benteke wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:
benteke wrote:
The genius of Pep Guardiola
With such monies invested, some £194million on fullbacks only, then a good coach can attempt any formation or tactic even the craziest, and make it work. If it doesn't work he can keep buying until he finds the right piece to the jigsaw

I don’t think Pep was the only coach Man City has. All that other stuff about coaching anything and making it work is just nonsense.
That is precisely why Pellegrini got to City and won a double in his first season playing great football and his team also broke the 100 goals barrier in all competition or something like that.
The fact that Pep has spent £194 million on fullbacks only just to make sure whatever tactics he is trying works out, sums up my point. Good night

So why are you guys so focused on Pep? Given that Pellegrini had the same machine behind him? Abi Pep should say no thank you and instead go try his hand with a relegation battler just to prove to you that he can coach? Who does that? If Mourinho was handed the same job he would do the same and spend as long as the team got it to spend, but hey he's now a pre-game analyst and talking head as no one would entrust him with such billions

Because Pellegrini was never labelled a genius despite breaking some records and winning a double at first attempt.
When Guardiola had not spent astronomically to make his thing work, he finished 3rd in the EPL and trophy less, knocked out by Monaco in CL.
Now after his astronomical spending to make sure his jigsaw fits perfectly, he is a genius. I would agree that his genius lies in spending.
That's all. We are not fighting.
The way City has gone about it's stuff is something to admire and be emulated even.