VOTE WHICH 2 PLAYERS WILL ROHR DROP ?

WHICH 2 PLAYERS WILL BE DROPPED

Poll ended at Wed May 15, 2019 11:20 pm

Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy)
5%
Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey);
10%
Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)
18%
Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey)
15%
Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain)
8%
Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark);
11%
Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England);
31%
Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)
3%

Total votes: 62

JACKAL
VOTE WHICH 2 PLAYERS WILL ROHR DROP ?

Post by JACKAL »

25 Man Provincial squad Picked...Only 23 Needed. What 2 Players will dropped ?

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Six On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)

These are the Players on the Bubble in my Opinion: Who Will be Axed ?

Last edited by JACKAL on Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:07 am, edited 2 times in total.
ahidjo2
Re: VOTE WHICH 2 PLAYERS WILL ROHR DROP ?

Post by ahidjo2 »

JACKAL wrote:25 Man Provincial squad Picked...Only 23 Needed. What 2 Players will dropped ?

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Six On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)

Samuel Chukwueze, one of the world's most talented players at the moment, likely going to a bigger club is "on the bubble" and Osimen who is playing for a mediocre team in Belgium is left alone? Sometimes I ask, do Nigerians really understand soccer?
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

Aina and Shehu will be in for sure as we are super thin as full backs. I think Leon Balogun also has a chance of being dropped. Samuel Kalu might also be dropped if he is not yet fit after his injury
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Paveman wrote:Aina and Shehu will be in for sure as we are super thin as full backs. I think Leon Balogun also has a chance of being dropped. Samuel Kalu might also be dropped if he is not yet fit after his injury

There is no way he is dropping leon… that's his germany boy and best center back...

Baring any injuries, Kelelchi Ihenancho and Semi Ajayi

I will wait until after friendlies to decide which 2 to drop but for now only 18/23 players are untouchable

Kelechi- he's very unlucky to be naturally playing in a department we are already pretty much loaded with enough depth and quality in... Needless to mention his very poor fork which might more than likely see him axed.

Semi Ajayi: Nice lad who seems to be coming into his own as a quality back up player in the CD position (plus he's versatility that can see him play as a CDM as well)... But he's just too unpopular and not established among the core of Rohrs defensive nucleus. The likes of Awaziem, Omeruo, Ekong, Balogun, Collins, Aina and Shehu are either marginally better than him, more established, or play in positions he (Ajayi) unfortunately can't play in.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Tobi17 wrote:Kelechi- he's very unlucky to be naturally playing in a department we are already pretty much loaded with enough depth and quality in... Needless to mention his very poor fork which might more than likely see him axed.

Semi Ajayi: Nice lad who seems to be coming into his own as a quality back up player in the CD position (plus he's versatility that can see him play as a CDM as well)... But he's just too unpopular and not established among the core of Rohrs defensive nucleus. The likes of Awaziem, Omeruo, Ekong, Balogun, Collins, Aina and Shehu are either marginally better than him, more established, or play in positions he (Ajayi) unfortunately can't play in.
Semi is a better player than Awaziem who is perpetually on the bench...Awaziel goes before Semi... Semi actualy scores goals and is a physical presence.

JACKAL wrote:
Tobi17 wrote:Kelechi- he's very unlucky to be naturally playing in a department we are already pretty much loaded with enough depth and quality in... Needless to mention his very poor fork which might more than likely see him axed.

Semi is a better player than Awaziem who is perpetually on the bench...Awaziel goes before Semi... Semi actualy scores goals and is a physical presence.
Olodo. Check your facts before u come here typing rubbish.

naijaguy wrote:Baring any injuries, Kelelchi Ihenancho and Semi Ajayi
Semi will be in final 23 Kelechi and Awaziem likely to go

Kele is going to AFCON, this wan pass ROhr..fyi... the powers that be have spoken..I agree with the powers that be

JACKAL,

You missed one player that is certainly on the bubble. That player is Victor Osimhen. I believe that Osimhen and Iheanacho are in a straight up battle for one spot. Presently, Iheanacho is getting a last opportunity with Osimhen likely to make the squad but if Iheanacho does well and delivers in the friendlies, he will be in with Osimhen the likely cut. Why Osimhen? Note that usually there are three strikers on the team. Two are shoo-ins: Ighalo and Onuachu (The big guy coveted by Rohr). The third spot is open. In fact, there its a scenario where both Osimhen and Iheanacho are possible cuts because of Musa's versatility.

On defense, my take is that Aina may be shaky but he is likely to make the cut. The guys battling on the edge are Ajayi and Awaziem with Ajayi having the edge. I state this because if you look at the defensive call ups -- there are six guys able to play center backs and all six will not make it -- Ogu, Balogun, Ekong, Omeruo, Ajayi, & Awaziem. Given that Ogu is versatile and ahead of Ajayi, her has the edge, Ajayi is versatile and lately has had more minutes than Awaziem as far as I recollect. Thus, Awaziemn must fight in practice and friendlies to get through.

Now, the above are just my thoughts, barring injuries. If injuries occur, then throw the above out of the window.
JACKAL wrote:25 Man Provincial squad Picked...Only 23 Needed. What 2 Players will dropped ?

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Iheanacho and Ajayi or Moses due to fitness.

Bigpokey24 wrote:Kele is going to AFCON, this wan pass ROhr..fyi... the powers that be have spoken..I agree with the powers that be
What powers? We don't need a none scoring striker.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Enugu II wrote:JACKAL,

You missed one player that is certainly on the bubble. That player is Victor Osimhen. I believe that Osimhen and Iheanacho are in a straight up battle for one spot. Presently, Iheanacho is getting a last opportunity with Osimhen likely to make the squad but if Iheanacho does well and delivers in the friendlies, he will be in with Osimhen the likely cut. Why Osimhen? Note that usually there are three strikers on the team. Two are shoo-ins: Ighalo and Onuachu (The big guy coveted by Rohr). The third spot is open. In fact, there its a scenario where both Osimhen and Iheanacho are possible cuts because of Musa's versatility.

On defense, my take is that Aina may be shaky but he is likely to make the cut. The guys battling on the edge are Ajayi and Awaziem with Ajayi having the edge. I state this because if you look at the defensive call ups -- there are six guys able to play center backs and all six will not make it -- Ogu, Balogun, Ekong, Omeruo, Ajayi, & Awaziem. Given that Ogu is versatile and ahead of Ajayi, her has the edge, Ajayi is versatile and lately has had more minutes than Awaziem as far as I recollect. Thus, Awaziemn must fight in practice and friendlies to get through.

Now, the above are just my thoughts, barring injuries. If injuries occur, then throw the above out of the window.
JACKAL wrote:

EII.... Trust me, Rohr Loves Osimeh...Believe me he would drop Samu, Paul, ,kelechi, Simon before he drops Osimeh... The only 2 strikers ahead of Oshimeh is Ighalo and Musa... Then maybe Henry....There is no way Osimeh is not going after his U23 display vs Libya and 17 Goals in Belgium this season

JACKAL wrote:

EII.... Trust me, Rohr Loves Osimeh...Believe me he would drop Samu, Paul, ,kelechi, Simon before he drops Osimeh... The only 2 strikers ahead of Oshimeh is Ighalo and Musa... Then maybe Henry....There is no way Osimeh is not going after his U23 display vs Libya and 17 Goals in Belgium this season
We should know soon who goes but have a hunch that only one of Osimhen or Iheanacho will be on that final squad bar injuries. Onuachu and Ighalo are on that plane -- bet on it. One guy that I missed who is able to play up top is of course Onyekuru.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

JACKAL wrote:

We should know soon who goes but have a hunch that only one of Osimhen or Iheanacho will be on that final squad bar injuries. Onuachu and Ighalo are on that plane -- bet on it. One guy that I missed who is able to play up top is of course Onyekuru.

Even though I think Paul is a fantastic player, he has not proven himself yet at this level.. He needs a few games under his belt before we can truly say his an Eagle..

So Victor Moses won't make the cut?
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

JACKAL wrote:

Enugu II,

I also have this crazy idea, but which Rohr might consider.
If Onuachu doesn't make the grade in training - or if Iheanacho and Osimhen are actually very good - he might consider dropping Onuachu, and should he need the BIG guy for the last 10-15 minutes with the SE losing, he might consider playing Semi Ajayi up front for those last 10 minutes. Just a thought!

Paveman,

Kai, I was thinking on the same lines (Onuachu flaming out) while driving to work but with a different solution. Telepathy, somewhat? LOL.

In any case, I was thinking -- suppose Onuachu plays rubbish in training or friendlies? Although, I think he is a virtual shoo-in, he just does not have the SE credential to the point that he will be kept if he plays very poorly. If it happens (long shot), I think the replacement for him is Osimhen who can pose similar danger in the air. The downside is Osimhen is not as physical. Thus, I think Onuachu really has the spot but if he loses it then your scenario may occur (Osimhen & Iheanacho making the team) but I think it is a long shot.

On Ajayi as the striker? I think it is a long shot because you already have Ighalo, Musa, Osimhen, Iheanacho, Onyekuru all strikers (i.e. if Onuachu isn't there).
Paveman wrote:
JACKAL wrote:

Enugu II,

If Onuachu doesn't make the grade in training - or if Iheanacho and Osimhen are actually very good - he might consider dropping Onuachu, and should he need the BIG guy for the last 10-15 minutes with the SE losing, he might consider playing Semi Ajayi up front for those last 10 minutes. Just a thought!
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

You don't need Ajayi as a striker... You just need him to come forward in dead ball situations (Corners and free Kicks) to come help the offence with another tall guy who can head the ball in...
Enugu II wrote:Paveman,

Kai, I was thinking on the same lines (Onuachu flaming out) while driving to work but with a different solution. Telepathy, somewhat? LOL.

In any case, I was thinking -- suppose Onuachu plays rubbish in training or friendlies? Although, I think he is a virtual shoo-in, he just does not have the SE credential to the point that he will be kept if he plays very poorly. If it happens (long shot), I think the replacement for him is Osimhen who can pose similar danger in the air. The downside is Osimhen is not as physical. Thus, I think Onuachu really has the spot but if he loses it then your scenario may occur (Osimhen & Iheanacho making the team) but I think it is a long shot.

On Ajayi as the striker? I think it is a long shot because you already have Ighalo, Musa, Osimhen, Iheanacho, Onyekuru all strikers (i.e. if Onuachu isn't there).
Paveman wrote:
JACKAL wrote:

Enugu II,

JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

ahidjo2 wrote:

Samuel Chukwueze, one of the world's most talented players at the moment, likely going to a bigger club is "on the bubble" and Osimen who is playing for a mediocre team in Belgium is left alone? Sometimes I ask, do Nigerians really understand soccer?
Chukweze has not proven much yet... He is just a kid with a lot of promise...Rohr prefers proven and tested vets
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Kelechi gets no love...Sad ! but I think he will make the team.