SHOULD ROHR BE FIRED IF HE FAILS TO WIN AFCON 2019

FIRED OR KEEP ROHR

Poll ended at Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:37 pm

He should be fired if he fails to win
65%
He should keep his job even if he fails to win
35%

Total votes: 23

JACKAL
SHOULD ROHR BE FIRED IF HE FAILS TO WIN AFCON 2019

Post by JACKAL »

Rohr has said his number 1 ambition is to win the African Cup of nations.

He is going into the competition as Nigeria's coach with very strong players. The best set of Nigerian players ever. If he fails to lift the trophy should be he fired or should he still be able to keep his job.
Vote Your Opinion

Last edited by JACKAL on Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: SHOULD ROHR BE FIRED IF HE FAILS TO WIN AFCON 2019

I hope we have another coach on standby should incase we did not win?

Sir V wrote:I hope we have another coach on standby should incase we did not win?
Niaja mentality. Wreck whats being built so we can build another one to wreck. :boo:

It sickens me seeing Nigerians treat Oyinbo people better than their own people. The same people called for the sacking of the late Shaibu Amodu after he failed to win Afcon are now saying it is okay to keep Rohr. Rohr must be treated like his predecessors. The Nigerian coaches on staff will take over until we hire a substantive coach if Rohr is fired.

It takes luck to win the Afcon, but having said that, I just do not see Rohr taking SE any further than he already has. He's been good at organizing the SE, but has been poor in unearthing local talent. Without legit local talent, Nigeria is going no where.

ohenhen1 wrote:It sickens me seeing Nigerians treat Oyinbo people better than their own people. The same people called for the sacking of the late Shaibu Amodu after he failed to win Afcon are now saying it is okay to keep Rohr. Rohr must be treated like his predecessors. The Nigerian coaches on staff will take over until we hire a substantive coach if Rohr is fired.

IT'S ACTUALLY WORSE THAN THAT

For Japan/Korea 2002, people called for the firing of Amodu amd his crew (AKEtrio) after he miraculously qualified the team for the WC and when all hope had been destroyed by the previous foreign coach. Their excuse was that he lost to a 10-man Cameroon team and coming third in the Nations Cup.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

ANC wrote:It takes luck to win the Afcon, but having said that, I just do not see Rohr taking SE any further than he already has. He's been good at organizing the SE, but has been poor in unearthing local talent. Without legit local talent, Nigeria is going no where.
I am not a fan of his.. but I see no reason why he cant win this Afcon. Nigeria had the most credible performance of any African team in the last world cup. His conservative style works well in Africa where a lot of teams throw caution to the wind. He should be able to win with this team , otherwise whats the point of him being coach.

He doesn't see any value in homebased players so he does all his Unearthing of talent in Naija Kids born or playing overseas. I am not so sure he is wrong though...We are not doing a good job at home transitioning youth players to adult players.

ohenhen1 wrote:It sickens me seeing Nigerians treat Oyinbo people better than their own people. The same people called for the sacking of the late Shaibu Amodu after he failed to win Afcon are now saying it is okay to keep Rohr. Rohr must be treated like his predecessors. The Nigerian coaches on staff will take over until we hire a substantive coach if Rohr is fired.

Shaibu Amodu was almost 20 years ago. 20 YEARS.

You know maybe people have learned things since that time, maybe we can view things in a different context and see the bigger picture.

For you to suggest we HAVE to act the same way we did nearly 2 decades ago all in the name of being "fair" is not only stupid and moronic, but it is very short sided and counter productive.

Amodu lost to Senegal, who ended up going to the WC and being extra time away from making the semi finals. Nigeria has never reached those heights on the international stage.

Calling for Amodu to be sacked for losing to Senegal is idiotic, as is calling for Rohr to be fired simply for not winning the ANC.

For the last time, his outcome should be based on how we played and not necessarily just arbitrarily if we win it all or not.

ANC wrote:It takes luck to win the Afcon, but having said that, I just do not see Rohr taking SE any further than he already has. He's been good at organizing the SE, but has been poor in unearthing local talent. Without legit local talent, Nigeria is going no where.

What local talent ? There is no local talent.

Why on earth should Rohr "unearth local talent" when he has one of the best and youngest talent pools in Europe that any SE coach has ever had.

You even have talents like Okereke who are being courted by Italian giants, who have not even been capped, and you want him to look for "local talents"

Sorry but you are thinking backwards.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

You know maybe people have learned things since that time, maybe we can view things in a different context and see the bigger picture.

For you to suggest we HAVE to act the same way we did nearly 2 decades ago all in the name of being "fair" is not only stupid and moronic, but it is very short sided and counter productive.

Amodu lost to Senegal, who ended up going to the WC and being extra time away from making the semi finals. Nigeria has never reached those heights on the international stage.

Calling for Amodu to be sacked for losing to Senegal is idiotic, as is calling for Rohr to be fired simply for not winning the ANC.

For the last time, his outcome should be based on how we played and not necessarily just arbitrarily if we win it all or not.
If he cant win Afcon with this set of players... the man should just Quit...
These are the best collection of players on any African team.

We however need a good manager; perhaps we could retain ROHR only as National Team manager for all our national teams.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

JACKAL wrote:

No they are not.

Senegal has a better squad. End of.

Actually even Morocco has a better squad.

Our goalkeeping position is horrible. Dont forget that.

Senegal and Morocco are stronger in all areas of the pitch from Goalkeeper to defence to midfield to attack.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

JACKAL wrote:

No they are not.

Senegal and Morocco are stronger in all areas of the pitch from Goalkeeper to defence to midfield to attack.

I Disagree.... You are just looking at their biggest stars...I am talking about on the average...We beat them all hands down. Most of our players have better experience and are more well known.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

JACKAL wrote:

No they are not.

I Disagree.... You are just looking at their biggest stars...I am talking about on the average...We beat them all hands down. Most of our players have better experience and are more well known.
He is taking 15 veteran players who went with him to the last world......The new guys are really some of the brightest prospects in Africa... Onyekuru, Chukuweze, Ola Aina, Jamiu Collins Paul Oanachu,simon, osimeh and Ike ... And you are right..the goalkeeping position is where we are the weakest...

JACKAL wrote: He is taking 15 veteran players who went with him to the last world......The new guys are really some of the brightest prospects in Africa... Onyekuru, Chukuweze, Ola Aina, Jamiu Collins Paul Oanachu,simon, osimeh and Ike ... And you are right..the goalkeeping position is where we are the weakest...
So Uzoho too is now a 'veteran'?
:blink: :blink: :blink:
Veteran ko, vegetarian ni.

Some of you have actually forgotten how poor Amodu's team was before his sacking. He wasn't sacked for not winning the ANC. He was sacked for the teams poor performance.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

This is 2019 not 1990. Any local talent in Nigeria would have been unearthed by local and foreign agents and parked at some academy ready to be shipped or already shipped to some foreign cub. Most of the players in our league are old and you will rarely find them better than the pool of youth players spread across the world.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

JACKAL wrote:

I would like to see how you win AFCON without good strikers and below average goalkeepers. These two positions are our weak points.

The thread owner is a certified DELUSIONAL LUNATIC that needs his head re-evaluated at yaba institute. A country that had previously failed to qualify for 2 back to back ANC is mandated to win this ANC or terminate their coach despite all the progress he has made lol (I laugh in Swahili) Then the yaba left guy now claims that Nigeria currently has the best set of players in Africa lol. Our best midfielder is at championship and currently clubless, our best defender is a bench player at a small club and our best striker is at !@#$%^& league and you’re arrogant. We can win but we must be humble and cut that entitlement bullcrap. Infact, only absolute embarrassment embarrassment should get rohr terminated

Rohr should have been fired after the world cup. He has to win the Afcon or have the team come close to win it by playing a brand of football that excites Nigerians about the future potential of the team. He has to show that he can improve the team. We are not going to the Afcon to learn. Nigeria is one of the favorites to win it.

Rohr should have been fired right after the 2 nill loss to Croatia. I expect the SE to be out after 4 games...this should speed up the process of firing the we go to tournaments to learn coach

JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Bell wrote:

IT'S ACTUALLY WORSE THAN THAT

For Japan/Korea 2002, people called for the firing of Amodu amd his crew (AKEtrio) after he miraculously qualified the team for the WC and when all hope had been destroyed by the previous foreign coach. Their excuse was that he lost to a 10-man Cameroon team and coming third in the Nations Cup.
What they did to Amoudu was the worst injustice that could happen to a black man. It was down right racist enacted by his own people...
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

Come on, what kind of poll is this??

Football is not only black and white. To win any tournament you need loads of luck.
It’s the performance of the Eagles that should be analysed, and not whether he wins or not.