Battle of the Wingers: WHO WINS?

We have 11 wingers playing in Top 5 Leagues, Top tier 2 Leagues and also the champions and Europa leagues. Considering the SE can only go with 4 wingers for any match, who wins.

Nigeria has never had it so good with top quality players. 10 Top league strikers and 11 top league wingers.

The season is going to be every interesting.

Wingers:
Left Wingers
1. Onyekuru (Gala, Turkey/ Champions league): Fastest player in the turkish league, he's tricky and scores goals for fun. Monaco are interested in signing him but he wants Gala. He wuold have to almost double his goal tally this season to retain his SE spot.

2.Ahmed Musa (Saudi): Bros

3. Simon Moses (Levante, Laliga): Hardworking and tricky Simon Moses seems to have turned ROhr on. He'll only retain that turn on, if he can start every game when fit and add more goals to his game. He only started from mid-season last season but i think he'll have a better season this time.

4. Nwaekaeme (Trabzonspor, Turkey/ Europa League): Strong and very skillful with a powerful shot, he was the golden boy of Trabzonspor in only his first season. With 11 goals and 10 assists last season, can he do better this season considering that he would have the supply of Captain Fantastic, MIKEL and Onazi cleaning up behind him?

THis guy is very exciting. Watch the video

Right Wingers:
5. Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux, France): Garri master has a point to prove. Can he add more goals to his game like Onyekuru. Can he form a strong partnership with Josh Maja lifting bordeaux and making a strogn case for both their inclusion? Only top performances, assist and goals would make him retain his SE spot.

6. Samuel Chukwueze (Villareal, Laliga): Seems like Boy wonder would continue his growth at Villareal this season which is great. He is expcted to explode this season, but in the SE, he has tough competition.

7. Dennis Emmanuel Bonaventure (Club Brugge, Belgium/ CHampions League): The guy with 2 English names and a french one (wuithout a Local name) is a Very skillful player with a deadly pass and cross.Injury really slowed down his last 2 seasons but when he was fit, he started. Already scored in the league this season and I expect he'll use the Champions League to stake a claim for an SE invite.

8. Imoh Ezekiel (Kotrijk, Belgium): Came in as a sub in their last Europa League qualifier and scored. Started the last league match. Would he rediscover that top form he lost by going to Qatar and bang in goals making him top 5 goalscorers?

9. Chidera Ejuke (Herenveen, Dutch League): While i was writing this piece, he came in as a sub in the first game of the season and first league game for his club and scored. This guy is a bundle of skills and dribbles constantly with very high success rate. We know the dutch league "nurture" top quality and high technical players. He could just be that special player in the SE.

10. Sarenren Bazee (Ausburg, Bundesliga): NIgeria's Nicholas Pepe. He's been so unlucky with injuries and when he finally made a stke to starting shirt at HAnnover, he had a nasty clash of heads during the league game.

NEw lease of life at Ausburg and this very tricky and effective dribbler would defintely get a callup from our "everything German and French is best" coach.

This was 2yrs ago:

11. Hillary Gong (Vitesse, Dutch League): MOved to Vitesse last season and spent 90% of his season injured. His back and made a sub appearance in their first game. Good dribler, fast and strong, he's from the same academy (Coach Bros) that produced Ahmed Musa, Samuel Kalu, Simon Moses. Watch out for GONG this season.

NOTE:
*Isaac Success also qualifies as a winger.
*All these players can also play on the alternate wings.

NEXT: BATTLE OF THE AMs
Last edited by chief nfachairman on Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Battle of the Wingers: WHO WINS?

Battle of the Scouts: Chief NFAChairman
Undisputed
No competition. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

chief nfachairman wrote:We have 11 wingers playing in Top 5 Leagues, Top tier 2 Leagues and also the champions and Europa leagues. Considering the SE can only go with 4 wingers for any match, who wins.

Nigeria has never had it so good with top quality players. 10 Top league strikers and 11 top league wingers.

Wingers:
Left Wingers
1. Onyekuru (Gala, Turkey/ Champions league): Fastest player in the turkish league, he's tricky and scores goals for fun. Monaco are interested in signing him but he wants Gala. He wuold have to almost double his goal tally this season to retain his SE spot.

3. Simon Moses (Levante, Laliga): Hardworking and tricky Simon Moses seems to have turned ROhr on. He'll only retain that turn on, if he can start every game when fit and add more goals to his game. He only started from mid-season last season but i think he'll have a better season this time.

4. Nwaekaeme (Trabzonspor, Turkey/ Europa League): Strong and very skillful with a powerful shot, he was the golden boy of Trabzonspor in only his first season. With 11 goals and 10 assists last season, can he do better this season considering that he would have the supply of Captain Fantastic, MIKEL and Onazi cleaning up behind him?

Right Wingers:
5. Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux, France): Garri master has a point to prove. Can he add more goals to his game like Onyekuru. Can he form a strong partnership with Josh Maja lifting bordeaux and making a strogn case for both their inclusion? Only top performances, assist and goals would make him retain his SE spot.

6. Samuel Chukwueze (Villareal, Laliga): Seems like Boy wonder would continue his growth at Villareal this season which is great. He is expcted to explode this season, but in the SE, he has tough competition.

7. Dennis Emmanuel Bonaventure (Club Brugge, Belgium/ CHampions League): The with 2 English names and a french one (wuithout a Local name) is a Very skillful player with a deadly pass and cross.Injury really slowed down his last 2 seasons but when he was fit, he started. Already scored in the league this season and I expect he'll use the Champions League to stake a claim for an SE invite.

8. Imoh Ezekiel (Kotrijk, Belgium): Came in as a sub in their last Europa League qualifier and scored. Started the last league match. Would he rediscover that top form he lost by going to Qatar and bang in goals making him top 5 goalscorers?

9. Chidera Ejuke (Herenveen, Dutch League): While i was writing this piece, he came in as a sub in the first game of the season and first league game for his club and scored. This guy is a bundle of skills and dribbles constantly with very high success rate. We know the dutch league "nurture" top quality and high technical players. He could just be that special player in the SE.

10. Sarenren Bazee (Ausburg, Bundesliga): NIgeria's Nicholas Pepe. He's been so unlucky with injuries and when he finally made a stke to starting shirt at HAnnover, he had a nasty clash of heads during the league game.

NEw lease of life at Ausburg and this very tricky and effective dribbler would defintely get a callup from our "everything German and French is best" coach.

This was 2yrs ago:

11. Hillary Gong (Vitesse, Dutch League): MOved to Vitesse last season and spent 90% of his season injured. His back and made a sub appearance in their first game. Good dribler, fast and strong, he's from the same academy (Coach Bros) that produced Ahmed Musa, Samuel Kalu, Simon Moses. Watch out for GONG this season.

NOTE:

nfachairman,

This is by far the strongest position for the SE. I actually think that his is the ONLY position that we can claim with certainty hat we are deeper than our African competition.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Which part of Nigeria is Dennis Bonaventure from sef?

chief nfachairman wrote:We have 11 wingers playing in Top 5 Leagues, Top tier 2 Leagues and also the champions and Europa leagues. Considering the SE can only go with 4 wingers for any match, who wins.

Wingers:
Left Wingers

Right Wingers:

7. Dennis Emmanuel Bonaventure (Club Brugge, Belgium/ CHampions League): The with 2 English names and a french one (wuithout a Local name) is a Very skillful player with a deadly pass and cross.Injury really slowed down his last 2 seasons but when he was fit, he started. Already scored in the league this season and I expect he'll use the Champions League to stake a claim for an SE invite.

This was 2yrs ago:

NOTE:

nfachairman,

This is by far the strongest position for the SE. I actually think that his is the ONLY position that we can claim with certainty hat we are deeper than our African competition.
i agree. No country comes close. Even in the striking dept. this season, we've moved 3 steps higher.

THE DM and CM position is also packed too.

Agent nfa chairman, I like these your battles series. Nice one.

If only Kongi and yemibrassiere can apply themselves and post something productive like this once in a while. But no, that would be too much like a job, something they are allergic to.
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

Thanks chief, great work
onovo

Post by onovo »

Wingers:
Left Wingers

Right Wingers:

7. Dennis Emmanuel Bonaventure (Club Brugge, Belgium/ CHampions League): The guy with 2 English names and a french one (wuithout a Local name) is a Very skillful player with a deadly pass and cross.Injury really slowed down his last 2 seasons but when he was fit, he started. Already scored in the league this season and I expect he'll use the Champions League to stake a claim for an SE invite.

This was 2yrs ago:

NOTE:

Trust me this team has the potential to equal or be better than our teams of the 90's looking at the ages of the players and the league they are already playing. The strength Nigeria football has always been the attack. Clement Westerhof/Jo Bonfrere understand this. The 90's team was strong because of the attack which was complimented by very good wingers. Is a pity Rohr has a penchant for defensive minded players. Rohr is not the best coach for the Nigerian system, period !

I believe a team is as strong as its weakest link.
At AFCON 2019, our weak links IMHO were in the GK and striker depts - strange bcos the tournament's top goalscorer was our main striker.

It suggests we coulda/shoulda done even better had we created and utilised all the chances that fizzled out after taking off.
Chief culprit: Ahmed Musa with a pass completion rate of 67%.

Damunk wrote:I believe a team is as strong as its weakest link.
At AFCON 2019, our weak links IMHO were in the GK and striker depts - strange bcos the tournament's top goalscorer was our main striker.

It suggests we coulda/shoulda done even better had we created and utilised all the chances that fizzled out after taking off.
Uncle Damukey, our weakest link at the AFCON was our defense. Out of the 7 goals against us, 6 were defensive errors. The one that was semi run on play goal (Cameroon's second goal), had defensive error component also. Our goalkeeper was as good as the other goalkeepers in the tournament. Maybe not Rufai or Okala caliber, but good enough. If we didnt commit those defensive errors we would play in the final game with our "weak" goalkeepers. We need clinicalfinishers and threatening wingers like Moses was during the WC qualifiers. But most importantly we need discipline in the defence.
Last edited by 1naija on Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Damunk and old man 1naija arguing about the same points they both agree on....absolutely pathetic

1naija wrote:Agent nfa chairman, I like these your battles series. Nice one.

If only Kongi and yemibrassiere can apply themselves and post something productive like this once in a while. But no, that would be too much like a job, something they are allergic to.

:biggrin:

:clap: :clap: There is hope after all; the good doctor takes a stand. :thumbs:

But he gets it wrong; Chief culprit: Rohr. Musa is Musa, nothings changed. Musa should have shared the striker position with Ighalo.

Say what you like! Come match day Musa and Simon will occupy those spots.

gochino wrote:Say what you like! Come match day Musa and Simon will occupy those spots.

Rohr is always right.

Sincerely

Dr Damunk, MD

Strange, we have so much talent but Rohr keeps playing Musa, who we all know is not good enough for that position but no one says anything!

Uncle Damukey, our weakest link at the AFCON was our defense. Out of the 7 goals against us, 6 were defensive errors. The one that was semi run on play goal (Cameroon's second goal), had defensive error component also. Our goalkeeper was as good as the other goalkeepers in the tournament. Maybe not Rufai or Okala caliber, but good enough. If we didnt commit those defensive errors we would play in the final game with our "weak" goalkeepers. We need clinicalfinishers and threatening wingers like Moses was during the WC qualifiers. But most importantly we need discipline in the defence.
Statistically you are right but you'll notice that very few are arguing for an overhaul of our defense. This is becos there seems to be a recognition that our defence played pretty well overall if not for the x3 deflections (2 by non-defenders Ighalo and Ndidi).

I'd hardly call the two Camerounian goals 'defensive errors' cos we were beaten fair and square - unless every goal conceded by every team is a 'defensive error' which can be argued I guess. The Balogun goal was the one true 'defensive error'. Ndidi was the one responsible for the fouls that led to 2 goals from FKs against us (Madagascar and Algeria).

On the other hand we are constantly arguing about the need for new GK options and new strikers, including replacements for Musa, Ighalo and Moses in that order.

Our defense consisting of Awaziem, Aina, Collins, Omeruo, Ekong, Balogun seems to be the least of our problems.

gochino wrote:Strange, we have so much talent but Rohr keeps playing Musa, who we all know is not good enough for that position but no one says anything!
Have you been in a coma? :lol:

Oh now you want these inexperienced BACKWATER league guy to come and bench musa? FOH you must be demented. It’s good seeing all these new guys perform and I hope that they have a glorious career. However, any new addition to SE must be absolute Quality and be better than the incumbent. We cannot call to replace EXPERIENCED backwater league players for inexperienced Backwater league guys. Makes no sense. I’m looking for the likes of onyekuru and Chukwueze to atleast move to the next level and finally own that winger position for SE

john12 wrote:Oh now you want these inexperienced BACKWATER league guy to come and bench musa? FOH you must be demented. It’s good seeing all these new guys perform and I hope that they have a glorious career. However, any new addition to SE must be absolute Quality and be better than the incumbent. We cannot call to replace EXPERIENCED backwater league players for inexperienced Backwater league guys. Makes no sense. I’m looking for the likes of onyekuru and Chukwueze to atleast move to the next level and finally own that winger position for SE
What was your assessment of Musa's AFCON performance?
This one wey you dey shout like he can do no wrong...
Are you aware for instance that he had the lowest pass completion rate in the whole Nigerian squad?
And it showed. :idea:

john12 wrote:Oh now you want these inexperienced BACKWATER league guy to come and bench musa? FOH you must be demented. It’s good seeing all these new guys perform and I hope that they have a glorious career. However, any new addition to SE must be absolute Quality and be better than the incumbent. We cannot call to replace EXPERIENCED backwater league players for inexperienced Backwater league guys. Makes no sense. I’m looking for the likes of onyekuru and Chukwueze to atleast move to the next level and finally own that winger position for SE

Mr John 12,
Erm, are you referring to the author of this post (me) in this response?

No brother I’m responding to the guy that said “at the end of the day Musa and Moses will claim that position”

Musa best position isn’t on the wings and I don’t know why coaches still play him at that position. The bobo is a World class STRIKER that should play 8 or 9 not on the wings. NFF chairman no be You I Dey talk to na goachino You did a great job compiling those list