SE Afcon 2019 provisional list

Re: SE Afcon 2019 provisional list

Iheanacho has no business in the squad, dude has no confidence right now.

Benedict Iroha wrote:Iheanacho has no business in the squad, dude has no confidence right now.
so we should be discarded ? because he lacks confidence? smh....

when are the SE players suppose to get to camp

FYI Kele will be in the AFCON squad, this is coming from the powers that be..ROhr cannot drop him..fyi..no be talk am( and i support the reasons)

Paveman wrote:
vancity eagle wrote:Disappointed that no new midfielders or goalkeepers since the WC.
None have stood up to be counted.
That is absolutely not true.

Rohr is just lazy. The following are all BETTER and YOUNGER options and most importantly all playing at a HIGHER level than Ogu.

Azuibikwe
Kingsley Michael
Mikel Agu
Sly Igboun

No, they’re not better than ogu. All of them play at Backwater league just like ogu but ogu Experience and physicality distinguish him from them

I'd take Kelechi to AFCON, he needs the national team now to rally round him and inspire confidence. He's a very talented young man playing at a very competitive level and league, and has delivered in our NT shirt in the past.

Good list by Rohr.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

wale1974 wrote:
john12 wrote:Drop an experienced player for some backwater league guy ok O. If rohr drops kelechi then balogun has to be dropped
Balogun wasn't getting playing time due to Dunk and Duffy.....................Kele was getting playing time and stinking up the place.
Cant you say the same with respect to Kele and Vardy? What were you expecting him to do with the 5 mins he got here and there?
Origi was in his shoes....................Nothing more to add.

No shocks there. Only comments are:

1) Azubuike may consider himself unfortunate to miss out.

2) Would be nice to have another left footed FB in there.

3) Iheanacho is fortunate to be in there.

4) Akpeyi's continued presence in the squad is simply mystifying.
ohenhen1 wrote:Would have liked better fullbacks and Azubuike.

wale1974 wrote:
john12 wrote:Drop an experienced player for some backwater league guy ok O. If rohr drops kelechi then balogun has to be dropped
Balogun wasn't getting playing time due to Dunk and Duffy.....................Kele was getting playing time and stinking up the place.
Cant you say the same with respect to Kele and Vardy? What were you expecting him to do with the 5 mins he got here and there?
Origi at 24 shouldn’t be in the same position as a 21/22 yo, but I’m glad for him. Kele can rescue his career, let’s just support our own haba.

Only 3 players from the AFCON 2013 winning team and that's only 6 years ago. Obi, Musa and Omeruo.

Orion wrote:Only 3 players from the AFCON 2013 winning team and that's only 6 years ago. Obi, Musa and Omeruo.
Good observation.
Our turnover rate is really high.
Both players and coaches.
Yet, we perpetually have the youngest teams in tournaments.
Something is not right.

Maybe now, things are beginning to settle down.
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

6 years is a lot in international football. Very few players are consistent over a long period of time. I suspect if you look at top teams over a 6 year period you would find an average of 4 - 5 players...

Orion wrote:Only 3 players from the AFCON 2013 winning team and that's only 6 years ago. Obi, Musa and Omeruo.
Good observation.
Something is not right.

Yes, if we had the youngest or one of the youngest teams then those players should've been around longer.

It would mean that we either we have so much talent that players are simply unable to keep their place in the team that long (not true), or the current system (or environment) is not producing the kind of talent that would stand the test of time like Yekini, Okocha, Finidi, Keshi, Obi etc.

Orion wrote:
Good observation.
Something is not right.

Yes, if we had the youngest or one of the youngest teams then those players should've been around longer.

It would mean that we either we have so much talent that players are simply unable to keep their place in the team that long (not true), or the current system (or environment) is not producing the kind of talent that would stand the test of time like Yekini, Okocha, Finidi, Keshi, Obi etc.
Definitely the latter.
You can see from the list below that very few of them would make today's squad even if they retained the form they were in at the time.

Those that have soared or at least kept their form are still with us. A few have retired* professionally. The rest are basically nowhere to be found.

Nigeria AFCON 2013 squad
1 GK Vincent Enyeama*
2 DF Joseph Yobo (c)*
3 DF Elderson Echiéjilé
4 MF Nwankwo Obiorah
5 DF Efe Ambrose
6 DF Azubuike Egwuekwe
7 FW Ahmed Musa
8 FW Brown Ideye
9 FW Emmanuel Emenike
10 MF John Obi Mikel
11 FW Victor Moses*
12 MF Reuben Gabriel
13 MF Fegor Ogude
14 DF Godfrey Oboabona
15 FW Ikechukwu Uche
16 GK Austin Ejide
17 MF Ogenyi Onazi
18 MF Ejike Uzoenyi
19 MF Sunday Mba
20 MF Nosa Igiebor
21 DF Juwon Oshaniwa
22 DF Kenneth Omeruo
23 GK Chigozie Agbim

wale1974 wrote:
Origi at 24 shouldn’t be in the same position as a 21/22 yo, but I’m glad for him. Kele can rescue his career, let’s just support our own haba.
We are not supporting Kele when we make excuses for him, Kele needs to move to a lesser club to gain his mojo back.

Orion wrote:
Good observation.
Something is not right.

Definitely the latter.
You can see from the list below that very few of them would make today's squad even if they retained the form they were in at the time.

Those that have soared or at least kept their form are still with us. A few have retired* professionally. The rest are basically nowhere to be found.

Nigeria AFCON 2013 squad
1 GK Vincent Enyeama* - 36 (????)
2 DF Joseph Yobo (c)* - 38 (Rtd)
3 DF Elderson Echiéjilé - 31 (Finland)
4 MF Nwankwo Obiorah - 27 (Portugal)
5 DF Efe Ambrose - 30 (UK EFL)
6 DF Azubuike Egwuekwe - 29 (South Africa)
7 FW Ahmed Musa - 26 (Saudi Arabia)
8 FW Brown Ideye - 30 (Spain Segunda)
9 FW Emmanuel Emenike - 32 (Spain Segunda)
10 MF John Obi Mikel - 32 (UK EFL)
11 FW Victor Moses* - 28 (Turkey)
12 MF Reuben Gabriel - 28 (Saudi Arabia)
13 MF Fegor Ogude - 31 (Russia)
14 DF Godfrey Oboabona - 28 (Croatia)
15 FW Ikechukwu Uche - 35 (Spain???)
16 GK Austin Ejide - 35 (Israel)
17 MF Ogenyi Onazi - 26 (Turkey)
18 MF Ejike Uzoenyi - 27 (???)
19 MF Sunday Mba - 30 (???)
20 MF Nosa Igiebor - 28 (Cyprus)
21 DF Juwon Oshaniwa - 28 (Nigeria)
22 DF Kenneth Omeruo - 25 (Spain)
23 GK Chigozie Agbim - 34 (Nigeria)
A quick check on the players reveals that about half (11) are under 30 today but the careers of all our players (with the exception of Omeruo) has retrogressed from where they were 6 years ago.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Enyeama, Emenike and Moses all retired from international football. Brown Ideye not invited by Rohr. Onazi is injured.

ohenhen1 wrote:Enyeama, Emenike and Moses all retired from international football. Brown Ideye not invited by Rohr. Onazi is injured.
Enyeama and Moses should still make the squad today, but not Emenike. But hasn't Enyeama retired from professional football completely?

ohenhen1 wrote:Enyeama, Emenike and Moses all retired from international football. Brown Ideye not invited by Rohr. Onazi is injured.
Enyeama and Moses should still make the squad today, but not Emenike. But hasn't Enyeama retired from professional football completely?
Would have loved to see Moses, esp if Samuel Kalu isn't fit enough to go. But alas let him focus on his useless Turkish league :glare:

Its a thing of beauty, no one ever mentions Musa again :thumbs:

He served me and many others humble pies.

This Naija team bi as ibi :laugh:
  • Division 2 league players
    Cyprus league underachiever
    Chinese league struggler
    Saudi League "champion"
    and Beaucoup Benchwarmers

Orion wrote:
Good observation.
Something is not right.

Definitely the latter.

Nigeria AFCON 2013 squad
1 GK Vincent Enyeama*
2 DF Joseph Yobo (c)*
3 DF Elderson Echiéjilé
4 MF Nwankwo Obiorah
5 DF Efe Ambrose
6 DF Azubuike Egwuekwe
7 FW Ahmed Musa
8 FW Brown Ideye
9 FW Emmanuel Emenike
10 MF John Obi Mikel
11 FW Victor Moses* : Still playing top level with a CL level team.
12 MF Reuben Gabriel
13 MF Fegor Ogude
14 DF Godfrey Oboabona
15 FW Ikechukwu Uche
16 GK Austin Ejide
17 MF Ogenyi Onazi: Very much still around but didnt make it to AFCON due to injury.
18 MF Ejike Uzoenyi
19 MF Sunday Mba
20 MF Nosa Igiebor
21 DF Juwon Oshaniwa
22 DF Kenneth Omeruo
23 GK Chigozie Agbim

Ive added 2 more making it 5 still playing top football from the 2013 squad.

Ive noticed 2 things:
1. Nigerian footballers play their peak football at 26 and by 27 they are china, or lower league ready (pre-retirement). But in the last 3yrs, it seems to have increased to 28 as peak age, and 29 as china ready age.

2. We didnt have good sets of players as of 2013. Keshi did well by using MIkel and MOses as fulcrum of the team, with a mix of upcoming, and strugglers to win the ANC. Today, we have far better choices.

Question is, in another 6yrs, would we have 50% of the players in this year's ANC making the 2025 squad? Me thinks 10/11 of them would remain.