So Ighalo's goal was offside

Re: So Ighalo's goal was offside

Odas wrote:Don't mind them - jor! They always look for a way to bring-down themselves. We scored a goal and won. Offside or not, I have taken it and that's it
What is this one blathering on about...
We're discussing events in the game. How does it "bring anyone down"?! SMH :roll:
>

ohenhen1 wrote:If it is marginal, advantage goes to striker.
until VAR
Exactly! Funny is that we look at the SAME picture and see DIFFERENT things...
Which betrays the FALLACY of VAR. Ultimately, it often still comes down to a SUBJECTIVE human call.
>

Rawlings wrote:It was. I called it out in the game thread.
Burundi was robbed
I can't wait for Cameroon and Kenya to run a gangbang on the Waakye stars of Ghana, you will as usual disappear into only God knows where again :taunt:
Mods?
Can we discuss Ghana here?

Rawlings wrote:It was. I called it out in the game thread.
Burundi was robbed
I can't wait for Cameroon and Kenya to run a gangbang on the Waakye stars of Ghana, you will as usual disappear into only God knows where again :taunt:
Mods?
Can we discuss Ghana here?

The far side linesman was in the perfect position to determine whether it was offside or not and he ruled in favour of a goal.

Even with graphics, it is near impossible to determine.
chuks69

Post by chuks69 »

From the first time I saw the goal, I suspected offside, because Ighalo ran back from an offside position during the development of the attack, when he saw Aina with the ball.. That alone with VAR could have ruled out the goal..
afc##

Didn't the ball slightly touch the Burundi defender before it got to Ighalo

icee

Post by icee »

chuks69 wrote:From the first time I saw the goal, I suspected offside, because Ighalo ran back from an offside position during the development of the attack, when he saw Aina with the ball.. That alone with VAR could have ruled out the goal..
Igalo was watching the defender closest to him to beat the offside while also anticipating Aina's pass. Two things...

1. Igalo's movement and insticts is exactly what Paul Onoachu didn't have. In the first half, Iwobi put at least 5 good balls in the box.

2. Ighalo tried to beat the offside trap per the guy closest to him ( he failed locally) but I think the guy to the far right kept him on (or so close that even with video it is inconclusive).

Ighalo's movement tho....

Even if that was offside without VAR such goals have always counted!
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

chuks69 wrote:From the first time I saw the goal, I suspected offside, because Ighalo ran back from an offside position during the development of the attack, when he saw Aina with the ball.. That alone with VAR could have ruled out the goal..
I don't think that is true.
Rather I believe the defender closest to him moved forward and then back again, creating the illusion Ighalo "ran back" from an offside position. Tbh, I think even Ighalo was slightly taken by surprise by the backheel but quickly reacted to it.

Linesman work no easy o! :rotf:

what the heck are yalll arguing about, the game done finish, it is all in the achieves, haba.. we get match in 2 days. if to say hunger dey waya una , una for done vamoose

vancity eagle wrote:Yes Bein sports has shown that the goal was indeed offside by a tiny fraction. I suspected such myself.

Is VAR really a good thing ?

Football is about the passion and great goals. Such a wonderful strike would have been cancelled by VAR.

I prefer when they said if the players are about even, give advantage to the attacker.

Are we really going to get scientific and measure by the millimeter who is on and offside.

I think technology is killing the sport personally. We dont need nitpicking every decision with scientific accuracy.
VAR Eaglet abeg sit down

ohenhen1 wrote:If it is marginal, advantage goes to striker.
Tell that to the Cameroon women's teams.

DIMKA76 wrote:Image
That pic is inconclusive. Ola Aina's (right) leg hasn't yet made contact with the ball so we can't tell if Ighalo is offside.

balo wrote: If you are referring to the goal today, he was not offside.
Freeze it at 0:07 (the moment the ball was hit by Aina)...
Super slim margins, Counsel.

The general spirit of the offside rule before robotic VAR attendants killed the game was if it appears even, give the benefit of the doubt to the offensive player in the interest of rewarding teams for taking risks (attacking).

Yes and I agree this is how it should be

BUT

If we had VAR, the goal would not have stood.
I am telling people we will all soon rue the frankestein monster that we created in demanding VAR.
With VAR/Goal line technology Nigeria could conceivably have six AFCONs instead of three (Cameroon could have three instead of five, and Tunisia none) Also with VAR at the 2014 world cup, during the second round match in Brazil, Emenike's goal might've been allowed, and France could've had both Matuidi and Giroud rightfully sent off, meaning Nigeria could've conceivably have gotten to the quarter final and then who knows what.

So until VAR costs us all that I'm willing to go with it.

omk

Post by omk »

He wasn't offside. The Burundi player in the middle kept him onside.
DIMKA76 wrote:Image
zoro

Post by zoro »

balo wrote: If you are referring to the goal today, he was not offside.
Freeze it at 0:07 (the moment the ball was hit by Aina)...
At 0.2 of 0.7 you see that his right leg was at the same level with that of the Burindi central defender.
Hold your shift button and roll the move with sight on the ball until it touches Aina's leg. Then watch the horizontal level of the legs.
This is the trick of VAR subjectivity. They will never give you what I am giving you now.
IGBOS ARE THE IMPORTANT AND USEFUL SLAVES OF NIGERIA. THEY HAVE A CHOICE TO MAKE.