I can see why some of our players fail to get big club moves

[1] Nigerian fans get carried away with victories but some of us who watch the games microscopically, can see some of the flaws in our players, which big European clubsides latch on to. It is easy to see why many of our players are not playing for the likes of Real Madrid, Barcelona, Man City, Liverpool, etc

[2] Ola Aina is simply too easy to beat as a defender

[3] Jamiu Collins does not provide enough of a threat going forward

[4] Kenneth Omeruo is too weak in the air

[5] William Ekong's distribution is woeful

[6] Oghene Etebo commits too many fouls in dangerous areas

[7] Wilfred Ndidi, arguably our best player does not impose himself enough on games as he should do

[8] Samuel Chukwueze needs to work on using his right foot

[9] Odion Ighalo is simply not consistent enough

[10] Alex Iwobi has got to make the transition into a player who delivers his best week-in-week-out. On his day he is super but hey, he needs to but in such performances every week.
Re: I can see why some of our players fail to get big club m

Ndidi linked to Manchester United.

Osimhen is linked to AC Milan and Atlanta

Chukwuze linked to Bayern, Liverpool and Barcelona

Onyekuru linked to Valencia and Real Betis.

Awaziem linked to Nantes.

Omeruo linked to Lilles or could stay at Leganes.

Aina already made the move to Torino
Ekong to Udinese
Ebuehi to Benfica
Iwobi is at Arsenal
Collins was okay defensively, will play in the Bundesliga next season.

Our boys are doing okay.

LOL.
None of these points is true....

ohenhen1 wrote:Ndidi linked to Manchester United.

Ekong to Udinese
Ebuehi to Benfica
Iwobi is at Arsenal

Our boys are doing okay.
You are spot on. Linked and playing week-in-week-out for these teams is a totally different ball game.

You are happy with "doing OK" whereas the likes of Brazil, Argentina, Germany, France, Spain, etc want to excel!

Ekong to Udinese
Ebuehi to Benfica
Iwobi is at Arsenal

Our boys are doing okay.
You are spot on. Linked and playing week-in-week-out for these teams is a totally different ball game.

You are happy with "doing OK" whereas the likes of Brazil, Argentina, Germany, France, Spain, etc want to excel!
Nigeria players also face major obstacles like home grown rule and lack of a European passport. It is not a level playing field. Nigeria should look at developing the local league.

Just state that we want Nwakali and we will win the WC :)

Rich from someone who sees Rabiu Ibrahim as SE saviour :taunt:

wanaj0 wrote:Just state that we want Nwakali and we will win the WC :)

Rich from someone who sees Rabiu Ibrahim as SE saviour :taunt:
:clap: :clap: KPOM
achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Nigerian fans get carried away with victories but some of us who watch the games microscopically, can see some of the flaws in our players, which big European clubsides latch on to. It is easy to see why many of our players are not playing for the likes of Real Madrid, Barcelona, Man City, Liverpool, etc

[7] Wilfred Ndidi, arguably our best player does not impose himself enough on games as he should do

[10] Alex Iwobi has got to make the transition into a player who delivers his best week-in-week-out. On his day he is super but hey, he needs to but in such performances every week.

Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).

Someone needs to fill a form. Ayo this 10 pointers nor be am this time Abeg.. I looked at them microscopically a d they were all over the place. I have seen better 10 pointers from your stable.

achuzia-the-air-raid wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] Nigerian fans get carried away with victories but some of us who watch the games microscopically, can see some of the flaws in our players, which big European clubsides latch on to. It is easy to see why many of our players are not playing for the likes of Real Madrid, Barcelona, Man City, Liverpool, etc

He should pick any National Team and analyze their individual weakness.

Anyway, Ndidi is unplayable in Africa and the EPL. He dominated EVERY midfielder he encountered in the EPL. To the point his coach started telling him not to do too much... another attempt at stifling him. When do coaches ever realize that some players don't fit a mould? Guy reminds me of a young PV4. And he is still growing.

Ekong to Udinese
Ebuehi to Benfica
Iwobi is at Arsenal

Our boys are doing okay.

They have the leagues and clubs to do so where as our players have to fend for themselves and prove their existence so I think we are doing well!
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Thu Jul 11, 2019 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Some of the lame excuses several of you guys come up with are just pathetic. We have set the bar so low in all we do, it is no surprise Nigeria remains under-developed.

Aina has been solid, only beaten once by a plantain eater due to unfortunate break of the ball, and plantain muscles. You should stop watching soccer, your glasses are color tinted.

Harsh thread. Every world class players have a weakness. If you want to be picky you can always find a flaw in a good player.

olu wrote:Harsh thread. Every world class players have a weakness. If you want to be picky you can always find a flaw in a good player.
Why should we not aim for perfection?

Ayo is essentially throwing out the baby with the bath water here. Because his fav Mikel is not playing, none of the players are good enough in his eyes. Etebo is the main target because he has said here more than once that Mikel should be in his spot.

Let me pull an Ayo. The following are not world class for the following reasons:

Marcelo gets caught out of position when he overlaps.

Pique is too slow.

Robben can't use his right foot.

Ramos makes unnecessary fouls and gets too many cards.

Players aren't perfect.

olu wrote:Harsh thread. Every world class players have a weakness. If you want to be picky you can always find a flaw in a good player.
Why should we not aim for perfection?
Because perfection does not exist. Lionel Messi is supposed to be as near-perfect as can be, yet he can't buy a championship for his country.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

The biggest reason is dumbness -- A/K/A decision-making. When scouts go out to watch you, that is one of the most important things they take into consideration.

Ekong to Udinese
Ebuehi to Benfica
Iwobi is at Arsenal

Our boys are doing okay.

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Nigerian government is happy to be "doing ok" chasing cows on the streets and people farmland while the likes of America, Russia, China, Europe are building rockets, going to space and back.

Everything get him level. Nigeria is never on same level with Brazil, Argie, Germany, etc.

If you want to find out how good these guys are, i hope they do win the nations cup so we can see them at the confederation cup playing the likes of Brazil, France, Portugal, then i hope we dont blame VAR or biased referees, what we get away with in African football will get punished routinely by better organised sides, i am not getting carried away because i know Nigeria in comparison to France are miles apart!
We need our players performing at the highest levels, this means they need to be playing for Barcelona, Real madrid, chelsea, man united, city, liverpool, bayern munich, just like the class of 1994 once did

Ekong to Udinese
Ebuehi to Benfica
Iwobi is at Arsenal

Our boys are doing okay.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

marko wrote:If you want to find out how good these guys are, i hope they do win the nations cup so we can see them at the confederation cup playing the likes of Brazil, France, Portugal, then i hope we dont blame VAR or biased referees, what we get away with in African football will get punished routinely by better organised sides, i am not getting carried away because i know Nigeria in comparison to France are miles apart!
We need our players performing at the highest levels, this means they need to be playing for Barcelona, Real madrid, chelsea, man united, city, liverpool, bayern munich, just like the class of 1994 once did

Our people simply do not get it. When was the last time an African team played well at a Confederations Cup?