African trio share EPL Golden Boot

African trio share Premier League Golden Boot
MONDAY MAY 13 2019

Footballers Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Mohamed Salah in a combination picture. The three African players have won the Golden Boot for the most scores -- 22 each -- for the Premier League season. PHOTOS | AFP

In Summary
Mohamed Salah has now won the award two seasons in a row.
Salah scored 32 league goals last season, a record for a 38-game Premier League campaign.

AFPBy AFP

The race to be crowned the English Premier League's leading scorer this season ended in a three-way tie on Sunday as the African trio of Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Mohamed Salah shared the Golden Boot.

Gabon forward Aubameyang scored twice for Arsenal at Burnley to join Salah and his Liverpool teammate Mane, who netted a final-day double against Wolves, on 22 goals for the Premier League season.

Sergio Aguero, of champions Manchester City, was next in line with 21 goals.

Salah has now won the award two seasons in a row but this term's winning tally was the lowest by players in English football's top-flight since 2010/11 when Dimitar Berbatov and Carlos Tevez shared the Golden Boot with 20 goals apiece.

Aubameyang was delighted to be a member of an all-African trio of winners, saying in quotes reported by the BBC: "I share this trophy with two other guys I like, great players and African. We are representing Africa, that's cool.

"I am happy we won, and I am sharing this trophy with two other guys I like.

"My teammates knew about the Golden Boot, I said nothing. I did not want them to play and only focus on me. I am a team player."

For Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp there was the satisfaction of knowing he had played a part in the careers of all three of this season's Golden Boot winners, having signed Aubameyang from Saint-Etienne in 2013 when he was in charge of Dortmund.

"Auba too? Do they have three boots?" said Klopp, who suffered the last-day heartache of seeing Liverpool finish just one point behind City.

"It is good. They are all my players," the German added.

Salah scored 32 league goals last season, a record for a 38-game Premier League campaign.

The 26-year-old is the sixth player to win the Golden Boot award in consecutive seasons.

https://www.theeastafrican.co.ke/sports ... index.html
Re: African trio share EPL Golden Boot

When did Frenchman Aubamayang become African? Jos because he plays for Gabon? Sadio and Salah are bona fide Africans, born and bred. Auba is European, pure and simple.

ohsee wrote:When did Frenchman Aubamayang become African? Jos because he plays for Gabon? Sadio and Salah are bona fide Africans, born and bred. Auba is European, pure and simple.
Well noted

ohsee wrote:When did Frenchman Aubamayang become African? Jos because he plays for Gabon? Sadio and Salah are bona fide Africans, born and bred. Auba is European, pure and simple.
I was going to say the same thing.

so if your pikin plays for Naija, we Wawa people no go fit claim am? I no gree dis kain discrimination fa

Mr. Piffington wrote:
I was going to say the same thing.
If u live in a straw hut, don't set fires ...

Can you all please stop dissing on 2015 African footballer of the year? :thumbs:
Auba was born to an African, raised African and sweats for Africa. :D

What have you ajebutters done for Africa? :taunt: :taunt:

How can we call Troost Ekong and Leon Balogun Africans and at the same time claimed that Auba is French?

Kabalega wrote:Can you all please stop dissing on 2015 African footballer of the year? :thumbs:
Auba was born to an African, raised African and sweats for Africa. :D

What have you ajebutters done for Africa? :taunt: :taunt:
The same guy that wore a T-shirt to that same award that you mentioned. That was disrespectful.

Ekorian wrote:How can we call Troost Ekong and Leon Balogun Africans and at the same time claimed that Auba is French?
No mind them; here we are again on this topic. Using their theory one could argue that Salah is Middle East and not African.
Point is - Race is a social construct. If you feel you are an African then you are an African including all white Africans and if you are a black man and don’t feel you are an African you are still an African

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

so if your pikin plays for Naija, we Wawa people no go fit claim am? I no gree dis kain discrimination fa
:D :taunt: Not if you are claiming that "Africans" won the scoring title. My son na Canadian, and does not even know what Wawa is. :D :taunt: If he plays for Naija, he is Naija in the context of playing for the national team. But for his club, he would be "Canadian born Nigerian international".

Ekorian wrote:How can we call Troost Ekong and Leon Balogun Africans and at the same time claimed that Auba is French?
Who are we? Did I join you in claiming that Troost and Leon are "Africans?" Yes, they are Nigerian internationals. But they are not "Africans," they are Europeans, that is, Dutch and German respectively. That's where they were born and raised.

Oga Ohsee abeg stick to Rant and Rave. Aubamayang is as African as they come. His father played for Gabon in the 90s. His roots go back to west/central Africa. Regardless of where he was born, he is still African. Mo Salah on the other hand is not African. His ancestors invaded Egypt back in 600AD and unfortunately, never left. He is as "African" as Charlese Theron. Big difference.

bret- hart wrote:

Oga Ohsee abeg stick to Rant and Rave. Aubamayang is as African as they come. His father played for Gabon in the 90s. His roots go back to west/central Africa. Regardless of where he was born, he is still African. Mo Salah on the other hand is not African. His ancestors invaded Egypt back in 600AD and unfortunately, never left. He is as "African" as Charlese Theron. Big difference.
Abeg, let me laff small. Salah is not an African even if he was born and raised on the continent, but Aubamayang who was born and raised in Europe is an African? You racialist guys are funny.

bret- hart wrote:

bret, no mind oga Ohsee, na old age. But dude, Charlize is a true African babe ooo..... I love her fine African #$%

ohsee wrote:
bret- hart wrote:

Abeg, let me laff small. Salah is not an African even if he was born and raised on the continent, but Aubamayang who was born and raised in Europe is an African? You racialist guys are funny.

Are Lebanese and Indians that were born in Nigeria, Kenya Ghana etc Africans??? There is a difference between ethnicity and nationality. Aubameyang may be French by nationality but ethnically speaking, he is African. Same goes for those in the African diaspora. Mo Salah is not an African. After the WC draws, he wished the Arab teams including Saudi Arabia that was in Egypt's own group good luck and never said anything about Senegal and Nigeria.

Undertaker wrote:
bret- hart wrote:

bret, no mind oga Ohsee, na old age. But dude, Charlize is a true African babe ooo..... I love her fine African #$%

Heck no. Do you see how she dresses her adopted son up like a girl?? That broad is crazy. :twisted:

Can you all simply celebrate the achievements of sons of Africa, instead of undermining them?

What will you say when your grandpikin ask "What was it like when 3 Africans won the Golden Boot in one of the most popular leagues in the word?"

ohsee wrote:

:D :taunt: Not if you are claiming that "Africans" won the scoring title. My son na Canadian, and does not even know what Wawa is. :D :taunt: If he plays for Naija, he is Naija in the context of playing for the national team. But for his club, he would be "Canadian born Nigerian international".

abeg we Wawa people dey claim our pikins o. Ohsee Juniors na Wawa pikins.

No mind them; here we are again on this topic. Using their theory one could argue that Salah is Middle East and not African.
Point is - Race is a social construct. If you feel you are an African then you are an African including all white Africans and if you are a black man and don’t feel you are an African you are still an African
Who was talking about race? We’re talking about where he was born and raised. Salah and Mané were both born and raised in Africa.

ohsee wrote:
bret- hart wrote:

For these people African=black. If you’re not black then you’re not African, as if Africa has only natives blacks, it’s their primitive mentality rearing it’s ugly head.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
ohsee wrote:
bret- hart wrote:

For these people African=black. If you’re not black then you’re not African, as if Africa has only natives blacks, it’s their primitive mentality rearing it’s ugly head.
Stop being silly dude. You could be born and raised in pluto for all i care, You are still an ethnic African. I cant say the same about Mo Salah.

bret- hart wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:
ohsee wrote:
bret- hart wrote:

Stop being silly dude. You could be born and raised in pluto for all i care, You are still an ethnic African. I cant say the same about Mo Salah.
Well we’re thankful it’s not up to you. No Salah is an African and a proud one.