argentina, and an Iceland team tat beat semi-finalists England and got to the QF of the Euros. Yep, very "fortuitous". Even then they were 5 minutes away from sending Messi home, and were the victims of horrid refereeing by a ref who refused to award a penalty after Rojo controlled the ball with his arm and kicked Iheanacho in the head in the box.

Pray, do tell - how did DRC, Uganda, and Zimbabwe get on at the WC?...

Kabalega wrote:You have not answered mine either.

It was not good!

\
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Egypt and DRC will advance easily.

Heliopolis wrote:Egypt and DRC will advance easily.

Easily...I don't see Uganda winning a game in that group! They are piss poor... Tanzania expose them like a two dollar whore

There’s really no real group of death in draw but I guess if must have one we can give to group D

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

wiseone wrote:I take it you were on sabbatical when Algeria, Nigeria, Cameroon, and Zambia (AKA 3 of the last 4 African champions) were drawn in the same World Cup qualifying group. Do tell - which group do you think is more ridiculous, Algeria, Nigeria, Cameroon, and Zambia, or Egypt, DRC, Uganda and Zimbabwe. How many AFCONs have DRC, Uganda and Zimbabwe won in the last 30 years? You are talking about 4 countries that have a grand total of 1 World Cup appearance in the last 30 years between them.
Kabalega wrote:Who in their right minds, would put Egypt, DRC, Uganda and Zimbabwe in the same group?
This is insanity of the highest order! :!: :!:

Group of death? Heck, no! This takes it to a whole other level! :shock: :shock:

It's good for TV though. :)
I smell a rat, a big fat one to boot.

The teams that make it out of that group have a very good chance of winning the whole thing.
He was happily predicting that Nigeria would not qualify. Well we did!

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: You are too funny!
Do you see the depth of the irony or should I call it ironies?
wiseone wrote:You are a comedic revisionist. So because Algeria had several coaches that meant that Mahrez, Slimani, Faghouli, Brahimi, Ghoulam etc became bad players overnight. Any word about Nigeria dominating a group that contained the same Cameroon team that won the last AFCON?

Yes Nigeria was "exposed" at the WC in Russia, because they were eliminated in a group containing Croatia (who reached the final), Argentina, and an Iceland team tat beat semi-finalists England and got to the QF of the Euros. Yep, very "fortuitous". Even then they were 5 minutes away from sending Messi home, and were the victims of horrid refereeing by a ref who refused to award a penalty after Rojo controlled the ball with his arm and kicked Iheanacho in the head in the box.

It was not good!

\
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

It was not good!

Who'd have thought:

Nigeria & Uganda in the same conversation about football...

Only in CE...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Kabalega wrote:Who in their right minds, would put Egypt, DRC, Uganda and Zimbabwe in the same group?
This is insanity of the highest order! :!: :!:

Group of death? Heck, no! This takes it to a whole other level! :shock: :shock:

It's good for TV though. :)
I smell a rat, a big fat one to boot.

The teams that make it out of that group have a very good chance of winning the whole thing.
Egypt and DRC will make it out of that group, wouldn't rule out Zimbabwe causing a major upset though... Uganda will be last in that group.

Footie 8s unpredictable. Never know. Hope drc goes deep though. Egypt should shine 2.
Oba

Post by Oba »

Pretty average group. Egypt and DRC will make it through. If Zimbabwe beat Uganda convincingly and maybe get a result against DRC, then they too will go through as one of the best 3rd placed team. Group D is the one that stands out as a Group of Death.
Oba

Post by Oba »

wiseone wrote:You are a comedic revisionist. So because Algeria had several coaches that meant that Mahrez, Slimani, Faghouli, Brahimi, Ghoulam etc became bad players overnight. Any word about Nigeria dominating a group that contained the same Cameroon team that won the last AFCON?

It was not good!

\
You have time, my brother...

Oba wrote:

It was not good!

\
You have time, my brother...
:roll: :roll: you shouldn't talk , many people come here to discuss and keep the forum lively, wetin concern you... you it

FATHER TIKO wrote:

It was not good!

Who'd have thought:

Only in CE...
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Have you seen Uganda Crane's head to head record against Nigeria? :taunt: :taunt: :D

Kabalega wrote:
FATHER TIKO wrote:

It was not good!

Who'd have thought:

Only in CE...
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Have you seen Uganda Crane's head to head record against Nigeria? :taunt: :taunt: :D
Most Nigeria Uganda games have not had much at stake (except in 1978) so stick the record where the sun don't shine. We have a far better head to head against Cameroon but we respe t them because they have more AFCONs.