Germany 3 (Popp, Dabritz pen, Schuller) V Nigeria 0

Oguleftie
Re: Germany 3 (Popp, Dabritz pen, Schuller) V Nigeria 0

Post by Oguleftie »

marko wrote:
oscar52 wrote:
marko wrote:Nigeria stage sit-in at WWC over unpaid bonuses

Colin Udoh Special to ESPN

3:29 AM

Nigeria players are staging a sit-in protest, refusing to leave their hotel in France until all of their outstanding bonuses are paid, following the team's elimination from the Women's World Cup on Saturday.

Players told ESPN they are owed bonuses from two games, against Gambia and Senegal, from as far back as two years ago, amounting to 2 million Nigerian naira (about $5,600 U.S.), but they have been paid only half of that. They also say they are owed five days of daily allowance while at the World Cup.

"They paid us 1 million [naira] and said that is all. We want them to pay the balance," one player told ESPN. "Part of that money is from two years ago, the other is from three years ago. And they are also owing us five days' daily allowance here in France.

"Before the World Cup, we asked them for a meeting so that we could discuss our World Cup bonuses, like they did with the men's team last year. They ignored the letter and nobody said anything about it until now."

The players are also demanding their share of the World Cup participation fee from FIFA, even though the tournament's organisers are not scheduled to pay those until September.

Nigeria Football Federation president Amaju Pinnick told ESPN that all the outstanding allowances have been paid.

"We have paid them everything they are being owed," he said.

Nigeria reached the knockout stage of the Women's World Cup before losing to Germany in the round of 16 on Saturday. Elsa/Getty Images

"The only thing outstanding is the participation fee from FIFA, which is not expected to come until after the tournament. But they insist that they want to get paid, as they have spoken to players from Cameroon and France, who told them they have already been paid."

It is not the first time Nigeria's women team has staged a protest over bonuses. After winning the 2016 African title in Cameroon, the squad returned home and staged a public demonstration on the streets of the capital, Abuja, to demand payment of their outstanding allowances.

In 2004, the team also sat in for three days at their hotel in South Africa after winning the African title until the allowances were settled.

Nigeria reached the knockout stage of the Women's World Cup in France before losing 3-0 to Germany in the round of 16 on Saturday in Grenoble.

https://global.espn.com/football/fifa-w ... id-bonuses

Very typical, we black people always self destruct, but then again, its a white thing right?
I have to say I was expecting this next. :lol: :lol:
Its very typical of the authorities to short change the players at every given opportunity, this is part of the reason why they always fail to perform on the big stage, both male/female

Those criminals in the NFF should be stoned!
What you do is to continue/resume & expand the EFCC investigation on the NFF.

marko wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

Nigeria players are staging a sit-in protest, refusing to leave their hotel in France until all of their outstanding bonuses are paid, following the team's elimination from the Women's World Cup on Saturday.

Players told ESPN they are owed bonuses from two games, against Gambia and Senegal, from as far back as two years ago, amounting to 2 million Nigerian naira (about $5,600 U.S.), but they have been paid only half of that. They also say they are owed five days of daily allowance while at the World Cup.

"They paid us 1 million [naira] and said that is all. We want them to pay the balance," one player told ESPN. "Part of that money is from two years ago, the other is from three years ago. And they are also owing us five days' daily allowance here in France.

"Before the World Cup, we asked them for a meeting so that we could discuss our World Cup bonuses, like they did with the men's team last year. They ignored the letter and nobody said anything about it until now."

The players are also demanding their share of the World Cup participation fee from FIFA, even though the tournament's organisers are not scheduled to pay those until September.

Nigeria Football Federation president Amaju Pinnick told ESPN that all the outstanding allowances have been paid.

Nigeria reached the knockout stage of the Women's World Cup before losing to Germany in the round of 16 on Saturday. Elsa/Getty Images

"The only thing outstanding is the participation fee from FIFA, which is not expected to come until after the tournament. But they insist that they want to get paid, as they have spoken to players from Cameroon and France, who told them they have already been paid."

It is not the first time Nigeria's women team has staged a protest over bonuses. After winning the 2016 African title in Cameroon, the squad returned home and staged a public demonstration on the streets of the capital, Abuja, to demand payment of their outstanding allowances.

In 2004, the team also sat in for three days at their hotel in South Africa after winning the African title until the allowances were settled.

Nigeria reached the knockout stage of the Women's World Cup in France before losing 3-0 to Germany in the round of 16 on Saturday in Grenoble.

Very typical, we black people always self destruct, but then again, its a white thing right?
Its very typical of the authorities to short change the players at every given opportunity, this is part of the reason why they always fail to perform on the big stage, both male/female

The reason Naija doen't perform well on the big stage has nothing to do with money. We just don't have the talents/skills/composure/psychology/fitness to get it done. By now, nobody, and I mean NOBODY, should be surprised about unpaid bonuses. Any player wanting to play for Naija must accept this reality before signing to play for Naija. Period!

Oguleftie wrote:
marko wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

Does EFCC have jurisdiction? FIFA should have provisions for stuff like this. Players should be able to ask for FIFA's investigation in a matter like this (since FIFA doesn't want federal government's interference), but FIFA itself is corrupt and that's the reason we keep facing this issue over and over again.

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

kolinzo wrote:
Oguleftie wrote:
marko wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

Does EFCC have jurisdiction? FIFA should have provisions for stuff like this. Players should be able to ask for FIFA's investigation in a matter like this (since FIFA doesn't want federal government's interference), but FIFA itself is corrupt and that's the reason we keep facing this issue over and over again.
Fed did look at ways to go about such & some other issues, that is how EFCC got into it..

kolinzo wrote:
marko wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

The reason Naija doen't perform well on the big stage has nothing to do with money. We just don't have the talents/skills/composure/psychology/fitness to get it done. By now, nobody, and I mean NOBODY, should be surprised about unpaid bonuses. Any player wanting to play for Naija must accept this reality before signing to play for Naija. Period!

What a stupid statement to make...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

kolinzo wrote:
marko wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

I THINK...

…I can agree with you here.

Bell wrote:
kolinzo wrote:
marko wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

I THINK...

Is it the sole reason? No.

But it is one of the reasons why....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Bell wrote:
kolinzo wrote:
marko wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

I THINK...

Is it the sole reason? No.

But it is one of the reasons why....

I THINK...

…I can also agree with you here.

I am unhappy to read in certain comments, a cultural acceptance of not paying people their dues when it is due.

We have too many adverse conditions in Africa that stops us from fulfilling our massive potentials, our Europeans / south Americans come to these tournaments 100% prepared, mentally, physically, all i am reading in the media today were the disgraceful behaviour of the cameroon players, This is no longer the 90s, we can surely do better than this

Cristao II wrote:I am unhappy to read in certain comments, a cultural acceptance of not paying people their dues when it is due.
...those are the supporters of thieves i n Nigeria. Tell them the sky is blue they will vehemently say you are lying. A simple agreement made to players before a tournament is not fulfilled and players protest, and they called names....I suspect next will be the SE when their AFCON is over. siddon look.
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

No way!!
Come on... in 2019?? :ohmy:
These NFF people totally have no shame
YNWA

heavyd wrote:

No way!!
Come on... in 2019?? :ohmy:
These NFF people totally have no shame
The players have no shame as well. After such woefull performance, most wont even ask for money in patriotic countries but not this hungry players. I have always maintained there are better ways to go about this things, there are the courts and government officers that can help rather than always disgracing the country overseas. When Oyinbo start stereotyping yall now una go complain but this is the types of scenes that feeds the stereotypes. I know Nigeria's institutions are not robust enough but its still not completely ineffective as demonstrated by Innosun against Guarantee Trust Bank.

oscar52 wrote:
The players have no shame as well. After such woefull performance, most wont even ask for money in patriotic countries but not this hungry players. I have always maintained there are better ways to go about this things, there are the courts and government officers that can help rather than always disgracing the country overseas. When Oyinbo start stereotyping yall now una go complain but this is the types of scenes that feeds the stereotypes. I know Nigeria's institutions are not robust enough but its still not completely ineffective as demonstrated by Innosun against Guarantee Trust Bank.
...patriotic countries do things by the book, and as promised. Is Nigeria a "patriotic" country?

The countries you may referring to promise to take care of players when on national duty, they did, reason why don't hear pim as if they were playing for free.

kolinzo wrote:
marko wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

What a stupid statement to make...
That's because you don't have a brain to fathom simple logic.

kolinzo wrote:
txj wrote:What a stupid statement to make...
That's because you don't have a brain to fathom simple logic.

No. Its you, stupid!