Why did MANU let Memphis go, and Arsenal let Gnabry go?

Re: Why did MANU let Memphis go, and Arsenal let Gnabry go?

benteke wrote:
ohsee wrote:By the way, van Dijk was not at fault in the last Liverpool game. The lumberjack Englander and fake captain James Milner sliced the ball so that it created an awkward situation for van Dijk. Even then, he did the best thing under the circumstances, heading it to Allison, who should have come out to get the ball with his hands, but inexplicably went for it with his feet, kicking it into Ryan Babel. In any case Milner accepted responsibility for it. Watch from .54

He could've headed it away from goal rather than centrally. He was at fault...
Do you also agree with CiC that Van Dijk is just an average defender.

No he is obviously not average. CIC also said Busquets is average...

However he is NOT the best CD in the world, just one of the best.

The best CDs are in Madrid, Catalonia and Turin...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

this was great defending by VVD. i will assume he knew Son is a better scorer than Sissoko AND he was baiting sissoko to shoot (with his weaker foot)
Last edited by tfco on Mon Apr 01, 2019 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tfco wrote::clap: :clap: :clap:

this was great defending by VVD. i will assume he knew Son is a better scorer than Sissoko AND he was baiting sissoko to short (with his weaker foot)
Correct!

In that situation you want the primary attacker to have both options open for as long as possible - pass or go for goal; pass or go for goal. If VVD engages too early then Sissoko would take VVD out of the game with a pass to Son. He kept Sissoko thinking and cut out the passing lane to Son. Excellent defending from an average defender.

this was great defending by VVD. i will assume he knew Son is a better scorer than Sissoko AND he was baiting sissoko to short (with his weaker foot)
Correct!

In that situation you want the primary attacker to have both options open for as long as possible - pass or go for goal; pass or go for goal. If VVD engages too early then Sissoko would take VVD out of the game with a pass to Son. He kept Sissoko thinking and cut out the passing lane to Son. Excellent defending from an average defender.
This man. Shebi you know that God does not like wickedness. :D Anyway, our "average defender" was immense today. Again. :D :D

By the way, I watched bits of Real's game with Huesca, and Sergio Ramos looked "average" to me. :lol:

Chale, we sabi say you be breda, but you form paaa

The YeyeMan wrote:He kept Sissoko thinking and cut out the passing lane to Son. Excellent defending from an average defender.
:lol: Did you see the ball he gave away to Dele Alli that ended with a poor Kane cross? Very average pass from the best defender in the world.
elerineye

Post by elerineye »

Chale, we sabi say you be breda, but you form paaa
...work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. - Phil. 2: 12

...as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD. - Josh. 24: 15

"You need to grow up and respect the fact that people can disagree with you without you getting personal about it. People have a right to express their opinion and you have no right to try and suppress the rights of others because you do not like or disagree with it." - Waffiman
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

The YeyeMan wrote:He kept Sissoko thinking and cut out the passing lane to Son. Excellent defending from an average defender.
:lol: Did you see the ball he gave away to Dele Alli that ended with a poor Kane cross? Very average pass from the best defender in the world.
No tell us say, you no dey see all the 50m diagonal passes Van Dijk has been pinging all season to Liverpool forwards...
He even pinged one yesterday which 'missed' Mane by mere inches inside Spurs 6-yard box...
You no want admit am: the dude na baller...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

Oga CIC. How now?

The YeyeMan wrote:Oga CIC. How now?
Abeg comot this made up average stat :taunt: :taunt:
The real deal

Post by The real deal »

The YeyeMan wrote:Oga CIC. How now?

EPL Sha!!!!
Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos

Wey cic? He don pick race? The EPL players who actually play against Van Dijk think he is the player of the year oh! :D :lol: :lol:

https://www.livesoccertv.com/news/30110 ... ar-record/

While questions still linger over Liverpool's chances of winning the title, Virgil Van Dijk's incredible season with the Reds has been recognized, winning the 2018-19 PFA Player of the Year award.

The Dutchman has been stellar this term for the Merseyside giant, none can deny that. However, the center-back had to fend off stiff competition from Raheem Sterling to win this title.

Van Dijk follows in the footsteps of Anfield team-mate Mohamed Salah, who won this prize last season, which means this accolade has gone to Liverpool players in back-to-back seasons. Van Dijk also ended a 14-year record, becoming the first defender to be named PFA Player of the Year since John Terry in 2005.
Only you-know-who can deny it. :D :D :taunt: :taunt:

ohsee wrote:Wey cic? He don pick race? The EPL players who actually play against Van Dijk think he is the player of the year oh! :D :lol: :lol:

what do the players know about football?

visit naija rant for better gist on VVD

Average defender wins award in an average league and it's time to dance awantilo.

cic old boy wrote:Average defender wins award in an average league and it's time to dance awantilo.
Eh hen! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Its just the law of averages, he was bound to win it at some point :bump: :bump:

ohsee wrote: I feel like Van Dijk was asleep for the first two goals. He let Suarez get away, and left Messi open for the walk in.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=290654&start=920
:lol: I tried to warn una.

ohsee wrote: I feel like Van Dijk was asleep for the first two goals. He let Suarez get away, and left Messi open for the walk in.
Imagine allowing average Messi to useless him :mrgreen:

Kai! he don come! Abeg take it easy on Pa Ohsee! Please... abeg, rankadede! all of them join!

:D :D

tfco wrote::D :D

i saw that! best defender in the world begging for help :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

tfco wrote: :D :D
Et tu, Turncoat Thicko from Takoradi, WE now question the players’ vote after last night but don’t question the vote for the best barber to barber midfielder in the world.

maceo4 wrote: Eh hen! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Its just the law of averages, he was bound to win it at some point :bump: :bump:
:lol: Where's that stat on nobody dribbling Van Dijk? They don't dribble him b/c he lets them pass him. :lol:

cic old boy wrote:[
Et tu, Turncoat Thicko from Takoradi, WE now question the players’ vote after last night but don’t question the vote for the best barber to barber midfielder in the world.
dummy
Pool lost, i am yabbing them

Messi dribbled VVD, you're twerking to prove that VVD is no longer class?
Which top defender has never been turned over?