Against Madagascar

We have to take a look at the substitutes. I am not impressed with the team performance so far despite getting 6 points from 2 games. Players on yellow cards should be rested. Looks like we are stuck with Akpeyi now, I don't like it, but no other options now. We have to put a solid defense in front of him to protect him.

---------------------------------------------------Akpeyi------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-----Aina------------------------Ekong----------------------Omeruo-----------------------------------Collins------------------------

------------------------Mikel----------------------Iwobi----------------------Ndidi----------------------------------------

------------Chukwuze--------------------------------Osimhen---------------------Onyekuru------------------------------------

Ighalo and Kalu can come in as subs. Musa,and Etebo are on a yellow card.

Re: Against Madagascar

Initially I thought we should do whole sale change on the team to give others the chance since we already qualified for the second round, but on second thought I think we should use the game to build chemistry.

I would maintain the same starting line up as today except those with yellow card, and replace Musa and Ighalo with Osimhen and Onyekuru to see what they can do.

ohenhen1 wrote:We have to take a look at the substitutes. I am not impressed with the team performance so far despite getting 6 points from 2 games. Players on yellow cards should be rested. Looks like we are stuck with Akpeyi now, I don't like it, but no other options now. We have to put a solid defense in front of him to protect him.

---------------------------------------------------Akpeyi------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-----Aina------------------------Ekong----------------------Omeruo-----------------------------------Collins------------------------

------------------------Mikel----------------------Iwobi----------------------Ndidi----------------------------------------

------------Chukwuze--------------------------------Osimhen---------------------Onyekuru------------------------------------

Ndidi should be rested, what is ogu doing there on the bench as a cheerleader, time for him to play.

1naija wrote:Initially I thought we should do whole sale change on the team to give others the chance since we already qualified for the second round, but on second thought I think we should use the game to build chemistry.

I would maintain the same starting line up as today except those with yellow card, and replace Musa and Ighalo with Osimhen and Onyekuru to see what they can do.
:agree: :agree:, but others need to play so they can show us what they have. It might be a good thing in the end because it provides us the opportunity to rest our men, especially those who fell sick earlier. In all, coach Rohr is in charge and he knows what to do.

ohenhen1 wrote:We have to take a look at the substitutes. I am not impressed with the team performance so far despite getting 6 points from 2 games. Players on yellow cards should be rested. Looks like we are stuck with Akpeyi now, I don't like it, but no other options now. We have to put a solid defense in front of him to protect him.

They need to rest some key players like Ndidi and bring in Kalu, Chukweze and Onyekuru.

...too much resting (even if na for one match) creates complacency. Allow continuity unless safe for injury risk.

We must play our best team because we haven't played to our true potential and we haven't won our group.

1naija wrote:Initially I thought we should do whole sale change on the team to give others the chance since we already qualified for the second round, but on second thought I think we should use the game to build chemistry.

:agree: :agree:, but others need to play so they can show us what they have. It might be a good thing in the end because it provides us the opportunity to rest our men, especially those who fell sick earlier. In all, coach Rohr is in charge and he knows what to do.
You dont use a tournament to have players show you what they have.

TEAM COHESION IS GREAT, BUT...

…I'd put the health of important first team players above that.

The most important thing is for us to rest our yellow carded players. Thus Mikel comes in for Etebo and Onyekuru for Musa. Then we need to get Jamilu Collins in at Left Back (if he's returned to full fitness) which means that Aina reverts to Right Back. I suspect that Rohr will look to get Samuel Kalu some playing time as well. He likely starts, with Chukwueze coming on in the 2nd half.

mystic wrote:The most important thing is for us to rest our yellow carded players. Thus Mikel comes in for Etebo and Onyekuru for Musa. Then we need to get Jamilu Collins in at Left Back (if he's returned to full fitness) which means that Aina reverts to Right Back. I suspect that Rohr will look to get Samuel Kalu some playing time as well. He likely starts, with Chukwueze coming on in the 2nd half.

The return of :thumbs: Samuel kalu to the left wing and :thumbs: chukwueze on the right, With any decent striker ighalo/onuachu/osimhen and the SE is winning the nations cup. I just hope daft rohr is not stuck on stupid and really believing Moses Simon deserves to start for SE.

Nigeria is potentially looking at a 7 match tournament (2 down, 5 to go).
Thus, it is imparative that the squad utilizes its depth - meaning all available reasources are ready to be deployed without skipping a beat. Good thing about this squad is that they seem to be deep in personnel.

The likes of Ndidi, Etebo, Omeruo, Ola Aina have played 2 full games and should be rested. Excluding Akpeyi, as he needs game time to build his confidence.
Players like Balogun, Troost, Chukwueze, Mikel, Simon, Awaziem, Onuachu Musa and Iwobi have played 1+ games so far.
Onyekuru, Kalu, Osimhen, Collins and Ogu are yet to feature or touch the ball.

That being said, Nigeria can confidently field the following and take care of business against the Madagascans on Sunday, without necessarily breaking a sweat:

4-3-3: Akpeyi - Awaziem, Balogun, Troost-Ekong, Collins - Mikel, Iwobi, Ogu - Simon/Kalu, Chukwueze/Onyekuru, Osimhen/Onuachu.
3-5-2: Akpeyi - Awaziem, Balogun, Troost-Ekong - Simon/Kalu, Iwobi, Mikel, Ogu, Collins - Onuachu/Osimhen, Musa/Onyekuru

Rohr has the luxury of playing a relatively fresh squad against Madagascar without the SE skipping a beat. This team has more than enough depth to pickup all three points in this match.
Key thing is: player management. Hopefully, Rohr fully understands the need to keep the players fresh!.
mystic wrote:The most important thing is for us to rest our yellow carded players. Thus Mikel comes in for Etebo and Onyekuru for Musa. Then we need to get Jamilu Collins in at Left Back (if he's returned to full fitness) which means that Aina reverts to Right Back. I suspect that Rohr will look to get Samuel Kalu some playing time as well. He likely starts, with Chukwueze coming on in the 2nd half.

Otitokoro wrote:
That being said, Nigeria can confidently field the following and take care of business against the Madagascans on Sunday, without necessarily breaking a sweat:
What's the basis of this statement? You must have not watched the Madagascar vs Guinea game . They are as good as Guinea. Unless you are suggesting we did not break a sweat against Guinea.

9jaMan wrote:

The return of :thumbs: Samuel kalu to the left wing and :thumbs: chukwueze on the right, With any decent striker ighalo/onuachu/osimhen and the SE is winning the nations cup. I just hope daft rohr is not stuck on stupid and really believing Moses Simon deserves to start for SE.

Madagascar will still have something to play for as 3 teams can potentially qualify so I wouldn’t change too much but obviously anyone on a card should be rested and I totally agree those that feel sick earlier may need a rest along with anyone carrying a knock or injury so I looks like nature will pick the team as there a lot of reasons to try some new faces!

Bell wrote:

TEAM COHESION IS GREAT, BUT...

I'd put the health of important first team players above that.
Thank you! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

My problem with Madagascar.....is that Rohr play

Akpeyi

Omeruo....Balogun....Ekong.....Aina

Ogu.....Mikel

....Iwobi

Samu....Oshimen....Onyekuru

And we hammer them then the next game....Ogu starts instead of Ndidi or he plays Collins on the left and then Collins retains his place.

Aina is not a great RWB/RB but is a great LWB....

We will lose a lot if he is moved to accommodate Collins or to cover the RB position

Synopsis wrote:We must play our best team because we haven't played to our true potential and we haven't won our group.
To an extent but I certainly will understand the benching of players who are on yellow cards. You do not want to lose them when the second phase of the tournament begins (unless the tournament rule expunges all yellow cards when going into the next phase). It will be foolhardy to do so.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
mapet

Post by mapet »

On the mark

From what I have seen, Madagascar appears to be the strongest team in our group. They are taking Burundi to the cleaners!

the tournament is one whole month
what's this about resting players

Ayo Akinfe wrote:From what I have seen, Madagascar appears to be the strongest team in our group. They are taking Burundi to the cleaners!
They are? I am not watching but isn't the game 0-0 at halftime? :?

Ayo Akinfe wrote:From what I have seen, Madagascar appears to be the strongest team in our group. They are taking Burundi to the cleaners!
See logic :rotf: