Getting A Goalkeeper Should Be A Priority

Post by 404 »

Nigeria’s priority after AFCON 2019 should be identifying and securing at least 3 decent goalkeepers. The Super Eagles weakest department is in the goalkeeping department. None of the present goalkeepers inspire confidence. Our weakness in the goalkeeping department is like a sore thumb! I just don’t understand why we cannot secure one decent goalkeeper. Akpeyi had one ball on target and he let it in because of poor positioning. The guy inspires no confidence...it will be a different proposition if we meet a team that has more balls on target. I blame Rohr for not upgrading the goalkeeping department and sticking with what I can only describe as goalkeepers that just don’t make the grade!
nzeogwu
Re: Getting A Goalkeeper Should Be A Priority

Post by nzeogwu »

No worries bro. We will seal the deal on Okoye, Okonkwo and give the guy in Croatia a try.

There's a German Naija boy, rohr had in mind for this Afcon, but he got hurt

404 wrote:Nigeria’s priority after AFCON 2019 should be identifying and securing at least 3 decent goalkeepers. The Super Eagles weakest department is in the goalkeeping department. None of the present goalkeepers inspire confidence. Our weakness in the goalkeeping department is like a sore thumb! I just don’t understand why we cannot secure one decent goalkeeper. Akpeyi had one ball on target and he let it in because of poor positioning. The guy inspires no confidence...it will be a different proposition if we meet a team that has more balls on target. I blame Rohr for not upgrading the goalkeeping department and sticking with what I can only describe as goalkeepers that just don’t make the grade!
Have you been following the goalkeeper story at all?
If there is one position that has generated concern and debate above all others it is the GK dept.
Sounds like you are expecting him to work miracles by manufacturing a GK out of his a$$.

I doubt there is any one single position Rohr has expressed a public opinion on more than his GKs! :idea:

:lol: :lol: "Brazil do not do goalkeeper in the past until recently" PELE

the best form of defense is to attack constantly, i am of the opinion that Naija GK department is good enough but can be improved upon// none of the GKs should be shorter than 1.88m :thumb: ..

Isn't Akpereyi taller than any of the remaining GKs? :P

Yes it should. There's no guarantee that the likes of Arthur Okonkwo or Maduka Okoye will come good, but we need to try other options. Finding other AM options should also be a priority. Iwobi can't play every game.

nzeogwu wrote:No worries bro. We will seal the deal on Okoye, Okonkwo and give the guy in Croatia a try.

we have in our local league

404 wrote:Nigeria’s priority after AFCON 2019 should be identifying and securing at least 3 decent goalkeepers. The Super Eagles weakest department is in the goalkeeping department. None of the present goalkeepers inspire confidence. Our weakness in the goalkeeping department is like a sore thumb! I just don’t understand why we cannot secure one decent goalkeeper. Akpeyi had one ball on target and he let it in because of poor positioning. The guy inspires no confidence...it will be a different proposition if we meet a team that has more balls on target. I blame Rohr for not upgrading the goalkeeping department and sticking with what I can only describe as goalkeepers that just don’t make the grade!
Kpom!

He has ZERO command of his area.

He is like the opposite of Ezenwa (don't know if it is bad or good) in terms of reading the game and coming out... sometimes it is a good thing but most times it betrays a lack of awareness.

That headed goal got me pissed off. Pissed off that he did not challenge the header.

All said and done, i am glad he hasn't faced clear cut chances.

Kpom!

He is like the opposite of Ezenwa (don't know if it is bad or good) in terms of reading the game and coming out... sometimes it is a good thing but most times it betrays a lack of awareness.

That headed goal got me pissed off. Pissed off that he did not challenge the header.

He probably thought it was offside just like the rest of the players and the rest of us watching on TV. I didn't think he made a bad decision on that play.

Kpom!

He probably thought it was offside just like the rest of the players and the rest of us watching on TV. I didn't think he made a bad decision on that play.
You have gotta be kidding me! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Babs, you are too intelligent for this comment. abeg! Have you ever heard "you play to the whistle??" This is how teams end up losing based on a player's stupidity. WTH!!!?? He probably thought it was offside! And so what?? even if the man is 500 yards offside, you get to the ball, put it under your control before you give a dammn about whether it is offside or not. Come on! Abeg!!!

Kpom!

Lai-lai.
That woulda been an afterthought.
He was out of position, truth be told. :idea:
The Observer

Post by The Observer »

Robin Udegbe of KFC Uerdingen in the German 3rd Liga, expressed interest to represent Nigeria. At 28, he may be a better option today, while the coaches work with Okoye, Osigwe and Uzoho for the future.
Every soul shall taste of death. And you shall be paid on the Day of Resurrection only that which you have fairly earned. Whoever is removed from the fire of Hell and is made to enter the Garden, he indeed is successful. The life of this world is nothing but the comfort of illusion – Quran 3: 185

The Observer wrote:Robin Udegbe of KFC Uerdingen in the German 3rd Liga, expressed interest to represent Nigeria. At 28, he may be a better option today, while the coaches work with Okoye, Osigwe and Uzoho for the future.
Heard about him, seems a decent prospect. We should definitely look to cap Okoye, Nwokolor, Alampasu, and Osigwe for the future...

Have you been following the goalkeeper story at all?
If there is one position that has generated concern and debate above all others it is the GK dept.
Sounds like you are expecting him to work miracles by manufacturing a GK out of his a$$.

I doubt there is any one single position Rohr has expressed a public opinion on more than his GKs! :idea:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Not easy to be a GK. Know the game before complaining..

The prospect of us fielding a 28 year old goalie in the German 3rd division does not make me excited.
The Observer wrote:Robin Udegbe of KFC Uerdingen in the German 3rd Liga, expressed interest to represent Nigeria. At 28, he may be a better option today, while the coaches work with Okoye, Osigwe and Uzoho for the future.

Cameroon has so many. I am sure some of them would likely be from Ambazzonia

ANC wrote:Cameroon has so many. I am sure some of them would likely be from Ambazzonia
I think FIFA allows for a player to trace his roots back as far as a grandparent.
There will be many western Cameroonians of Nigerian descent

I still have a lot of hope for Uzoho and Alampasu. Arsenal Okonkwo should also be on the list. We should also look at the local league. Not just the first division. Also heard some good things about Jonathan Zacalla. I am disappointed in the progress of Akpan Udoh and Emanuel Daniel.

When are you going to start the manufacturing process?

ohenhen1 wrote:I still have a lot of hope for Uzoho and Alampasu. Arsenal Okonkwo should also be on the list. We should also look at the local league. Not just the first division. Also heard some good things about Jonathan Zacalla. I am disappointed in the progress of Akpan Udoh and Emanuel Daniel.

Wow. We'll be set for 15 years if we get this guy

niyi wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:I still have a lot of hope for Uzoho and Alampasu. Arsenal Okonkwo should also be on the list. We should also look at the local league. Not just the first division. Also heard some good things about Jonathan Zacalla. I am disappointed in the progress of Akpan Udoh and Emanuel Daniel.

Wow. We'll be set for 15 years if we get this guy
Kai we need to get this boy o, Waffi abeg hope you are on the job!