Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

Re: Manchester United - News, Developments & Season

marko wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:
marko wrote:let all like minded united supporters discuss the real issues affecting the team, we know the transfer window was not used wisely, OGS promised to clear out the junk, i can see some are still playing in the 1st team and starting, no names mentioned, if OGS continues to play to the gallery, he will eventually suffer the same fate as Mourinho
Now, pushing personal issues aside so we can get back to the real objective of this thread. OGS has laid his own bed by allowing himself to be played by Mr Woodward. He failed to clear out the junk, as you put it. If you want to bet on the wasteful Rashford and Martial then you need a robust midfield to clean up when you lose possession. Losing possession is where most of United's current players thrive, it's like they are in competition for the best player in professional football in that category. There is the United way, as laid out under Busby & later Ferguson but that United way is about meticulous attention to details. It is all about the right fit, and this entails deep analysis of on-field and off-field attributes, the right degree of aggression and determination, ability to place team above self, and other important attributes.

For several years now, the players that were bought to serve as long term squad players who won't cause disharmony due to long stay on the bench - to fill in for the main players during injuries, suspensions etc became United's main players and now they have become stumbling blocks in the rebuild process mainly due to Mr Woodward's cluelessness (Smalling, Jones, Ashley and some more recent ones). It's a huge mess, uncomfortable but a different type of thrill for long-term United fans - I look forward to EPL weekends way more than when Sir Alex was in charge with all the big names & success. It is people with this type of strange attitude like mine that are keeping Mr Woodward on the job, making him see no need for a director of football. Instead of Old Trafford to get empty due to the dramatic fall in status on the field, most actually look forward to their new-found matchday thrill of not knowing what to expect with Man United. United, from the management perspective, may not change until the sponsors start pulling out and the fans start making a statement with no show. It is a monster of a financial empire but we all know that they are not too big to crash. The next 5 years is crucial and I believe what happens on the field will determine the future of this global franchise.
OGS is scared of a showdown with Woodward who will show him the door so instead he plays mr nice when there are glaring issues which needs fixing both short and long term, right now we only have one world class creative player in Pogba, we are playing him too deep, we all see what he can do when pushed forward, that 4-2-3-1 is not working with the players we have, Mata or Matic is not the answer, I will bring Fred back from the wilderness, he cant do any worse than Mctomminay who offers nothing to the team, Lingard should not be in the 1st team, he is at best a squad player

Look at Barcelona playing a 16 year old!!! at united they will send them on loan or that crap, look at the situation with Gomes, they told him to bulk up, if you have a good footballing brain, what has your body size got to do with it? Lukaku was built like an ox and could not trap a ball to save his life

United can afford to mess around because its books are quite healthy, season tickets sold out, if the fans start by not attending games, perhaps the board will do whats needed

When united had a good pre-season, i got scared, i knew what was coming next, same thing when OGS went on a 11 game unbeaten run, i knew Woodward will not release funds in January, Woodward is a frigging cheap skate, we all knew a midfielder was required but he decided to play wait and see, came up with some crap that Bruno Fernandes loses the ball quite often, just a ploy not to spend, now we have to wait till January and who knows, these types of players might no longer be available

OGS is left with a few options, right now, change that formation, drop Lingard and possibly Mctomminay, play those youngsters, win a few games to keep up with the top 5 until January when he should be expected to buy at least 2 players, either that, continue as it is and get sacked by December, if united lose the next 4 games, he might not even smell November!
It is amazing how you folks just latch onto anything even when it is no more than half baked truth to make a point. When was the last time Barcelona played a 16 year old, not since Messi almost a decade or more ago if not more than. Do you want to know how many teenagers have played for United since?
Dont use the kid that played over the weekend for Barca to bash your team and score a cheap point, your team should be lecturing Barcelona how to trust in teenagers. Your team has never been afraid to play teenagers who are good enough, from Norman Whitside, to Gigs, Rashford and now Greenwood who is 17. I remember seeing an 18 or was it 17 year old Paul Scholes make his debut for united in 1995.
Yes but we do have the likes of Greenwood, Gomes, Choong, Garner, OGS said they will play a part this season, i have only seen cameos from Greenwood, Lingard in that number 10 role is clearly not working, surely what a time to introduce these youngsters to see what they can do, if we can play Daniel james who is still a raw talent, we can surely play these others

Roma is the Mugu :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

The good: Smalling's departure clears the road to the first team for young Axel Tuanzebe. Man Utd really do not need 7 defenders in the first team squad like they currently have (Smalling, Jones, Bailly, Mark Red, Lindelof, Maguire, Tuanzebe).

The bad: Even though he is dodgy at times, Mike Smalling is one of the few (only?) CDs at Man Utd that is a talker and organiser. He is quite vocal on the pitch and is experienced. It is weird getting him out of the door before Jones and Mark Red (both of whom have appaling fitness and injury records). At least Mike is fit and available to play most of the time unlike Rojo who has spent about 45% of his Man Utd career out injured.

The ugly: Earlier this year Man Utd gave Mike a contract extension with a pay rise. Why extend his contract if he was not in the club's long term plans? Why is there no option to buy? He is nearly 30 and by the time he returns from this loan, will be pushing 31. By that time no club will be willing to pay a significant transfer fee for a defender coming to the end of his career. Then he will become a potential financial liability because the club will be stuck with the wages of an ageing player whom no one wants to pay a big transfer fee for.
Last edited by wiseone on Fri Aug 30, 2019 4:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rojo and Darmian are still finding suitors. Looks like Valencia may fall mugu for Darmian. Rojo is still dicey but his agents are said to be on it and hopeful of something working out within the next 3 days.

This is a huge failure on the part of Manchester United's management. All these moves should have been worked out and wrapped up 3 months ago. The stage is now set for some panic buys on silly contracts in January and the cycle repeats.

wiseone wrote:The good: Smalling's departure clears the road to the first team for young Axel Tuanzebe.

The bad: Even though he is dodgy at times, CHRIS Smalling is one of the few (only?) CDs at Man Utd that is a talker and organiser. He is quite vocal on the pitch and is experienced. It is weird getting him out of the door before Jones and MARCOS ROJO (both of whom have appaling fitness and injury records). At least CHRIS Smalling is fit and available to play most of the time unlike Rojo who has spent about 45% of his Man Utd career out injured.

The ugly: Earlier this year Man Utd gave CHRIS a contract extension with a pay rise. Why extend his contract if he was not in the club's long term plans? Why is there no option to buy? He is nearly 30 and by the time he returns from this loan, will be pushing 31. By that time no club will be willing to pay a significant transfer fee for a defender coming to the end of his career. Then he will become a potential financial liability because the club will be stuck with the wages of an ageing player whom no one wants to pay a big transfer fee for.
It's a mess. Smalling's contract ends June 2022 (Age 32, and 33 in November 2022).

YemiBrazil wrote:
wiseone wrote:The good: Smalling's departure clears the road to the first team for young Axel Tuanzebe.

The bad: Even though he is dodgy at times, CHRIS Smalling is one of the few (only?) CDs at Man Utd that is a talker and organiser. He is quite vocal on the pitch and is experienced. It is weird getting him out of the door before Jones and MARCOS ROJO (both of whom have appaling fitness and injury records). At least CHRIS Smalling is fit and available to play most of the time unlike Rojo who has spent about 45% of his Man Utd career out injured.

The ugly: Earlier this year Man Utd gave CHRIS a contract extension with a pay rise. Why extend his contract if he was not in the club's long term plans? Why is there no option to buy? He is nearly 30 and by the time he returns from this loan, will be pushing 31. By that time no club will be willing to pay a significant transfer fee for a defender coming to the end of his career. Then he will become a potential financial liability because the club will be stuck with the wages of an ageing player whom no one wants to pay a big transfer fee for.
It's a mess. Smalling's contract ends June 2022 (Age 32, and 33 in November 2022).
go and sell pure water, instead of doing rojo and dalmation

Bigpokey24 wrote:go and sell pure water, instead of doing rojo and dalmation
:lol: :lol: BigPokey my good old friend, how body? I'm considering joining you on Chelsea forum as the 3rd Chelsea fan.

YemiBrazil wrote:Rojo and Darmian are still finding suitors. Looks like Valencia may fall mugu for Darmian. Rojo is still dicey but his agents are said to be on it and hopeful of something working out within the next 3 days.

This is a huge failure on the part of Manchester United's management. All these moves should have been worked out and wrapped up 3 months ago. The stage is now set for some panic buys on silly contracts in January and the cycle repeats.
Not really? The clubs who will come in for worthless trash like Smalling, Rojo, Darmian etc etc atre clubs whoa re desperate. Clubs who have been unable to get their 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th .... 8th and 9th choices and are in trouble! They need to bring in "exprience" numbers because the transfer window is about to close.

No serious club will spend the whole season scouting Smalling and then make a bid for him, proudly, in May or June. No one! This na wetin dem dey call bend-down market or oyibo dey call "out let mall." After every person don shop finish for winter and November don reach and you realize that you dont have winter jacket to wear, you rush to outlet to check out what is left. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

OGS promised a clear out, only issue nobody wants to buy, the board should pay them and release them from their contract, if we want to rebuild, we cannot have the likes of Young, Mata, Darmian, Smalling, Jones, Matic in the squad

YemiBrazil wrote:Rojo and Darmian are still finding suitors. Looks like Valencia may fall mugu for Darmian. Rojo is still dicey but his agents are said to be on it and hopeful of something working out within the next 3 days.

Not really? The clubs who will come in for worthless trash like Smalling, Rojo, Darmian etc etc atre clubs whoa re desperate. Clubs who have been unable to get their 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th .... 8th and 9th choices and are in trouble! They need to bring in "exprience" numbers because the transfer window is about to close.

No serious club will spend the whole season scouting Smalling and then make a bid for him, proudly, in May or June. No one! This na wetin dem dey call bend-down market or oyibo dey call "out let mall." After every person don shop finish for winter and November don reach and you realize that you dont have winter jacket to wear, you rush to outlet to check out what is left. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Got you. However, a serious management knowing the sheer volume of clear out should have come up with sales strategies for this since last year. At outlet malls, you have "buy one get one free" etc so it won't be that bad having stuffs like "We Pay You to Buy Darmian!!!", "Buy Rojo, Get Jones and Darmian for Free" or give Real Madrid their coveted De Gea on the condition that they pick up Rojo, Jones and Darmian as part of the deal - whatever they do with them is their shelenge and other gimmicks to clear out unneeded stock :mrgreen: .

Mata is a great model pro. Sadly he lacks the speed or strength required to succeed in the modern day EPL. He would be ace if he moved back to Spain and rejoined Valencia though.

I do have to ask - WTF were the club doing during the summer? It has been obvious (going back to Jose/LVG days) that at least 3 of Darmian, Young, Mark Red, Smaling, and Jonesy needed to go.
marko wrote:OGS promised a clear out, only issue nobody wants to buy, the board should pay them and release them from their contract, if we want to rebuild, we cannot have the likes of Young, Mata, Darmian, Smalling, Jones, Matic in the squad
Last edited by wiseone on Fri Aug 30, 2019 2:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Why did you correct my "Mikes" to "Chris"? Are you a new Man Utd fan or something? Were you not around when LVG called him "Mike" 2 weeks in a row?
YemiBrazil wrote:

Last edited by wiseone on Sat Aug 31, 2019 5:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

YemiBrazil wrote:

Got you. However, a serious management knowing the sheer volume of clear out should have come up with sales strategies for this since last year. At outlet malls, you have "buy one get one free" etc so it won't be that bad having stuffs like "We Pay You to Buy Darmian!!!", "Buy Rojo, Get Jones and Darmian for Free" or give Real Madrid their coveted De Gea on the condition that they pick up Rojo, Jones and Darmian as part of the deal - whatever they do with them is their shelenge and other gimmicks to clear out unneeded stock :mrgreen: .
Who will pay their wages? :rotf:

wiseone wrote:Mata is a great model pro. Sadly he lacks the speed or strength required to succeed in the modern day EPL. He would be ace if he moved back to Spain and rejoined Valencia though.

I do have to ask - WTF were the club doing during the summer. It has been obvious (going back to Jose/LVG days) that at least 2 of Darmian, Young, Mark Red, Smaling, and Jonesy needed to go.
marko wrote:OGS promised a clear out, only issue nobody wants to buy, the board should pay them and release them from their contract, if we want to rebuild, we cannot have the likes of Young, Mata, Darmian, Smalling, Jones, Matic in the squad
I said it before, united were playing a wait and see approach during the pre-season, if united lost all the games, they would have splashed out on the required players, they won all the games and Woodward, as cunning as he usually is decides the team is good enough and only strengthened at the back when the midfield was short of required players, They rather please the stake holders than do what it takes to put united up there, season tickets sold out, merchandise doing well, club pre-season tour a success, money flowing in, to these guys, no issues, OGS is just a yes man, absolute no clout, cant believe he has the united job, dont rock the boat, they pulled a fast one with Pogba, they raised his transfer value to 180M to scare off Real Madrid, Pogba is united prized possession, now i hear Pogba will not sign a new contract, very smart move, he has 2 years left on his current deal which means he can leave for free in 2 years at 28!!

They should strike a deal with him to play for this season and leave at the end of next season and pay him a loyalty bonus, the man has been short changed, he is very quiet and he can indeed kick a fuss and criticize the club and down tools! He should just do what is necessary and leave

I am just scared Woodward and Glazer will run the club right down to the ground! once the investors start to pull out, we are finished

YemiBrazil wrote:

That will come as part of the deal. Not new e.g. of recent, Emmanuel Adebayor, Alexis Sanchez. You negotiate what you reckon to be fair and it's left to United to agree to sort out the balance till the end of the player's existing contract with them, else no deal :D .

YemiBrazil wrote:

That will come as part of the deal. Not new e.g. of recent, Emmanuel Adebayor, Alexis Sanchez. You negotiate what you reckon to be fair and it's left to United to agree to sort out the balance till the end of the player's existing contract with them, else no deal :D .
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: You people think this is video game.

YemiBrazil wrote:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: You people think this is video game.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm sure you think it's rocket science.

YemiBrazil wrote:
danfo driver wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: You people think this is video game.
Not rocket science. Its sports business, which is a very complicated business. Some teams, lets use Inter as an example are constrained by FFP and also by the number of squad members they already have. Inter has been trying to get rid of Icardi, to shift his huge wages and him off their books and they cant.

Some of you think football is a video game where you can just move your useless 3-4 player to another team. :rotf: :rotf: In reality, its different. many things are involved:

1. transfer/loan fee
2. wages
3. FFP requirement
4. slot in a squad of 25
5. homegrown quota requirement
6. agent fees
7. sponsorship fees
8. work permit matters

Just to name very few. I am hopeful that one day, the likes of you will learn how this business works. It will improve communication on CE. :wink:

YemiBrazil wrote:
danfo driver wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: You people think this is video game.
Not rocket science. Its sports business, which is a very complicated business. Some teams, lets use Inter as an example are constrained by FFP and also by the number of squad members they already have. Inter has been trying to get rid of Icardi, to shift his huge wages and him off their books and they cant.

Some of you think football is a video game where you can just move your useless 3-4 player to another team. :rotf: :rotf: In reality, its different. many things are involved:

1. transfer/loan fee
2. wages
3. FFP requirement
4. slot in a squad of 25
5. homegrown quota requirement
6. agent fees
7. sponsorship fees
8. work permit matters

Just to name very few. I am hopeful that one day, the likes of you will learn how this business works. It will improve communication on CE. :wink:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Clown. You play too much Football Manager, which is not a bad thing Einstein. You are the one creating an issue out of nothing, as usual.

1. Transfer/loan fee. Where is the rocket science here?
2. Wages? It was addressed, not sure if you bothered to read as, maybe by your standards, that would have improved communication on CE :lol:
3. FFP requirement. So? Do your deal within the scope of those requirements and you are fine.
4. Slot in a squad of 25? Are you for real? Is that not the objective of the whole pruning & rebuilding? :lol:
5. Homegrown quota requirement. :lol: :lol: :lol: I know you have to sound intelligent. Yes, the teams are aware of this.
6. Agent fees - so? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
7. Sponsorship fees... :lol: :lol: - yes, it's all part of deal negotiation
8. Work permit matters - yes, one of the reasons you start early in case it applies to the subject :lol: :lol:

You may love complicating simple things to feel important on CE. I don't know if it improves communication or not as I personally don't come here with any expectation on that - it is a discussion forum, not a surgery class. People will always come with different opinions, sometimes you are right, other times you are wrong. Another topic will arise and life goes on. How you massage your ego is your personal problem. CE is still alive and well after all these years of diverse approach to communication :mrgreen: .

YemiBrazil wrote: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Clown. You play too much Football Manager, which is not a bad thing Einstein. You are the one creating an issue out of nothing, as usual.
I prefer FIFA
Rocket science is different from the football business, Sir. I tried to help you understand that in my immediate response.
2. Wages? It was addressed, not sure if you bothered to read as, maybe by your standards, that would have improved communication on CE :lol:
I did. You mentioned creative methods, where United can cover wages. This is difficult because:

1. United will usually refuse to cover 100% of wages. Most clubs will never do that.
2. you are ignoring bonuses, which the loaning club will not do. Imagine United paying winning bonus to Sanchez when inter wins, or goal bonus to sanchez when sanchez scores for Inter. :rotf:

Deals are quite complicated in structure. I understand you aren't familiar wit this. I am.
3. FFP requirement. So? Do your deal within the scope of those requirements and you are fine.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: But this is the crux of our argument. They cant if they listened to your ill-informed strategy. E.g Inter was already on the line with violating FFP.
4. Slot in a squad of 25? Are you for real? Is that not the objective of the whole pruning & rebuilding? :lol:
Your assumption is that:

1. Inter (as an example) has space; and
2. Inter can easily move players out.

I gave you the example of Icardi, who is sitting with huge wages and Inter ahs been begging everyone to take him and no one will.

Once again, this is not video game. You cant just move out 3 players from your squad and push them somewhere else by pressing a button, so you can open space for 3 useless players from Manchester United. It doesnt work that way. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
5. Homegrown quota requirement. :lol: :lol: :lol: I know you have to sound intelligent. Yes, the teams are aware of this.
The question though is are you? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Who is going to pay that? You? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Do you know how much Agent fees are these days?

Like I said, these are things I expect you wouldnt know and should be willing to learn.
Yes, it is. But let me tell you a secret-- there is a value for it, so therefore, you cant negotiate the price down. :rotf: :rotf: Who is going to pay for it? who assumes or keeps the benefit? is it assigned? to whom?

8. Work permit matters - yes, one of the reasons you start early in case it applies to the subject :lol: :lol:
but how can you start early when:

1. you have other targets who are your 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th choices?
2. your squad is packed to 25 from last season and you have to move guys out before you buy?
You may love complicating simple things to feel important on CE. I don't know if it improves communication or not as I personally don't come here with any expectation on that - it is a discussion forum, not a surgery class. People will always come with different opinions, sometimes you are right, other times you are wrong. Another topic will arise and life goes on. How you massage your ego is your personal problem. CE is still alive and well after all these years of diverse approach to communication :mrgreen: .
I am more intelligent than you. This is not an ego-boost or my opinion. It is actually a fact. And perhaps that is the reason why I am unable to walk away when I see comments that are simply lacking in intelligence and proper thought.

Again, i am hopeful that one day the likes of you will not just learn the business. But also, learn to think properly. This will improve communication on CE. :mrgreen:

At the beginning of the summer transfer window, numerous sources suggested that Ole would only be given a transfer budget of £100million.

Looks like it was true if we look at the net spend.
Maguire was bought once Woodward was sure Inter would pay decent money for Lukaku ? Hence the delay ?

The whole idea behind hiring Ole is clear, he is more amenable to the idea of spending less and using academy kids, other bigger managers would have kicked up a stink like Jose.

Correct me if I'm wrong, i am sure someone once mentioned this stuff somewhere in this thread.

YemiBrazil wrote: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Clown. You play too much Football Manager, which is not a bad thing Einstein. You are the one creating an issue out of nothing, as usual.
I prefer FIFA
Rocket science is different from the football business, Sir. I tried to help you understand that in my immediate response.
I did. You mentioned creative methods, where United can cover wages. This is difficult because:

1. United will usually refuse to cover 100% of wages. Most clubs will never do that.
2. you are ignoring bonuses, which the loaning club will not do. Imagine United paying winning bonus to Sanchez when inter wins, or goal bonus to sanchez when sanchez scores for Inter. :rotf:

Deals are quite complicated in structure. I understand you aren't familiar wit this. I am.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: But this is the crux of our argument. They cant if they listened to your ill-informed strategy. E.g Inter was already on the line with violating FFP.
Your assumption is that:

1. Inter (as an example) has space; and
2. Inter can easily move players out.

I gave you the example of Icardi, who is sitting with huge wages and Inter ahs been begging everyone to take him and no one will.

Once again, this is not video game. You cant just move out 3 players from your squad and push them somewhere else by pressing a button, so you can open space for 3 useless players from Manchester United. It doesnt work that way. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
The question though is are you? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Who is going to pay that? You? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Do you know how much Agent fees are these days?

Like I said, these are things I expect you wouldnt know and should be willing to learn.
Yes, it is. But let me tell you a secret-- there is a value for it, so therefore, you cant negotiate the price down. :rotf: :rotf: Who is going to pay for it? who assumes or keeps the benefit? is it assigned? to whom?

but how can you start early when:

1. you have other targets who are your 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th choices?
2. your squad is packed to 25 from last season and you have to move guys out before you buy?
I am more intelligent than you. This is not an ego-boost or my opinion. It is actually a fact. And perhaps that is the reason why I am unable to walk away when I see comments that are simply lacking in intelligence and proper thought.

Again, i am hopeful that one day the likes of you will not just learn the business. But also, learn to think properly. This will improve communication on CE. :mrgreen:
Watery & childish ego trip - you must be Solowe's lost brother... I won't call you unintelligent, you are just weak & it's glaring that you are aware of this hence the constant worthless online flexing :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Awaiting final confirmation of Darmian's permanent move :mrgreen: