SALISU YUSUF BAN COMPLETED-DECISION ON REINSTATEMENT PENDING

...Following the serving of a one year suspension.

https://www.completesports.com/nff-rein ... -year-ban/

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Thursday confirmed the return of Salisu Yusuf as assistant Super Eagles coach to the team following a one-year suspension for his involvement in a bribery incident, reports Completesports.com

Salisu was slammed with the ban by the NFF Ethics Committee last year after he was found guilty of collecting a sum reported to be $1000. He was also fined $5000 for the offence.

Salisu was caught on camera receiving money to influence his team selection for the 2018 African Nations Championship (CHAN) in Morocco where Nigeria finished second.

The NFF, in a statement on Thursday, stated that Salisu has been reinstated after serving his punishment.

“The Nigeria Football Federation has noted that the Chief Coach of the Super Eagles, Salisu Yusuf has now fully served the one–year suspension clamped on him last year,” the statement read.

“The Federation thanked Coach Imama Amapakabo for his sterling efforts while in charge of the U23 National Team in the absence of the suspended Yusuf, and for eventually seeing to the team’s qualification for the U23 AFCON.”

The 57-year-old is now expected to be in charge of the home-based Super Eagles side that will feature at the 2019 WAFU Cup of Nations in Senegal later this month.

The team will also face the Hawks of Togo in a 2020 CHAN qualifier next month.

By Adeboye Amosu
Re: SALISU YUSUF REINSTATED AS SUPER EAGLES COACH

Well, hopefully he has learned from his mistake.

now we can get rid of **** only a matter of time ..he did a great job when we played Luxemburg

He can coach the CHAN Team- not a lot of Dollars circulates there

Why reinstate a proven corrupt coach? We don’t need this kind of distraction in our football, he should get employment in the private sector not with NFF. The Siasia issue is pending now we have bribe taking coach. Who would trust this guy?

And what has been doing in the past year? its like a player out of the game for a year and want to a comeback in first 11 on match day?

Does this mean he will be back in charge of the Olympic team? Salisu definitely has a powerful godfather somewhere.

Calling this a slap on the wrist is an understatement. What a joke.

Buhari and the cabal. He probably is an APC card carrying member

He should be dismissed.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Why reinstate a proven corrupt coach? We don’t need this kind of distraction in our football,
he should get employment in the private sector not with NFF.
The Siasia issue is pending now we have bribe taking coach. Who would trust this guy?
:agree: :clap: :agree: :clap: :agree: :agree: :agree:
The highlighted is 'quite on the money'. Pun intended.
We can't get rid of corruption by excusing any sort of careless engagement in it.
In a more enlightened and thoughtful society Salisu would not be involved with
the national teams at any level. If he is so good, why can't he be engaged by a
local club? It's not as if he is the only coach available to the NFF.
This issue can be used to ridicule our nation if and when Salisu leads any of the
national teams to an international engagement. I can hear commentators saying,
'Coach Salisu, who was given a year suspension for accepting bribery'.

...And we complain when corruption is associated with our national character?

Got mixed feelings about this. Technically, he's served his time but the image of him collecting money just can't go away. Will the idea of a 'clean game' still exist with him if say, he was SE coach? I think Salisu has an opportunity here to help stop what leads local coaches into this bribe taking practice, perhaps take up the charge for equal standard of living in Nigeria and treatment as foreign coaches. That is how he could turn around this negative image.

since Salisu left, we've been very incompetent tactically

Oguleftie
Foreign based SE should not honor a call to camp & play

Post by Oguleftie »

Foreign based Super Eagles players should not honor a call to come to camp and should not play an SE match as long as someone caught on camera (Salisu) accepting bribe remains recalled as an SE staff.
And Iman Imakakpabo who took the place of Salisu has been told to leave that position so Salisu can come in.
And to make matters worse he was being paid his SE staff salary while he was suspended.

Foreign based Super Eagles players must take a stand on this issue to help bring sanity to SE matters.

Who says Pinnick is not a corrupt man?
Re: Foreign based SE should not honor a call to camp & play

And we think Rohr is our problem, our penchant for justifying corruption at all levels is surely a gift.

Bigpokey24 wrote:since Salisu left, we've been very incompetent tactically
You are trying too hard

This is not good. The guy should not coach any national team again because he would still be exposed to bribes. That is how the national teams operate.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

metalalloy wrote:Well, hopefully he has learned from his mistake.
Collecting bribe has become a "mistake" :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

walesvilla wrote:He can coach the CHAN Team- not a lot of Dollars circulates there
We are rewarding a bribe collector with work? Afterall, "not a lot of dollars circulates there??"

why wasn't he criminally prosecuted if it was established that he accepted bribes? And why is he being reinstated into a federal job?

I have always said that Nigerians are the biggest problem in Nigeria. In a sane country, when you are found guilty of collecting bribe, your career is over! You go away never to return! In Nigeria, they give you a job and the natives, who are clearly sick in the head, welcome you back!

And you guys think we will ever rid our country of corruption?!! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

How will players look him in the eye and recognize that this man has not collected bribe from one of their colleagues? Tufiakwa! What a cursed country and people!

walesvilla wrote:And what has been doing in the past year? its like a player out of the game for a year and want to a comeback in first 11 on match day?
That is your concern? Not that he took bribe and he is now known as a corrupt human being and should never be able to work for Nigeria ever again?

bushboy wrote:Does this mean he will be back in charge of the Olympic team? Salisu definitely has a powerful godfather somewhere.
Yup!