Etim Esin

Etim Esin

How good was Etim ? I never had the opportunity to watch him.

Re: Etim Esin

Arguably just as good, if not better than Okocha. Could dribble with both feet, had a canon of a shot, excellent free kick taker but just lacked discipline.

I don't think so. Etim Esin couldn't dribble. He was overhyped.

I saw Etim play live vs ghana....at Surulere stadium, this was during Afcon 92 qualifiers, it ended 0-0....I have seen Jay jay....man pass man..Jay Jay had no equal

Mr Shows wrote:Arguably just as good, if not better than Okocha. Could dribble with both feet, had a canon of a shot, excellent free kick taker but just lacked discipline.
Ol'boy, ABEG, delete that one time.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Mr Shows wrote:Arguably just as good, if not better than Okocha. Could dribble with both feet, had a canon of a shot, excellent free kick taker but just lacked discipline.
I never saw Etim Esin play as I was barely even born the last time, but I can definitely call that assertion bullshit... with due respect to your opinion of course.

Ol'boy, ABEG, delete that one time.
EII, abeg tell us about Chibuzor Ehilegbu

There are less than a handful of Nigerian players with comparable talent to Jay-Jay’s. The most obvious was Godwin Ogbueze. Mathias Obianika and Haruna Ilerika had considerable and significant dribbling skills, as did Christian Madu, who had general open field savvy as well. Samson Siasia also had his moments :!:

scholl

Post by scholl »

DIMKA76 wrote:[/video]

:lol: :lol: Not a good look IMHO.

scholl wrote:

How did he miss that? :) :)

scholl wrote:

At all. I tried finding a better clip but nada o :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

but how could was he really? Did he have a more effective positive dribble than JJ?

masturbatory dribble does not count nor matter.

Hope people commenting actually saw him play. Anyone born after 1980 probably shouldn't comment because you probably aren't old enough to really have seen Esin in his prime.

I never saw Etim Esin play as I was barely even born the last time, but I can definitely call that assertion bullshit... with due respect to your opinion of course.
BS might be a bit harsh, but EE was definitely up there with some of the Nigerian dribbling legends.
I'd say he never really fulfilled his full potential and he is like many of the Nigerian 'greats' who had limited stints in the senior national team but have somehow been able to enter the Nigerian Book of GOATs, albeit in pencil.

Its a similar situation to players like Usiyen, Ogbueze, Okorowanta, Ehilegbu, Owubokiri, Madu etc

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:There are less than a handful of Nigerian players with comparable talent to Jay-Jay’s. The most obvious was Godwin Ogbueze. Mathias Obianika and Haruna Ilerika had considerable and significant dribbling skills, as did Christian Madu, who had general open field savvy as well. Samson Siasia also had his moments :!:

GOOD LIST OF PLAYERS YOU DREW UP THERE, AND...

...with the exception of Madu, I'm familiar with their plays and levels. That's why I feel confident that Haruna Ilerika was clearly on a different level compared to them. He was at one time the offensive backbone of the SE, something that can't be said of any of the other players. As a matter of fact, I have a real problem choosing between Okocha and Haruna.

Bell wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:There are less than a handful of Nigerian players with comparable talent to Jay-Jay’s. The most obvious was Godwin Ogbueze. Mathias Obianika and Haruna Ilerika had considerable and significant dribbling skills, as did Christian Madu, who had general open field savvy as well. Samson Siasia also had his moments :!:

...with the exception of Madu, I'm familiar with their plays and levels. That's why I feel confident that Haruna Ilerika was clearly on a different level compared to them. He was at one time the offensive backbone of the SE, something that can't be said of any of the other players. As a matter of fact, I have a real problem choosing between Okocha and Haruna.
But Haruna was unable to nail down a permanent spot in the then Green Eagles.
Wasn't it Muda that was keeping him out?

Why did he not play for Nigeria at the 94 World Cup?

scholl wrote:
Myth shattering... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Abegi, even Pius Ikedia sef was much better than this.

Bell wrote:

But Haruna was unable to nail down a permanent spot in the then Green Eagles.
He did. He was in the National team years before Muda. After the Nigeria/Ghana sports festival in 1975, Father Tiko invited the young stars like Odiye. Usiyan, best Ogedegbe to camp, that was when Muda took that position from Ilerika. Muda was more of an intelligent player than Ilerika.

Damunk wrote:But Haruna was unable to nail down a permanent spot in the then Green Eagles.
Banish the thought...
Haruna Illerika was probably the first name on the teamsheet in the early 1970s.

Muda Lawal did not make his Eagles debut till 1975 (his real coming out party was 1976 AFCON)...
Xtian Madu was just as great a dribbler as Haruna and Jay-Jay, but not quick enough for Father Tiko.

Sir V wrote:He did. He was in the National team years before Muda. After the Nigeria/Ghana sports festival in 1975, Father Tiko invited the young stars like Odiye. Usiyan, best Ogedegbe to camp, that was when Muda took that position from Ilerika. Muda was more of an intelligent player than Ilerika.
Respectfully disagree...

Muda was Intelligent alright but his engine was perhaps his greatest asset...
Illerika saw the entire filed like very few did while his left foot had intimate relations with the ball.