Should this be allowed? Super Eagles kit rip-off

Eddydove
Should this be allowed? Super Eagles kit rip-off

Post by Eddydove »

I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...
Full story (and photos) here: https://www.goal.com/en/news/extra-time ... iabyfak4k6

What can be done about this? Or should be take it as flattery that they are attempting to emulate our beloved Super Eagles?

Best,

'Though tribe and tongue may differ, in brotherhood we stand'
Re: Should this be allowed? Super Eagles kit rip-off

There's no 'Brotherhood' here.
This is an outright copyright infringement and theft.
Addidas and the NFF should sue them.
Eddydove wrote:I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...
Full story (and photos) here: https://www.goal.com/en/news/extra-time ... iabyfak4k6

What can be done about this? Or should be take it as flattery that they are attempting to emulate our beloved Super Eagles?

Best,

Eddydove wrote:I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...

Best,

Isn't that a Nike issue?

Me, just like you, I see it as a compliment (flattery). That our Jersey is good enough for a professional side to want to copy.

We have moved up in the world. :thumbs: :clap:

Good job Nike.

peakmilk should be flogged for this..I blame him 100%

Sorry, Nike, not Addidas.

Best,

Isn't that a Nike issue?

Me, just like you, I see it as a compliment (flattery). That our Jersey is good enough for a professional side to want to copy.

Good job Nike.

Best,

Isn't that a Nike issue?

Good job Nike.
KPOM. I would think that the rights belong to Nike. Thus, that would mean it is a Nike issue. Maybe, Nike is a lso supplying kits to the club mentioned in the story.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Otitokoro wrote:There's no 'Brotherhood' here.
Eddy dove wrote:I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...

Best,

Adidas can’t get involved.

Otitokoro wrote:There's no 'Brotherhood' here.
Eddy dove wrote:I'm sure a few of you guys have already seen this, but Tunisian second division side EO Sidi Bouzid have completely copied the iconic Super Eagles jersey for their new season kit. I can't believe it, and I can't understand how it can be allowed. I mean, lovely kit and all, but this is just copying...

Best,

Adidas can’t get involved.

Nike probably gave it to them. Why should we care it doesn't cut into our profits.

Blatant theft :curse:

Check the Manufacturer's logo on the jersey. It does NOT say Nike.
This is theft and Nike and Nigeria can sue them (and should)!
Understand a Turkish Div 2 club also has a similar design. Both clubs should be sued.
kalani JR wrote:Nike probably gave it to them. Why should we care it doesn't cut into our profits.

Those who are for us can't be against us. I'm sure they have a soft spot for Naija football. You can't hate us and be wearing same Jersey as us.

This is nothing more than the best form of flattery

Imitation is the greatest form of flattery.

No issues here. Let Nike lawyers sort it out. I am just proud of our jersey.
Now if only Nike can do something about our away jersey.

Otitokoro wrote:Check the Manufacturer's logo on the jersey. It does NOT say Nike.
This is theft and Nike and Nigeria can sue them (and should)!
Understand a Turkish Div 2 club also has a similar design. Both clubs should be sued.
kalani JR wrote:Nike probably gave it to them. Why should we care it doesn't cut into our profits.
I don't think the NFF can sue them it's Nike's IP so it's up to them.

First of all there is no copy right infringement involved here. How many teams did you not see use the green white green jerseys before we started using after adidas ditched us. Sports Jerseys designs are one area where copy right ownership isn’t set in stone. The Brazilian national team Jersey is probably the most copied sports apparel and I don’t see them suing anyone.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote:First of all there is no copy right infringement involved here. How many teams did you not see use the green white green jerseys before we started using after adidas ditched us. Sports Jerseys designs are one area where copy right ownership isn’t set in stone. The Brazilian national team Jersey is probably the most copied sports apparel and I don’t see them suing anyone.
unique design can't be copyrighted?

It would be nice if Nigeria won something with this Jersey

ANC wrote:It would be nice if Nigeria won something with this Jersey
It would be nice if Nigeria won something with any jersey

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."