Bernardo Silva tweet condemned by Kick It Out

another racist tweet by another naive football, I can bet my bottom $$$ , Pajimoh will turn a blind eye to this...we know he isn't a fan of the African/black struggle towards discrimination
Kick It Out has condemned a tweet sent by Bernardo Silva to Manchester City team-mate Benjamin Mendy, calling for retrospective action to be taken against the Portugal international.

Bernardo Silva tweeted a photo of Mendy as a child alongside a dated image from Spanish confectionary 'Conguitos' that has been criticised for its racist connotations, with the caption: "Guess who?".

https://www.yahoo.com/sports/bernardo-s ... 42640.html

Re: Bernardo Silva tweet condemned by Kick It Out

That one spends 1 year and half with Guardiola and he has picked up racism. Before he met Guardiola, not once did he make any racist post. Smh.

it is shocking i tell you

I hear both of them have been friends for a long time, even he did not find the post offensive, these days, one has to be careful about what they post in a public space

marko wrote:I hear both of them have been friends for a long time, even he did not find the post offensive, these days, one has to be careful about what they post in a public space
it's racist, there is no excuse for such, he could have sent a private text to his friend.. he wanted some attention, so he posted it on the social media, so he could get likes.

It's funny how different the views on race differ from Anglophone countries to the rest of the world.

What the racist posted was horrible, he posted a picture of Mendy and a caricature character with huge red lips

For those who don't know the meaning and implications of what was said or implied. just google it. It get's far worse than the above depiction. it actually depicts blacks in thatched houses and grass skirts.

Thread only has 9 posts because this implicates their Massa. Disgraceful! The hatred many CE members have for blacks and Africans is shocking to say the least. This was the same reason, Gareth Bales thread went to 10 pages in 1 hour and Lukaku's thread could not even pass 1 page in 3 days.

If Mendy had insulted Guardiola or Bernardo Silva now, this thread would have reached 10 pages. There'd have been a collection of weeping, wailing and gnashing of teeth across this forum. But alas, its Massa humiliating a worthless black, so no one cares.

one has to be careful how they use social media, Bernardo Silva was naive to post that in a public space, a text message would have just been fine especially if they have been friends for ages

marko wrote:one has to be careful how they use social media, Bernardo Silva was naive to post that in a public space, a text message would have just been fine especially if they have been friends for ages
So your friends of other races are allowed to joke with sensitive racial jokes? Silva knew what he was doing...I repeat he knew it was wrong and decided to get more likes on the social media

marko wrote:one has to be careful how they use social media, Bernardo Silva was naive to post that in a public space, a text message would have just been fine especially if they have been friends for ages
So your friends of other races are allowed to joke with sensitive racial jokes? Silva knew what he was doing...I repeat he knew it was wrong and decided to get more likes on the social media
well it is odd to be honest! my friends will never send me stuff like that especially if they are a different colour but who knows what type of friendship they both have? insensitive to put stuff out like this, bit embarrassing if you ask me

Bigpokey24 wrote:What the racist posted was horrible, he posted a picture of Mendy and a caricature character with huge red lips
I don’t think Bernardo is racist, that tweet was stupid though. If it’s a joke between friends then why make it public?

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:What the racist posted was horrible, he posted a picture of Mendy and a caricature character with huge red lips
I don’t think Bernardo is racist, that tweet was stupid though. If it’s a joke between friends then why make it public?
Someone posted a racist joke and you say you don't think they are racist.... really?

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Someone posted a racist joke and you say you don't think they are racist.... really?
those guys have been friends since their days at Monaco, i dont know type of friendship they have, racist? only Mendy cant make that judgement, stupid to post that on public space? yes indeed

peron33uk

Post by peron33uk »

marko wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:
those guys have been friends since their days at Monaco, i dont know type of friendship they have, racist? only Mendy cant make that judgement, stupid to post that on public space? yes indeed
Indeed. I have friends who are chinese, black, white, indian etc and sometimes we joke about these things. Sometimes they tease me and i tease them too, no hard feelings and all because i know them and they know me, i know they are not racists and they know i am not. Now if we post what we say online. Ahhhh, nah wahala oh, people will call us racists from hell.

Do i know if he is racist or not? No, i don't know him personally but it was a foolish thing to post it online. In this day and age, not a wise decision at all.
When someone tells me "God bless you", I ask the question, which God?

God - is just a title as there are many (All false).
I do not want to receive blessings from any other but from YHVH. The God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob(Israel), He is my God.

peron33uk wrote:
marko wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:
Indeed. I have friends who are chinese, black, white, indian etc and sometimes we joke about these things. Sometimes they tease me and i tease them too, no hard feelings and all because i know them and they know me, i know they are not racists and they know i am not. Now if we post what we say online. Ahhhh, nah wahala oh, people will call us racists from hell.

Do i know if he is racist or not? No, i don't know him personally but it was a foolish thing to post it online. In this day and age, not a wise decision at all.
exactly! jokes between friends, no matter the nature should not make the public space especially if they are high profile individuals, what if Mendy sends Silva jokes of a race nature without been offensive, please let us not rush to judgement and call someone we hardly know a racist!

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Okay, Bigpokey24, if you say so.

peron33uk wrote:
marko wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:

Same. In high school, my Indian and Vietnamese friends and I used to joke with each other about things like this all the time. Things we used to say then would never fly in this era.

The racial nature of the post is irrefutable, whether intended as banter or not is irrelevant, the reference is disparaging to a particular group of people. That said, there is need for context, what has gone before this posting, perhaps in the private jabs shared between them? What if Mendy has shared “jokes” mocking or rather slurring Silva’s ethnicity? If this how “friends banter” then ‘tis best reserved for an arena where it is understood and interpreted in said context? Bernardo was foolish to publicise his post and deserves the punishment that comes.

Racism is many limbed and broad spectrum. Overt, covert, implied, deliberate, unintentional and all in between. Regardless of the variety, the common denominator remains the remark and derogation directed at an individual as a consequence of their race and colour. Once upon a time, Mourinho mocked Samuel Eto’o’s age, questioning the validity of his claims, a conclusion hinged entirely on stereotype and bigoted opinion of black Africa. How many times were the ages of Ricardo Carvalho and Arjen Robben questioned, despite both resembling Benjamin Button in their “20s” apparently. Rather than condemn the accusation, the good folk of Black Africa danced. Wonderful.

marko wrote:
well it is odd to be honest! my friends will never send me stuff like that especially if they are a different colour but who knows what type of friendship they both have? insensitive to put stuff out like this, bit embarrassing if you ask me
Personally i have non black friends and especially good workmates who tend to get too excited and occasionally try these kind of jokes, i put an end to that at once, it shall never happen again, only because i think i could end up being a jester, their 'good' black guy.
They could get too excited and make such jokes in front of strangers or something, it can get awkward.

So i decided i don't even want to know if they are racist or not, it just doesn't happen full stop.

Coach wrote:The racial nature of the post is irrefutable, whether intended as banter or not is irrelevant, the reference is disparaging to a particular group of people. That said, there is need for context, what has gone before this posting, perhaps in the private jabs shared between them? What if Mendy has shared “jokes” mocking or rather slurring Silva’s ethnicity? If this how “friends banter” then ‘tis best reserved for an arena where it is understood and interpreted in said context? Bernardo was foolish to publicise his post and deserves the punishment that comes.

Racism is many limbed and broad spectrum. Overt, covert, implied, deliberate, unintentional and all in between. Regardless of the variety, the common denominator remains the remark and derogation directed at an individual as a consequence of their race and colour. Once upon a time, Mourinho mocked Samuel Eto’o’s age, questioning the validity of his claims, a conclusion hinged entirely on stereotype and bigoted opinion of black Africa. How many times were the ages of Ricardo Carvalho and Arjen Robben questioned, despite both resembling Benjamin Button in their “20s” apparently. Rather than condemn the accusation, the good folk of Black Africa danced. Wonderful.
are we talking about age cheats or the joke intending for personal consumption? Bernardo will likely get fined by the FA, they will be keen to use him an example, i think its dangerous to accuse people of being racist when we dont know them personally, back in the days, what could pass as banter between friends is seen as politically incorrect these days, something i stress Bernardo should have been aware of, stupid yes, naive yes, Racist? sorry i cannot answer that question