Can someone please explain why Ighalo is still in the team.

esosa
Can someone please explain why Ighalo is still in the team.

Post by esosa »

Please help me guys - I still dont understand Ighalo's value to this team. I have watched the matches and inspite of his recent goals - what on earth is he doing in that team. He constantly misses open goals and is even sometimes a liability when he goes to defend. Soccer experts - please help
Re: Can someone please explain why Ighalo is still in the te

If you have been watching this tournament and you have to be told what Ighalo brings to the table then it is a shame, a damn shame if you ask me.

Btw what open goals is Ighalo constantly missing? And I know you did not just say Ighalo is a liability as a defender...Fans sha...smdh

First time i want to suggest a post threshold for thread openers. This is what happens when anybody can join and open a thread.

esosa wrote:Please help me guys - I still dont understand Ighalo's value to this team. I have watched the matches and inspite of his recent goals - what on earth is he doing in that team. He constantly misses open goals and is even sometimes a liability when he goes to defend. Soccer experts - please help
Seriously if you have been watching the AFCON and still need verification on Ighalo's importance to this team, then no one can help you.

esosa wrote:Please help me guys - I still dont understand Ighalo's value to this team. I have watched the matches and inspite of his recent goals - what on earth is he doing in that team. He constantly misses open goals and is even sometimes a liability when he goes to defend. Soccer experts - please help
First, Ighalo is not a 'defender', though everyone is suppose to defend in a team. Second, if you think Ighalo should not have been in this team, please who do you think should have been, in his place?

Luckily, it's just your opinion which means nothing, so ... let the coaches do their jobs and please, support our team. They are doing well, so far.

I still can't believe there are people out there still bashing Ighalo.

Ugbowo wrote:First time i want to suggest a post threshold for thread openers. This is what happens when anybody can join and open a thread.
You no see the guy name? The guy na your brother. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

olu wrote:I still can't believe there are people out there still bashing Ighalo.
Maybe; just maybe, they are AGENTS and are still looking to 'squeeze' their clients into the team through the back-door :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Is this a personal matter or football related?Ighalos performance against the African Champions shows exactly why he's still playing,he was a marked man yesterday but that opened things up for others!

True but ighalo has to be faster to connect to crosses from Musa and chukwueze.

...the type of brains that rule Nigeria.
The movers and shakers of things in the land.
The big boys and gals of Nigeria, wanna know why a player, one of the best so far, is still in Egypt.

e go tey for Nigeria to turn around with this kin mind set :sad: :sad:

He is still a wastepiple, he can score in pluto for all I care.

Hmmmm, could it be because he scored 3 of the 7 goals we've scored in this tournament so far?

Ighalo....is doing well in this tournament and should start...but on no grounds should he have played 90mins against SA...he wasn’t marked....he was just poor...

He tried s Cruyff turn, lost the ball and fell...ref ignored him. He was not quick enough to connect with Chukwueze’s pull back.

His contribution is immense so far.....the question is what are the back-up doing in SA if they can’t get a game?

We know that Onuacho is not yet ready...why was he picked? Oshimen.......

Do you know that we have a combined 35goals players on the bench and they are yet to touch the ball and we are struggling attacking wise....not Ighalo’s fault though

Ighalo has 3 goals so far and husband still disrespected SMH what can Nigerian footballers do to please their fans?

Problem ain’t Ighalo....no one has proven that they are better than him....but no one has been given a change either...no one is calling for Onuacho to play.....

Ighalo is great....how bad is Oshimen??

Enyi wrote:Problem ain’t Ighalo....no one has proven that they are better than him....but no one has been given a change either...no one is calling for Onuacho to play.....

Victor Osimhen is not bad. It boils down to the coach's preference. Ighalo is a handful.
Rohr mentioned that Osimhen is not strong on the ball and with his back at goal.
Rohr likes a CF that is good at hold up play. Something Ighalo excels at.

Again, it goes back to the 'dead rubber' game against Madagascar... why Osimhen wasn't played. :?

How about being the highest scorer for Nigeria in the AFCON 2019 qualifiers and currently in the ongoing AFCON itself? Is that enough for you?

Orion wrote:How about being the highest scorer for Nigeria in the AFCON 2019 qualifiers and currently in the ongoing AFCON itself? Is that enough for you?
Apparently that doesn’t count according to some people.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Musa would have score more goals by now and you can take that to the BANK. So would have Osihmen. This is a very valid question by OP but though slightly dumb, since you cannot change your team list while already in the tournament. :biggrin:
BAP

Post by BAP »

Valid Question

Ugbowo wrote:First time i want to suggest a post threshold for thread openers. This is what happens when anybody can join and open a thread.

BAP

Post by BAP »

Enyi wrote:Problem ain’t Ighalo....no one has proven that they are better than him....but no one has been given a change either...no one is calling for Onuacho to play.....

Victor Osimhen is not bad. It boils down to the coach's preference. Ighalo is a handful.
Rohr mentioned that Osimhen is not strong on the ball and with his back at goal.
Rohr likes a CF that is good at hold up play. Something Ighalo excels at.

Again, it goes back to the 'dead rubber' game against Madagascar... why Osimhen wasn't played. :?

Per the underlined .. Hold Up play may be useful for a pressing team not a counter attacking team which is apparently what Rohr prefers ..

Ighalo is only a handful in the Chinese 2nd division he is as impotent as they come against real opposition