The case for the "cockney eagles"

Re: The case for the "cockney eagles"

Bigpokey24 wrote:we should also open a thread and talk about " the Case for the Igbo eagles" also we can add the case for the Hausa eagles, then include the case for the Yoruba eagles. Why stop there we can add the case for the dutch eagle, or better yet the German eagle.
I will like to add the case for the Efik eagles

what a very race baiting thread

Me I will support a thread on "Bendel" Eagles o. Those boys sabi play, and dem be hot heads. :woot: :woot: :woot:
Keshi (RIP), Ikpeba, Osaze, Omokaro, Aghahowa dem.

Bigpokey24 wrote:we should also open a thread and talk about " the Case for the Igbo eagles" also we can add the case for the Hausa eagles, then include the case for the Yoruba eagles. Why stop there we can add the case for the dutch eagle, or better yet the German eagle.

Me I will support a thread on "Bendel" Eagles o. Those boys sabi play, and dem be hot heads. :woot: :woot: :woot:
plus Osimhen

oloye wrote:All I know is that I hear people being described as having cockney accent..

Babayaro
[/video] :D

Cockney Eagles is funny. I think we've already gone that way starting with people like Keshi and Oliseh capping a bunch of diaspora kids.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:This one has absolutely lost his mind without question. Cockney Eagles?? WTF! Are U freaking serious? This is inferiority complex at its worst. This is the kind of mentality that led to millions of people taken into slavery. Cockney Eagles? Thunder faya u wherever u Dey right now. Holy Ghost faya burn ya compura .

Which cockney Academy did Mikel, oliseh and Finidi go to? I suppose you think Aina is better on the ball than even chidi Ordiah. You’re a real akotileta. :curse:
:bump:
kenmega

Post by kenmega »

Cockney Eagles? I am a ‘cockney’ Nigerian descent (born and raised in East London) but there are some from Manchester, Birmingham, Leeds, etc

Wow. So you actually not totally brain dead?

danfo driver wrote:I heard "cockney" is a derogatory word.

because of the similarity with Tottenham's cockerel? :woot: :woot: :woot:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: e fit be!

The person told me that its a term used for people of lower class. When I googled it, this came up:
Originally a pejorative term applied to all city-dwellers
A Cockney is a Londoner, the original Cockneys are East Londoners and any Londoner that can hear the Bow bells ring there’s nothing derogatory about that.
You definition is correct. However, it is also correct that it was originally a pejorative term. You may want to be called a cockney. But not everyone wants to be.

oloye wrote:All I know is that I hear people being described as having cockney accent..

Babayaro
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: innit?

plus Osimhen
Aiyegbeni nko? Eguavoen, Oliha!

All winners and fighters! :clap: :clap: :clap:

Grass is not always greener on the other side

The use of the word "cockney" in my thread is clearly tongue-in-cheek to mean our British born talents. It is NOT a racial or ethnic identifier. Tons of Nigerians have kids born in London. Igbo, Hausa, Efik, or whatever, they are all "cockney"
I'm not sure why you choose to focus on irrational arguments about ethnicity and miss the point of the thread. Our most viable talents are the ones trained in foreign academies. The time has comes to embrace that fully.

danfo driver wrote:I heard "cockney" is a derogatory word.
... I thought the same thing.

bushboy wrote:

The use of the word "cockney" in my thread is clearly tongue-in-cheek to mean our British born talents. It is NOT a racial or ethnic identifier. Tons of Nigerians have kids born in London. Igbo, Hausa, Efik, or whatever, they are all "cockney"
I'm not sure why you choose to focus on irrational arguments about ethnicity and miss the point of the thread. Our most viable talents are the ones trained in foreign academies. The time has comes to embrace that fully.
Is there a research or study to support this assertion? Any data to back this your conclusion?

If I am not mistaken, Yekini was highest goal scorer in Europe. When did an English player achieve that?

bushboy wrote:

Is there a research or study to support this assertion? Any data to back this your conclusion?
Nothing formal obviously.
But note the word 'viable' which I assume he chose carefully and deliberately.
Anecdotal evidence suggests he has a point worth debating.

He is talking about those ultimately making it through to the full SE team, not the age-grade teams.
Look at the histories of the players in the current squad. Its a snapshot and supports his assertion.

It still boils down to our dysfunctional youth development system.

nemi2002 wrote:If I am not mistaken, Yekini was highest goal scorer in Europe. When did an English player achieve that?
You are seriously mistaken.
He was a top goalscorer, not 'the' top or 'highest' goalscorer. :idea:

bushboy wrote:

He is talking about those ultimately making it through to the full SE team, not the age-grade teams.
Look at the histories of the players in the current squad. Its a snapshot and supports his assertion.

Is it because the current NFF Chairman is a 'WOWO' who believed that Oyinbo na Oyinbo?

On what basis is the claim that 'OUR MOST VIABLE TALENTS ARE TRAINED IN FOREIGN ACADEMIES'?

Who are the 'most viable talents' to start with? What is the selection criteria for that group?

Makes me remember the discussion about Nigerian youth players not making it big because they are age cheats!

bushboy wrote:

Is it because the current NFF Chairman is a 'WOWO' who believed that Oyinbo na Oyinbo?

On what basis is the claim that 'OUR MOST VIABLE TALENTS ARE TRAINED IN FOREIGN ACADEMIES'?

Who are the 'most viable talents' to start with? What is the selection criteria for that group?

Makes me remember the discussion about Nigerian youth players not making it big because they are age cheats!
Lets cut out the emotion and personality politics if we really want a mature debate.

If you choose to blame one man for the state of our youth development, then feel free.
But you won't be taken seriously.

So, as things stand today...where are the players most 'viable' for the full SE getting their football education?
And if, as you seem to be insisting, they are in Nigeria and are being ignored because of WOWOism, then please name such players that should be in the SE camp as we speak.

And to help you out, you can take a look at our U23 national team which is full of Nigeria-groomed players. Kindly name those of them that should be displacing the allegedly 'WOWO-enabled' current SE players.

After all, majority of the SE squad is under 25 to the point that with a few exceptions, it could even be an U23 squad itself. :idea:

Damunk wrote:Lets cut out the emotion and personality politics if we really want a mature debate.

If you choose to blame one man for the state of our youth development, then feel free.

So, as things stand today...where are the players most 'viable' for the full SE getting their football education?
And if, as you seem to be insisting, they are in Nigeria and are being ignored because of WOWOism, then please name such players that should be in the SE camp as we speak.

And to help you out, you can take a look at our U23 national team which is full of Nigeria-groomed players. Kindly name those of them that should be displacing the allegedly 'WOWO-enabled' current SE players.

After all, majority of the SE squad is under 25 to the point that with a few exceptions, it could even be an U23 squad itself. :idea:
Like Obong pointed out, which was ignored because it did not fit the narrative. Nigeria best player in the World Cup was Etebo. Nigeria best player in AFcon was Ndidi and they both started their career in Nigeria. That empirical evidence.
Zelex

Post by Zelex »

It's too early to make the statement that Nigeria's most viable talents are the foreign-groomed (sample is too small). Maybe in 15 years time we can make a better assessment but as for now evidence shows that Nigeria's best talents are those that started their footballing education in Nigeria.
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767

The best players should play period! I don't care whether they are cockney or Wawa Eagles.

It's obvious that the likes of Iwobi, Aina, Aribo and if they choose to play for Naija, Ejaria, Tomori and Lookman are better than 90% of players raised in Nigeria. We haven't even mentioned the Bavarian Dutch and German youngsters like Okoye, Ebuehi etc.

Competition is never a bad thing. A player afraid of competition should go and play ludo.

A look at the academies of the major teams in England will shock some of you. Damunk and I have been saying this for Donkey years.

If you are one of those that prefer Ramon Azeez, Ogu, Awoniyi, Kele and Nwakwali simply for sentimental reasons, prepare to not support the SE for the foreseeable future. Enough of these mediocre guys who have been having it easy for years.

Damunk wrote:Lets cut out the emotion and personality politics if we really want a mature debate.

Like Obong pointed out, which was ignored because it did not fit the narrative. Nigeria best player in the World Cup was Etebo. Nigeria best player in AFcon was Ndidi and they both started their career in Nigeria. That empirical evidence.
Firstly, point of correction....
I was the one that pointed out Etebo's stats as being the "best" IN AFCON (not in the WC), so your political flavouring on 'fitting or not fitting the narrative' is void.
You can check the recent archives.
I am not sure where you or Obong got the memo that Etebo was the "best" in the WC and Ndidi the "best" in AFCON.
On what basis? Kindly provide a link so we can all benefit.
I have no problem being corrected.

Even if...(and its a big 'if') you and Obong are correct, it does not negate the fact that the majority of our squad have received their football education abroad.
Like I said, suggest local players that are being unjustifiably left out.
Fit your narrative with facts.
It shouldn't be hard.